Maritimes Region: Application for Licence Issued Pursuant to Section 52 of the Fishery (General) Regulations

PRIVACY NOTICE STATEMENT

The information you provide on this form is collected under the authority of the Fishery (General) Regulations for the purpose of determining eligibility for a licence, and to create the licence and related conditions for a licence to fish for Scientific, Experimental, Educational, Public Display or Aquatic Invasive Species control purposes. The information may be used for planning or management, reporting, safety or security purposes, audit, evaluation, statistical, research, policy development, administration or enforcement of a law, the detection, prevention, or suppression of crime, and/or investigative purposes and disclosed to Parks Canada (PC) when a licence is issued in a park under PC’s jurisdiction. Failure to provide this personal information may result in your licence being denied. You have the right to the correction of, access to, and protection of, your personal information under the Privacy Act and to file a complaint with the Privacy Commissioner of Canada over DFO’s handling of your information. Personal information collected through the processing of your application is described in the Personal Information Bank, DFO PPU 085 and can be accessed and assessed for accuracy.

Important Notes

  1. Species At Risk:

If the proposed activity has the potential to affect a Species at Risk listed as endangered or threatened, or their residence or critical habitat, applicants may need a Species at Risk Act (SARA) Permit (refer to SARA sections 32, 33, and subsection 58(1)).

Additional information, including a SARA Permit Application form, can be found online at:
http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/species-especes/sara-lep/permits-permis/index-eng.html.

For further information, please contact the Species at Risk Management Division, Maritimes Region by phone at 1-866-891-0771 or by email at SpeciesatRisk.xmar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

  1. Marine Protected Areas:

There are several Oceans Act Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) in DFO Maritimes Region. These areas have been established to protect particular species, habitats, and/or ecological features.

A list of MPAs can be found online at: http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/oceans/mpa-zpm/index-eng.html.

If the proposed activity will be carried out within any of these MPAs, please contact MaritimesMPAs@dfo-mpo.gc.ca for more information, as additional approvals are required.

  1. Sensitive Benthic Areas:

Multiple locations in DFO Maritimes Region have been closed to bottom-contact fishing activities in order to protect sensitive benthic habitat and species. A list of these conservation closures can be found online at: http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/oceans/ceccsr-cerceef/measures-mesures-eng.html.

If the proposed research involves bottom-contact activities within any of these conservation areas, please email: dfo.mar-fm-gp.mpo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca for more information.

  1. Educational Purposes:

Activities associated with capturing aquatic organisms for the sole purpose of demonstrating sampling techniques, aquatic diversity, biological principles and public relations. This may include retaining organisms for further analysis.

  1. Public Display:

Activities associated with capturing organisms for the purpose of retaining the animals (dead or alive) and displaying these in public venues. Examples would be school aquaria, "touch tanks", "living streams", etc. The organisms are specifically destined to be removed from the wild and held in captivity and are not to be returned to the wild after capture. Generally, these organisms would be destroyed after the public display purposes are fulfilled. (Fee $100.00)

  1. Scientific Purposes:

Activities associated with capturing aquatic organisms for the purpose of measuring species abundance, distribution, and biological characteristics for the purpose of assessing stock status, for environmental impact assessment, for environmental monitoring programs or for experiments in field or laboratory. These activities are not intended to evaluate feasibility of fisheries but would include activities associated with gear selectivity experiments.

  1. Aquatic Invasive Species Control Purposes:

Activities associated with controlling aquatic invasive species, as identified under the Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations. For more information, please visit: http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/species-especes/ais-eae/regulations-reglements/index-eng.html

  1. Introduction of live Fish:

If the proposed activity has the potential to introduce live fish into fish habitat or transfer live fish to or between fish rearing facilities, applicants may require a licence pursuant to Section 56 of the Fishery (General) Regulations.

Additional information concerning the application process and provincial contacts

Date modified:

Région des Maritimes : Demande de permis délivré en vertu de l’article 52 du Règlement de pêche (dispositions générales)

ÉNONCÉ DE CONFIDENTIALITÉ

Les renseignements demandés dans le présent formulaire sont recueillis en vertu du Règlement de pêche (dispositions générales), pour déterminer l’admissibilité et pour créer les conditions des permis de pêche à des fins scientifiques, expérimentales, éducatives, d’exposition au public ou de contrôle des espèces aquatiques envahissantes. Les renseignements fournis sont susceptibles d’être utilisés aux fins suivantes : planification ou gestion des programmes, rapports, sécurité ou sûreté, vérification, évaluation, statistiques, recherche, élaboration de politiques, administration ou application d’une loi, détection, prévention ou répression d’un crime, et enquête. Ils peuvent également être communiqués à Parcs Canada (PC) lorsqu’un permis est délivré à l’intérieur d’un parc relevant de sa compétence. Le défaut de fournir les renseignements demandés pourrait entraîner le refus de votre permis. En vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, vous avez le droit de corriger vos renseignements personnels, d’y accéder et de les protéger. Vous avez aussi le droit de déposer une plainte auprès du commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada au sujet du traitement de vos renseignements. Les renseignements personnels recueillis pour le traitement de votre demande sont décrits dans le fichier de renseignements personnels MPO PPU 085. Il est possible d’y accéder et d’en évaluer l’exactitude.

Remarques importantes

  1. Espèces en péril

Si l’activité proposée peut avoir une incidence sur les espèces en péril désignées comme en voie de disparition ou menacées, sur leur résidence ou leur habitat essentiel, les demandeurs peuvent avoir besoin d’un permis en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) (consulter les articles 32 et 33 et le paragraphe 58[1]).

Plus de renseignements, y compris le formulaire de demande pour un permis en vertu de la LEP se trouvent en ligne à cette adresse :

http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/species-especes/sara-lep/permits-permis/index-fra.html.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec la Division de la gestion des espèces en péril, Région des Maritimes par téléphone, au 1-866-891-0771, ou par courriel, à l’adresse SpeciesatRisk.xmar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

  1. Zones de protection marine

Il y a plusieurs zones de protection marine (ZPM) en vertu de la Loi sur les océans dans la Région des Maritimes de Pêches et Océans Canada. Ces zones ont été établies pour protéger certains habitats, certaines espèces ou caractéristiques écologiques.

Une liste de ces ZPM se trouve en ligne à l’adresse suivante : http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/oceans/mpa-zpm/index-eng.html.

Si l’activité proposée se déroule dans une de ces ZPM, veuillez communiquer avec MaritimesMPAs@dfo-mpo.gc.ca pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, car des approbations supplémentaires sont requises.

  1. Zones benthiques vulnérables

Plusieurs emplacements dans la région des Maritimes du MPO sont fermés pour les activités de pêche entrant en contact avec le fond afin de protéger les habitats benthiques et les espèces sensibles. Une liste de ces fermetures pour des raisons de conservation se trouve en ligne à l’adresse suivante : http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/oceans/ceccsr-cerceef/measures-mesures-fra.html.

Si la recherche proposée implique des activités de pêche entrant en contact avec le fond dans une de ces zones de conservation, veuillez envoyer un courriel à l’adresse suivante : dfo.mar-fm-gp.mpo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

  1. À des fins éducatives

Des activités qui sont associées avec la capture d’organismes aquatiques dans le but de démontrer des techniques d’échantillonnage, la diversité aquatique et des principes biologiques, ainsi qu’aux fins de relations publiques. Cela peut comprendre la conservation des organismes pour des analyses plus approfondies.

  1. Exposition au public

Des activités qui sont associées avec la capture d’organismes dans le but de conserver des animaux (morts ou vivants) et pour les exposer dans les lieux publics. Voici des exemples : aquarium dans les écoles, « bassins de manipulation », « sources vives », etc. Les organismes sont spécifiquement destinés à être retirés du milieu sauvage et à être gardés en captivité. Ils ne doivent pas être retournés en milieu sauvage après la capture. D’habitude, ces organismes seraient détruits après l’exposition au public. (Frais de 100 $)

  1. À des fins scientifiques

Des activités qui sont associées à la capture d’organismes aquatiques dans le but de mesurer l’abondance, la distribution et les caractéristiques biologiques des espèces afin de pouvoir évaluer l’état du stock, pour des études d’impact sur l’environnement, pour les programmes de contrôles environnementaux ou pour des expériences en laboratoire ou sur le terrain. Ces activités n’ont pas pour but d’évaluer la viabilité des pêches, mais peuvent comprendre des activités associées aux expériences de sélectivité des engins.

  1. Aux fins de contrôle des espèces aquatiques envahissantes

Les activités associées au contrôle des EAE, comme elles sont identifiées en vertu du Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/species-especes/ais-eae/regulations-reglements/index-fra.html.

  1. Introduction de poissons vivants

Si l’activité proposée peut introduire des poissons vivants dans les habitats du poisson ou peut transférer des poissons vivants, entre ou à des installations d’élevage de poissons, les demandeurs peuvent avoir besoin d’un permis en vertu de l’article 56 du Règlement de pêche (dispositions générales).

Plus de renseignements concernant le processus de demande et les personnes-ressources provinciales.

Date de modification :