Science Enterprise Centres

The Government of Canada is committed to building stronger, more collaborative federal science, with a goal of achieving a world-class federal S&T system. The Science Enterprise Centres are a first start, focusing on aquatic environments to realize this long-term vision.

On this page

Vision and principles

Rooted in the Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s commitment to excellence and driven by science, the Science Enterprise Centres (SEC) Initiative seeks to foster partnerships and collaboration between the scientific and academic communities, Indigenous peoples, business groups, government partners and the public at large by providing the state of the art infrastructure, equipment and networks that will facilitate collaborative and innovative scientific research. Our goal is to build a culture of sustainability, to engender scientific excellence and to ensure continuous innovation that benefits all Canadians.

The SEC Initiative will be guided by four core principles:

  • Create space fostering scientific partnership in a flexible and adaptive environment.
  • Facilitate and foster community engagement in order to increase awareness in marine ecosystems, sustainable aquaculture and climate change.
  • Collaborate with Indigenous communities and science partners.
  • Build a culture of sustainability, scientific excellence and continuous innovation by leading and conducting collaborative research with federal and provincial government departments, academia, NGOs, research institutes and industrial partners to stimulate innovation and creativity while actively focusing on traditional ecological knowledge.

Objectives

The Science Enterprise Centre Initiative is predicated on four objective goals before the facilities are realized:

  1. To establish world-class, innovative, multi-partner collaboration that advances the DFO science mandate and expands science knowledge in Canada.
  2. To design a comprehensive, multi-purpose facility that will foster an adaptive environment that will accommodate the particular needs of scientists, partners, and the public.
  3. To forge a new partnership with First Nations and indigenous groups that will help shape and influence Scientific Endeavors.
  4. To create a comprehensive outreach strategy to open science to Canadians and to invite the public to contribute to scientific endeavours.

Centres

Atlantic Science Enterprise Centre

Atlantic Science Enterprise Centre

The centre will focus on coastal and estuary science and the communication of research results back to the community. The centre will engage scientific and academic communities, Indigenous peoples, the fishing industry, and the public.

Pacific Science Enterprise Centre

Pacific Science Enterprise Centre

The centre focuses on a wide range of aquatic research. Collaboration, partnerships and joint research opportunities engage scientific and academic communities, Indigenous peoples, the fishing industry and the public.

Contact us

Date modified:

Centre d’entreprise des sciences

Le gouvernement du Canada s’engage à renforcer l’infrastructure scientifique fédérale et à la rendre plus collaborative en vue d’avoir un système fédéral de sciences et de technologies de classe mondiale. Les Centre d’entreprise des sciences sont un premier projet axé sur les environnements aquatiques qui permettra de concrétiser cette vision à long terme.

Sur cette page

Vision et principes

Ancrée dans l’engagement de Pêches et Océans Canada envers l’excellence et axée sur la science, l’initiative des Centres d’entreprise des sciences cherche à encourager les partenariats et la collaboration entre les communautés des sciences et de l’enseignement, les peuples autochtones, les secteurs d’activité, les partenaires gouvernementaux et le grand public en fournissant des infrastructures, des équipements et des réseaux à la fine pointe de la technologie, qui faciliteront la recherche scientifique conjointe et innovatrice. Notre objectif est de mettre en place une culture de durabilité, de susciter l’excellence scientifique et d’assurer l’innovation continue, dans l’intérêt de tous les Canadiens.

L’initiative reposera sur les quatre principes fondamentaux suivants :

  • Créer un espace favorisant les partenariats scientifiques dans un environnement flexible et adaptatif.
  • Faciliter et stimuler l’engagement communautaire afin de mieux faire connaître les écosystèmes marins, l’aquaculture durable et les changements climatiques.
  • Collaborer avec les communautés autochtones et les partenaires scientifiques.
  • Mettre en place une culture de durabilité, d’excellence scientifique et d’innovation continue en dirigeant et en réalisant des recherches conjointes avec des ministères fédéraux et provinciaux, des établissements d’enseignement, des ONG, des instituts de recherche et des partenaires industriels afin de stimuler l’innovation et la créativité tout en mettant activement l’accent sur les connaissances écologiques traditionnelles.

Objectifs

L’initiative des Centres d’entreprise des sciences repose sur quatre objectifs à atteindre avant la réalisation des installations :

  1. Établir une collaboration de calibre mondial, pluripartite et novatrice qui fait progresser le mandat du secteur des sciences du MPO et les connaissances scientifiques au Canada.
  2. Concevoir une installation complète et polyvalente favorisant un environnement adaptatif qui tiendra compte des besoins particuliers des scientifiques, des partenaires et du public.
  3. Établir un nouveau partenariat avec les Premières Nations et les groupes autochtones permettant de façonner et d’influencer les travaux scientifiques.
  4. Créer une stratégie de sensibilisation exhaustive pour ouvrir les Canadiens et Canadiennes à la science, et inviter le public à contribuer aux travaux scientifiques.

Centres

Centre d’entreprise des sciences de l’Atlantique

Centre d’entreprise des sciences de l’Atlantique

Le centre doit mettre l’accent sur les sciences côtières et estuariennes et sur la communication des résultats de recherche à la communauté. Il doit mobiliser les communautés de sciences et de l’enseignement, les peuples autochtones, l’industrie de la pêche, et le public.

Centre d'entreprise scientifique du Pacifique

Centre d'entreprise scientifique du Pacifique

Le centre s’intéresse à une large gamme de recherches aquatiques. La collaboration, les partenariats et les possibilités de recherches communes doivent mobiliser les communautés des sciences et de l’enseignement, les peuples autochtones, l’industrie de la pêche et le public.

Contactez-nous

Date de modification :