Golden Star Tunicate
Botryllus schlosseri

Report a discovery in an unlisted area

If you think you’ve seen or caught a Golden Star Tunicate:

  • Do not release it into the water.
  • Catch it and keep it frozen. If you can’t do that, destroy it.
  • Note the location (with GPS coordinates if possible) as well as the observation date.
  • Contact Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Golden Star Tunicate is an invasive colonial tunicate widely distributed throughout the world. It has been reported in eastern Canada and in the Gulf of St. Lawrence for several decades.

Identifying features

Golden Star Tunicate colonies often grow up to 10 cm in diameter. They can be distinguished from other types of tunicates by the star-shaped arrangement of individuals within a clear, firm, coat or tunic. Despite their name, they can be many different colours and patterns and colonies are usually two-toned (common colours include black, brown, bright orange and green). Colonies are typically densely packed into a mat that covers the underlying surface. Where space is limited, they may grow in lobes, with single layers of individuals folding over one another. Golden Star Tunicate colonies are arranged into a star or flower-shaped pattern; zooids are recumbent (positioned horizontal relative to the substrate) with the pointed end directed into the centre of the colony.

Similar species (native)

Can be mistaken for sponges, but sponges have a soft porous texture rather than a gelatinous one.

Where it has been found

The Golden Star Tunicate has been observed on the east and west coast of Canada. In Nova Scotia, Golden Star Tunicate has been observed for several decades at low levels along the Bay of Fundy coast, the Atlantic coast and in the Bras D’Or Lakes (Cape Breton). In the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence, this species has established in several bays along the coast of Prince Edward Island, northeastern and southeastern New Brunswick and Gulf shore of Nova Scotia.

In Newfoundland and Labrador, Golden Star Tunicate was first reported in Bonne Bay, on the west coast of Newfoundland and Labrador, around 1975. Approximately 30 years later, this species was confirmed at a number of sites along the south coast of insular Newfoundland. On the Canadian West coast this tunicate has been reported from the Strait of Georgia and West Coast of Vancouver Island.

Golden Star Tunicate distribution in Gulf region

Golden Star Tunicate distribution in Gulf region
Click image to enlarge

Ecological and economic impacts

Golden Star Tunicate is a filter feeder, getting nutrients from phytoplankton (algae), bacteria and other small organic things that float in the sea. In large numbers, the tunicate competes for food with other filter feeders, such as mussels and scallops.

Golden Star Tunicate is mostly composed of water. It grows rapidly and may cover surrounding plants and animals, depriving them of sunlight or food. Golden Star Tunicate may even suffocate smaller organisms such as juvenile mollusks, and may cause organisms that attach to marine surfaces to be more vulnerable to being moved by water currents. All of this makes the Golden Star Tunicate disruptive to shellfish harvesters, aquaculture farmers, and aquatic organisms that live on the bottom of the ocean.

Origins and mode of arrival

Native to the Mediterranean Sea, but is now considered cosmopolitan as it can be found on all continents except Antarctica.

Mode of dissemination

The Golden Star Tunicate reproduces two ways: when fragments of a colony break off and bud elsewhere, and by the production of eggs that hatch into free-swimming larvae. Both fragments and larvae settle and grow on a range of artificial surfaces such as buoys, boat hulls, rope, wharf pilings, and floating docks as well as on natural surfaces such as rocks, mussels and kelp. Larvae released into the water column settle within 24 to 48 hours, and only travel over small distances. Colony fragments may reproduce for up to 40 days and may disperse over much greater distances. Colonies grow once water temperatures exceed 6º C. Egg production, larval development, and growth start at water temperatures greater than 12º C. During the winter, when water temperatures drop below 6º C, colonies may enter a resting phase, reduce in size or die. Transport of free-swimming larvae in the ballast water of ships is unlikely because of their short larval cycle, but ballast may contain floating debris that could serve as a vector for adult forms.

Government action

Scientific research

As the ocean grows warmer, it is important to continue to monitor any changes in the Golden Star Tunicate’s distribution and range expansion. This will help in preventing and managing its spread.

Golden Star Tunicate in Newfoundland and Labrador Waters

Controlling abundance

Click images to enlarge.

Distribution Location and Bay
  • Argentia: Placentia Bay
  • Arnolds Cove: Placentia Bay
  • Baine Harbour: Placentia Bay
  • Bonne Bay: Bonne Bay
  • Codroy: Southwest Coast
  • Fox Harbour: Placentia Bay
  • Foxtra: Conception Bay
  • Garden Cove: Placentia Bay
  • Harbour Breton: Fortune Bay
  • Hermitage: Hermitage Bay
  • Kingwell: Placentia Bay
  • Lamaline: Placentia Bay
  • Little Bay: Placentia Bay
  • Little St Lawrence: Placentia Bay
  • Long Harbour: Placentia Bay
  • Long Pond: Conception Bay
  • NE Arm Placentia: Placentia Bay
  • North Harbour: Placentia Bay
  • North Tilt Island: Placentia Bay
  • SE Arm Placentia: Placentia Bay
  • Spencers Cove: Placentia Bay
  • St Pauls Inlet: Northern Peninsula West
  • Swift Current: Placentia Bay

Tunicates can spread through the movement of fishing gear, shellfish, and recreational and commercial vessels. To control the spread of Golden Star Tunicate, boat hulls and fishing gear should be visually inspected and cleaned when necessary.

To prevent the spread of living fragments, water inside boats should be cleaned out and the boat should be allowed to dry for 24 hours. Also, because Golden Star Tunicate can rapidly colonize and establish large, self-sustaining populations, it should be removed from wharves and surrounding structures.

When combined with surveys (see map of where the Golden Star Tunicate are located), using genetic tools to find eggs and larvae of Golden Star Tunicate will help target control and prevention efforts. Improving our understanding of its lifecycle will help us to establish where and when to apply these efforts. Especially important is the removal of Golden Star Tunicate before it reproduces each year. Recent work by Memorial University of Newfoundland and Fisheries and Oceans Canada at Arnold's Cove indicates the reproduction cycle starts in late July and continues through early October.

For further information

References

Date modified:

Botrylle étoilé
Botryllus schlosseri

Signaler une espèce aquatique envahissante

Si vous pensez avoir découvert un Botrylle étoilé :

  • Ne rejetez pas ces espèces dans l’eau.
  • Notez l’endroit précis (coordonnées GPS) et la date d’observation.
  • Contactez Pêches et Océans Canada.

Le Botrylle étoilé est un tunicier colonial envahissant largement distribué dans le monde. Sa présence est rapportée dans l'Est du Canada et dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent depuis plusieurs dizaines d'années.

Caractéristiques d’identification

Les colonies de Botrylle étoilé atteignent souvent 10 cm de diamètre et se distinguent d’autres types de tuniciers par l’organisation de leurs individus en forme d’étoile dans une tunique ou manteau transparent et ferme. De couleurs variées, les colonies sont généralement densément regroupées, formant un tapis qui recouvre la surface sous-jacente. Lorsque l’espace est limité, il arrive qu’elles forment des lobes, les couches d’individus se repliant les unes sur les autres. Les zoïdes du Botrylle étoilé forment une étoile ou une fleur et sont couchés (horizontaux par rapport au substrat), avec l’extrémité pointue dirigée vers le centre de la colonie.

Espèces similaires (indigènes)

Le Botrylle étoilé peut être confondu avec des éponges, mais ces dernières ont une texture molle et spongieuse plutôt que gélatineuse.

À quel(s) endroit(s) cette espèce a-t-elle été retrouvée

Le Botrylle étoilé est présent sur les côtes Atlantique et Pacifiques canadiennes. En Nouvelle-Écosse, le Botrylle étoilé est observé depuis plusieurs décennies en faible quantité le long des côtes de la Baie de Fundy, de l’Océan Atlantique et du lac Bras d’Or (île du Cap-Breton). Dans le sud du Golfe du Saint-Laurent, cette espèce s’est établie dans plusieurs baies le long des côtes de l’Île du Prince Édouard, du nord et du sud du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Le Botrylle étoilé a été signalé pour la première fois dans la baie Bonne, sur la côte ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, vers 1975. Environ 30 ans plus tard, sa présence a été confirmée dans un certain nombre d’endroits le long de la côte sud de l’île de Terre-Neuve. Sur la côte Ouest canadienne, ce tunicier a été observé dans le détroit de Georgia et sur la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver.

Répartition du Botrylle Étoilé dans la région du Golfe

Répartition du Botrylle Étoilé dans la région du Golfe
Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Impacts écologiques et économiques

Le Botrylle étoilé se nourrit de phytoplancton (minuscules algues), de bactéries et d’autres petites particules organiques qu’il tire de l’eau par filtration. Lorsque présent en grand nombre, il concurrence pour sa nourriture d’autres animaux filtreurs, comme les moules et les pétoncles.

Le Botrylle étoilé est presque entièrement composé d’eau. Il grossit rapidement et peut recouvrir les plantes et les animaux environnants, les privant de lumière ou de nourriture. Il peut même étouffer des organismes plus petits, comme de jeunes mollusques. Cet envahisseur peut empêcher d’autres organismes marins de se fixer solidement à une surface en mer de sorte qu’ils deviennent vulnérables à l’arrachement par les courants. Tous ces facteurs font du Botrylle étoilé une nuisance pour les cueilleurs de coquillages, les aquaculteurs et les organismes qui vivent au fond de la mer.

Origine et mode d’arrivée au pays

Originaire de la mer Méditerranée, cette espèce est maintenant considérée comme cosmopolite puisqu’on la retrouve sur tous les continents à l’exception de Antarctique.

Méthodes de dispersion

Le Botrylle étoilé se reproduit de deux manières : par fragmentation d’une colonie et bourgeonnement du fragment ailleurs et par production d’œufs qui, à l’éclosion, libèrent des larves nageuses. Les fragments et les larves s’établissent et grossissent sur diverses surfaces artificielles (bouées, coques de bateaux, câbles, pieux de quai et quais flottants) ainsi que sur des surfaces naturelles (rochers, moules et algues). Les larves libérées dans la colonne d’eau s’établissent dans les 24 à 48 heures et ne se dispersent que sur de courtes distances. Les fragments de colonie peuvent se reproduire pendant jusqu’à 40 jours et se disperser sur de bien plus grandes distances. Les colonies grossissent lorsque la température dépasse les 6°C. La production d’œufs, le développement des larves et la croissance commencent à des températures supérieures à 12°C. Pendant l’hiver, lorsque la température baisse sous les 6°C, les colonies entrent dans une phase de repos, diminuent de taille ou meurent. Il est peu probable que les larves puissent se disperser via l’eau de ballast puisque le stade larvaire de cette espèce est trop court. L’eau de ballast peut cependant contenir des débris sur lesquels des spécimens adultes de Botrylle Étoile peuvent s’établir.

Actions du gouvernement

Recherche scientifique

Compte tenu du réchauffement de l’océan, il est important de poursuivre la surveillance de tout changement futur dans la distribution et l’expansion de l’aire de répartition du Botrylle étoilé. Ces efforts aideront à prévenir et à gérer sa propagation.

Le Botrylle étoilé dans les eaux de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Contrôle de l’abondance

Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir.

Répartition Lieux et Baie
  • Argentia: Baie Placentia
  • Arnolds Cove: Baie Placentia
  • Baine Harbour: Baie Placentia
  • Bonne Baie: Bonne Baie
  • Codroy: Côte Sud-Ouest 
  • Fox Harbour: Baie Placentia
  • Foxtra: Baie Conception
  • Garden Cove: Baie Placentia
  • Harbour Breton: Baie Fortune
  • Hermitage: Baie Hermitage
  • Kingwell: Baie Placentia
  • Lamaline: Baie Placentia
  • Little Bay: Baie Placentia
  • Little St Lawrence: Baie Placentia
  • Long Harbour: Baie Placentia
  • Long Pond: Baie Conception
  • NE Arm Placentia: Baie Placentia
  • North Harbour: Baie Placentia
  • North Tilt Island: Baie Placentia
  • SE Arm Placentia: Baie Placentia
  • Spencers Cove: Baie Placentia
  • St Pauls Inlet: péninsule Northern Ouest
  • Swift Current: Baie Placentia

Les tuniciers peuvent se propager par le déplacement d’engins de pêche, de mollusques ainsi que de bateaux de pêche récréative et commerciale. Afin de limiter la propagation du Botrylle étoilé, il faut faire une inspection visuelle des coques de bateau et des engins de pêche et les nettoyer au besoin.

Pour éviter la propagation de fragments vivants, il faut enlever l’eau accumulée dans le fond des bateaux et les laisser sécher pendant 24 heures. De plus, parce que le Botrylle étoilé peut rapidement former des colonies et établir de grandes populations autosuffisantes, il devrait être enlevé des quais et des structures environnantes.

Combinée aux relevés (voir la carte ou l'on retrouve les botrylles étoilé), la détection des œufs et des larves de Botrylle étoilé au moyen d’outils génétiques nous aidera à cibler nos efforts de lutte et de prévention. Une meilleure compréhension du cycle de vie de cet organisme nous aidera à établir où et quand cibler ces efforts. Il est particulièrement important d’éliminer cet envahisseur avant qu’il se reproduise chaque année. De récents travaux menés à Arnold's Cove par l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve et Pêches et Océans Canada indiquent que son cycle de reproduction débute à la fin juillet et se poursuit jusqu’au début octobre.

Pour plus d’information

Références

Date de modification :