Carmine Shiner

Notropis percobromus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

This species has been identified as Threatened by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). It is listed under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA) and was afforded protection under the SARA as of June 2004. Additional protection is afforded through the federal Fisheries Act. Under the SARA, a recovery strategy must be developed for this species.

General Description

In Manitoba, the Carmine Shiner (Notropis percobromus) was once known as the Rosyface Shiner (N. rubellus). It is now recognized as a different species within the rosyface shiner species complex, largely based on zoogeographic information. The Carmine Shiner is a member of the Minnow family, Cyprinidae. It has the following characteristics and distinguishing features:

  • A slender, elongate minnow, typically 55 to 60 mm in length (Whitemouth River);
  • Snout length is equal to the eye diameter;
  • Adults are olive green dorsally, silvery on the sides and silvery white on the belly;
  • Black pigment outlines the scale pockets dorsally; the opercula and cheeks may be pinkish;
  • Breeding males develop fine, sandpaper-like nuptial tubercles on the head, pectoral fins and some predorsal scales. They also turn pinkish violet around the head with a reddish tinge at the base of the dorsal fin. Breeding females are usually lighter in colour; and
  • Seldom survives capture or handling and scales are easily dislodged.

Distribution

In Canada, this species has been found only in the Winnipeg River system, including the Whitemouth watershed. The Manitoba populations are at the northwestern limit of the distribution, separated from the continuous range of the species by 450 km.

Habitat and Life History

Carmine Shiners typically summer at midwater depths of clear, fast flowing streams and small rivers over clean gravel or rubble substrates. They often school in riffles and pools near the confluence with larger streams and rivers. Habitat use during other seasons and by young-of-the-year has not been studied in Manitoba, nor has spawning. However, a ripe and running female was taken in the Pinawa Channel in 19.3ºC water. Southern populations typically spawn in riffles in May/June at temperatures of 20º to 28.9ºC. Adhesive eggs are deposited into depressions in gravel, often in the nests of other minnow species. Eggs hatch within 60 hours at 21ºC and newly hatched larvae work their way vertically into the gravel. These fish are mature at one year and live about three years. Individuals likely move into deeper water to winter.

Diet

This fish eats primarily aquatic insects, some terrestrial insects, fish eggs, algae and diatoms. Prey are located by sight.

Threats

This species may be threatened by activities that alter turbidity, flow and/or substrate such as channelization, impoundment, drainage that increases sediment loading, streambed gravel removal and shoreline development. It has a narrow range of habitat requirements and may respond quickly to changes in habitat and water quality. During the past century, impoundments that have increased turbidity and decreased riffle habitat may have caused a decline in the abundance of this fish in the Winnipeg River system. Species introductions and bait harvesting may also pose a threat.

Similar Species

The Carmine Shiner resembles its close relative the Emerald Shiner (N. atherinoides), which has a deeper, more compressed body shape and blunter snout.

Text Sources: Evermann and Goldsborough 1907; COSEWIC Status Report 1994; Woods et al. 2002; Stewart and Watkinson 2004.

For more information, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Carmine Shiner

Carmine Shriner

Photo Credit: D. Watkinson, DFO

Scientific name: Notropis percobromus
SARA Status: Threatened (June 2003)
COSEWIC Status: Threatened (November 2001 & April 2006)
Region: Manitoba

Distribution of the Carmine Shiner as described in the following paragraph

Distribution of Carmine Shiner.

Did you know?

In Canada, this species has been found only in the Winnipeg River system, including the Whitemouth watershed. The Manitoba populations are at the northwestern limit of the distribution, separated from the continuous range of the species by 450 km.

Carmine Shiner

Notropis percobromus - Photo credit: K. Schmidt

Related Information

La tête carmin

Notropis percobromus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Cette espèce a été désignée comme une espèce menacée par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Elle est inscrite sur la liste des espèces en péril de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) du gouvernement fédéral et a obtenu la protection en vertu de la LEP en juin 2004. Une protection supplémentaire est accordée par le biais de la Loi sur les pêches du gouvernement fédéral. En vertu de la LEP, un programme de rétablissement doit être élaboré pour cette espèce.

Description générale

Au Manitoba, la tête carmin (Notropis percobromus) s’appelait jadis la tête rose (N. rubellus). On la reconnaît maintenant comme une espèce différente au sein du complexe d’espèces de la tête rose, se fondant dans une large mesure sur l’information zoogéographique. La tête carmin est un membre de la famille des cyprinidés. Elle présente les caractéristiques et les traits distinctifs suivants :

  • Méné svelte et allongé, atteignant habituellement une longueur de 55 à 60 mm (rivière Whitemouth);
  • La longueur du museau est égale au diamètre de l’oeil;
  • Les adultes ont le dos vert olive, les flancs argentés et le ventre blanc argenté;
  • Un pigment noir est présent sur le contour des écailles sur l’épine dorsale; l’opercule et les joues peuvent être rosés;
  • Les mâles reproducteurs développent de fins organes perliformes ressemblant à du papier de verre sur la tête, les nageoires pectorales et certaines écailles prédorsales. Ils prennent aussi une couleur violet rosé autour de la tête avec une teinte rougeâtre à la base de la nageoire dorsale. Les femelles reproductrices ont habituellement une couleur plus Claire; et
  • Elle survit rarement à la capture.

Répartition

Au Canada, on a observé la présence de cette espèce seulement dans le réseau fluvial de la rivière Winnipeg, y compris le bassin versant Whitemouth. Les populations du Manitoba sont à la limite nord-ouest de la répartition, séparées de l’aire continue de l’espèce par 450 km.

Habitat et cycle biologique

La tête carmin passe habituellement l’été dans les profondeurs semi-pélagiques des cours d’eau et des petites rivières limpides au débit rapide sur substrats de gravier ou de gravats propres. Ces poissons se rassemblent souvent en bancs dans les radiers et les fosses situés près du confluent des grands cours d’eau et rivières. L’utilisation de l’habitat durant les autres saisons et par les jeunes de l’année n’a pas été étudiée au Manitoba, ni le frai d’ailleurs. Les populations du sud fraient habituellement dans les radiers en mai/juin à des températures de 20º à 28.9ºC. Les oeufs adhérents sont déposés dans les dépressions dans le gravier, souvent dans les nids d’autres espèces de ménés. Les oeufs éclosent dans les 60 heures à 21ºC et les larves nouvellement écloses se déplacent à la verticale dans le gravier. Ces poissons atteignent la maturité à un an et vivent environ trois ans. Des exemplaires se déplacent probablement dans l’eau plus profonde pour hiverner.

Régime alimentaire

Ce poisson se nourrit principalement d’insectes aquatiques, de certains insectes terrestres, d’oeufs de poissons et d’algues. Il repère ses proies par la vue.

Menaces

Cette espèce peut être menacée par les activités qui perturbent la turbidité, le débit ou le substrat comme la canalisation des cours d’eau, les réservoirs de retenue, le drainage qui augmente les charges de sédiments, l’enlèvement du gravier dans le lit des cours d’eau et l’aménagement du littoral. L’espèce a une gamme étroite d’exigences en matière d’habitat et peut répondre rapidement aux changements dans l’habitat et dans la qualité de l’eau. Au cours du siècle dernier, les réservoirs de retenue qui ont augmenté la turbidité et diminué l’habitat dans les radiers peuvent avoir causé une baisse de l’abondance de ce poisson dans le réseau fluvial de la rivière Winnipeg. Les introductions d’espèces exotiques et la récolte de poisson-appât peuvent également poser une menace.

Espèces similaires

La tête carmin ressemble à son proche parent, le méné émeraude (N. atherinoides), qui a un corps de forme plus épaisse et comprimée et un museau plus émoussé.

Sources du texte : Evermann et Goldsborough 1907; Rapport de situation du COSEPAC 1994; Woods et coll. 2002; Stewart et Watkinson 2004.

Pour un complément d’information, consultez le Profil de Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

La tête carmin

Tête carmin (Notropis percobromus)

Crédit photo : D. Watkinson, MPO

Nom scientifique :
Notropis percobromus
Statut selon la LEP : Menacée (juin 2003)
Statut selon la COSEPAC : Menacée (novembre 2001 et avril 2006)
Région : Manitoba

Distribution de la tête carmin telle que décrite dans le paragraphe suivant

Distribution de la tête carmin.

Le saviez-vous?

Au Canada, on a observé la présence de cette espèce seulement dans le réseau fluvial de la rivière Winnipeg, y compris le bassin versant Whitemouth. Les populations du Manitoba sont à la limite nord-ouest de la répartition, séparées de l’aire continue de l’espèce par 450 km.

Tête carmin

Notropis percobromus - Crédit photo : K. Schmidt

Information connexe