American Plaice (Maritime Population)

Hippoglossoides platessoides

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

American plaice (Hippoglossoides platessoides) has the following characteristics:

  • A flat fish with a rounded caudal fin;
  • The mouth is large, the jawbone extends to below the mouth.
  • The top portion of the body is reddish-brown while the bottom portion is white.
  • Adults can grow upwards of 60 cm in length.

American plaice, a relatively slow growing fish, has a unique flattened body. When a young plaice hatches, it has a normal fish shape. During development, when it settles to the bottom of the ocean, the side of its body becomes flat and its left eye migrates to the right side of the body so that the plaice swims on its side. The upper side (which now has both eyes) is normally coloured so that the plaice can camouflage itself in the sediment. In American plaice, both eyes are almost always found on the right side of the body.

Habitat

The Maritime designatable unit of American plaice occurs in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, the Scotian shelf, the Bay of Fundy and Georges Bank. It is part of Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization (NAFO) divisions 4RST, 4Vn and 4VsWX. Eggs and Larvae are pelagic. Juvenile and adults commonly burrow in the sediment. They prefer depths of 50 to 200 meters and water temperatures ranging from 0 to 1.5ºC.

Threats

Overfishing has been the main threat to American plaice. Natural mortality has increased in the Maritime designatable unit, causing most of the declines of recent decades and the failure of the stocks to recover significantly following reduced fishing. There may be several factors contributing to high natural mortality, including predation and adverse environmental conditions. Illegal discarding of small fish is also believed to have contributed to the decline in the Maritime population.

Further Information

The Maritime population of American Plaice has been designated as threatened by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Public consultations regarding the addition of this population to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk were held from November 1, 2013 to May 31, 2014. The Governor-in-Council's listing recommendation will published in the Canada Gazette Part I (Government of Canada newspaper where laws and regulations are published).

Visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry.

American Plaice

American Plaice

Scientific name: Hippoglossoides platessoides
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Threatened 2009
Region: New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Newfoundland and Labrador

American plaice distribution for the Maritime population

This map indicates American plaice distribution for the Maritime population

Related Information

Plie canadienne (population des Maritimes)

Hippoglossoides platessoides

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

La plie canadienne (Hippoglossoides platessoides) présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • un poisson plat doté d'une nageoire caudale arrondie;
  • une grande bouche dont l'os de la mâchoire s'étend en dessous de la bouche;
  • la partie supérieure du corps est de couleur brun-rougeâtre et la partie inférieure est de couleur blanche;
  • les adultes peuvent atteindre une longueur de 60 cm.

La plie canadienne, un poisson dont la croissance est relativement lente, a un corps aplati unique. Au moment de son éclosion, le fretin a la forme d'un poisson normal. Lors de son développement, au moment où la plie s'installe sur le fond marin, la partie latérale de son corps devient plate et son œil gauche migre vers le côté droit de son corps pour que la plie puisse nager sur le côté. Le côté supérieur (qui porte maintenant les deux yeux) est pigmenté de façon à ce que la plie puisse se camoufler dans les sédiments. Dans le cas de la plie canadienne, les deux yeux se retrouvent presque toujours du côté droit de son corps.

Habitat

L'unité désignable des Maritimes de la plie canadienne se trouve dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, sur le plateau néo-écossais, dans la baie de Fundy et sur le banc de Georges. Elle fait partie des divisions 4TRS, 4Vn et 4XWVs de l'Organisation des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest (OPANO). Les œufs et les larves sont pélagiques. Les jeunes et les adultes sont habituellement enfouis dans les sédiments. Ils préfèrent se trouver à une profondeur de 50 à 200 mètres et ils préfèrent une température de l'eau de 0ºC à 1,5 ºC.

Menaces

La surpêche constitue la menace principale touchant la plie canadienne. Le taux de mortalité naturelle a augmenté dans l'unité désignable des Maritimes, ce qui a entraîné la plupart des déclins au cours des dernières décennies et qui explique le fait que ce stock ne parvient pas à se rétablir à la suite de la pêche limitée. Il est possible que plusieurs facteurs contribuent à cette mortalité naturelle élevée, notamment la prédation et des conditions environnementales défavorables. On croit aussi que les rejets illicites de petits poissons ont contribué au déclin de la population des Maritimes.

Renseignements supplémentaires

La population des Maritimes de la plie canadienne a été désignée comme étant menacée par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Des consultations sur l'ajout de cette population à la Liste des espèces en péril ont eu lieu du 1er novembre 2013 au 31 mai 2014. La recommandation d'inscription du gouverneur en conseil sera publiée dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie 1 (journal du gouvernement du Canada où sont publiés les lois et règlements).

Visitez le Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Plie canadienne (population des Maritimes)

Plie canadienne

Nom scientifique : Hippoglossoides platessoides
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Menacée (2009)
Région : Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Québec, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

répartition de la plie canadienne pour la population Maritime

Cette carte indique la répartition de la plie canadienne pour la population Maritime.

Information connexe