Pathways of Introduction and Spread

Aquatic invasive species can be introduced both accidentally and intentionally into Canadian waters by human activities. Without effective natural predators or competitors, they can become established in our waters and spread rapidly.

Such species have been entering Canadian waters for centuries; however, recent introductions and spread are much more rapid because of the volume of international shipping.

The most effective approach to prevent the introduction and spread of new invasive species in Canada is to manage the pathways through which invasive species enter and spread in our waters.

Live Animal Trade

Aquariums and ponds: Aquatic invasive species can be introduced when live fishing bait or fish from public or private aquariums are released into natural aquatic ecosystems.

Live fish for consumption: Fish, molluscs and crustaceans for human consumption, and any species unknowingly transported with them, may escape or be released into the environment.

Shipping

Zebra Mussel, Spiny Waterflea and Green Crab were introduced through the discharge of ballast water and biological fouling.

Regulations and technologies have been implemented to reduce the impact of shipping as a potential source of introductions.

Ballast and bilge water from ships may contain eggs, larvae and juveniles of larger species (fish, molluscs, crustaceans) and the adults of smaller species (tunicates, plankton).

  • Canadian Ballast Water Program
    Transport Canada
  • Ballast Water Management in the Great Lakes Reduces the Introduction of Aquatic Invasive Species
    Fisheries and Oceans Canada Study

Biological fouling occurs when organisms, especially invertebrates, attach to the hulls and other submerged areas of vessels. These small living communities travel with the vessel to new areas where they can fall off or dislodge and become invasive.

Aquaculture

  • Vegetation control: Sometimes fish are used in artificial aquaculture ponds and pools to control vegetation. Most aquaculturists use sterile or “triploid” fish for this purpose, but the sterilization process is not always completely effective and “escapees” may establish new populations of invasive fish.
  • Introductions and Transfers: The planned movement of live aquatic organisms, i.e. fish, shellfish and plants, through introductions or transfers supports aquaculture, commercial and recreational fisheries, stock enhancement, research, education, and ecological restoration. These movements are regulated to ensure they take place in a way that limits impacts on other animals and ecosystems.

Recreational Boating and Nautical Activities

Vessels, float planes, sailboats, personal watercraft, kayaks, diving equipment, ropes and fishing gear may transport the attached fragments, larvae and eggs of invasive species to new bodies of water.

Sport Fishery

  • Deliberate introduction: Species that are popular with fishers are sometimes introduced into Canadian waters, without consideration of the threat they could pose to native species.
  • Accidental introduction: Aquatic invasive species are sometimes introduced accidentally when holding tanks are emptied or live bait is thrown into waters. Water from bait buckets may contain juveniles, eggs, larvae or fragments of undesirable aquatic species.

Canals and Water Diversions

Canals, channels and bulk water diversions can be used for a variety of purposes: shipping, hydro-electric power development, recreation, commerce, water supply, flood control, and agriculture. They create artificial connections allowing the free movement of aquatic invasive species across physical barriers, between watersheds.

Cultural Release

Some symbolic cultural practices may involve the deliberate release of a live animal into nature. People may also release a captive fish (e.g. from a food market) with the idea to free it into the wild. Sometimes, those who practise these traditions are unaware of the potentially harmful impacts of these practices.

For further information on important pathways of introduction and spread of aquatic invasive species, consult A Canadian Action Plan to Address the Threat of Aquatic Invasive Species.

Date modified:

Voies d'entrée et de propagation

Les espèces envahissantes sont introduites accidentellement, intentionnellement ou illégalement dans les eaux canadiennes par les activités humaines qui laissent des espèces étrangères s'échapper. Faute de prédateurs et de compétiteurs naturels, elles peuvent se propager rapidement et finissent par s'établir dans nos eaux.

Ces espèces envahissent les eaux canadiennes depuis des siècles, mais le rythme des invasions n'a jamais été aussi rapide qu'aujourd'hui à cause de la facilité et de la fréquence des déplacements et des échanges commerciaux internationaux.

La meilleure façon de lutter contre les centaines d'espèces envahissantes qui s'établissent ou qui pourraient s'établir au Canada s'avère être la gestion des voies par lesquelles ces espèces entrent dans nos eaux ou s'y propagent.

Commerce d'animaux vivants

Aquariums et jardins d'eau : Les espèces aquatiques envahissantes peuvent être introduites par la remise à l'eau d'appâts ou de poissons vivants provenant d'aquariums publics et privés dans les écosystèmes aquatiques naturels.

Poissons de consommation vivants : Les poissons, mollusques ou crustacées destinés à la consommation humaine ou des espèces accidentellement transportées avec eux peuvent s'échapper ou être rejetés dans l'environnement.

Transport maritime

Le rejet des eaux de ballast et les salissures biologiques sont à l'origine de l'introduction de la moule zébrée, du cladocère épineux et du crabe vert.

Des règles et technologies ont été mises en place afin de réduire l'impact du transport maritime comme source éventuelle d'introduction.

Les eaux de ballast ou les cales des navires sont principalement un moyen de transport pour les juvéniles, les larves ou les œufs d'espèces plus grosses (poissons, mollusques, crustacés) ou pour les adultes d'espèces plus petites (tuniciers, plancton).

  • Programme canadien d'eau de ballast
    Transports Canada
  • La gestion de l'eau de ballast dans les Grands Lacs réduit l'introduction d'espèces aquatiques envahissantes
    étude de Pêches et Océans Canada

Les salissures biologiques sont composées d'organismes, notamment des invertébrés, qui se fixent aux coques et autres parties submergées des bateaux. Ils créent ainsi de petites communautés vivantes qui se déplacent avec le bâtiment vers des zones où ils peuvent devenir des espèces envahissantes.

Aquaculture

  • Contrôle de la végétation Les poissons sont parfois utilisés dans des étangs et des bassins d’élevage artificiels pour contrôler la végétation. La plupart des aquaculteurs utilisent des poissons stériles ou « triploïdes » à cette fin, mais le processus de stérilisation n’est pas toujours entièrement efficace et des poissons qui s’échappent peuvent établir de nouvelles populations envahissantes.
  • Introductions et transferts: Le déplacement délibéré d’organismes aquatiques vivants (c.-à-d. de poissons, de mollusques et crustacés, et de plantes) par des introductions ou des transferts appuie l’aquaculture, les pêches commerciales et récréatives, la mise en valeur des stocks, la recherche, la sensibilisation, ainsi que le rétablissement écologique. Ces déplacements sont réglementés afin de s’assurer qu’ils se déroulent d’une manière limitant les impacts sur les autres animaux aquatiques et les écosystèmes.

Navigation et activités nautiques

Des fragments, des larves et des œufs d’espèces envahissantes peuvent être transportés vers de nouveaux plans d’eau lorsqu’ils se fixent sur les navires, les hydravions, les voiliers, les motomarines, les kayaks, l’équipement de plongée, les cordages et les engins de pêche.

Pêche sportive

  • Introduction délibérée Les espèces qui sont populaires auprès des pêcheurs sont parfois introduites dans les eaux canadiennes, et ce, sans tenir compte de la menace qu’elles pourraient poser aux espèces indigènes.
  • Introduction accidentelle Les espèces aquatiques envahissantes sont parfois introduites accidentellement lorsque des réservoirs-viviers sont vidés ou que des appâts vivants sont jetés à l’eau. L’eau des seaux à appâts peut contenir des juvéniles, des œufs, des larves ou des fragments d’espèces aquatiques indésirables.

Canaux et dérivations de cours d'eau

Les canaux, les chenaux et la dérivation de grandes quantités d'eau peuvent être utilisés à diverses fins : le transport maritime, le développement hydroélectrique, les activités récréatives, le commerce, l'alimentation en eau, la lutte contre les inondations, et l'agriculture. Ces ouvrages créent des liens artificiels qui permettent aux espèces aquatiques envahissantes de franchir les obstacles physiques pour circuler librement entre les bassins versants.

Remise à l'eau culturelle

Certaines pratiques culturelles symboliques supposent de libérer intentionnellement un animal vivant dans la nature. Il peut aussi arriver que quelqu'un relâche dans la nature un poisson en captivité (provenant par exemple d'un marché alimentaire) avec l'idée de le libérer. Ceux qui se livrent à ces pratiques traditionnelles ne sont pas toujours conscients des répercussions potentiellement dangereuses qu'elles peuvent avoir.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la question importante des voies d'introduction et de propagation des espèces aquatiques envahissantes, consulter le Plan d’action canadien de lutte contre les espèces aquatiques envahissantes.

Date de modification :