World Hydrography Day

World Hydrography Day

World Hydrography Day is a great chance to increase public awareness of hydrography science. As a global leader in this growing field, the Canadian Hydrographic Service creates the nautical charts that mariners rely on for safe navigation.

The International Hydrographic Organization (IHO) and its international members celebrate World Hydrography Day every year on June 21. The theme for 2019 is “hydrographic information driving marine knowledge,” reflecting the increasing importance of hydrographic information to the broader marine community. Hydrographic surveying not only supports nautical charting and the delivery of tide, current and water level information but also safe maritime transportation, marine conservation, determining the limits of Canada’s continental shelf, and so much more.

As a proud member of IHO, Canada has participated in this global event since it started in 2005. This year’s celebration is especially important as it marks the 100th anniversary of the first International Hydrographic Conference, held in London in 1919, leading to the foundation of the modern IHO.

Find out how World Hydrography Day is celebrated around the world.

Video gallery

The following videos explore how hydrography is used to uncover potential hazards, chart underwater landscapes, and ensure safe and efficient navigation in Canadian waters.

The science of hydrography
The science of hydrography
Automated Hydrographic Surface Vehicles
Automated Hydrographic Surface Vehicles
Charting Canada's navigable waterways
Charting Canada's navigable waterways

Our Scientists – From Coast to Coast to Coast – Annie Biron

Updating Canada's maritime limits and boundaries
Updating Canada's maritime limits and boundaries

Our Scientists – From Coast to Coast to Coast – Deanna Sokoloski

The International Hydrographic Organization – 100 Years in the Making
The International Hydrographic Organization – 100 Years in the Making

Related links

Date modified:

World Hydrography Day

Journée mondiale de l’hydrographie

La Journée mondiale de l’hydrographie est une excellente occasion d’accroître la connaissance du public à l’égard de l’hydrographie. À titre de chef de file mondial dans ce domaine en pleine croissance, le Service hydrographique du Canada produit les cartes marines dont dépendent les navigateurs pour une navigation sécuritaire.

L’Organisation hydrographique internationale (OHI) et ses membres internationaux célèbrent chaque année la Journée mondiale de l’hydrographie le 21 juin. Le thème de 2019 est « Les informations hydrographiques, moteur de la connaissance du milieu marin », qui tient compte de l’importance croissante des renseignements hydrographiques pour l’ensemble de la communauté maritime. Les relevés hydrographiques permettent non seulement d’établir des cartes marines et de fournir des renseignements sur les marées, les courants et les niveaux de l’eau, ils assurent aussi le transport maritime sécuritaire, la conservation marine, la délimitation du plateau continental du Canada, et bien plus encore.

En tant que fier membre de l’OHI, le Canada participe à cet événement mondial depuis ses débuts en 2005. Cette année, la célébration est particulièrement importante, puisqu’elle marque le 100e anniversaire de la première Conférence hydrographique internationale, qui a eu lieu à Londres en 1919. C’est ce qui a conduit à la création de l’OHI moderne.

Découvrez comment la Journée mondiale de l’hydrographie est célébrée dans le monde entier.

Galerie de vidéos

Les vidéos suivantes présentent la façon dont l'hydrographie est utilisée pour déceler les dangers potentiels, cartographier les paysages sous-marins et assurer une navigation sécuritaire et efficace dans les eaux canadiennes.

La science de l'hydrographie
La science de l'hydrographie
Véhicules hydrographiques de surface automatisés
Véhicules hydrographiques de surface automatisés
Cartographier les voies navigables au Canada
Cartographier les voies navigables au Canada

Nos scientifiques – d'un océan à l'autre - Annie Biron

Actualiser les limites et les frontières maritimes du Canada
Actualiser les limites et les frontières maritimes du Canada

Nos scientifiques – d'un océan à l'autre - Deanna Sokoloski

Organisation hydrographique internationale – 100 ans en devenir. (disponible seulement en anglais)
Organisation hydrographique internationale – 100 ans en devenir

(disponible seulement en anglais)

Liens connexes

Date de modification :