Atlantic Cod (Laurentian North population)

Gadus morhua

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

Atlantic Cod is a type of groundfish that is brown to green in colour, with spots on its back and a very distinct lateral line. It is also recognized by its single chin barbel. When it is sexually mature (between 3 and 7 years old), Atlantic Cod is 45 to 55 cm long.

Each female can produce several millions eggs in the spring, during spawning. However, only one egg per million will complete the life cycle and become a mature cod.

Habitat

Atlantic Cod feed on a wide variety of fish and shellfish, including capelin, herring, flounder, mussels and crab. Juveniles prefer habitats such as coastal grass beds, which protect them against predators, whereas adults do not show any preferences for habitat or depth.

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) divided Atlantic Cod in the Northwest Atlantic into four populations: Southern, Laurentian South, Laurentian North and Newfoundland and Labrador. It was determined that these populations were distinct from one another due to differences in their genetics, ecology and life cycle. The Laurentian North population extends from the St. Pierre Bank, south of Newfoundland, to the Gulf of St. Lawrence north of the Laurentian Channel.

Threats

Fishing, directed and bycatch, has historically been one of the primary threats to Atlantic Cod, and remains one of the primary threats for the Laurentian North population. Elevated natural mortality caused by predation and unfavorable environmental conditions, is considered to be a significant threat. The Laurentian North population of Atlantic Cod has declined between 76% and 89% over the last three generations (about 30 years).

Further Information

The Laurentian North population of Atlantic Cod has been designated as endangered by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Public consultations regarding the addition of this population to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk were held from November 1, 2013 to May 31, 2014. The Governor-in-Council's listing recommendation will published in the Canada Gazette Part I (Government of Canada newspaper where laws and regulations are published).

Visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry.

Atlantic Cod (Laurentian North population)

Illustration of a cod

Illustration: DFO

Scientific name: Gadus morhua
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Endangered
Region: Quebec, Newfoundland and Labrador

Atlantic Cod, Laurentian North population.

This map shows the location of the Laurentian north population of Atlantic Cod. This population extends from the St. Pierre Bank, south of Newfoundland, to the Gulf of St. Lawrence north of the Laurentian Channel.

Did You Know?

Atlantic Cod, fished in Canadian waters for more than 500 years, has been an economic mainstay for many Atlantic communities.

Juvenile Atlantic Cod

Photo credit: Blaise Barrette

Related information

Morue franche (population du Nord laurentien)

Gadus morhua

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

La morue franche est un poisson de fond de couleur brun à vert, avec des taches foncées sur le dos et une ligne latérale très distincte. On la reconnaît au barbillon qu'elle arbore sur son menton. Lorsqu'elle est sexuellement mature (entre 3 et 7 ans), la morue franche a une taille de 45 à 55 cm.

Chaque femelle produit plusieurs millions d'œufs lors de la fraie au printemps. Toutefois, seulement un œuf par million complètera le cycle complet et deviendra une morue mature.

Habitat

La morue franche se nourrit d'une grande variété de poissons et de mollusques, notamment le capelan, le hareng, la plie, les moules et le crabe. Les juvéniles préfèrent un habitat qui offre une protection contre les prédateurs, tel que les herbiers côtiers. Les adultes, quant à eux, ne semblent pas avoir de préférence en matière d'habitat ou de profondeur.

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a divisé la morue franche du nord-ouest de l'Atlantique en quatre populations : du Sud, du Sud laurentien, du Nord laurentien et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Le COSEPAC a déterminé que ces populations étaient distinctes l'une de l'autre en raison de différences sur le plan génétique, écologique et du cycle vital. La morue franche du Nord laurentien se trouve dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, au nord du chenal Laurentien, et au sud de Terre-Neuve, sur le banc Saint-Pierre.

Menaces

Les pêches, dirigées ou accessoires, ont longtemps été une des principales menaces pour la morue franche. Elles demeurent encore aujourd'hui une menace importante pour la morue du Nord laurentien. La mortalité naturelle élevée, causée par la prédation et des conditions environnementales défavorables, est considérée comme une menace importante. La population de morue franche du Nord laurentien a connu un déclin entre 76 % et 89 % au cours des trois dernières générations (environ 30 ans).

Renseignements supplémentaires

La population du Nord laurentien de la morue franche a été désignée comme étant en voie de disparition par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Des consultations sur l'ajout de cette population à la Liste des espèces en péril ont eu lieu du 1er novembre 2013 au 31 mai 2014. La recommandation d'inscription du gouverneur en conseil sera publiée dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie 1 (journal du gouvernement du Canada où sont publiés les lois et règlements),

Visitez le Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Morue franche (population du Nord laurentien)

Illustration d’une morue

Illustration : MPO

Nom scientifique : Gadus morhua
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : en voie de disparition
Région : Québec, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Morue franche, population du Nord laurentien

Cette carte présente la localisation de la population du Nord laurentien de la morue franche. Cette population se trouve dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, au nord du chenal Laurentien, et au sud de Terre-Neuve, sur le banc Saint-Pierre.

Le saviez-vous?

La morue franche est pêchée dans les eaux canadiennes depuis plus de 500 ans et a constitué un pilier économique pour plusieurs communautés de l'Atlantique.

morue franche juvénile

Crédit photo : Blaise Barrette

Renseignements connexes