Research funded by the Genomics Research and Development Initiative (GRDI)

Search the following filtered list for projects under the Genomics Research and Development Initiative.

Description Year(s)
Using a Genomics Approach to Identify Atlantic Salmon Aquaculture Escapees and Hybrids

The cultivation of Atlantic salmon has increased exponentially since the late 1960s with expansion into new geographic areas (e.g., Newfoundland) and use of new selectively bred strains from both North America and Europe. Coincident with this expansion has been an increased risk of farmed salmon escapes, which has the potential to impact the diversity of wild Atlantic salmon populations. This project will attempt to identify and apply targete...

Primary investigators: Dr. Ian Bradbury, Lorraine Hamilton, Geoff Perry

2014 20152016- 2017
Using a genomic approach to identify individual Chinook Salmon

The data needed to allow an estimation of mortality rates on individual populations of Pacific salmon species currently depends on the Coded-Wire Tag (CWT) program. However, concern is now growing as the current form of the program conducted by Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) for Chinook Salmon assessment is not financially sustainable and the quality of information delivered by the program is not sufficient for certain fishery management d...

Primary investigators: Dr. Terry Beacham, Dave Willis, Cheryl Lynch

2014 20152016- 2017
Using a genomic approach to explain how Redfish populations differ genetically

Identifying Redfish stocks which have a diverse ability to adapt to their environment is important for predicting future directions of the stocks, setting conservation priorities, and enabling better long-term management practices. Over the last fifteen years, neutral genetic markers, or those portions of DNA that give no indication of the species ability to adapt, provided a useful tool for defining different redfish species and for stock st...

Primary investigators: Yvan Lambert, Rick Rideout, Don Power, Éric Parent, Jean-Marie Sévigny

2014 20152016- 2017
Providing a genetic baseline to determine different Atlantic Salmon populations in the Northwest Atlantic and its application to composition analysis in domestic and international fisheries

Genetic analysis of populations of Atlantic salmon has broken new ground in stock identification; yet regional groups are often large and include populations at various stages of risk for extinction. This does not necessarily meet fisheries management needs and as a result there is increasing domestic and international pressure to explore options for improving the geographic resolution of salmon populations. This project will provide an impro...

Primary investigators: Dr. Ian Bradbury, Lorraine Hamilton, Elizabeth Nagel, Vicki Morris

2014 20152016- 2017
Measuring the Effectiveness of the Salmon Enhancement Program on Canada’s West Coast

Salmon enhancement restoration and conservation activities for Pacific salmon intended to support fisheries while maintaining the biological diversity of the many salmon species on Canada’s west coast are becoming increasingly important. Salmon hatchery supplementation and captive breeding of Sockeye and Chinook Salmon have successfully stabilized abundance, retained genetic diversity within target populations, and restored Canadian fisherie...

Primary investigators: Ruth Withler, Dave Willis, Mel Sheng, Wilf Luedke

2014 20152016- 2017
Measuring geographic range limits and genetic connections between non-native Green Crab populations and commercial Sea Scallop stocks

The European Green Crab (Carcinus maenas) is a high impact aquatic invasive predator which is reported to have commercial (e.g., soft shell clams) and ecosystem (e.g., eelgrass beds) consequences. Sea Scallops (Placopecten magellanicus) are consistently one of the most valuable shellfish species harvested from Canada’s Atlantic waters but connectivity (genetic exchange) between different stocks is not entirely understood. When considered from...

Primary investigators: Dr. Claudio DiBacco, Dr. Ian Bradbury, Lorraine Hamilton, Dr. Cynthia McKenzie, Dr. Stephen Smith, Leslie-Anne Davidson

2014 20152016- 2017
Developing a genomics tool (FIT-CHIP) for in-season information on Salmon health

Climate change, genetic challenges, ecological inconsistency, and disease can all be listed as potential stressors to wild populations of salmon on Canada’s west coast. This project is addressing the physical states of wild populations through the development of a series of “salmon FIT-CHIPs” which will be used as a predictor of salmon condition. The system offers extreme flexibility, allowing biological markers to be easily customized for st...

Primary investigators: Dr. Kristi Miller-Saunders, Paul Pavlidis

2014 20152016- 2017
Determining the Effect That Genetics has on Capelin Stock Structure over Many Generations in the Northwest Atlantic Ocean

Capelin (Mallotus villosus) is a commercially fished, key prey-fish species found in the northern waters of the Pacific and Atlantic oceans. Based on shape analysis, tag returns, and seasonal distribution patterns, four capelin stocks are assumed to inhabit the northwest Atlantic. However, a previous study has suggested that groupings are somewhat different than the current stock structure used for fisheries management and indicate that some ...

Primary investigators: Ellen Kenchington, Lorraine Hamilton, Brian Nakashima, Fran Mowbray

2014 20152016- 2017
Determining Different Stocks of Narwhals in Baffin Bay and Nearby Areas Using Genomics

The management goal for fisheries resources, including marine mammals, is the maintenance of populations and stocks that will ensure long term sustainability of the resource. Management questions involving narwhals have dominated requests for marine mammal scientific advice in recent years. At the heart of these questions is the need to be able to resolve stock boundaries for management purposes and attempt to understand the amount of genetic...

Primary investigators: Lianne Postma, Denise Tenkula, Steven Ferguson, Cortney Watt

2014 20152016- 2017
Detecting Colonizing Aquatic Organisms Using Environmental DNA (eDNA) Techniques

Environmental DNA (eDNA) or DNA that is isolated from environmental samples (e.g., water, soil) is quickly becoming a tool used by researchers to detect the occurrence of organisms that do not normally belong to an ecosystem. The method is an efficient and cost-effective alternative to standard surveying methods (e.g., netting, electrofishing) over large areas in aquatic environments. Although eDNA methods cannot currently replace standard s...

Primary investigators: Robert Bajno, Karen Dunmall, Tim Gingera, Jim Reist

2014 20152016- 2017
Using genomics to expand the knowledge of a non-toxic strain (avirulent) of Infectious Salmon Anemia Virus (ISAV)

Since the initial identification of Infectious Salmon Anemia Virus (ISAV), a variety of strains with variable virulence (toxicity) have been discovered. They range from the essentially avirulent strains, such as the HPR0 type, to the highly virulent HPR4 strain and many types in between. The foundation for this research lies in the idea that ISAV-HPR0 can be transmitted among a population and create a state similar to what is referred as “he...

Primary investigators: Nellie Gagné, Francis Leblanc, Mark Laflamme, Brian Glebe, Steve Leadbeater

2011 20122013- 2014
Using genetics to test the theory that 1) Atlantic salmon mortality at sea is linked to climate change, and 2) subsistence fishing is impacting Atlantic salmon population recovery

A majority of salmon populations in the Northwest Atlantic are threatened or at risk of extinction and estimates of the impact of climate change and subsistence harvests are central to rebuilding and recovery strategies. By identifying genes associated with climate change and genetic adaptation in Atlantic salmon, this work provided an opportunity to discover the overall role of climate change in the decline of Atlantic salmon, the strength o...

Primary investigators: Dr. Ian Bradbury, Dr. Patrick O’Reilly

2011 20122013- 2014
Improving the value of management advice using genetic and acoustic telemetry tools to reveal Atlantic Cod population structure and to examine conservation for the Gilbert Bay Marine Protected Area

The goal of this project was to develop an improved ability to distinguish Atlantic Cod population structure using genetic techniques, including the Gilbert Bay cod population, and apply this information to improve fisheries management advice. The protected Gilbert Bay Atlantic Cod population has low numbers and the intent of this research was to be able to genetically determine what proportion of cod caught near Gilbert Bay is actually those...

Primary investigators: Corey Morris, Ian Bradbury, Lorraine Hamilton, Laura Park, John Brattey, Robert Gregory, Carl Bradley, John Green, Roland Kemuksigak

2011 20122013- 2014
Genetic description of a new Sockeye Salmon virus and its association with a previously discovered signal of premature death (mortality-related signature or MRS)

A primary goal of this research has been to identify conditional states in wild migrating salmon that may be associated with poor performance as smolts transition to the ocean and adults migrate into freshwater to spawn. Following that theme, in-house large-scale genomics research has led to the discovery of a widespread and powerful genomic signature (mortality related signature or MRS) among adult Sockeye Salmon in the Fraser River. This s...

Primary investigator: Dr. Kristi Miller

2011 20122013- 2014
Development and Application of Next Generation Genomics Technology for Improved Management of Marine Populations and Ecosystems

This research is expected to benefit the work of the Department in five ways: to help manage endangered and threatened populations and ecosystems; to assist in determining the consequences of interactions between wild and cultured salmon; to help assess the spread of aquatic invasive species in coastal habitats; to provide data on possible adaptive responses of marine species to climate change; and to increase Canada’s genomic and bio-inform...

Primary investigators: Dr. Ian Bradbury, Dr. Claudio DiBacco, Lorraine Hamilton

2011 20122013- 2014
Arctic Fish Genomics as 'Sentinels' of Ecosystem Integrity and Change

Climate change and increased variability in the western Arctic is significantly affecting freshwater, anadromous and marine fishes and their respective habitats and ecosystems. With this pressing issue in mind, there were a number of priorities that this project addressed: research to underpin the sustainable management of Arctic fisheries (e.g., Dolly Varden Integrated Fisheries Management Plan), assessing effects/risks of climate change (e...

Primary investigator: Jim Reist

2011 20122013- 2014
A Genomics Study of the Role of Infectious Hematopoietic Necrosis Virus infection in Sockeye Salmon Populations

Disease has been identified among a list of factors that may be responsible for declines of Fraser River Sockeye Salmon. There are a variety of pathogens causing disease and death in Sockeye Salmon and among these, infectious hematopoietic necrosis virus (IHNV) is recognized as a lethal contagion. Key questions remain about IHNV regarding the origins, transmission and impact of the virus across salmonid species and stocks. It has been suggest...

Primary investigators: Kyle Garver, Stewart Johnson, Ben Koop, Scott LaPatra

2011 20122013- 2014
A genetic project to determine the population structure of Deepwater Redfish across the Northwest Atlantic

Conservation of Deepwater Redfish across Atlantic fishing zones is important to Canada. New information from this study will assist the development and implementation of management and conservation measures for this species. The geographic distribution of Deepwater Redfish (Sebastes mentella) is essentially continuous across the North Atlantic. Therefore, sustainable management of this resource demands a good understanding of the population s...

Primary investigators: Jean-Marie Sévigny, Don Power, Christoph Stransky

2011 20122013- 2014
Date modified:

Recherche financée par l’Initiative de recherche et développement en génomique

Consultez la liste filtrée suivante de projets financés par l'Initiative de recherche et développement en génomique.

Description Année(s)
Utilisation de la génomique pour identifier les différents stocks de narval dans la baie de Baffin et dans les zones environnantes

La gestion des ressources halieutiques, y compris les mammifères marins, a pour objectif le maintien des populations et des stocks qui assurent la durabilité à long terme de ces ressources. Les demandes d'avis scientifiques portant sur des mammifères marins présentées au cours des quelques dernières années touchent principalement des questions de gestion du narval. Ces questions soulignent la nécessité d'établir les limites des stocks à des f...

Principaux chercheurs: Lianne Postma, Denise Tenkula, Steve Ferguson, Cortney Watt

2014 20152016- 2017
Utilisation d'une approche génomique pour identifier les individus des populations de saumon quinnat

Les données nécessaires à l'estimation du taux de mortalité au sein de chacune des populations de saumon du Pacifique proviennent actuellement du programme de micromarque magnétisée codée. Toutefois, des préoccupations ont été exprimées relativement au fait que, sous sa forme actuelle, le programme géré par Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) pour l'évaluation des populations de saumon quinnat n'est plus viable financièrement et que certaines décis...

Principaux chercheurs: Dr. Terry Beacham, Dave Willis, Cheryl Lynch

2014 20152016- 2017
Utilisation d'une approche génomique pour expliquer les différences génétiques entre les différentes populations de sébaste

Il importe d'identifier les stocks de sébaste qui disposent d'un éventail de stratégies d'adaptation à l'environnement afin de prévoir l'état des stocks, d'établir des priorités de conservation et de mettre en œuvre de meilleures pratiques de gestion à long terme. Au cours des 15 dernières années, les marqueurs génétiques neutres, soit la portion de l'ADN qui ne donne pas d'indication sur la capacité d'adaptation d'une espèce, ont été utiles ...

Principaux chercheurs: Yvan Lambert, Rick Rideout, Don Power, Éric Parent, Jean-Marie Sévigny

2014 20152016- 2017
Identifier les saumons de l'Atlantique d'élevage qui se sont échappés et les hybrides au moyen d'une approche génomique

La pisciculture du saumon de l’Atlantique a explosé vers la fin des années 1960; elle a depuis gagné de nouvelles zones géographiques (p. ex., Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) et a donné lieu à l'utilisation de souches obtenues par élevage sélectif en Amérique du Nord comme en Europe. Cette expansion a entraîné un risque accru d'évasion des saumons d'élevage, ce qui pourrait avoir une incidence sur la diversité des populations de saumon sauvage de l'...

Principaux chercheurs: Dr. Ian Bradbury, Lorraine Hamilton, Geoff Perry

2014 20152016- 2017
Évaluation de l'efficacité du Programme de mise en valeur des salmonidés sur la côte Ouest du Canada

Les activités de restauration, de mise en valeur et de conservation des stocks de saumon du Pacifique à l'appui des pêches mais aussi du maintien de la biodiversité des espèces de salmonidés de la côte Ouest du Canada prennent de plus en plus d'ampleur. Les lâchers de poissons d'élevage et l'élevage en captivité du saumon rouge et du saumon quinnat ont permis de stabiliser l'abondance, de maintenir la diversité génétique au sein des populati...

Principaux chercheurs: Ruth Withler, Dave Willis, Mel Sheng, Wilf Luedke

2014 20152016- 2017
Établir la limite géographique des aires de répartition et les liens génétiques entre les populations de crabe vert non indigène et les stocks commerciaux de pétoncle géant

Le crabe vert (Carcinus maenas) est un prédateur aquatique envahissant dont la présence a des répercussions sur la pêche commerciale (p. ex., la pêche à la mye) et les écosystèmes (p. ex., les herbiers de zostère). Bien que la pêche au pétoncle géant (Placopecten magellanicus) soit l'une des plus rentables de l'Atlantique canadien, on comprend encore mal les échanges génétiques qui peuvent se produire entre les différents stocks. D'un point d...

Principaux chercheurs: Dr. Claudio DiBacco, Dr. Ian Bradbury, Lorraine Hamilton, Dr. Cynthia McKenzie, Dr. Stephen Smith, Leslie-Anne Davidson

2014 20152016- 2017
Déterminer l'effet des facteurs génétiques sur la structure des stocks de capelan en étudiant de nombreuses générations de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest

Le capelan (Mallotus villosus) est un poisson fourrage important faisant l'objet d'une pêche commerciale et dont les principales populations se trouvent dans le Nord du Pacifique et de l'Atlantique. Selon l'analyse de la forme, les étiquettes récupérées et les profils de répartition saisonniers, il a été déterminé que quatre stocks de capelans vivent dans l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest. Cependant, une étude antérieure indique que les regroupements d...

Principaux chercheurs: Ellen Kenchington, Lorraine Hamilton, Brian Nakashima, Fran Mowbray

2014 20152016- 2017
Détection d'organismes aquatiques colonisateurs grâce à des techniques relatives à l'ADN environnemental (ADNe)

L'utilité de l'ADN environnemental (ADNe), soit l'ADN isolé d'échantillons environnementaux (p. ex., eau, terre), est de plus en plus reconnue par les chercheurs qui visent à détecter la présence d'organismes qui ne devraient pas se trouver dans un écosystème donné. Cette technique représente une solution de rechange efficace et peu coûteuse aux méthodes de surveillance (p. ex., la pêche aux filets ou à l'électricité) habituellement utilisées...

Principaux chercheurs: Robert Bajno, Karen Dunmall, Tim Gingera, Jim Reist

2014 20152016- 2017
Création d'un ensemble de données génétiques de référence pour l'identification des différentes populations de saumon de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest et l'analyse de la composition des pêches canadiennes et internationales

L'analyse génétique des populations de saumon de l’Atlantique a donné lieu à des percées dans l'identification des stocks; cependant, les groupes régionaux sont souvent plus imposants et sont constitués de populations présentant un risque plus ou moins grave d'extinction. Cela ne correspond pas nécessairement aux besoins en matière de gestion des pêches et, par conséquent, des pressions croissantes s'exercent sur le plan national et internati...

Principaux chercheurs: Dr. Ian Bradbury, Lorraine Hamilton, Elizabeth Nagel, Vicki Morris

2014 20152016- 2017
Conception d'un outil génomique (FIT-CHIP) pour l'obtention d'informations sur la santé du saumon en cours de saison

Le changement climatique, les défis liés à l'hérédité, l'instabilité écologique et la maladie sont tout autant d'agents de stress qui perturbent les populations de saumons sauvages de la côte Ouest du Canada. Ce projet se penchera sur l'état physique des populations sauvages en concevant une série de « FIT-CHIP » qui serviront à prédire la condition du saumon. Ce système est caractérisé par une grande souplesse d'utilisation; il est facile de...

Principaux chercheurs: Dr. Kristi Miller-Saunders, Paul Pavlidis

2014 20152016- 2017
Utilisation de la génomique pour développer les connaissances d'une souche non toxique (avirulente) de l'anémie infectieuse du saumon

Depuis la première identification du virus de l'anémie infectieuse du saumon (AIS), diverses souches présentant des niveaux de virulence (toxicité) variables ont été découvertes. On trouve à la fois des souches essentiellement avirulentes, par exemple de type HPR0, et des souches hautement virulentes comme la HPR4, ainsi que de nombreux types de souches de virulence intermédiaire. Ce projet de recherche repose sur l'idée que la souche HPR0 d...

Principaux chercheurs: Nellie Gagné, Francis Leblanc, Mark Laflamme, Brian Glebe, Steve Leadbeater

2011 20122013- 2014
Utilisation de la génomique des poissons de l'Arctique en tant qu'indicateur de l'intégrité et du changement de l'écosystème

Le changement climatique et la variabilité accrue dans l'ouest de l'Arctique ont une incidence considérable sur les poissons d'eau douce, anadromes et marins, ainsi que sur leurs habitats et écosystèmes respectifs. Cette question urgente a orienté le projet, qui s'est penché sur les différentes priorités suivantes : la recherche visant à soutenir la gestion durable des pêches en Arctique (p. ex., Plan de gestion intégrée des pêches du Dolly ...

Chercheur principal: Jim Reist

2011 20122013- 2014
Utilisation de la génétique pour tester la théorie selon laquelle 1) la mortalité du saumon de l'Atlantique en mer est liée aux changements climatiques et 2) la pêche de subsistance a un impact sur le rétablissement des populations de saumon de l'Atlantique

La majorité des populations de saumon de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest sont menacées ou en voie d'extinction et il est essentiel d'estimer l'impact des changements climatiques et des pêches de subsistance pour pouvoir élaborer des stratégies de reconstruction et des programmes de rétablissement. Grâce à l'identification des gènes associés aux changements climatiques et à l'adaptation génétique chez le saumon de l'Atlantique, ces travaux ont permis ...

Principaux chercheurs: Dr. Ian Bradbury, Dr. Patrick O’Reilly

2011 20122013- 2014
Une étude génomique du rôle de l'infection par le virus de la nécrose hématopoïétique infectieuse chez les populations de saumon rouge

La maladie a été choisie dans une liste de facteurs qui seraient responsables du déclin du saumon rouge du fleuve Fraser. Il existe divers agents pathogènes entraînant des maladies et des décès chez le saumon rouge et parmi ceux-ci, la contagion par le virus de la nécrose hématopoïétique infectieuse (VNHI) est reconnue comme létale. D'importants problèmes restent à résoudre concernant le VNHI, notamment ses origines, sa transmission et son im...

Principaux chercheurs: Kyle Garver, Stewart Johnson, Ben Koop, Scott LaPatra

2011 20122013- 2014
Projet génétique visant à déterminer la structure de la population de sébaste atlantique dans tout l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest

La conservation du sébaste atlantique dans l'ensemble des zones de pêche de l'Atlantique est importante pour le Canada. Les nouveaux renseignements recueillis dans le cadre de cette étude aideront à élaborer et à mettre en œuvre des mesures de gestion et de conservation pour cette espèce. Le sébaste atlantique (Sebastes mentella) est distribué à l’échelle de l'Atlantique Nord. Par conséquent, la gestion durable de cette ressource exige une bo...

Principaux chercheurs: Jean-Marie Sévigny, Don Power, Christoph Stransky

2011 20122013- 2014
Développement et application de la technologie de génomique de la nouvelle génération pour améliorer la gestion des populations et des écosystèmes marins

Cette recherche devrait s'avérer bénéfique aux travaux du Ministère pour cinq raisons elle aide à gérer les populations et les écosystèmes en voie de disparition et menacés; elle aide à déterminer les conséquences des interactions entre les saumons sauvages et d'élevage; elle aide à évaluer la propagation des espèces aquatiques envahissantes dans les habitats côtiers; elle fournit des données sur les réponses adaptatives possibles des espèce...

Principaux chercheurs: Dr. Ian Bradbury, Dr. Claudio DiBacco, Lorraine Hamilton

2011 20122013- 2014
Description génétique d'un nouveau virus du saumon rouge et son lien avec un signe de décès prématuré précédemment découvert (signature associée à la mortalité [SAM])

L'un des principaux objectifs de cette recherche de déterminer les états conditionnels du saumon sauvage migrateur pouvant être associés à un faible rendement lorsque les saumoneaux passent dans l'océan et que les adultes migrent vers les cours d'eau douce pour frayer. Suivant ce thème, une recherche interne à grande échelle en génomique a permis de découvrir une signature génomique répandue et puissante (SAM) chez le saumon rouge adulte dans...

Chercheur principal: Dr. Kristi Miller

2011 20122013- 2014
Améliorer la valeur des avis en matière de gestion fournis par des outils qui utilisent la génomique pour révéler la structure des populations de morues de l'Atlantique et la télémesure acoustique pour examiner la conservation dans l'aire marine protégée de la baie de Gilbert

Ce projet vise à accroître et à perfectionner la capacité de détermination de la structure des populations de morues, notamment celle de la baie de Gilbert, à l'aide de techniques génétiques, les renseignements ainsi obtenus servant ensuite à améliorer les avis en matière de gestion de pêches. La population de morues de la baie de Gilbert, protégée, n'existe plus qu'en faible nombre. Ce projet de recherche permettrait d'établir génétiquement ...

Principaux chercheurs: Corey Morris, Ian Bradbury, Lorraine Hamilton, Laura Park, John Brattey, Robert Gregory, Carl Bradley, John Green, Roland Kemuksigak

2011 20122013- 2014
Date de modification :