A Canadian Action Plan to Address the Threat of Aquatic Invasive Species
Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers Aquatic Invasive Species Task Group

PDF Document

Table of Contents

Strategic Management Framework

Leadership, coordination and cooperation

AIS issues are extremely complex and involve a wide variety of stakeholders, including all levels of government (and several departments within each level), many industry sectors, and numerous NGOs. Effective leadership and coordination are imperative for success, as they serve to reduce overlap and duplication and focus efforts on the most important tasks.

Overall leadership for implementing this plan is shared between the federal government and the provinces and territories. Lead agencies include Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Environment Canada and their provincial and territorial counterparts.

To ensure national implementation and coordination of the plan, lead agencies will review existing structures (including federal-provincial-territorial priority-setting mechanisms, accountability and reporting structures, and resources) and identify/ address any gaps.

Leadership and coordination actions include the following:

Inter-jurisdictional

Inter-departmental

International

Canada shares responsibility for managing many waterways with the United States and is represented on a number of bilateral groups with a mandate to control invasive species. These include the Great Lakes Panel on Aquatic Nuisance Species, the Northeast Aquatic Nuisance Species Panel, the Mississippi River Basin Panel on Aquatic Nuisance Species and the Western Regional Panel on Aquatic Nuisance Species.

Implementation strategies

Many of the strategies required to deal with the threat of AIS call for action within a specific pathway or with respect to a single species. For the purpose of developing a Canadian plan, those actions are best organized in broad categories that apply across pathways and species and are harmonized between jurisdictions. These categories are:

1. Legislation, regulation and compliance

Effective legislative frameworks take into account the varying needs and priorities of different jurisdictions and sectors. Although the mandates for addressing most AIS issues fall under one or more existing pieces of legislation, there is a need for better integration.

Areas for action include:

2. Risk management (Risk assessment, early detection and rapid response)

Efforts to detect and respond to invasions constitute the front line work for managing AIS and are a top priority for governments.

Prevention is the primary focus of the AIS plan as it is the most cost-effective way to deal with any potential threats. Effective risk management includes identifying high risk pathways or species and developing a comprehensive rapid response strategy that includes clear accountabilities, monitoring capacity, and taxonomic expertise.

Where species have already been introduced, the priority shifts to early detection and risk assessment, including measures aimed at control, eradication, and restoration. The methods used can be physical, chemical, or biological.

Actions in this area include:

3. Engaging Canadians (Stewardship, education and awareness)

Since much of the spread of invasive species occurs through unintentional actions, education and awareness campaigns can increase levels of compliance with regulations designed to prevent the spread of AIS. A stewardship perspective emphasizes the fact that managing AIS is a shared responsibility between governments and stakeholders and that action is only effective with widespread commitment. Stewardship should be locally-driven through existing organizations with programs that provide training and support.

4. Science (Monitoring, research, and risk analysis)

There is currently a shortage of knowledge about the biology of invasive species, their ultimate environmental, social, and economic effects, as well as the most effective tools and procedures to deal with them. Research into the biological, technological and socio-economic aspects of this problem needs to move toward making management of AIS a predictive rather than reactive effort. An integral part of this process involves using existing risk assessment tools and models and developing new ones as needed.

Science-based research supports resource decision-making, including the development of policy, legislation, and programs and develops best practices in controlling the spread of invasive species.

DFO has appointed an Invasions Biology Research Chair at the University of Windsor to further research into vectors and impacts of aquatic invasive species.

Discussions are underway to coordinate research efforts, both within Canada and between Canada and the US/internationally, and seek funding from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) for a Canadian AIS research network focused on four key theme areas.

Other actions may include:

Setting priorities

Although there are some obvious urgent priorities that call for immediate action, existing prevention and control programs must be maintained. Setting future priorities begins with gathering information to more clearly understand the scope of the problem. Equally urgent is producing an inventory of both current and potential invasive species threats. Some work has already been done in this area, including national reviews of existing legislation.

The focus is first on prevention, followed by early detection, rapid response, and finally eradication, control, and management. Specific priorities will include activities that:

Other considerations in setting priorities include:

Roles, responsibilities and resources

As AIS are a horizontal issue, commitment from numerous departments and agencies across all levels of government as well as other stakeholders is required. The participation of all Canadians is necessary to deal with the threats to Canada's biodiversity and economy from invasive species.

Governments have committed to providing the necessary leadership in the search for solutions to the invasive species threat and the coordination of related activities.

Variations in mandates and capacity mean that jurisdictions play different roles at different times. While certain responsibilities are clearly within federal, provincial, territorial, or even municipal jurisdiction, others are less clearly defined. Further, as the job of managing waterways is shared between the federal government and the provinces/ territories, coordination between jurisdictions is essential. Actions to implement this plan must, therefore, be flexible and allow for regional variations to priorities.

This plan cannot succeed without the full participation of industry, NGOs, Aboriginal peoples and the general public. All stakeholders can contribute valuable resources that will help control AIS.

While much is being done within existing structures and programs, full implementation of the Canadian plan will require new human and financial resources. Resources devoted to AIS prevention or control measures not only reduce the need for future expenditures but can generate economic benefits.

Given the scope of the AIS problem, effective use of limited resources is imperative to achieve maximum benefits. Much can be done through developing partnerships that leverage the full value of each dollar spent and maximize opportunities to pool expertise and resources. Whether proceeds from existing fee structures can be used to help combat invasive species should also be explored.

Date modified:

Plan d'action canadien de lutte contre les espèces aquatiques envahissantes
Groupe de travail sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes du Conseil canadien des ministres des pêches et de l'aquaculture

Document PDF

Table des matières

Cadre de gestion stratégique

Leadership, coordination et coopération

Les problèmes posés par les espèces exotiques envahissantes sont extrêmement complexes et font intervenir une grande variété de partenaires, incluant tous les paliers de gouvernements (et plusieurs ministères à chacun de ses paliers), plusieurs secteurs de l'industrie et de nombreux ONG. Il est impératif de faire preuve de leadership et de coordination pour s'assurer d'un succès, à savoir réduire les chevauchements et le dédoublement et concentrer les efforts autour des tâches les plus importantes.

Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux partagent la responsabilité de la mise en œuvre du plan canadien. Les premiers responsables sont Pêches et Océans Canada et Environnement Canada, de même que les organismes compétents des provinces et des territoires.

Il faut aussi revoir les structures en place, notamment les mécanismes d'établissement des priorités fédérales, provinciales et territoriales, les structures de responsabilité et de reddition de compte ainsi que les ressources, et combler les lacunes pour faire en sorte que le plan soit implanté et coordonné à l'échelle canadienne.

À cet effet, il convient de prendre les mesures suivantes :

Initiatives intergouvernementales

Initiatives interministérielles

Initiatives internationales

La gestion de nombreuses voies navigables est une responsabilité partagée par le Canada et les États Unis. Le gouvernement canadien est représenté au sein de groupes bilatéraux chargés de lutter contre les espèces envahissantes. Parmi ces groupes, on compte le Great Lakes Panel on Aquatic Nuisance Species, le Northeast Aquatic Nuisance Species Panel, le Mississippi River Basin Panel on Aquatic Nuisance Species et le Western Regional Panel on Aquatic Nuisance Species.

Stratégies de mise en oeuvre

Bon nombre des stratégies qu'il faut appliquer pour faire face à la menace posée par les espèces aquatiques envahissantes exigent qu'on s'attaque à une voie d'entrée ou de propagation particulière, voire à une seule espèce. Toutefois, lorsqu'il s'agit d'élaborer un plan canadien, il est plus utile de grouper les interventions en grandes catégories qui couvrent l'ensemble des voies et des espèces et qui sont harmonisées entre les divers paliers de compétence en cause. Ces catégories sont les suivantes :

1. Législation, réglementation et leur application

Tout bon cadre législatif doit prendre en considération les besoins et les priorités des différents paliers de compétence et secteurs. Les mandats portant sur la plupart des problèmes liés aux espèces aquatiques envahissantes relèvent d'un ou de plusieurs textes législatifs en vigueur, et il y a lieu d'assurer une meilleure intégration.

À cet effet, il convient de prendre les mesures suivantes :

2. Gestion des risques (évaluation, détection précoce et intervention rapide)

Les activités de détection et d'intervention sont essentielles à la gestion des espèces aquatiques envahissantes et viennent en tête des priorités de tous les gouvernements.

La prévention est le premier objectif du Plan canadien de lutte contre les espèces aquatiques envahissantes; c'est aussi la façon la plus économique de contrer toute menace potentielle. La gestion efficace des risques repose sur la détermination des voies d'entrée ou des espèces à haut risque et sur l'élaboration d'une stratégie globale d'intervention rapide précisant clairement les responsabilités, prévoyant une capacité de surveillance et définissant l'expertise taxonomique.

Lorsque les espèces ont déjà été introduites, cependant, la priorité doit aller à la détection précoce et à l'évaluation des risques, et à l'adoption de mesures de contrôle, d'éradication et de restauration. Les méthodes utilisées peuvent être physiques, chimiques et/ou biologiques.

Il convient de prendre les mesures suivantes :

3. Mobilisation des Canadiens (implication, éducation et sensibilisation)

La propagation d'espèces envahissantes étant en grande partie d'origine accidentelle, les campagnes d'éducation et de sensibilisation peuvent contribuer à mieux faire respecter les règlements visant à prévenir la dissémination des espèces aquatiques envahissantes. Conformément aux principes de gérance, la gestion des espèces aquatiques envahissantes est une responsabilité commune des gouvernements et des intervenants, et les mesures ne peuvent être efficaces qu'avec l'engagement de tous. Les activités de gérance devraient se dérouler à l'échelle locale par l'intermédiaire des entités locales en place, et comporter des programmes de formation et de soutien.

4. Recherche scientifique (suivi, recherche, et analyse des risques)

À l'heure actuelle, on connaît mal la biologie des espèces envahissantes, leurs effets environnementaux, sociaux et économiques ultimes ainsi que les meilleurs moyens et méthodes pour lutter contre elles. La recherche sur les aspects biologiques, technologiques et socio-économiques du problème doit faire en sorte que la gestion des espèces aquatiques envahissantes soit prédictive plutôt que réactive. Le recours aux outils et aux modèles existants d'évaluation des risques, et l'élaboration de nouveaux outils et modèles au besoin, font partie intégrante du processus.

La recherche scientifique et l'évaluation des risques soutiennent la prise de décisions, l'élaboration des orientations stratégiques, la législation et l'élaboration de programmes, et aident à déterminer les pratiques optimales de lutte contre la propagation d'espèces envahissantes.

Le MPO a créé la chaire de recherches sur la biologie des espèces envahissantes à l'Université de Windsor dans le but d'étudier les vecteurs et les effets des espèces aquatiques envahissantes.

Des pourparlers sont en cours pour coordonner les efforts de recherche menés au Canada et les recherches faites en collaboration avec l'étranger (É-U et international), et demander au Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie (CRSNG) un financement pour la création d'un réseau canadien de recherche sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes axé sur quatre thèmes principaux.

Parmi les autres mesures qui doivent être prises, mentionnons les suivantes :

Établissement des priorités

Bien que certaines priorités présentent une urgence évidente et nécessitent la prise de mesures immédiates, il est impératif de maintenir les programmes de prévention et de contrôle déjà existants. L'établissement des priorités futures commence par la collecte d'information pour mieux saisir l'ampleur du problème. Il est également urgent de répertorier les menaces réelles et potentielles que posent les espèces envahissantes. Une partie du travail a déjà été faite dans ce secteur, notamment en ce qui concerne l'examen de la législation à l'échelle nationale.

L'objectif principal est la prévention, suivi de la détection précoce, de l'intervention rapide et finalement de l'éradication, du contrôle et de la gestion. Les priorités incluront les activités qui :

Elles devront également tenir compte d'autres facteurs :

Rôles, responsabilités et ressources

Comme les espèces aquatiques envahissantes constituent un problème horizontal, l'engagement d'un grand nombre de ministères et d'entités à tous les paliers de gouvernement, ainsi que celui des autres intervenants, s'impose. Pour contrer la menace, la participation de l'ensemble des Canadiens et des Canadiennes est également nécessaire.

Les gouvernements se sont engagés à faire preuve du leadership nécessaire dans la recherche de solutions au problème des espèces envahissantes et dans la coordination des activités connexes.

La variabilité des mandats et des capacités des divers paliers de compétence fait en sorte que ceux-ci jouent des rôles différents à des moments différents. Bien que certaines questions relèvent clairement du palier fédéral ou provincial/territorial, voir du palier municipal, pour d'autres, les responsabilités sont plus difficiles à départager. En outre, comme la gestion des voies navigables est une responsabilité partagée par le gouvernement fédéral, les provinces et les territoires, il est essentiel d'assurer une coordination entre les diverses instances. La réglementation des espèces aquatiques envahissantes doit donc être suffisamment souple pour permettre des variantes régionales dans l'ordre des priorités.

Ce plan ne peut porter fruit sans l'entière participation des intervenants. L'industrie, les ONG, les peuples autochtones et la population en général peuvent tous mettre à contribution de précieuses ressources pour lutter contre les espèces aquatiques envahissantes.

Bien que les structures et les programmes actuels puissent favoriser et favorisent grandement l'action, la mise en œuvre efficace du plan canadien nécessitera de nouvelles ressources humaines et financières. Les ressources affectées aux mesures de prévention et de lutte contre les espèces envahissantes réduisent non seulement la nécessité des dépenses futures, mais peuvent générer des avantages économiques.

Étant donné l'ampleur du problème posé par les espèces aquatiques envahissantes, il est capital de faire bon usage des ressources pour maximiser l'efficacité des interventions. On peut faire beaucoup en développant des partenariats qui permettront d'optimiser le rendement de chaque dollar dépensé et en maximisant les occasions de mettre en commun expertise et ressources. On devrait également examiner la possibilité d'utiliser les recettes réalisées dans la structure tarifaire existante pour aider à combattre les espèces envahissantes.

Date de modification :