Policy for Scientific Data

Table of Contents

Definitions

Within this document the following definitions will prevail:

Data
are qualitative or quantitative values that characterize either the environment, organisms living in the environment or human activities relating to environmental resources. Data can either be obtained through direct measurement or be derived from other Data for example numerical modelling output. It is understood that “Data” and “Scientific Data” in the context of this document are the same.
Data Management
comprises all the disciplines related to the development, execution and supervision of plans, policies, programs and practices that validate, control, protect, deliver and enhance the value of Data. This is a shared responsibility between DFO Science for Data collection, generation, assembly, transformation (content management responsibility) and stewardship, and organizations charged to provide the systems and services that enable management of Data and Metadata such as storage, applications, access and preservation in a commonly agree organizational framework.
Data Node
is taken to mean an entity within DFO comprising an organization and staff dedicated to the functions of Data content management and having access to the necessary infrastructures and services to perform these functions. There may be specialized Data Nodes that address a specific domain.
Managed Data Repository
is a system under the care and control of a Data Node for storing and managing Data and Metadata of a given type.
Metadata
is contextual information needed to identify, find, cite and properly understand the Data. It includes information on authors, the programs under which the Data was collected, contact for further information, the location where the Data can be found, description of how the Data is organized and formatted, the methods by which the Data was obtained as well as the units, precisions and accuracy of the Data.
Science
refers to the organization in DFO responsible for conducting scientific activities. It includes the Ecosystems and Oceans Science (EOS) sector, the organizations under the Regional Directors of Science, or any other bodies that hold similar responsibilities as the DFO organization evolves.

Policy Statement

Objective

The objective of this policy is to ensure the safeguard of scientific Data holdings and to maximise the usefulness of Data through interconnectivity, accessibility and adherence to standards.

Expected Results

The outcomes of this policy are:

  • secure Data now and in future,
  • interconnected and interoperable Data;
  • useful Data discoverable and accessible through standard means; and
  • cost effective Data management.

Date modified:

Politique sur les données scientifiques

Table des matières

Définitions

Voici les définitions qui prévaudront tout au long du présent document :

Données
valeurs qualitatives ou quantitatives qui caractérisent soit l’environnement, les organismes vivant dans cet environnement ou les activités humaines impliquant les ressources de l’environnement. Les données peuvent être obtenues par mesure directe ou elles peuvent être dérivées à partir d’autres données, par exemple les résultats de modélisation numérique. Il est entendu que « données » et « données scientifiques » sont synonymes dans le contexte de ce document.
Gestion de données
englobe toutes les disciplines reliées au développement, à l’exécution et à la supervision des plans, politiques, programmes et pratiques ayant pour but la validation, le contrôle, la protection, la livraison et l’amélioration de la valeur des données. Ceci est une responsabilité partagée entre les Sciences au MPO pour la collecte, la création, l’assemblage, la transformation (gestion du contenu) et l’intendance, et les organismes chargés des systèmes et des services qui habilitent la gestion de données et de métadonnées, tels que le stockage, les applications, l’accès et la sauvegarde selon un schéma d’organisation convenu.
Nœud de données
entité au sein du MPO consistant en une organisation dotée d’un personnel dédié à la gestion du contenu des données et ayant un accès aux infrastructures et services pertinents pour le faire. Il peut y avoir des nœuds de données spécialisés qui traitent des données d’un domaine précis.
Dépôt géré de données
un système relevant d'un nœud de données pour l'entreposage et la gestion de données et de métadonnées d’un type précis.
Métadonnées
ensemble d’information contextuelle nécessaire pour identifier, trouver, citer et bien comprendre les données. Ceci inclut l’information sur les auteurs, les programmes, le nom des personnes à contacter, la localisation, l’organisation, le format, les méthodes d’acquisition ainsi que les unités, la précision et l’exactitude des données concernées.
Sciences
identifie l’ensemble des organisations responsables d’activités scientifiques au sein du MPO. Ceci inclut le secteur des Sciences des écosystèmes et des océans, les unités sous les Directeurs régionaux des sciences et toute autre unité à vocation semblable au fil de l’évolution organisationnelle du MPO.

Notons que pour faciliter la lecture, le genre masculin est utilisé sans discrimination dans ce texte.

Énoncé de la politique

Objectif

L’objectif de la présente politique est d’assurer la protection des banques de données scientifiques et de maximiser leur utilité grâce à l’interconnectivité, l’accessibilité et le respect des normes.

Résultats escomptés

TheLes résultats escomptés de cette politique sont :

  • Des données sécurisées maintenant et pour le futur,
  • Des données interconnectées et interopérables,
  • Des données utiles découvrables et accessibles de façon standardisée, et
  • Une gestion rentable des données.

Date de modification :