Aquatic Climate Change Adaptation Services Program (ACCASP)

Three short videos feature ocean scientists explaining processes that regulate climate and how changes are occurring in our oceans.

Aquatic Climate Change Video: Dr. Charles Hannah discusses potential climate change impacts to marine and freshwater ecosystems across Canada.

Ocean Acidification Video: Dr. Kumiko Azetsu-Scott explains ocean acidification and how oceans absorb carbon dioxide entering earth's atmosphere.

Low Oxygen/Marine Hypoxia Video: Dr. Denis Gilbert explains that some hypoxic dead zones occur naturally and others result from human activities. Some low oxygen areas, including one on the Pacific continental shelf, are linked to climate change.

Understanding and adapting to climate change

The Government of Canada announced $148.8 million in ongoing climate change adaptation funding over five years in 2011, including $16.5 million to Fisheries and Oceans Canada to implement the Aquatic Climate Change Adaptation Services Program (ACCASP).  The program is developing knowledge about climate change to integrate it into the delivery of departmental programs. The table shows climate change risks that impact divisions at Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Climate Change Risks Impacted DFO Sectors
Sea-level rise and storm surges can impact safety & infrastructure Coast Guard, Small Craft Harbours, Oceans Management
Changes in ocean temperature, precipitation & freshwater runoff impact ecosystems Species at Risk, Habitat, Ecosystem Management
Decrease in water O2 and pH, and changes in nutrients may impact fisheries Fisheries Management, Oceans Management
The program has three components: 1) assessment of climate change risks and vulnerabilities in four large basins, 2) research to understand the impacts of climate change and 3) research to create applied science to adapt to climate change.
  1. Four Large Aquatic Basin Risk Assessments cover large areas of the Pacific, Arctic and Atlantic Oceans plus Canada’s inland waters represented by the Lake Winnipeg and Great Lakes’ drainage systems. Each large basin assessment includes an analysis of climate trends and projections for the aquatic environment in order to help managers make strategic, climate-sensitive decisions about Departmental activities and assets which are at risk to a changing climate. Three streams of evidence with a bearing on the future are integrated into the risk assessments: 1) A science-based climate change risk analysis of ecosystem impacts, vulnerabilities and opportunities and infrastructure impacts; 2) a socio-economic evaluation, and 3) strategic policy concerns. The preliminary findings of the four large basin risk assessments are at the following links: 
  2. Secondly, the program’s research projects are developing science knowledge and tools for Understanding Impacts of Climate Change, and
  3. The program’s third component consists of research projects to create applied science Adaptation Tools and strategies to integrate climate change considerations into the delivery of departmental programs and policies.  The three priority areas for science knowledge and tools are: Canada’s North; Marine and Freshwater Infrastructure Impacts; and Marine and Freshwater Ecosystem Impacts. 
Halifax Harbour, Nova Scotia / Photo DFO
Halifax Harbour, N.S. Photo: DFO
Resolute Bay in the Arctic Archipelago, Nunavut / Photo: DFO.
Severe storms due to climate change endanger the coastal infrastructure of Northern communities, Tuktoyaktuk, Northwest Territories / Photo: M. Fortier, ArcticNet.

National Workshops

National workshops were conducted at the outset of the program to define Departmental needs for understanding climate change. Summaries are here: National Workshop Proceedings/ Client Needs; National Workshop Proceedings/ Science Needs  

Earlier efforts to understand the impacts of climate change on the Department are summarized here:  Climate Change Risk Assessment Report, 2005 ; National Climate Change Risk Profile, 2012 Update.

Climate change has been a research priority at DFO for some time. The Department’s Climate Change Science Initiative and its achievements were a precursor to ACCASP. On the international front, fourteen DFO scientists were among those recognized for their contributions to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), co-recipient of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize, and for their "efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change.In 2013, DFO scientists have again contributed to the latest IPCC assessment.

Severe storms due to climate change, impact infrastructure maintained by Fisheries and Oceans Canada. The small craft harbour at Balsam Bay, Manitoba before and after an extreme 'weather bomb' storm. Photos: DFO
Severe storms due to climate change, impact infrastructure maintained by Fisheries and Oceans Canada. The small craft harbour at Balsam Bay, Manitoba before and after an extreme 'weather bomb' storm. Photos: DFO
Severe storms due to climate change, impact infrastructure maintained by Fisheries and Oceans Canada. The small craft harbour at Balsam Bay, Manitoba before and after an extreme 'weather bomb' storm. Photos: DFO

 Learn more about climate change adaptation at the Government of Canada Climate Change portal.

Programme des services d'adaptation aux changements climatiques en milieu aquatique (PSACCMA)

Trois courtes vidéos présentent des océanographes expliquant les processus qui régularisent le climat et la façon dont les changements se produisent dans nos océans

Vidéo sur le changement climatique aquatique : Charles Hannah discute des répercussions des changements climatiques sur les écosystèmes marins et d'eau au Canada.

Vidéo sur l'acidification des océans : Kumiko Azetsu-Scott explique l'acidification des océans et la façon dont ces derniers absorbent le dioxyde de carbone qui pénètre dans l'atmosphère de la Terre.

Vidéo sur le faible taux d'oxygène/hypoxie marine : Denis Gilbert explique que certaines zones deviennent hypoxiques de façon naturelle alors que d'autres sont le résultat des activités humaines. Certains secteurs qui présentent un faible taux d'oxygène, dont celui sur le plateau continental du Pacifique, sont liés au changement climatique.

Compréhension des changements climatiques et adaptation à ces derniers

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé, en 2011, un financement continu de l'adaptation aux changements climatiques de 148,8 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, dont 16,5 millions de dollars accordés à Pêches et Océans Canada pour la mise en œuvre du Programme des services d'adaptation aux changements climatiques en milieu aquatique (PSACCMA).  Le programme développe des connaissances sur les changements climatiques afin de les intégrer à la prestation des programmes du Ministère.

Le tableau présente les risques liés aux changements climatiques qui se répercutent sur les divisions de Pêches et Océans Canada.

Risques associées aux changements climatiques

Secteurs touchés du MPO

La hausse du niveau de la mer et les ondes de tempête peuvent se répercuter sur la sécurité et l'infrastructure

Garde côtière, Ports pour petits bateaux, Gestion des océans

Changements de température de l'océan, impact sur les écosystèmes des précipitations et du ruissellement

Espèces en péril, Habitat et Gestion des écosystèmes

La diminution de l'O2 et du pH de l'eau et variations en nutriments des eaux peuvent toucher les pêches

Gestion des pêches, Gestion des océans

Le programme est constitué de trois éléments : 1) évaluation des risques et des vulnérabilités en lien avec les changements climatiques dans quatre grands bassins; 2) recherche en vue de comprendre les répercussions des changements climatiques; 3) recherche afin de créer des sciences appliquées pour s'adapter aux changements climatiques.

  1. Les quatre « évaluations des risques associés aux grands bassins aquatiques » couvrent de grandes zones des océans Pacifique, Arctique et Atlantique en plus des eaux intérieures canadiennes des systèmes de drainage des Grands Lacs et du lac Winnipeg. Chaque évaluation d'un grand bassin comprend une analyse des tendances et des projections climatiques du milieu marin pour aider les gestionnaires à prendre des décisions stratégiques et influencées par le climat quant aux activités et aux actifs du Ministère à risque en raison de ces changements. Trois sources de preuves ayant une incidence importante sur l'avenir sont intégrées aux évaluations des risques : 1) une analyse scientifique des risques des changements climatiques sur les impacts, vulnérabilités et opportunités pour l'écosystème et les répercussions sur les infrastructures; 2) une évaluation socio-économique; 3) des préoccupations en matière de politiques stratégiques. Les conclusions préliminaires des évaluations des quatre grands bassins peuvent être consultées en cliquant sur les liens suivants :
  2. De plus, les projets de recherche du programme développent des outils et des connaissances scientifiques pour la compréhension des répercussions des changements climatiques.
  3. Le troisième élément du programme regroupe des projets de recherche visant à créer des outils d'adaptation en sciences appliquées et des stratégies afin d'intégrer les considérations relatives aux changements climatiques à la prestation des programmes et des politiques du Ministère.  Les trois domaines prioritaires en lien avec les outils et les connaissances scientifiques sont le Nord du Canada, les infrastructures marines et d'eau douce, et les répercussions sur les écosystèmes marins et d'eau douce.
port d'Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse Photo : MPO
Port d'Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse Photo : MPO
De violentes tempêtes causées par les changements climatiques
De violentes tempêtes causées par les changements climatiques menacent les infrastructures côtières dans l'Arctique, Tuktoyaktuk, T. N.-O./Photo : M. Fortier, Arcticnet.

Ateliers nationaux

Des ateliers nationaux ont eu lieu au début du programme pour définir les besoins du Ministère relatifs à la compréhension des changements climatiques. Des résumés sont accessibles ici : Comptes rendus de l'atelier national sur les besoins des clients; Comptes rendus de l'atelier national sur les besoins du Secteur des sciences

Les efforts réalisés dès le départ en vue de comprendre les répercussions des changements climatiques sur le Ministère sont résumés ici : Rapport d'évaluation des risques associés aux changements climatiques, 2005; Profil national des risques associés aux changements climatiques, mise à jour de 2012.

Depuis un certain temps, les changements climatiques sont une priorité en matière de recherche pour le MPO. L'initiative de recherche scientifique sur le changement climatique du Ministère et les réalisations découlant de cette initiative ont été un précurseur du PSACCMA. À l'échelle internationale, quatorze scientifiques du MPO ont été reconnus pour leur contribution au Groupe d'experts intergouvernemental sur l'évolution du climat (GIEC), co-récipiendaire du prix Nobel de la paix de 2007 qui a reconnu leurs « efforts de collecte et de diffusion des connaissances sur les changements climatiques » et le fait qu'ils ont « jeté les bases des mesures nécessaires à la lutte contre ces changements ».  En 2013, des scientifiques du MPO ont de nouveau contribué à la dernière évaluation du GIEC.

Severe storms due to climate change, impact infrastructure maintained by Fisheries and Oceans Canada. The small craft harbour at Balsam Bay, Manitoba before and after an extreme 'weather bomb' storm. Photos: DFO
De violentes tempêtes ont des répercussions sur les infrastructures du MPO. Avant et après une « bombe météorologique » : port pour petits bateaux à Balsam Bay, au Manitoba. Photos : MPO.
Avant et après une « bombe météorologique » : port pour petits bateaux à Balsam Bay, au Manitoba.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l'adaptation aux changements climatiques sur le portail du gouvernement du Canada sur les changements climatiques.