Coffin Box Bryozoan
Membranipora membranacea

Report a discovery in an unlisted area

If you think you’ve seen or caught a Coffin Box Bryozoan:

  • Do not release it into the water.
  • Catch it and keep it frozen. If you can’t do that, destroy it.
  • Note the location (with GPS coordinates if possible) as well as the observation date.
  • Contact Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

also called: Lacy Crust Bryozoan

The Coffin Box is a 'bryozoan', a type of tiny invertebrate animal. Although each individual animal is tiny, it lives together with others in large colonies. The coffin box feeds by filtering sea water through its body.

Identifying features

Similar species (native)

Hairy Sea-Mat (Electra pilosa)

Coffin Box Bryozoan can be mistaken for the Hairy Sea-Mat, a native bryozoan. It also forms white sheets on seaweed, but it can be distinguished from the coffin box by its star-shaped colonies, hairy extensions and small oval-shaped individuals.

Where it has been found

Was first found in eastern Canada, Nova-Scotia, in the early 1990's and in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, Quebec, in 2003. Coffin box was first observed in Newfoundland and Labrador in 2002. It has already become a prominent part of kelp beds throughout coastal areas of the island. It is now established in Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland.

Habitat

This species can be found in shallow subtidal waters from the surface down to a depth of ten meters, on kelp and other seaweed, rocks, boat hulls, and other surfaces and organisms. Grows best in areas with strong currents or good tidal water exchanges.

Coffin Box Bryozoan distribution in Gulf region

Coffin Box Bryozoan distribution in Gulf region
Click image to enlarge

Ecological and economic impacts

Kelp beds are important because they are highly productive marine habitats. They are a source of food for many animals, as well as a hiding place for many species of fish and invertebrates.

In the fall, colonies of coffin box can entirely cover a blade of kelp, causing it to become brittle and eventually killing it. The presence of coffin box on kelp can starve kelp by preventing it from absorbing nutrients. Coffin box can reduce the amount of light available for photosynthesis, which may affect growth rates. It disturbs kelp ecosystems, and promotes establishment of invasive plants, such as Codium. It can also reduce the kelp's ability to reproduce by preventing the release of spores. Overall, these effects can decrease the abundance of kelp, so the spread of coffin box in Newfoundland and Labrador may permanently alter our kelp beds and affect biodiversity along our coasts.

Origins and mode of arrival

Coffin Box Bryozoan is native to the North Pacific Ocean from Alaska to Baja, California, and throughout the temperate Northeast Atlantic Ocean.

Mode of dissemination

Coffin Box Bryozoan has a relatively continuous distribution in Nova Scotia, indicating that its spread is mostly from larval dispersal. Larval abundance varies temporally and spatially and is influenced by water column stratification, with larvae occurring in higher abundances in the higher, shallower, fresher layer above the pycnocline.

Coffin Box Bryozoan can be picked up easily in ballast water because of its dispersive larval phase. It is also known to raft on dislodged kelp and has been found encrusted on drift plastic. This species can successfully invade new areas dues to its short reproductive cycle, fast growth rates, and absence of predators and competitors.

Coffin Box in Newfoundland and Labrador Waters

Discovery and Survey findings

Coffin Box Distribution in Newfoundland Waters

Click image to enlarge.

Distribution Location and Bay

Argentia: Placentia Bay

Arnolds Cove: Placentia Bay

Bar Haven: Placentia Bay

Bay Bulls: Eastern Avalon

Bay East: Placentia Bay

Belleoram: Fortune Bay

Bird Cove: Northern Peninsula West

Bonne Bay: West Coast

Boxey: Fortune Bay

Burin: Placentia Bay

Burtons Cove: Fortune Bay

Cape Broyle: Eastern Avalon

Codroy: Southwest Coast

Come by Chance: Placentia Bay

Coxs Cove: West Coast

Daniels Harbour: Northern Peninsula West

Darbys Harbour: Placentia Bay

Davis Cove: Placentia Bay

Eastport: Bonavista Bay

Foxtrap: Conception Bay

Gaultois: Hermitage Bay

Grand Bay West: Southwest Coast

Grandois: Northern Peninsula East

Green Island Cove: Northern Peninsula West

Harbour Breton: Fortune Bay

Harbour Grace: Conception Bay

Harbour Mille: Fortune Bay

Hearts Content: Trinity Bay

Hermitage: Hermitage Bay

Holyrood: Conception Bay

Jean de Gaunt: Placentia Bay

Lark Harbour: Bay of Islands

Lewisporte: Notre Dame Bay

Little Bay: Placentia Bay

Little Bay: East Fortune Bay

Little St Lawrence: Placentia Bay

Logy Bay: Eastern Avalon

Long Pond: Conception Bay

Marystown: Placentia Bay

Norris Point: Bonne Bay

North Harbour: Placentia Bay

Paradise Sound: Placentia Bay

Petite Forte: Placentia Bay

Piccadilly: Port au Port Bay

Placentia: Placentia Bay

Pools Cove: Fortune Bay

Port au Choix: Northern Peninsula West

Port aux Basques: Southwest Coast

Port Saunders: Northern Peninsula West

Powell Cove: Bonavista Bay

Presque Harbour: Placentia Bay

Raleigh: Pistolet Bay

Red Bay: Labrador Coast

Red Harbour: Placentia Bay

Riverhead: St. Marys Bay

Rose Blanche: Southwest Coast

Round Harbour: Notre Dame Bay

Salamander Point: Fortune Bay

Salmonier Cove: Connaigre Bay

Seal Cove: Connaigre Bay

Southern Harbour: Placentia Bay

Spanish Room: Placentia Bay

St Georges: St Georges Bay

St Josephs: Placentia Bay

Summerford: Notre Dame Bay

Swift Current: Placentia Bay

Terra Nova: Bonavista Bay

Three Rock Cove: Port au Port Peninsula

Torbay: Eastern Avalon

Vitters Cove: Trinity Bay

Westport: White Bay

From June to November 2008, a survey for coffin box was conducted along the west coast of Newfoundland and the southeast coast of Labrador. This survey was a partnership between Memorial University of Newfoundland, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Institute for Biodiversity, Ecosystem Science and Sustainability, the Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture, and the Fish, Food and Allied Workers Union. The largest populations of coffin box were found in the Bay of Islands and Bonne Bay. North of these locations, the amount of coffin box on kelp decreased, with the smallest populations observed along the Strait of Belle Isle. During the entire survey, the greatest number of colonies of coffin box on kelp was observed in the fall of 2008.

In September and October of 2009, another survey found many colonies of coffin box on kelp at North Harbour and Arnold’s Cove and a few individual colonies at Eastport, Red Harbour, Holyrood and Bay Bulls.

Controlling abundance

Coffin box can spread over large distances by releasing larvae, which are carried by ocean currents. They can also be spread through human activity. Coffin box has been observed on boat hulls, growing on the kelp that is attached to the hull. To help control the spread of this aquatic invasive species, regularly clean and disinfect boats and boating gear.

For further information

References

Date modified:

Membranipore
Membranipora membranacea

Nom usuel : Croûte de dentelle

Signaler une espèce aquatique envahissante

Si vous pensez avoir découvert un Membranipore :

  • Ne rejetez pas ces espèces dans l’eau.
  • Notez l’endroit précis (coordonnées GPS) et la date d’observation.
  • Contactez Pêches et Océans Canada.

Le Membranipore est un membre du groupe des bryozoaires, un type de minuscule animal invertébré. Bien que chaque individu soit minuscule, il vit avec d’autres dans de grandes colonies. Le Membranipore s’alimente en filtrant l’eau de mer à travers son corps.

Caractéristiques d’identification

Espèces similaires (indigènes)

L’Écorce Pileuse (Electra pilosa)

Elle forme aussi des colonies blanches sur les algues, mais elle se distingue du Membranipore par sa forme générale étoilée, ses filaments et la forme ovale de ses individus.

À quel(s) endroit(s) cette espèce a-t-elle été retrouvée

Il a été signalé pour la première fois dans l'Est du Canada, en Nouvelle-Écosse, au début des années 1990, et dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, au Québec, en 2003. Il a été observé pour la première fois à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador en 2002. Le Membranipore est déjà devenu un élément prédominant du paysage dans les peuplements de laminaires le long des côtes de la province. Cette espèce est maintenant établie au Québec, au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse, à l’Île du Prince Édouard, et à Terre-Neuve.

Répartition du Membranipore dans la région du Golfe

Répartition du Membranipore dans la région du Golfe
Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Impacts écologiques et économiques

Les peuplements d’algues brunes sont importants parce qu’ils constituent des habitats marins hautement productifs. Ils sont à la fois une source de nourriture pour de nombreux animaux et un endroit où de nombreuses espèces de poissons et d’invertébrés peuvent se cacher des prédateurs.

À l’automne, les colonies de Membranipore peuvent entièrement recouvrir une lame d’algue brune, qui deviendra par la suite cassante et finira par mourir. La présence de Membranipore sur l’algue peut la priver de nourriture en nuisant à sa capacité d’absorber les nutriments et en réduisant la quantité de lumière dont elle a besoin pour la photosynthèse, ce qui abaisse son taux de croissance. Le Membranipore peut aussi amoindrir la capacité de reproduction de l’algue en empêchant la libération des spores. Dans l’ensemble, ces effets peuvent diminuer l’abondance des algues brunes. La propagation du Membranipore dans les eaux de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador peut donc transformer nos peuplements d’algues brunes en permanence et nuire à la biodiversité le long de nos côtes.

Origine et mode d’arrivée au pays

Le Membranipora est natif du Nord de l’Océan Pacific de l’Alaska à Baja en Californie et se retrouve dans la Nord-Ouest de l’Océan Atlantique.

Méthodes de dispersion

Le Membranipora a une distribution relativement continue le long des côtes de la Nouvelle-Écosse, ce qui indique que la dispersion s’effectue principalement lors du stade larvaire. L’abondance des larves varie dans le temps et l’espace et est influencée par la stratification de la colonne d’eau. Les larves étant plus abondantes dans les eaux plus profondes et fraîches au-dessus de la pycnocline.

Les espèces ayant une phase de dispersion sont généralement de bons envahisseurs puisqu’Ils. Le Membranipora peut se retrouver facilement dans les eaux de ballast grâce à sa phase de dispersion larvaire. Le Membranipora a également été observé dérivant sur des algues brunes ou du plastique. La combinaison d’un cycle de reproduction court, d’un taux de croissance élevé et de l’absence de prédateur et de compétiteur contribue au succès de l’introduction et de l’établissement du Membranipora dans de nouveaux territoires.

Espèce aquatique envahissante : le Membranipore dans les eaux de Terre-Neuve et Labrador

Découverte et résultats des relevés

Coffin Box Distribution in Newfoundland Waters

Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir.

Répartition Lieux et Baie

Argentia: Baie Placentia

Arnolds Cove: Baie Placentia

Bar Haven: Baie Placentia

Bay Bulls: Est de l’Avalon

Bay East: Baie Placentia

Belleoram: Baie Fortune

Bird Cove: péninsule Northern Ouest

Bonne Bay: Ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Boxey: Baie Fortune

Burin: Baie Placentia

Burtons Cove: Baie Fortune

Cape Broyle: Est de l’Avalon

Codroy: Côte Sud-Ouest

Come by Chance: Baie Placentia

Coxs Cove: Ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Daniels Harbour: péninsule Northern Ouest

Darbys Harbour: Baie Placentia

Davis Cove: Baie Placentia

Eastport: Baie Bonavista

Foxtrap: Baie Conception

Gaultois: Baie Hermitage

Grand Bay West: Côte Sud-Ouest

Grandois: péninsule Northern Est

Green Island Cove: péninsule Northern Ouest

Harbour Breton: Baie Fortune

Harbour Grace: Baie Conception

Harbour Mille: Baie Fortune

Hearts Content: Baie Trinity

Hermitage: Baie Hermitage

Holyrood: Baie Conception

Jean de Gaunt: Baie Placentia

Lark Harbour: Baie des Îles

Lewisporte: Baie Notre Dame

Little Bay: Baie Placentia

Little Bay: Baie Fortune

Little St Lawrence: Baie Placentia

Logy Bay: Est de l’Avalon

Long Pond: Baie Conception

Marystown: Baie Placentia

Norris Point: Bonne Baie

North Harbour: Baie Placentia

Paradise Sound: Baie Placentia

Petite Forte: Baie Placentia

Piccadilly: Port au Port Peninsula

Placentia: Baie Placentia

Pools Cove: Baie Fortune

Port au Choix: péninsule Northern Ouest

Port aux Basques: Côte Sud-Ouest

Port Saunders: péninsule Northern Ouest

Powell Cove: Baie Bonavista

Presque Harbour: Baie Placentia

Raleigh: Baie Pistolet

Red Bay: Côte du Labrador

Red Harbour: Baie Placentia

Riverhead: Baie St Marys

Rose Blanche: Côte Sud-Ouest

Round Harbour: Baie Notre Dame

Salamander Point: Baie Fortune

Salmonier Cove: Baie Connaigre

Seal Cove: Baie Connaigre

Southern Harbour: Baie Placentia

Spanish Room: Baie Placentia

St Georges: Baie St Georges

St Josephs: Baie Placentia

Summerford: Baie Notre Dame

Swift Current: Baie Placentia

Terra Nova: Baie Bonavista

Three Rock Cove: Port au Port Peninsula

Torbay: Est de l’Avalon

Vitters Cove: Baie Trinity

Westport: Baie White

De juin à novembre 2008, un relevé du membranipore a été réalisé le long de la côte ouest de Terre-Neuve et de la côte sud-est du Labrador, dans le cadre d’un partenariat de l’Université Memorial de Terre Neuve, de Pêches et Océans Canada, de l’Institute for Biodiversity, Ecosystem Science and Sustainability, du ministère provincial des Pêches et de l’Aquaculture, ainsi que de l’Union des pêcheurs de Terre-Neuve. Les plus grandes populations de membranipore ont été trouvées dans la baie des Îles et la baie Bonne. Au nord de ces endroits, le nombre de colonies diminuait, les plus petites populations ayant été observées le long du détroit de Belle-Isle. Pendant tout le relevé, le plus grand nombre de colonies de membranipore sur les algues brunes a été observé à l’automne 2008.

En septembre et en octobre 2009, un autre relevé a permis de déceler un grand nombre de colonies de membranipore sur les algues brunes à North Harbour et Arnold’s Cove ainsi que quelques colonies individuelles à Eastport, Red Harbour, Holyrood et Bay Bulls.

Méthodes de lutte contre la propagation du Membranipore

Le Membranipore peut se propager sur de grandes distances en libérant des larves, qui sont transportées par les courants océaniques. Il peut aussi se propager par les activités humaines. Le Membranipore a été observé sur la coque de bateaux, poussant sur les algues brunes qui y étaient fixées. Afin de lutter contre la propagation de cette espèce, nettoyez et désinfectez régulièrement bateaux et engins.

Pour plus d’information

Références

Date de modification :