Blue Whale (Atlantic population)

Balaenoptera musculus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The blue whale is a rorqual whale—one of a group that has expanding grooves in the skin of the neck; these allow it to engulf huge volumes of water while feeding on krill. Despite its name, the blue whale is actually coloured dark and light grey; every whale has a unique pattern of markings on their skin, called mottling.

With a potential life span between 70 and 80 years, blue whales reach sexual maturity between 6 and 10 years of age and reproduce every two or three years. Calves at birth can weigh up to two tonnes. The total number of blue whales in the Northwest Atlantic population is unknown, but it is estimated that it does not exceed 250 adults.

Habitat

Northwest Atlantic blue whales are generally found in waters off eastern Canada: in the northern Gulf of St. Lawrence, off the coasts of Nova Scotia and Newfoundland, and in the Davis Strait. They also occur between Baffin Island and Greenland. They usually migrate south for the winter, but some whales may remain at our latitudes all year long.

Blue whales’ diet consists primarily of krill, a small shrimp-like crustacean. A single whale can consume as much as four tonnes in a day. Blue whales are therefore regularly observed in areas where krill is concentrated.

Threats

Commercial whaling historically carried out in the Atlantic reduced the population by about 70%. At least 1,500 blue whales were killed before the 1960s in the waters of eastern Canada.

Since the end of commercial whaling, blue whales remain threatened by human activity. Here are some of the threats that have the potential to harm these giant creatures:

  • Noise pollution;
  • Reduction of food availability;
  • Persistent marine contaminants;
  • Collisions with ships;
  • Disturbance caused by whale-watching activities.
Blue whales

Photo: Jean-François Gosselin, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Blue whale - Kelly Houle, NOAA Northeast Fisheries Science Center

Kelly Houle, NOAA Northeast Fisheries Science Center

Blue whale - Jean-François Gosselin

Jean-François Gosselin

Further Information

Conservation

The Northwest Atlantic blue whale is listed as endangered and protected under the Species at Risk Act (SARA). A recovery strategy has been developed for this species with the long term goal of reaching a population of at least 1,000 mature blue whales. Furthermore, a moratorium on harvesting forage species, such as krill, has been put in place by Fisheries and Oceans Canada, to protect food supplies of species at risk such as the blue whale. Internationally, blue whales are protected by the International Whaling Commission; the blue whale is also listed by both the International Union for Conservation of Nature and the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora.

Research

Blue whales in the Estuary and the Gulf of St. Lawrence and their habitat are the subject of research carried out by Fisheries and Oceans Canada in collaboration with the Mingan Island Cetacean Study and the Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM). This research is focused mainly on understanding diet, foraging behaviour and habitat use of blue whales. It also aims at locating and mapping krill concentration areas which are important feeding grounds for blue whales. In Newfoundland and Labrador, Fisheries and Oceans Canada researchers are using autonomous acoustic recorders to monitor the presence of blue whales throughout the year in locations where they have been sighted most frequently. These acoustic and sightings data will be used to model blue whale critical habitat in this region.

Stewardship

Stewardship initiatives are ongoing through partner organizations with the support of the Species at Risk Habitat Stewardship Program. In Quebec, GREMM and the Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins have been conducting outreach for several years to promote best practices for whale watching. This campaign is targeted at marine wildlife observation tour operators. Additionally, GREMM coordinates the actions of the Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network to implement measures to save animals in trouble in the waters of the St. Lawrence bordering the province of Quebec. You are invited to call 1-877-722-5346 toll free to alert the Network when a marine mammal is in trouble.

Whale Release and Strandings encourages fish harvesters in Newfoundland and Labrador to report blue whale sightings, and educates school children and the general public about blue whales through school presentations and a variety of community events. The Quebec-Labrador Foundation has a marine species at risk observer program where fish harvesters report blue whale sightings. They have also produced educational materials for public outreach and education on blue whales and other marine mammals.

For more information, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Blue Whale (Atlantic population)

Blue Whale (Atlantic population)

Photo credit: Gary Taylor Source: DFO, Newfoundland and Labrador Region.

Photo credit: Gary Taylor
Source: DFO, Newfoundland and Labrador Region.

Blue Whale (Atlantic population)

Blue Whale. Copyright Shutterstock

© Shutterstock

Scientific name: Balaenoptera musculus
SARA Status: Endangered
COSEWIC Status: Endangered
Region: Atlantic

Transcript

Narrator: "Fisheries and Oceans Canada presents: Identifying and Reporting Blue Whales. DFO Research Scientist, Dr. Hilary Moors-Murphy, studies and monitors whales in Eastern Canada. She will help you identify these incredibly large whales. And maybe one day you’ll let her know when you see a Blue Whale too."

Dr. Hilary Moors-Murphy: "Blue Whales are an endangered species. Blue Whales occur throughout the North Atlantic Ocean and are most often seen in eastern Canada in spring, summer and fall. These whales have a huge blowhole and can often be spotted from a distance by their tall, straight blow. When Blue Whales come to the surface, we see their blow first, then their back, and then their small dorsal fin. Blue Whales can be easily distinguished from other large whales by their mottled blue-grey colour. This lighter colour can appear light blue underwater. These whales also have a small dorsal fin located far down their back. Growing up to 30 meters in length, Blue Whales are the largest creatures to ever live on Earth.

"Please help DFO monitor Blue Whales and report all sightings. Remember to provide important details about your sighting, including the number and type of whales seen, the date and time, and the location, such as your latitude and longitude. When possible, please share your photos and video as well. To report Blue Whale sightings, please call 1-844-800-8568 or email XMARWhaleSightings@dfo-mpo.gc.ca. If you see entangled, injured or dead whales, please contact the Marine Animal Response Society as soon as possible at 1-866-567-6277 or VHF Channel 16 or email marineanimalresponse@gmail.com."

Northwest Atlantic Blue Whale distribution as described in the following paragraphs

Credit: Adapted from Sears, R. and J. Calambokidis. 2002. Status of the blue whale, Balaenoptera musculus, in Canada. Report to the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) . Committee on the status of endangered species in Canada. Ottawa. 38 p.

Did You Know?

The blue whale is the largest animal on Earth today—and the largest known to have ever existed. The largest adult on record measured 29.5 metres. Lengthwise, the blue whale is equivalent to two city buses. It can weigh up to 200 tons, which is comparable to 8 airplanes or 15 school buses.

Blue whale. Photo: Véronique Lesage, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Blue whale. Photo: Véronique Lesage, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Related information

Rorqual bleu (population de l'Atlantique)

Balaenoptera musculus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le rorqual bleu fait partie d’une famille de baleines caractérisées par des plis dans la peau du cou, qui permettent à l’animal d’engouffrer une énorme quantité d’eau pour s’alimenter de krill. Malgré son nom, le rorqual bleu porte un mélange de taches aux tons gris pâles et foncés, uniques à chaque baleine.

Le rorqual bleu peut vivre de 70 à 80 ans et il atteint la maturité sexuelle entre 6 et 10 ans. Les femelles donnent habituellement naissance à un seul baleineau, qui pèse environ deux tonnes, tous les deux ou trois ans. Le nombre de rorquals bleus dans l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest est inconnu, mais on estime qu’il est peu probable que cette population compte plus de 250 adultes.

Habitat

Les rorquals bleus, population de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest, se trouvent de façon générale dans les eaux de la côte Est du Canada : au nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent, au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de Terre-Neuve et dans le détroit de Davis. On les trouve également entre l’île Baffin et le Groenland. Ils migrent généralement vers le sud pour l’hiver, mais certains peuvent demeurer à nos latitudes toute l’année.

Les rorquals bleus se nourrissent presque exclusivement de krill, un petit crustacé ressemblant à une crevette. Un individu peut en manger jusqu’à quatre tonnes par jour. On observe donc régulièrement les rorquals bleus dans les zones de concentration de krill.

Menaces

La chasse commerciale historique à la baleine dans l’Atlantique a réduit la population initiale d’environ 70 %. Au moins 1 500 rorquals bleus ont été tués avant les années 1960 dans les eaux de l’est du Canada.

Depuis la fin de la chasse commerciale, les rorquals bleus demeurent une espèce menacée par l’activité humaine. Voici quelques menaces qui ont le potentiel de nuire à ces créatures géantes :

  • La pollution sonore;
  • La réduction de la disponibilité de la nourriture;
  • Les contaminants marins persistants;
  • Les collisions avec les navires;
  • Le dérangement causé par l’observation des baleines.
Baleine bleues

Photo : Jean-François Gosselin, Pêches et Océans Canada

Rorqual bleu - Kelly Houle, NOAA Northeast Fisheries Science Center

Kelly Houle, NOAA Northeast Fisheries Science Center

Rorqual bleu - Jean-François Gosselin

Jean-François Gosselin

Renseignements supplémentaires

Conservation

Le rorqual bleu de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest est inscrit comme une espèce en voie de disparition et est protégé en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Un programme de rétablissement a été développé pour cette population avec pour but d’atteindre à long terme un effectif d'au moins 1 000 individus matures. Pêches et Océans Canada a également décrété un moratoire sur la pêche aux espèces fourragères, dont le krill, dans le but de protéger les ressources alimentaires d’espèces en péril tel le rorqual bleu. À l’échelle internationale, le rorqual bleu est protégé par la Commission baleinière internationale. Le rorqual bleu est inscrit sur la liste de l’Union internationale pour la nature et sur celle de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction.

Recherche

Les rorquals bleus de l’estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent et leur habitat font l’objet de plusieurs recherches de Pêches et Océans Canada en collaboration avec la station de recherche des îles Mingan et le Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM). Ces recherches visent principalement à comprendre la diète, le comportement d’alimentation et l’utilisation de l’habitat du rorqual bleu. Elles visent aussi à localiser et cartographier les zones d’agrégation de krill qui sont des aires d’alimentation importantes du rorqual bleu. À Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, les chercheurs de Pêches et Océans Canada utilisent des enregistreurs acoustiques autonomes pour surveiller toute l’année la présence de rorquals bleus à des endroits où ils ont déjà été fréquemment observés. Ces observations acoustiques et visuelles seront utilisées pour définir l’habitat essentiel du rorqual bleu dans cette région.

Intendance

Plusieurs initiatives d’intendance sont mises en œuvre par des organismes partenaires grâce à l’appui du Programme d’intendance de l’habitat des espèces en péril. Au Québec, depuis plusieurs années, le GREMM ainsi que le Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins mènent des activités de sensibilisation sur les bonnes pratiques à adopter auprès des opérateurs d’activités d’observation en mer. Également, le GREMM coordonne la réponse du Réseau québécois Urgences mammifères marins pour mettre en œuvre des mesures pour secourir des mammifères marins en difficulté dans les eaux du Saint-Laurent au Québec.  Lorsqu’un mammifère marin est en difficulté, vous pouvez alerter le Réseau en composant le numéro sans frais 1-877-722-5346.

Le groupe Whale Release and Strandings encourage les pêcheurs de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador à rapporter les cas d’empêtrement de rorqual bleu et travaille à la sensibilisation des écoliers et du public grâce à des présentations dans les écoles et des événements communautaires. Le Quebec-Labrador Foundation a un programme d’observateur d’espèces marines en péril à travers lequel les pêcheurs rapportent les observations de rorquals bleus. Cet organisme produit également du matériel éducatif sur les mammifères marins, dont le rorqual bleu.

Pour un complément d’information, consultez le Profil de Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Rorqual bleu (population de l'Atlantique)

Rorqual bleu (population de l'Atlantique)

Crédit photo: Gary Taylor Source: MPO, Région du Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Crédit photo: Gary Taylor
Source: MPO, Région du Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Rorqual bleu (population de l'Atlantique)

Rorqual bleu. Copyright Shutterstock.

© Shutterstock

Nom scientifique : Balaenoptera musculus
Statut selon la LEP : En voie de disparition
Statut selon le COSEPAC : En voie de disparition
Région : Atlantique

Transcription

Narratrice : « Pêches et Océans Canada présente : Savoir identifier le rorqual bleu et en signaler l’observation. Une chercheuse de Pêches et Océans Canada, Mme Hilary Moors-Murphy, étudie et surveille les baleines dans l’est du Canada. Elle va vous aider à identifier ces immenses baleines. Peut-être qu’un jour, vous lui signalerez vos propres observations de rorquals bleus.

Le rorqual bleu est en voie de disparition. Les rorquals bleus se déplacent dans l’ensemble de l’Atlantique Nord, mais dans l’est du Canada, c’est au printemps, à l’été et à l’automne qu’on les observe le plus souvent. Ces baleines ont un très grand évent et sont repérables de loin grâce à leur souffle haut et bien droit. Alors que le rorqual bleu remonte à la surface, on voit son souffle en premier lieu, puis son dos, puis sa petite nageoire dorsale. Le rorqual bleu se distingue facilement des autres espèces de grandes baleines par ses taches bleues et grises. Cela peut lui donner une couleur bleu pâle quand il est sous l’eau. Ces baleines ont également une petite nageoire dorsale vers le bas de leur dos. Pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 30 mètres de long, le rorqual bleu est le plus gros animal qui ait jamais vécu sur terre.

Aidez le MPO à surveiller les rorquals bleus. Et n’oubliez pas de signaler vos observations. Il vous faudra donner des détails comme le nombre et le type des baleines observées, la date et l’heure de l’observation, ainsi que l’endroit et ses coordonnées. Si possible, envoyez-nous vos photos et vos vidéos. Pour signaler une observation de rorqual bleu, veuillez composer le 1-844-800-8568 ou envoyer un courriel à : XMARwhalesightings@dfo-mpo.gc.ca. Si vous voyez une baleine prise dans un filet, blessée ou morte, veuillez communiquer dès que possible avec la Marine Animal Response Society au 1-866-567-6277, ou par la bande radio VHF 16, ou par courriel à marineanimalresponse@gmail.com. »

carte de distribution du rorqual bleu, population de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest, telle que décrite dans les paragraphes suivants

Crédit : Adapté de Sears, R. et J. Calambokidis. 2002. Mise à jour évaluation et rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le rorqual bleu Balaenoptera musculus, population de l’Atlantique et du Pacifique, au Canada. Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Ottawa. 38 p.

Le saviez-vous?

Le rorqual bleu est le plus gros animal de la planète et le plus gros à avoir jamais existé. Le plus gros rorqual bleu observé à ce jour mesurait 29,5 m. En longueur, le rorqual bleu équivaut à deux autobus, tandis qu'en poids, il équivaut à 15 autobus scolaires ou 8 avions, soit jusqu'à 200 tonnes.

Baleine bleue. Photo : Véronique Lesage, Pêches et Océans Canada

Baleine bleue. Photo : Véronique Lesage, Pêches et Océans Canada

Renseignements connexes