Habitat Science

A number of human industrial activities can affect fish and their habitat. These include oil & gas development, mining, chemical industries, shipping and electricity generation. In order to sustain and soundly manage these activities to ensure minimum impact on ecosystems, accurate and informed regulatory and policy decisions must be made. As a result, Environmental Science at DFO is issue driven; focusing our scientific expertise on the environmental effects that must be factored in to all decision-making.

Hydro Electricity

Hydroelectric generation in Canada is expected to continue to increase over the next decade. Hydroelectric dams can significantly alter the flow regime of rivers. Unfortunately changing flow regimes and impoundments affect fish migration and survival, along with the food webs upon which they depend.

Research on stream flows for fish survival leads to better design of hydroelectric facilities and better operating practices, consistent with the conservation and protection objectives of the Fisheries Act. Research is also being conducted on the effects of reservoir creation on mercury availability. Flooding caused by reservoir creation can lead to elevated levels of mercury in the water and fish.

An example of successful science-based fishery management is the Exploits River in Newfoundland, which supports one of the largest Atlantic salmon runs in North America. The Exploits has two major power dams and several pulp mills. DFO has worked for several decades at improving salmon production, including conducting research on the environmental impacts of pulp & paper and hydro facilities. Since 1997, Environmental Scientists in Newfoundland have worked with Abitibi Consolidated Company of Canada, the Exploits River Management Association, the Universities of Waterloo and British Columbia, and consulting firms to provide scientific advice on the construction of a by-pass system to allow fish to get safely past the turbines. As a result, downstream fish passage has increased. Overall, the salmon population has been steadily increasing due to, both, an enhancement program of stocking and the fishway by-pass.

Oil & Gas

In light of recent international pressures on oil supply and cost, oil & gas related activities have increased on Canada's coasts. The oil & gas moratorium on the Pacific Coast is currently being re-evaluated and in Atlantic Canada oil & gas exploration and development is expanding. There is renewed interest in exploration in the Mackenzie Delta and Beaufort Sea. Science research and advice is required by the Habitat and Oceans branches to support their decision-making related to marine ecosystem conservation. Advice is provided on a range of issues from the effects of seismic surveys on marine species and ecosystems to the effects of drilling operations, production systems and the decommissioning of oil drilling platforms.

Targeted scientific research and expertise is used to provide timely, informed science advice to DFO decision-makers to support their policy development related to marine ecosystem conservation.

Environmental Science at DFO acquires scientific understanding of marine ecosystems through a coordinated national program of targeted research that focuses on ecosystem impacts of offshore oil & gas activities. We also provide scientific information and advice to support conservation and protection of marine ecosystems and the sustainable utilization of aquatic resources.

DFO established the Centre for Offshore Oil, Gas and Energy Research (COOGER) to coordinate the department's nation-wide research on the environmental and oceanographic impacts of offshore petroleum exploration, production and transportation. COOGER addresses the departmental mandate and industry need by providing scientific knowledge for use to ensure safe and environmentally sound management of offshore oil and gas operations.

Centre for Offshore Oil, Gas and Energy Research

Toxic Contaminants

Canada has over 35,000 chemical substances in commercial use. An overwhelming majority of existing chemicals have not been tested for toxicity, and very little data exist on these substances. To reduce the impacts of toxic chemicals on fish, fish habitat and fishery resources, DFO conducts research on toxic chemicals. This provides the scientific advice necessary in the regulatory and policy decision-making process.

The desired end-point of the toxic chemicals research is the identification of the biological impact of toxic chemicals on aquatic ecosystems and the understanding of how these changes are reflected in the health of the fishery resource. The issues facing toxics research are broad and range from cellular to population levels; from marine to freshwater systems; toxic sources such as agriculture, municipal effluent, energy development, pulp mills and aquaculture; and are responsive to a variety of federal legislation [e.g., Fisheries Act, Oceans Act, Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, Pest Control Products Act]. To understand and advise on these issues requires not only the individual expertise of the researcher, but that of a research team that is usually multi-disciplinary, multi-regional and multi-sectoral.

Examples of current research by DFO on toxic chemicals include:

  • The effects of exposure to pesticides and nonylphenol on juvenile lobster and salmon smolts;
  • the effects of submarine mine tailings disposal, salmonoid aquaculture wastes and sewage outfalls on fish, fish habitat and marine ecosystems;
  • ecosystem assessment of marine environmental quality;
  • the use of health tracers to study the effects of toxic chemicals on free-ranging marine mammals; and
  • the impact of pesticides on fish in Newfoundland Labrador, St. Lawrence Estuary, Ontario, Manitoba and British Columbia.

A key outcome of a recent review of toxic chemical research in DFO was the conclusion that DFO's toxics research should allocate higher priority to biological impacts. A peer review of toxic chemicals will be conducted to support the refocused toxic chemicals research program. Teams of DFO scientists will draft working papers exploring the following themes:

  • Impacts of classes and mixtures of toxics on endpoints;
  • ecological interactions with other factors;
  • marine mammals; and
  • sentinel species and best practices in monitoring.
Date modified:

Sciences de l'habitat

Nombre d'activités industrielles peuvent nuire au poisson et à son habitat, notamment l'exploitation du gaz et du pétrole, l'exploitation minière, les industries chimiques, le transport maritime et la production d'électricité. En vue de soutenir et de gérer judicieusement ces activités afin d'assurer qu'elles aient un impact minimum sur les écosystèmes, des décisions stratégiques et réglementaires justes et éclairées doivent être prises. Par conséquent, la Direction des sciences de l'environnement du MPO axe ses compétences scientifiques sur les incidences environnementales dont il faut tenir compte dans la prise de décision.

Hydroélectricité

On s'attend à ce que la production d'hydroélectricité au Canada continue à augmenter au cours de la prochaine décennie. Mais les barrages hydroélectriques peuvent profondément perturber le régime d'écoulement des rivières endiguées. La modification des régimes d'écoulement et la création de réservoirs de retenue nuisent malheureusement à la migration et à la survie des poissons, ainsi qu'aux chaînes alimentaires dont ils dépendent.

Les résultats des recherches sur les débits nécessaires à la survie du poisson servent à améliorer la conception des installations hydroélectriques et les pratiques d'exploitation, en accord avec les objectifs de conservation et de protection de la Loi sur les pêches. Nous menons aussi des recherches sur les effets de la création de réservoirs de retenue sur la disponibilité du mercure, car les crues résultantes peuvent mener à des teneurs élevées de ce métal lourd dans l'eau et les poissons.

La rivière Exploits, à Terre-Neuve, qui connaît l'une des plus grandes remontes de saumon atlantique en Amérique du Nord, est un exemple du succès de la gestion scientifique des pêches. Deux gros barrages hydroélectriques et plusieurs fabriques de pâtes et papiers jalonnent son cours. Durant plusieurs décennies, le MPO a mené des recherches sur les incidences environnementales de ces installations dans le but d'accroître la production en saumons dans ce bassin. À partir de 1997, nos spécialistes de l'environnement à Terre-Neuve ont travaillé avec la société Abitibi Consolidated Company of Canada, l'Exploits River Management Association, les universités de Waterloo et de la Colombie-Britannique, ainsi que des sociétés d'experts-conseils dans le but de fournir des conseils sur la construction de passes migratoires pour permettre aux poissons de contourner les turbines des centrales. Le nombre de poissons qui dévalent a maintenant augmenté. En général, la population de saumon connaît une hausse constante grâce à un programme d'empoissonnement et à la construction de ces passes migratoires.

Pétrole et gaz

À la lumière des récents problèmes mondiaux d'approvisionnement pétrolier et des coûts exorbitants du pétrole, les activités liées aux hydrocarbures extracôtiers ont connu un renouveau sur les côtes du Canada. Le moratoire imposé sur l'exploitation des ressources pétrolières et gazières au large de la Colombie-Britannique est en train d'être réévalué et, au Canada atlantique, les activités de prospection et d'exploitation du pétrole et du gaz sont à la hausse. L'exploration pétrolière dans le delta du Mackenzie et la mer de Beaufort connaît également un regain d'intérêt. Les directions de l'Habitat et des Océans ont besoin de recherches et d'avis scientifiques pour étayer les décisions à prendre en ce qui concerne la conservation des écosystèmes marins. Les avis fournis portent sur une gamme d'enjeux, allant des effets des relevés sismiques sur les organismes et les écosystèmes marins aux effets des activités de forage, des systèmes de production et de déclassement des plates-formes de forage.

Grâce à nos compétences et à nos recherches scientifiques ciblées, nous sommes en mesure de fournir aux décideurs du MPO des avis scientifiques éclairés et opportuns qui leur servent à formuler des politiques relatives à la conservation des écosystèmes marins.

La Direction des sciences de l'environnement du MPO acquiert des connaissances scientifiques sur les écosystèmes marins en exécutant un programme national coordonné de recherches thématiques, ciblées sur les impacts des activités liées aux hydrocarbures extracôtiers sur ces écosystèmes. Nous fournissons aussi des données et des avis scientifiques à l'appui de la conservation et de la protection des écosystèmes marins et de l'utilisation durable des ressources aquatiques.

Le MPO a mis sur pied le Centre de recherche sur le pétrole, le gaz et autres sources d'énergie extracôtières (CRPGEE) dans le but de coordonner les travaux de recherche exécutés par le Ministère à l'échelle du pays dans le domaine des impacts environnementaux et océanographiques résultant de l'exploration, de la production et du transport de gaz et de pétrole extracôtiers. Le CRPGEE contribue au mandat du Ministère et répond aux besoins de l'industrie par l'acquisition de données scientifiques permettant de gérer de façon sûre et écologique les activités extracôtières liées au gaz et au pétrole.

Centre de recherche sur le pétrole, le gaz et autres sources d'énergie extracôtières

Contaminants toxiques

Il y a plus de 35 000 produits chimiques en circulation commerciale au Canada. Nous ne connaissons pas la toxicité de la plupart de ces produits, car il existe très peu de données. Afin de mieux comprendre leurs incidences sur le poisson, son habitat et les ressources halieutiques, le MPO mène des recherches sur les toxiques afin de pouvoir fournir les avis nécessaires à la prise de décisions en matière de règlements et de politiques.

Les buts de la recherche sur les produits chimiques toxiques sont d'établir les effets biologiques qu'ils ont sur les écosystèmes aquatiques et de comprendre comment ces effets agissent sur l'état de santé des ressources halieutiques. La recherche sur les toxiques touchent une vaste gamme de sujets allant du niveau des cellules au niveau des populations, tels que les écosystèmes, qu'ils soient d'eau douce ou de mer et les sources de produits toxiques (agriculture, eaux usées municipales, développement énergétique, fabriques de pâtes et papiers, aquaculture) et adaptée aux réalités d'une gamme de lois fédérales [p. ex. Loi sur les pêches, Loi sur les océans, Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale, Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires]. Pour comprendre ces enjeux et être en mesure de fournir des avis à leur sujet, les compétences d'un seul chercheur ne suffisent pas; il faut les compétences de toute une équipe de chercheurs, habituellement multidisciplinaire, multirégionale et multisectorielle.

Parmi les recherches qu'effectue actuellement le MPO sur les produits chimiques toxiques figurent :

  • les effets de l'exposition à des pesticides et au nonylphénol sur les homards juvéniles et les smolts de saumon;
  • les effets de l'élimination en mer de résidus miniers, de déchets d'élevage de saumons et d'eaux usées sur le poisson, son habitat et les écosystèmes marins;
  • l'évaluation de la qualité de l'environnement marin au niveau des écosystèmes;
  • l'utilisation de biomarqueurs pour étudier les effets de ces produits sur les mammifères marins en liberté;
  • l'impact des pesticides sur le poisson à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, dans l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent, en Ontario, au Manitoba et en Colombie-Britannique.

Une importante conclusion de l'évaluation récente des recherches sur les produits chimiques toxiques menées par le MPO est qu'une priorité plus grande doit être accordée aux incidences biologiques. Un examen par les pairs de ces produits sera effectué pour soutenir le programme réorienté de recherche sur les produits chimiques toxiques. À cette fin, des équipes de scientifiques du MPO prépareront des ébauches de documents de travail sur les thèmes suivants :

  • les impacts de classes et de mélanges de produits chimiques toxiques sur les points finaux biologiques;
  • les interactions écologiques avec d'autres facteurs;
  • les mammifères marins;
  • les espèces indicatrices et les meilleures pratiques de surveillance.
Date de modification :