Capelin

Capelin
Latin Name

Mallotus villosus

Group Name

Pelagics

Taxonomy details

Habitat

Capelin have a circumpolar distribution throughout the arctic and subarctic regions of the world. In the northwestern Atlantic, they range from western Greenland and Hudson Bay in the north to Maine in the south and are most abundant around Newfoundland. Since the early 1990s, they have been observed in greater numbers in the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence and on the Scotian Shelf. In the eastern Atlantic, they are found from the Barents Sea to the coast of Norway, as well as in Icelandic coastal waters. In the Pacific, their range stretches from the Juan de Fuca Strait north along Alaska and across the Bering Sea to Siberia. From there, their range extends south, around Japan and toward Korea. Some stocks of capelin spend the bulk of their lives offshore, moving inshore only to spawn on beaches, while other stocks live their entire lives offshore, spawning on the bottom in deep water such as in the Barents Sea, in Icelandic waters, and on the Southeast Shoal of the Grand Bank.

Species Description

Capelin are small, slender fish that closely resemble smelt. They have a pointed snout with a slightly protruding lower jaw, a large dorsal fin and a small adipose fin behind it. They are silvery under their lateral line and green or olive-green above it, and their underside is silvery-white. During the spawning season, capelin exhibit sexual dimorphism, which means the head and back of males become darker; their pectoral, pelvic and anal fins are well-developed compared to females; and males have 'spawning ridges' consisting of a row of elongated scales just above the lateral line on either side of the body. Mature capelin are generally between 13 and 20 centimetres long, with the largest male found in Newfoundland waters at 25 centimetres long. Mature capelin can weigh as much as 40 and 45 grams, and rarely live longer than five years.

Historic changes in capelin and eulachon populations in the Strait of Georgia (1998). In Back to the Future: Reconstructing the Strait of Georgia Ecosystem. D. Pauley, T. Pitcher and D. Preikshot (editors). University of B.C. Fisheries Centre Research Reports 6 (5) 42:44. D.E. Hay

For more information, visit eCapelin.

Capelan

Capelan
Nom latin

Mallotus villosus

Nom du groupe

espèces pélagiques

Information taxonomique (en anglais seulement)

Habitat

Le capelan a une répartition circumpolaire, se retrouvant dans l'ensemble des régions arctique et subarctique du monde. Dans l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest, son aire de répartition va de l'ouest du Groenland et de la baie d'Hudson, au nord, jusqu'au Maine, au sud. Il atteint sa plus grande abondance dans les eaux de Terre-Neuve. Depuis le début des années 1990, il est observé en plus grand nombre dans le sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent et sur le plateau néo-écossais. Dans l'Atlantique Est, il se retrouve de la mer de Barents jusqu'à la côte de la Norvège, ainsi que dans les eaux côtières de l'Islande. Dans le Pacifique, on le rencontre depuis le détroit Juan de Fuca jusque sur les côtes de l'Alaska et de la mer de Béring jusqu'en Sibérie. De là, son aire de répartition s'étend vers le sud, autour du Japon et jusqu'en Corée. Certains stocks passent la plus grande partie de leur vie au large, mais pénètrent en eaux côtières au moment du frai sur les plages. D'autres stocks passent toute leur vie au large, où ils frayent sur le fond en eau profonde, par exemple dans la mer de Barents, les eaux islandaises et les hauts-fonds du Grand Banc.

Description de l'espèce

Le capelan est un poisson de petite taille, au corps élancé, qui ressemble beaucoup à l'éperlan. Le museau est pointu, la mâchoire inférieure déborde légèrement, la nageoire dorsale est haute et est suivie d'une petite nageoire adipeuse. Le dessus va du vert bouteille au vert olive, les côtés sont argentés sous la ligne latérale et le ventre est blanc argenté. Durant la période de frai, le capelan affiche un dimorphisme sexuel : le mâle prend sur la tête et le dos une coloration plus foncée que la femelle; ses nageoires pectorales, pelviennes et anale sont plus développées; et des carènes de fraie, constituées d'une rangée d'écailles allongées, apparaissent juste au-dessus de la ligne latérale, des deux côtés du corps. À maturité, le mâle mesure de 13 à 20 centimètres de longueur, bien qu'un individu de 25 centimètres ait été capturé dans les eaux de Terre-Neuve. L'adulte peut peser de 40 à 45 grammes. Il est rare que le capelan vive plus de 5 ans.

Historic changes in capelin and eulachon populations in the Strait of Georgia (1998). In Back to the Future: Reconstructing the Strait of Georgia Ecosystem. D. Pauley, T. Pitcher and D. Preikshot (editors). University of B.C. Fisheries Centre Research Reports 6 (5) 42:44. D.E. Hay (en anglais seulement)

Pour plus d'informations, visitez eCapelan.