Chinese Mitten Crab
Eriocheir sinensis

Also called: Chinese freshwater edible crab

Report a discovery in an unlisted area

If you think you’ve seen or caught a Chinese Mitten Crab:

  • Do not release it into the water.
  • Catch it and keep it frozen. If you can’t do that, destroy it.
  • Note the location (with GPS coordinates if possible) as well as the observation date.
  • Contact Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

The Chinese Mitten Crab is the only freshwater crab found in North America.

Identifying features

Similar species (native)

No native species have hairy claws.

Where it has been found

It was first reported in the Great Lakes in 1965 where it occasionally shows up in Lakes Ontario and Erie. It appeared in the St. Lawrence River in 2004. No freshwater crab species existed in North America before its arrival. The Chinese Mitten Crab was first discovered on the west coast of California in 1992, indicating that they could possibly spread to B.C. waters via coastal commercial shipping activities.

Habitat

The Chinese Mitten Crab can be found down to a depth of ten meters, in fresh or brackish waters in estuaries, lakes, rivers and wetlands. It can tolerate a wide range of temperatures and salinities and can easily survive in disturbed and polluted environments. It is a catadromous species that lives in freshwater and reproduces in saltwater.

Ecological and economic impacts

This species poses a serious threat to freshwater and tidal ecosystems. Chinese Mitten Crab can eat salmon, trout and sturgeon eggs and may threaten successful spawning of these species. They also have been known to damage fish habitat by causing extensive river bank erosion via their burrowing activities.

Origins and mode of arrival

Native to the Yellow Sea between China and Korea.

Chinese Mitten Crab could be introduced into Canada accidentally through ballast water or intentionally through illegal live food imports as mitten crab is considered a delicacy in Asian cuisine. It is important to note that the importation of the Chinese Mitten Crab is illegal due to human health risks (the mitten crab is an intermediate host for the oriental lung fluke - a parasite - that can be passed to humans who consume it raw or undercooked).

Mode of dissemination

It is now largely accepted that the worldwide spread of the Chinese Mitten Crab was due to human-mediated activities and not the result of natural causes.

Spread

The most probable unintentional vector for the introduction and transfer of the Chinese Mitten Crab is the transport by ship ballast waters. Presumably the uptake of pelagic larval stages would be responsible for the spread of the species via ballast water.

Human activity

The most likely pathways are the active transport and voluntary release of mitten crabs into new habitats to provide a new human food source, and the accidental release of crabs via ship ballast water discharge.

Government action

Scientific research

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is studying the Chinese Mitten Crab population to improve its understanding of how it reacts and adapts to Canadian conditions.

For further information

References

Date modified:

Crabe chinois à mitaine
Eriocheir sinensis

Le Crabe chinois à mitaines est le seul crabe d'eau douce présent en Amérique du Nord.

Signaler une espèce aquatique envahissante

Si vous pensez avoir découvert un Crabe chinois à mitaine :

  • Ne rejetez pas ces espèces dans l’eau.
  • Notez l’endroit précis (coordonnées GPS) et la date d’observation.
  • Contactez Pêches et Océans Canada.

Caractéristiques d’identification

Espèce similaire (indigène)

Aucune espèce indigène n'a de poils sur les pinces.

À quel(s) endroit(s) retrouve-t-on cette espèce

Au Canada, il a été rapporté pour la première fois dans les Grands Lacs, en 1965. Il est apparu dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent en 2004. Ce crabe a été découvert pour la première fois sur la côte californienne en 1992; il pourrait se propager dans les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique par l'entremise des activités commerciales de transport maritime sur la côte. Le Crabe chinois à mitaines est le seul crabe d'eau douce présent en Amérique du Nord

Habitat

On le retrouve jusqu'à une dizaine de mètres de profondeur, en eaux douces et saumâtres dans les estuaires, les lacs, les rivières et autres zones humides. Il tolère une grande variété de températures et de salinités et possède une habileté remarquable à survivre dans des environnements hautement perturbés et pollués. C'est une espèce catadrome qui vit en eau douce et se reproduit en eau salée.

Impacts écologiques et économiques

Cette espèce représente une grave menace pour les écosystèmes d'eau douce et intertidaux. Le Crabe chinois à mitaines peut manger les œufs des saumons, des truites et des esturgeons, et donc menacer la reproduction de ces espèces. Il est également reconnu pour endommager l'habitat du poisson en accélérant l'érosion des rives par ses activités d'enfouissement.

Origine et mode d’arrivée au pays

Originaire de Corée et de Chine

Le Crabe chinois à mitaines (Eriocheir sinensis) pourrait être introduit accidentellement au Canada par l’eau de ballast ou intentionnellement par son importation illégale dans le cadre de l'industrie des fruits de mer vivants, cette espèce étant considérée comme un aliment fin en cuisine asiatique. Il est important de noter que l'importation du Crabe chinois à mitaines est illégale, car il présente un risque pour la santé humaine (l'espèce est un hôte intermédiaire de la douve orientale du poumon, un parasite qui peut être transmis aux humains si la chair du crabe est consommée crue ou mal cuite).

Méthodes de dispersion

Il est maintenant accepté que la dispersion mondiale du Crabe chinois à mitaine ait été engendrée par des activités humaines et non par des causes naturelles.

Dispersion

Le vecteur non intentionnel le plus probable pour l’introduction et le transfert du Crabe chinois à mitaine est le transport d’individus dans les eaux de ballast. Ce qui s’est effectué, probablement via la présence d’individus au stade larvaire dans les eaux de ballast.

Activités humaines

Les voies de dispersions les plus probables, via les activités humaines sont le transport actif et la libération volontaire de Crabe chinois à mitaine dans de nouveaux habitats pour l’alimentation humaine et la libération accidentelle de spécimens pendant le déchargement des eaux de ballast.

Actions du gouvernement

Recherche scientifique

Pêches et Océans Canada étudie les populations de Crabe chinois à mitaine afin d’améliorer la compréhension concernant son adaptation aux conditions canadiennes. Synthèse de la biologie du Crabe chinois à mitaine, Eriocheir sinensis (Anglais)

Pour plus d’information

Références

Date de modification :