Oyster Thief
Codium fragile

Also called: Dead Man’s Fingers

Report a discovery in an unlisted area

If you think you’ve seen or caught an Oyster Thief:

  • Do not release it into the water.
  • Catch it and keep it frozen. If you can’t do that, destroy it.
  • Note the location (with GPS coordinates if possible) as well as the observation date.
  • Contact Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

The Oyster Thief is a green alga that grows in subtidal, shallow waters along the coast. It is characterized by numerous dark green cylindrical branches that arise from its holdfast, which keeps the plant attached to the seabed. The plant can grow up to 90 cm and when alive the branches are described as soft and fuzzy in texture. Juvenile stages of Oyster Thief appear as fuzzy, moss-like mats.

Identifying features

Similar species (native)

Oyster Thief can easily be distinguished from native seaweed species of the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Only one species has some similar characteristics, the Rockweed.

Rockweed (Fucus distichus)

This species has some similar characteristics such as its shrubby shape and its branching pattern. Unlike Oyster Thief, the rockweed's branches bear golden yellow vesicles filled with a gelatinous substance.

Where it has been found

The first record in eastern North America was near New York in 1957. The Oyster Thief was first seen in Canada in Mahone Bay, N.S., in 1989. It appeared in the Gulf of St. Lawrence in 1996. Oyster Thief was discovered in Newfoundland waters on November 27, 2012. It is also commonly found along New-Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island shores in the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Habitat

The adult Oyster Thief grows attached to the sea floor in subtidal areas down to 60 feet (18 meters) and looks like a green fuzzy branched “plant” reaching about 30-100 centimetres in height. This adult alga reproduces by production of spores and may also produce new plants when the “branches” break off or the whole plant is torn loose from the bottom (for example, by wave action) after which it may drift to a new area and reattach there. The ability to regenerate from fragments assists Oyster Thief to outcompete native seagrasses and seaweeds, such as eelgrass and kelp.

They are able to tolerate large changes in salinity (12 – 42 ‰) and temperature (-2 to 33°C), but growth is limited in colder waters (< 10°C). In optimal conditions (24°C and salinity between 24-30 ‰), Oyster Thief can grow rapidly (up to 9 cm/month). It can reproduce both sexually and asexually.

Oyster Thief distribution in Gulf region

Oyster Thief distribution in Gulf region
Click image to enlarge

Ecological and economic impacts

Oyster Thief is able to replace native seaweeds such as kelp and seagrasses (eelgrass) as the dominant seaweed, particularly when native seaweeds have decreased. In Nova Scotia, Oyster Thief can reach one metre in height and may replace entire kelp beds. This can disrupt natural cycles between underwater kelp forests and barrens normally controlled by sea urchin populations. Kelp is the primary food source for urchins, which are harvested for their roe. The formation of dense and ‘low lying’ meadows by Oyster Thief can restrict movement of many species (including lobster) that often live under and rely on kelp as habitat, food, and shelter from predation. Oyster Thief does not appear to be used as food by many Canadian species and may affect the survival of species, such as sea urchins, that are dependent on kelp. Oyster Thief also attaches to shellfish (such as clams, scallops and oysters) and can disrupt their movement and feeding. When attached to shellfish, wave conditions can carry the plant away, taking its host shellfish with it, hence the name Oyster Thief. In particular, Oyster Thief can have large impacts through fouling of shellfish beds and can increase maintenance labour for aquaculture set-ups.

Origins and mode of arrival

The Oyster Thief originated in the Pacific Ocean near Japan.

Oyster Thief is belived to have first arrived in North America from Europe, most likely as biofouler. This hypothesis is supported by the ability of Codium to settle and grow on poorly protected ship surfaces, withstand strong currents as a large alga or regrow from its holdfast, and to tolerate high ranges of temperature and salinity.

Mode of dissemination

There are numerous vectors, both natural and anthropic that can lead to the dispersion of the Oyster Thief.

The species capacity to bud from a colony fragment allows it to disperse easily by drifting of fragments or whole plants. There are many human activities that may lead to the species dispersion including: biofouling of commercial or recreational boats, ballast water and the utilisation of fouled fishing gear in non-invaded areas.

Government action

Scientific research

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is studying the Oyster Thief population to improve its understanding of how it reacts and adapts to Canadian conditions.

Controlling abundance

There are probably no effective ways to remove Oyster Thief that is already established in an area. Manual removal may result in breaking the alga into smaller pieces, each of which may begin a new plant. Preventing spread into new areas is the best thing you can do. Oyster Thief may be picked up on boat hulls, motors, anchors or fishing gear in shallow waters. Ensure that equipment is clean when moving from one area to another and follow the general guidelines recommended by Fisheries and Oceans Canada. To control the spread of Oyster Thief, boat hulls and gear should be visually inspected and cleaned regularly. Plant and animal material and water from inside the boat should be disposed of on land. Antifouling paints are effective in preventing settlement of a wide variety of bio foulers and should be applied regularly.

Surveys and monitoring for Oyster Thief in Newfoundland are effective tools in early detection, which can provide an opportunity to control, contain or ideally eradicate new populations before they spread. The ability of Oyster Thief to survive by fragmentation makes it very difficult to remove populations. While manual removal methods can immediately reduce densities, populations can return quickly because of survival of fragments. Although some native species feed on Oyster Thief, it is unlikely that these organisms will provide significant control of an invasion. Public education is one of the best ways to limit the spread of Oyster Thief. Research is ongoing to learn about the biology of this species in Newfoundland environments and to develop mitigation methods and communication strategies to control and prevent its spread throughout the province.

Oyster Thief in Newfoundland and Labrador Waters

Click image to enlarge.

Distribution Location and Bay

Arnolds Cove: Placentia Bay

Little Bay: Placentia Bay

Marystown: Placentia Bay

Spanish Room: Placentia Bay

Triton: Notre Dame Bay

Woody Island: Placentia Bay

Oyster Thief in Newfoundland and Labrador waters [PDF 2560 KB]

Oyster Thief (Codium fragile fragile), also known as Dead Man’s Fingers (for its bleached and white appearance when dead) or Felt Fingers, is a green alga characterized by numerous dark green cylindrical branches that arise from its holdfast, which keeps the plant attached to the seabed. The plant can grow up to 90 cm and when alive the branches are described as soft and fuzzy in texture. Juvenile stages of Oyster Thief appear as fuzzy, moss-like mats. It grows in shallow coastal waters up to 15 m in depth.

For further information

References

Date modified:

Codium fragile
Codium fragile spp. fragile

Nom usuel : Voleuse d’huîtres, Doigt noir

Signaler une espèce aquatique envahissante

Si vous pensez avoir découvert un Codium fragile :

  • Ne rejetez pas ces espèces dans l’eau.
  • Notez l’endroit précis (coordonnées GPS) et la date d’observation.
  • Contactez Pêches et Océans Canada.

Le Codium fragile est une algue verte qui pousse dans les eaux peu profondes infralittorales le long de la côte. Elle se caractérise par de nombreuses tiges cylindriques vert foncé qui prennent naissance dans le crampon par lequel la plante se fixe au plancher océanique. La plante peut atteindre une hauteur de 90 cm et, lorsqu’elle est vivante, ses tiges ont une texture pelucheuse et douce. Au stade juvénile, Codium fragile a l’apparence d’un tapis duveteux qui ressemble à de la mousse.

Caractéristiques d’identification

Espèces similaires (indigènes)

Le Codium se distingue facilement des algues indigènes du golfe du Saint-Laurent. Seul le Fucus bifide partage certaines de ses caractéristiques.

Fucus Bifide (Fucus distichus)

Cette espèce partage certaines caractéristiques du Codium fragile comme sa forme arbustive et ses ramifications. Les tiges du Fucus Bifide portent toutefois des réceptacles de couleur jaune doré remplis d'une substance gélatineuse.

À quel(s) endroit(s) cette espèce a-t-elle été retrouvée

Codium fragile a été signalé pour la première fois en Amérique du Nord dans le détroit de Long Island, dans l’état de New York, en 1957. Cette espèce a été observée pour la première fois en Nouvelle‑écosse en 1989 et dans le golfe du Saint‑Laurent en 1996. Codium fragile a été découvert dans les eaux de Terre Neuve et Labrador le 27 novembre 2012. Cette espèce est également commune dans le sud du Golfe du Saint-Laurent le long des côtes du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de l’Île du Prince Édouard.

Habitat

Le Codium fragile adulte pousse fixée au fond marin et ressemble à un petit buisson vert duveteux pouvant mesurer entre 30 et 100 centimètres de hauteur. Cette algue adulte se reproduit par la production de spores et peut aussi produire de nouvelles plantes si les « branches » se brisent ou si la plante au complet est soulevée (p. ex. par l’action des vagues) et déplacée à un autre endroit où elle se fixe. De nouvelles plantes peuvent également se former à partir de fragments qui sont dispersés par les courants océaniques et se fixent à des substrats stables. Grâce à cette capacité de régénération à partir de fragments, Codium fragile peut faire concurrence aux graminées et algues marines indigènes, comme la zostère et le varech.

Cette espèce peut tolérer de fortes fluctuations de salinité (12 à 42 %) et de température (-2 à 33 °C), mais sa croissance est limitée en eaux froides (< 10 °C). Dans des conditions optimales (température de 24 °C et salinité comprise entre 24 et 30 %), Codium fragile peut croître rapidement (jusqu’à 9 cm par mois). Cette espèce peut se reproduire de façon sexuée et asexuée.

Répartition du Codium Fragile dans la région du Golfe

Répartition du Codium Fragile dans la région du Golfe
Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Impacts écologiques et économiques

Codium fragile peut remplacer des algues marines indigènes comme le varech et les graminées marines (zostère) en tant qu’algue marine dominante, en particulier là où les algues indigènes sont en régression. Ce phénomène peut perturber les cycles naturels entre les forêts immergées de varech et les zones dénudées, qui sont normalement contrôlés par les populations d’oursins. Le varech constitue la principale source de nourriture des oursins, qui sont récoltés pour leurs œufs. De plus, la formation de prairies denses et basses par Codium fragile peut restreindre les déplacements de nombreuses espèces (y compris le homard) qui souvent vivent immergés et dépendent du varech comme habitat, nourriture et abri contre les prédateurs. Codium fragile peut aussi se fixer aux mollusques (comme les myes, les pétoncles et les huîtres) et perturber ainsi leurs déplacements et leur alimentation. L’algue fixée aux mollusques peut ensuite être déplacée par le mouvement des vagues et entraîner avec elle le mollusque auquel elle est fixée, d’où son nom de « voleuse d’huîtres ». Codium fragile peut avoir d’importantes répercussions en causant des salissures dans les bancs coquilliers, ce qui a pour effet d’accroître les besoins en main-d’œuvre d’entretien dans les installations aquacoles.

Origine et mode d’arrivée au pays

Originaire de l’Océan Pacifique, près du Japon

Le Codium fragile aurait probablement été introduit en Amérique du Nord accroché à la coque de bateaux (biosalissure) en provenance d’Europe. Cette hypothèse est supportée la capacité de cette espèce à s’établir et croître sur les surfaces peu protégées des bateaux, à supporter de fort courants et à tolérer de grandes variations de température et de salinité.

Méthodes de dispersion

Il y a plusieurs vecteurs, naturels et anthropiques, par lesquels le Codium fragile peut se disperser.

La capacité de cette espèce de se régénérer à partir d’un fragment de colonie lui permet de se disperser facilement via les fragments ou les plantes entière à la dérive. Plusieurs activités humaines peuvent également entrainer la dispersion du Codium fragile telles que, l’encrassement des coques de bateaux commerciaux ou récréatifs par l’organisme, l’eau de ballasts et l’utilisation d’équipement de pêche comportant des biosalissure dans des zones où l’espèce n’est pas encore présente.

Actions du gouvernement

Recherche scientifique

Pêches et Océans Canada étudie les populations du Codium fragile afin d’améliorer la compréhension concernant son adaptation aux conditions canadiennes.

Contrôle de l’abondance

Il n’y a pas de façons efficaces de se débarrasser de la voleuse d’huîtres si elle a déjà envahi une zone. Enlever l’algue manuellement peut la briser en plus petits morceaux, qui peuvent chacun produire une nouvelle plante. Le mieux à faire est d’empêcher sa prolifération dans de nouvelles zones. La voleuse d’huîtres peut se fixer aux coques de bateaux, aux moteurs, aux ancres ou aux engins de pêche dans les eaux peu profondes. Assurez-vous que l’équipement est propre lorsque vous passez d’une zone à une autre et suivez les recommandations générales de Pêches et Océans Canada. Afin de lutter contre la propagation de cette espèce, il faut faire une inspection visuelle des coques des bateaux et des engins de pêche et les nettoyer régulièrement. De plus, le matériel végétal et animal et l’eau présents à l’intérieur des bateaux doivent être éliminés sur terre. Les peintures antisalissure sont efficaces pour prévenir la fixation d’une grande variété de salissures marines et elles devraient être appliquées régulièrement.

Les relevés et la surveillance de Codium fragile à Terre-Neuve et Labrador sont des outils efficaces de détection précoce, qui peuvent offrir la possibilité de maîtriser, de contenir ou, idéalement, d’éradiquer les nouvelles populations avant qu’elles se propagent. La capacité de Codium fragile de survivre par fragmentation fait qu’il est très difficile d’éliminer les populations. Bien que les méthodes d’élimination manuelle permettent de réduire immédiatement les densités de la population, les populations peuvent se rétablir rapidement grâce à la survie des fragments. De plus, même si certaines espèces indigènes se nourrissent de Codium fragile, il est peu probable que ces organismes puissent réussir à limiter sensiblement l’envahissement. L’éducation du public est l’un des meilleurs moyens de limiter la propagation de Codium fragile. Par ailleurs, les recherches se poursuivent en vue d’en apprendre davantage sur la biologie de cette espèce dans les environnements de Terre Neuve et Labrador et d’élaborer des stratégies d’atténuation et de communication visant à limiter et à prévenir la propagation de cette espèce dans l’ensemble de la province.

Le Codium fragile dans les eaux de Terre Neuve et Labrador

Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir.

Répartition Lieux et Baie

Arnolds Cove: Baie Placentia

Little Bay: Baie Placentia

Marystown: Baie Placentia

Spanish Room: Baie Placentia

Triton: Baie Notre Dame

Woody Island: Baie Placentia

Codium fragile dans les eaux de Terre Neuve et Labrador [PDF 3180 Ko]

Codium fragile a été signalé pour la première fois à Terre Neuve et Labrador sur le rivage à proximité d’Arnold’s Cove, de Woody Island et de Spanish Room, en juillet et août 2012, dans le cadre des relevés des espèces aquatiques envahissantes effectués par Pêches et Océans Canada. Des relevés subséquents effectués le 27 novembre 2012 ont confirmé l’établissement de Codium fragile près de Marystown (Terre Neuve et Labrador).

Pour plus d’information

Références

Date de modification :