Strategies and Action Plans

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is working in collaboration with provincial, territorial, and municipal governments, First Nations, and stakeholders to prevent the introduction of new aquatic invasive species and the management of those that are already established in Canada. Prevention includes regulation of import, transport, possession and release of high-risk species, as well as early detection of and response to new invasions. Management strategies includes containment, control, and, ideally, eradication of established and spreading aquatic invasive species.

National Strategies and Action Plans

The National Aquatic Invasive Species Committee, a federal-provincial-territorial committee under the Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers, provides a forum for national and inter-jurisdictional planning, cooperation and coordination of aquatic invasive species activities, the exchange of information, and liaison with other groups responsible for implementing An Invasive Alien Species Strategy for Canada.

A Canadian Action Plan to Address the Threat of Aquatic Invasive Species ( PDF), approved by the Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers, outlines a national approach for managing aquatic invasive species.

Federal Regulations on Aquatic Invasive Species

Fisheries and Oceans Canada has developed new federal regulations to manage and control aquatic invasive species in Canada. The Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations were published in the Canada Gazette, Part II, on June 17th, 2015.

Aquaculture

Shipping

Canals and Water Diversions

Strategies and action plans against aquatic invasive species

Background Information

Date modified:

Stratégies et plans d’action

Pêches et Océans Canada travaille en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et les autorités municipales, les Premières Nations et les intervenants afin de prévenir l’introduction de nouvelles espèces aquatiques envahissantes et de gérer celles qui sont déjà établies au Canada. La prévention comprend la réglementation de l’importation, du transport, de la possession et de la remise à l’eau des espèces à risque élevé, ainsi que la détection précoce et l’intervention en cas de nouvelles invasions. Les stratégies de gestion comprennent le confinement, le contrôle, et, idéalement, l’éradication des espèces aquatiques envahissantes qui sont établies et qui se propagent.

Stratégies nationales et plans d'action

Le Comité national de travail sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes, comité fédéral-provincial-territorial dirigé par le Conseil canadien des ministres des pêches et de l’aquaculture, fournit une tribune pour la planification, la coopération et la coordination nationales et intergouvernementales des activités liées aux espèces aquatiques envahissantes, l’échange de données sur les espèces et la liaison avec d’autres groupes responsables de la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie nationale sur les espèces exotiques envahissantes.

Un Plan d'action canadien de lutte contre les espèces aquatiques envahissantes ( PDF), approuvé par le Conseil canadien des ministres des pêches et de l'aquaculture, présente une approche nationale pour la gestion des espèces aquatiques envahissantes.

Réglementation relative aux espèces envahissantes

Pêches et Océans Canada a mis au point un nouveau règlement fédéral pour gérer et contrôler les espèces aquatiques envahissantes au Canada. Le Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes a été publié dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada, le 17 juin 2015.

Aquaculture

Navigation

Canals et diversions d'eau

Stratégies et plans d’actions contre les espèces aquatiques envahissantes

Contexte

Date de modification :