Common Cordgrass
Spartina anglica

Report a discovery in an unlisted area

If you think you’ve seen or caught a Common Cordgrass:

  • Do not release it into the water.
  • Catch it and keep it frozen. If you can’t do that, destroy it.
  • Note the location (with GPS coordinates if possible) as well as the observation date.
  • Contact Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Identifying features

Common Cordgrass is a hybrid, perennial, salt-tolerant grass with a distinct 45 to 90 degree angle between the leaf blade and the stem. Round, hollow stems grow in roundish clumps up to two metres in height. The leaf blades, 36 to 46 centimetres in length and up to 12 millimetres wide, are flat, rough and green-gray in colour. Cordgrass sprouts in the spring and blooms from July through November. The seeds resemble wheat and are found on one side of the stem.

Where it has been found

It was discovered in the summer of 2003 in Boundary Bay and Roberts Bank, near the Fraser River estuary. It has recently been discovered in Baynes Sound and Courtenay on Vancouver Island.

Habitat

Common cordgrass can grow rapidly in intertidal zones, such as mudflats and beaches.

Ecological and economic impacts

Three species of Spartina, commonly known as cordgrasses, have invaded coastal estuaries of B.C. As these species proliferate, they trap sediment with their large root masses, raise the elevation of intertidal areas, fill drainage channels, and replace natural mud and sand flats, native eelgrass and algae beds. It is extremely aggressive and will displace existing habitat as it spreads over mudflats via seeds and/or rhisomes and move upwards into natural salt marshes.

The results can be serious:

Mode of dissemination

The plants can spread in B.C. by birds, animals, humans, and water currents. This species was introduced to some locations intentionally to stabilize banks/shorelines and seeds have been transported unintentionally with oyster transplants.

Date modified:

Spartine Anglaise
Spartina anglica

Signaler une espèce aquatique envahissante

Si vous pensez avoir découvert une Spartine Anglaise :

  • Ne rejetez pas ces espèces dans l’eau.
  • Notez l’endroit précis (coordonnées GPS) et la date d’observation.
  • Contactez Pêches et Océans Canada.

Caractéristiques d’identification

La Spartine Anglaise est une graminée vivace hybride tolérante au sel. Ses feuilles forment un angle caractéristique de 45 à 90 degrés avec la tige, qui est ronde et creuse. Cette plante pousse en touffes circulaires pouvant atteindre une hauteur de deux mètres. Le limbe des feuilles, qui mesure de 36 à 46 cm de longueur et jusqu’à 12 mm de largeur, est plate, rugueux et de couleur gris-vert. La plante émerge au printemps et fleurit de juillet à novembre. Les graines ressemblent à du blé et se trouvent d’un côté seulement de la tige.

À quel(s) endroit(s) cette espèce a-t-elle été retrouvée

Elle a été découverte à l’été 2003 dans la baie Boundary et à Roberts Bank, près de l’estuaire du fleuve Fraser. Elle a récemment été signalée dans le chenal Baynes et à Courtenay, sur l’île de Vancouver.

Habitat

La Spartine Anglaise peut pousser rapidement dans les zones intertidales telles que les vasières et les plages.

Impacts écologiques et économiques

Trois espèces de Spartina, ou de spartines, comme on les appelle communément, ont envahi les estuaires côtiers de la Colombie-Britannique. Lorsqu’elles prolifèrent, ces espèces emprisonnent les sédiments dans leur importante masse racinaire et, de ce fait, augmentent l’élévation des zones intertidales et remplissent l’espace auparavant occupé par des vasières, des platins de sable, des zosteraies, des champs d’algues indigènes et des lits de rivière. Extrêmement agressives, les spartines déplacent l’habitat existant en se multipliant dans les vasières par leurs graines et leurs rhizomes et en envahissant les marais salés naturels.

Les conséquences peuvent être graves :

Méthodes de dispersion

Les plantes peuvent être transportées en Colombie-Britannique par les oiseaux, les animaux, les humains, les courants marins, les embarcations de plaisance et l’eau de ballast des navires.

Date de modification :