Smallmouth Bass
Micropterus dolomieu

The Smallmouth Bass (Micropterus dolomieu) is a member of the sunfish family.

Report a discovery in an unlisted area

If you think you’ve seen or caught a Smallmouth Bass:

  • Do not release it into the water.
  • Catch it and keep it frozen. If you can’t do that, destroy it.
  • Note the location (with GPS coordinates if possible) as well as the observation date.
  • Contact Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Identifying features

Where it has been found

In Canada, it occurs in southern Nova Scotia, southern and western New Brunswick, southern Quebec, through Ontario at the latitude of Timmins, at the south end of Lake Winnipeg in Manitoba, in central Saskatchewan. In B.C., it has been introduced to the Columbia River system, as well as Saltspring Island and southern Vancouver Island.

Habitat

The Smallmouth Bass is a warm-water fish species, usually found in moderately shallow, rocky and sandy areas of lakes and rivers and in near shoals or submerged logs. It is less often associated with dense growths of aquatic vegetation than largemouth bass. It is less often associated with dense growths of aquatic vegetation than largemouth bass. This species has been introduced intentionally for sport fishing opportunities as well as accidentally with live bait.

Ecological and economic impacts

Smallmouth Bass are considered top predators and can reduce native fish populations or alter their behaviour. They may also affect the native food web by reducing small invertebrates and fish. Once established, this species can rapidly dominate. It has been found to feed upon migrating salmon smolts and may pose a threat to salmon populations if the timing of the salmon run coincides with active bass populations.

Origins and mode of arrival

The Smallmouth Bass is a freshwater fish native to the lakes and rivers of eastern central North America.

Mode of dissemination

There are many factors favoring Smallmouth Bass invasion including the small size at which it begin piscivory, juvenile use of cover, low overlap with other predators and high fecundity combined with parental care.

Government action

Scientific research

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is studying the Smallmouth Bass population to improve its understanding of how it reacts and adapts to Canadian conditions.

For further information

References

Date modified:

Achigan à Petite Bouche
Micropterus dolomieu

L’Achigan à Petite Bouche est un membre de la famille des Centrarchidés.

Signaler une espèce aquatique envahissante

Si vous pensez avoir découvert un Achigan à Petite Bouche :

  • Ne rejetez pas ces espèces dans l’eau.
  • Notez l’endroit précis (coordonnées GPS) et la date d’observation.
  • Contactez Pêches et Océans Canada.

Caractéristiques d’identification

À quel(s) endroit(s) cette espèce a-t-elle été retrouvée

Au Canada, il est observé dans le sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse, dans le sud et l’ouest du Nouveau-Brunswick, dans le sud du Québec, à la hauteur de Timmins en Ontario, à l’extrémité sud du lac Winnipeg, au Manitoba, et dans le centre de la Saskatchewan. En Colombie-Britannique, l’espèce a été introduite dans le réseau du Columbia, de même que dans l’île Saltspring et le sud de l’île de Vancouver.

Habitat

L’Achigan à Petite Bouche est un poisson d’eaux chaudes ordinairement observé à profondeur moyenne, dans les zones à fond rocheux ou sableux des lacs et des cours d’eau ainsi qu’à proximité de rochers de hauts-fonds ou de billes submergées. Il affectionne moins les eaux densément végétalisées que l’achigan à grande bouche. L’espèce a été introduite intentionnellement à des fins de pêche sportive et accidentellement par l’intermédiaire des appâts vivants.

Impacts écologiques et économiques

L’Achigan à Petite Bouche est considéré comme un prédateur de niveau trophique supérieur qui peut réduire les populations de poissons indigènes ou modifier leur comportement. Il peut aussi affecter le réseau trophique indigène en réduisant le nombre de petits invertébrés et poissons. Une fois établi, l’Achigan à Petite Bouche peut rapidement devenir l’espèce dominante. On a observé des individus se nourrissant de smolts en migration, ce qui pourrait menacer les populations de saumons si la montaison coïncide avec le moment où les populations d’achigans sont actives.

Origine et mode d’arrivée au pays

Indigène des lacs et des cours d’eau du centre-est de l’Amérique du Nord

Méthodes de dissémination

Plusieurs facteurs favorisent l’invasion de l’Achigan à Petite Bouche tels que la petite taille à laquelle les individus commencent à se nourrir d’autres poissons (piscivore), l’utilisation de couvert de protection par les juvéniles, un taux de fécondité élevé et des soins parentaux.

Actions du gouvernement

Recherche scientifique

Pêches et Océans Canada étudie les populations d’Achigan a Petite Bouche afin d’améliorer la compréhension concernant son adaptation aux conditions canadiennes.

Pour plus d’information

Références

Date de modification :