Northern Pike
Esox lucius

Also called: Great Northern Pike, Jack, Jackfish, Pickerel, Pike, Great Northern Pickerel, American Pike, Common Pike, Great, Lakes Pike.

Report a discovery in an unlisted area

If you think you’ve seen or caught a Northern Pike:

  • Do not release it into the water.
  • Catch it and keep it frozen. If you can’t do that, destroy it.
  • Note the location (with GPS coordinates if possible) as well as the observation date.
  • Contact Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

The Northern Pike is one of the most valuable commercial freshwater species in the northwest. It is a strong, persistent fighter, attracting many fishermen because of the challenge it presents. However, in some areas it is considered to be a nuisance because it devours other game fish such as trout, bass and perch.

Identifying features

Similar species (native)

Muskellunge (Esox masquinongy)

The Northern Pike can be distinguished from the Muskellunge by its pale spots and the rounded extremities of its caudal fin.

Where it has been found

The Northern Pike is primarily a freshwater fish with a wide distribution in the northern hemisphere. It is found in rivers and lakes throughout Quebec, Ontario, the Prairie provinces, the northeast corner of British Columbia, and in the Yukon, Nunavut and Northwest Territories. It has been legally introduced for sport fishing in some places while other introductions have been illegal intentional introductions.

Ecological and economic impacts

Usually solitary and highly territorial, the Northern Pike lurks at the edge of weed beds and attacks unwary creatures that enter its domain, such as fish, crayfish, frogs, mice, muskrats and young waterfowl. It is an opportunist that can be best described as an omnivorous carnivore, as it feeds on whatever is most readily available.

In most areas of Canada, the Northern Pike is both a commercial fish and a sport fish, while in other areas it is considered a nuisance because it devours large numbers of other game fish such as trout, bass and perch.

Habitat

The Northern Pike is a cool-water species and its habitat is usually slow, heavily vegetated rivers or the weedy bays of lakes. The Northern Pike spawns in the spring immediately after the ice melts. The breeding grounds include areas that flood only in the spring and early summer and may be dry the remainder of the year. During spawning, Northern Pike swim through vegetated areas of shallow water, randomly scattering their eggs, which then attach to the vegetation.

Origins and mode of arrival

The native distribution of Northern Pike is circumpolar in North America and Eurasia.

Recreational angling is overwhelmingly the number one reason for Northern Pike’s introduction outside its native range in North America and Europe; angling now far outweighs commercial fishing for the species.

Government action

Scientific research

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is studying the Northern Pike population to improve its understanding of how it reacts and adapts to Canadian conditions.

For further information

References

Date modified:

Grand Brochet
Esox lucius

synonymes : Brouche, Poignard ou Brochet du Nord

Signaler une espèce aquatique envahissante

Si vous pensez avoir découvert un Grand Brochet :

  • Ne rejetez pas ces espèces dans l’eau.
  • Notez l’endroit précis (coordonnées GPS) et la date d’observation.
  • Contactez Pêches et Océans Canada.

Le Grand Brochet est l'un des poissons d'eau douce les plus prisés du Nord-Ouest de l’Amérique d'un point de vue commercial. Combatif, fort et persévérant, il intéresse de nombreux pêcheurs pour le défi qu'il représente. Ailleurs, on le considère comme une peste qui dévore d'autres poissons prisés par les pêcheurs sportifs, tels que la truite, l'achigan et la perche.

Caractéristiques d’identification

Espèces similaires (indigènes)

Maskinongé (Esox masquinongy)

Le Grand Brochet se distingue du Maskinongé par ses tâches pâles et les extrémités de sa nageoire caudale plus arrondies.

À quel(s) endroit(s) cette espèce a-t-elle été retrouvée

Poisson d’eau douce, le Grand Brochet a une vaste aire de répartition dans l’hémisphère Nord. Il s’agit de l’une des quelques espèces observées dans les cours d’eau et les lacs de l’ensemble du Québec, de l’Ontario et des Prairies ainsi que du Nord-Est de la Colombie-Britannique, du Yukon, du Nunavut et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Légalement introduit à des fins de pêche récréative à certains endroits, le Grand Brochet a aussi fait l’objet d’introductions illégales et intentionnelles.

Impacts écologiques et économiques

Généralement solitaire et très territorial, le Grand Brochet se cache au bord des herbiers et attaque les proies qui s’aventurent imprudemment dans son domaine, comme les poissons, les écrevisses, les grenouilles, les souris, les rats musqués et la jeune sauvagine. Opportuniste, le meilleur qualificatif du Grand Brochet est « carnivore omnivore », car il se nourrit volontiers de tous les aliments qui lui sont facilement accessibles.

Dans la plupart des régions du Canada, le Grand Brochet fait l’objet d’une pêche tant commerciale que récréative, mais à certains endroits, il est jugé nuisible parce qu’il dévore un grand nombre d’autres poissons ciblés par la pêche récréative tels que les truites, les achigans et les perches.

Habitat

Le Grand Brochet est un poisson d’eaux tempérées qui fréquente ordinairement les cours d’eau à faible débit et densément végétalisés ou les baies herbeuses de lacs. La fraye a lieu au printemps, immédiatement après la fonte des glaces. Les frayères comprennent des zones qui ne sont inondées qu’au printemps et au début de l’été et qui peuvent être sèches le reste de l’année. Pendant la fraye, les grands brochets nagent dans des eaux végétalisées de faible profondeur et dispersent aléatoirement leurs œufs, qui se fixent à la végétation.

Origine et mode d’arrivée au pays

La distribution indigène du Grand Brochet est circumpolaire en Amérique du Nord et en Eurasie.

Le Grand Brochet fût introduit à l’extérieur de son aire de distribution indigène en Amérique du Nord et en Europe pour la pêche sportive. Récolté principalement par la pêche commerciale auparavant, la majorité des prises de Grand Brochet se font de nos jours par le biais de la pêche sportive.

Actions du gouvernement

Recherche scientifique

Pêches et Océans Canada étudie les populations de Grand Brochet afin d’améliorer la compréhension concernant son adaptation aux conditions canadiennes.

Pour plus d’information

Références

Date de modification :