Invasive Tunicates
Also called: Sea Squirts

Do you think you have discovered an aquatic invasive species?

  1. Do not return the species to the water.
  2. Note the exact location (GPS coordinates) and the observation date.
  3. Take photos.
  4. Take note of identifying features.
  5. Report an Aquatic Invasive Species, depending on where you are.
  6. What you can do to reduce the risk.

Tunicates are aquatic animals with a sac-like body protected by a coat or ‘tunic’. They live in large colonies and feed by filtering sea water through their bodies. Researchers think that tunicates first appeared over 500 million years ago.

Tunicates are small marine animals that spend most of their lives attached to an underwater substrate. They are named "tunicate" for their thick skin resembling a tunic. They feed by filtering seawater through their siphons.

Several invasive species of tunicates threaten our waters. They are found on the Atlantic and Pacific coasts and can be spread by ocean currents as well as by human activities.

Habitat

Tunicates are typically found in sheltered areas, attached to rocks, eelgrass, seaweeds, other animals or on man-made structures such as boat hulls, buoys, ropes, anchors, floating docks, aquaculture gear and wharf pilings.

Solitary or colonial

Tunicates can be either solitary or colonial. Several colonial species form gelatinous mats that may cover almost anything underwater. The colonies are made up of many individual organisms, called zooids, embedded in a common matrix. For certain species, colonies can form folds and lobes that hang down in the water.

General description

Invertebrate, filter-feeding animals that look like fingers or cylinders, with two siphons on the top. They have a muscular skin that looks like a tunic and can retract or close their siphons when touched or disturbed. When they do this, water may squirt out which is why they are nicknamed “sea squirts”.

Habitat

Solitary tunicates are very hardy and can tolerate a wide range of water temperatures and salinities (salt content). They seem to prefer more sheltered bays where they like to grow attached to rocks, wharves, docks, fishing, and aquaculture gear as well as to shellfish such as mussels, scallops, and clams.

Ecology/Biology

Vase and clubbed tunicates are very fast growing and can reproduce and release more than 10,000 eggs as early as eight to ten weeks old! Larvae swim in the water for a few days and then settle to grow. They live for one or two years.

Their tunic protects their internal organs. They pump water in through one siphon, filter the plankton and other small food particles through their digestive system, and then release the filtered water out through the other siphon.

Adult tunicates have few predators because of their thick and noxious skin. Crabs, sea stars or snails may eat juvenile tunicates. It is thought that these tunicates “hitchhike” on the hulls of boats or floating debris as juveniles or adults to invade other areas.

Did you Know?

Vase and clubbed tunicates grow as individual or “solitary” species but can rapidly reproduce and grow to form thick clumps. They are a major threat to biodiversity because they compete for food and space with other filter feeders in the marine environment.

General description

How did they get their names?

The Pancake Batter Tunicate often resembles “pancake batter poured over the seafloor”. Colonies can be white, beige, tan, pink, or orange sheets that look like pancake batter attached to animals, plants, and natural and artificial structures. Its colour, texture, and the appearance of it oozing and growing over organisms and structures have led to its name “pancake batter”.

The golden star tunicate is named from its daisy or star-like pattern formed by the zooids and sometimes golden in colour. It can also be orange, yellow, red, greenish-grey, violet, dark grey or black. The violet tunicate consists of individual zooids that are violet, whitish, yellow, orange, or reddish brown arranged like curving tracks.

The compound sea squirt forms dense colonies that are jelly-like (gelatinous) and see-through (translucent).

Habitat

Adult colonial tunicates are usually found in sheltered areas and can grow on almost anything underwater. They may attach to rocky bottom, eelgrass, algae and shellfish as well as docks, floats, pilings, moorings, ropes, chains, ship hulls, and buoys. They can grow as sheets over the ocean bottom or whatever they are attached to.

Did you Know?

On the coast of Maine and Massachussetts, pancake batter tunicate has also been found on eelgrass. This concerns scientists because eelgrass is a habitat for the early life stages of shellfish and fish. The presence of the tunicate may not allow these species to survive there.

Ecology/Biology

Colonial tunicates reproduce by releasing sperm to fertilize eggs within the colony. These form into tadpole larvae that are released in the water. These tadpoles drift for a short time (minutes to hours), settle and form colonies. New colonies can also be produced when pieces break off and drift to a new area and become attached there.

For more information

Date modified:

Les Tuniciers Envahissants

Pensez-vous avoir découvert une espèce aquatique envahissante ?

  1. Ne rejetez pas ces espèces dans l’eau.
  2. Notez l’endroit précis (coordonnées GPS) et la date d’observation.
  3. Prenez des photos.
  4. Familiarisez-vous avec leurs caractéristiques.
  5. Signalez la présence d’une espèce envahissante selon l’endroit où vous vous situez.
  6. Ce que vous pouvez faire pour minimiser les risques de propagation.

Les tuniciers sont des animaux aquatiques dont le corps en forme de sac est protégé par un manteau ou tunique. Ils forment de grandes colonies et s’alimentent en filtrant l’eau de mer à travers leur corps. Les chercheurs pensent que les tuniciers sont apparus sur la Terre il y a plus de 500 millions d’années.

Les tuniciers, nommés ainsi en raison de leur peau épaisse ressemblant à une tunique, sont de petits animaux marins qui passent la plus grande partie de leur vie fixés à un objet immergé. Ils se nourrissent en filtrant l'eau de mer à l'aide de leurs siphons.

Plusieurs espèces de tuniciers envahissants menacent nos eaux. Ils vivent sur les côtes atlantique et pacifique et se dispersent par les courants et par l'activité humaine.

Habitat

On les retrouve généralement dans les zones calmes, attachés aux roches, aux zostères, aux algues, aux animaux ou sur des structures artificielles telles que les coques de bateaux, les bouées, les cordages, les ancrages, les pontons flottants, les installations aquacoles et les pieux des quais.

Solitaire ou Coloniaux

Les tuniciers peuvent être solitaires ou coloniaux. Plusieurs espèces coloniales forment des tapis gélatineux qui peuvent recouvrir presque tout ce qui se trouve sous l'eau. Ces colonies forment une matrice dans laquelle vit une multitude d'individus, appelés zoïdes. Chez certaines espèces, la colonie peut former des replis et des lobes qui pendent dans l'eau.

Description Générale

Ce sont des invertébrés filtreurs qui ressemblent à des doigts ou à des cylindres avec deux siphons sur le dessus. Ils ont une peau musculaire qui ressemble à une tunique et peuvent rétracter ou fermer leurs siphons lorsqu’on les touche ou les perturbe. Lorsqu’ils agissent ainsi, de l’eau peut jaillir. C’est ce qui leur a valu le surnom de seringues de mer.

Habitat

Les tuniciers solitaires sont très robustes et peuvent tolérer différentes températures et salinités (concentration de sel). Ils semblent préférer les baies plus à l’abri où ils s’attachent aux roches, aux quais, à l’équipement de pêche et aux engins aquacoles ainsi qu’à des mollusques comme les moules, les pétoncles et les palourdes.

Écologie/Biologie

L’Ascidie Jaune et l’Ascidie Plissée ont une croissance très rapide, sont très prolifiques et peuvent produire plus de 10 000 larves dès qu’elles ont huit à dix semaines! Les larves nagent pendant quelques jours et trouvent un endroit où grandir. Elles vivent pendant un ou deux ans.

Leur tunique protège leurs organes internes. Les tuniciers aspirent de l’eau dans un siphon, filtrent le plancton et les autres petites matières dont ils se nourrissent dans leur système digestif et rejettent l’eau filtrée par l’autre siphon.

Les tuniciers adultes ont peu de prédateurs en raison de leur peau épaisse qui émet des substances nocives. Les crabes, les étoiles de mer ou les escargots peuvent se nourrir de tuniciers juvéniles. On pense que les tuniciers se fixent sur la coque des bateaux ou sur des débris flottants au stade juvénile ou adulte et envahissent ainsi les autres zones.

Le Saviez-Vous ?

L’Ascidie Jaune et l’Ascidie Plissée sont des espèces solitaires, mais elles peuvent se reproduire rapidement pour former des tapis épais. Elles posent une grave menace à la biodiversité parce qu’elles font concurrence aux autres organismes filtreurs pour la nourriture et l’espace dans le milieu marin.

Description Générale

Pourquoi sont-ils nommés ainsi ?

Le Didemnum ressemble souvent à « de la pâte à crêpe versée sur le fond marin ». Les colonies peuvent être de couleur blanche, beige, brun clair, rose ou orange et ressemblent à de la pâte à crêpe accrochée à des animaux, des plantes, et des structures naturelles et artificielles. La couleur, la texture et l’apparence de ce tunicier qui se développe sur les organismes et les structures sont à l’origine de cette comparaison à de la pâte à crêpe.

Le Botrylle Étoilé tient son nom de sa forme de fleur ou d’étoile donnée par les zooïdes, et parfois de sa couleur dorée. Il peut également être orange, jaune, rouge, gris-vert, violet, gris foncé ou noir. Le Botrylloïde Violet est composé de zoïdes individuels violets, blanchâtres, jaunes, oranges ou bruns rougeâtres regroupés en formes ovales ou en rangées allongées.

Le Diplosoma forme des colonies denses gélatineuses et translucides.

Habitat

Les tuniciers coloniaux adultes se trouvent généralement dans des zones abritées et peuvent se développer sur presque tout ce qui se trouve sous l’eau. Ils peuvent se fixer aux fonds rocheux, aux éponges et aux mollusques et crustacés, ainsi qu’aux quais, aux flotteurs, aux pilotis, aux amarres, aux cordes, aux chaînes, aux coques des bateaux et aux bouées. Ils peuvent se développer en formant des plaques sur le fond océanique ou partout où ils se fixent.

Le Saviez-Vous ?

Sur la côte du Maine et Massachussetts, le Didemnum a également été observé dans les zostères. Les scientifiques trouvent cela préoccupant, car les zostères servent d’habitat aux mollusques et crustacés ainsi qu’aux poissons pendant les premiers stades de leur vie. La présence du tunicier pourrait empêcher ces espèces de survivre dans les zostères.

Écologie/Biologie

Les tuniciers coloniaux se reproduisent en relâchant leur sperme pour fertiliser les œufs de la colonie. Ces œufs forment des têtards larvaires qui sont relâchés dans l’eau. Ces têtards nagent pendant une courte période (de quelques minutes à quelques heures) se fixent et forment des colonies. De nouvelles colonies peuvent également se créer lorsque des morceaux d’une colonie se détachent et dérivent vers une nouvelle zone, où ils se fixent.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Date de modification :