Ocean Biodiversity Information System

Learn about the Ocean Biodiversity Information System (OBIS) and the OBIS Canada regional OBIS node.

On this page

What is OBIS?

The Ocean Biodiversity Information System (OBIS) is a global open-access data and information clearing-house on marine biodiversity for science, conservation and sustainable development. The vision is for OBIS to be the most comprehensive gateway to the world’s ocean biodiversity and biogeographic data and information required to address pressing coastal and world ocean concerns. The mission is to build and maintain a global alliance that collaborates with scientific communities to facilitate free and open access to, and application of, biodiversity and biogeographic data and information on marine life.

There are more than 20 regional and thematic OBIS nodes around the world, connecting 500 institutions from 56 countries. Collectively, they have provided over 45 million observations of nearly 120 000 marine species, from Bacteria to Whales, from the surface to 10 900 meters depth, and from the Tropics to the Poles. The datasets are integrated so you can search and map them all seamlessly by species name, higher taxonomic level, geographic area, depth, time and environmental parameters.

“OBIS Canada” is the Canadian regional OBIS node and along with the Ocean Tracking Network thematic OBIS node represents Canada’s contribution to this global initiative. Fisheries and Oceans Canada supports OBIS by managing the OBIS Canada node and contributing datasets. OBIS Canada was recognized as a National Activity by the National Science Data Management Committee of Fisheries and Oceans Canada in 2010.

History

The concept of OBIS was first developed at a conference sponsored by the Census of Marine Life in 1997. At the time, a comprehensive system for the retrieval of ocean biological data didn't exist. After the initial meeting, OBIS was established as a project of the Census of Marine Life to help facilitate global enfranchisement of data within the scientific community. In 2009, OBIS was adopted as a project by the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO as one of its activities under the International Oceanographic Data and Information (IODE) programme in 2009.

Collaboration and growth

OBIS is an evolving strategic alliance of people and organizations sharing a vision to make marine biodiversity data from all over the world freely available online. Anyone may contribute to OBIS, including:

To become a new data contributor for the OBIS Canada node, contact the node manager at OBISCanada@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Open accessibility

In this context, open accessibility means a database which:

There are several ways to access OBIS data:

The mapper allows you to visualize and inspect subsets of OBIS data. Developers can access data through the OBIS API or the R package. For more information on accessing data, see the OBIS manual. Visit our portal on the OBIS website to access the OBIS Canada datasets.

OBIS uses the Integrated Publishing Toolkit (IPT) open source software tool provided by the Global Biodiversity Information Facility to publish and share biodiversity datasets. Data contributors access an instance of the IPT to manage their contributed dataset(s). For more information on contributing data, see the Contribute Data section of the OBIS manual. Visit the OBIS Canada IPT to see the hosted datasets.

Resources

To learn more about OBIS, there is information on self-study and training seminar options for you on the OBIS Training webpage. There you will find information about accessing and contributing data.

OBIS uses the following international standards for biodiversity data:

Organizational structure

The structure of the OBIS organization includes a secretariat as well as multiple regional and thematic nodes. These organizations have committed to supporting OBIS within a subject area or geographic and/or national region using their own resources. This includes serving data online and developing a data provider and end-user community.

Some nodes provide:

The OBIS steering committee is composed of the node managers from each OBIS node.

Date modified:

Système d’information biogéographique des océans

Apprenez-en plus sur le Système d’information biogéographique des océans (OBIS) et OBIS Canada, le volet régional de l’OBIS au Canada.

Sur cette page

Qu’est-ce que l’OBIS?

Le Système d’information biogéographique des océans (OBIS) est un centre international d’échange de données et de renseignements en libre accès. Les données et les renseignements qu’il contient se rapportent à la biodiversité marine et visent à appuyer la science, la conservation et le développement durable. On souhaite que l’OBIS devienne le plus grand portail de données biogéographiques et de renseignements sur la biodiversité des océans du monde entier, qui sont nécessaires pour remédier aux problèmes pressants qui touchent les côtes et les océans du monde. La mission est d’établir et de maintenir une alliance internationale fondée sur la collaboration avec les communautés scientifiques pour permettre l’accès libre et ouvert à des données biogéographiques et à des renseignements sur la biodiversité de la vie marine, de même que pour faciliter l’application de ces données et de ces renseignements.

Il existe plus de 20 volets régionaux et thématiques de l’OBIS un peu partout dans le monde et ceux-ci relient 500 établissements de 56 pays différents. Ensemble, ils ont fourni des renseignements liés à plus de 45 millions d’observations se rapportant à près de 120 000 espèces marines, des bactéries aux baleines, de la surface à 10 900 mètres de profondeur, des tropiques jusqu’aux pôles. Les ensembles de données sont intégrés de façon à ce qu’on puisse y faire des recherches et classer toutes les données facilement par nom d’espèce, en fonction du niveau taxonomique supérieur, par région géographique, ou encore en fonction de la profondeur, de la date ou de paramètres environnementaux.

OBIS Canada est le volet régional de l’OBIS au Canada et représente, avec le volet thématique du réseau de suivi des océans, la contribution du Canada à cette initiative d’envergure internationale. Pêches et Océans Canada appuie l’OBIS en gérant le volet canadien de l’initiative et en fournissant des ensembles de données. En 2010, OBIS Canada a été reconnu à titre d’activité nationale par le Comité national de gestion des données de Pêches et Océans Canada.

Historique

Le concept de l’OBIS a été mis au point en 1997 lors d’une conférence parrainée par le Recensement de la vie marine. À l’époque, il n’existait aucun système exhaustif pour l’extraction de données biologiques sur les océans. À la suite de la première réunion, l’OBIS a été créé en tant que projet du Recensement de la vie marine pour faciliter la diffusion globale des données au sein de la communauté scientifique. En 2009, l’OBIS a été adopté par la commission intergouvernementale océanographique de l’UNESCO à titre d’initiative menée dans le cadre du programme d’échange international des données et de l’information océanographique (IODE).

Collaboration et croissance

L’OBIS est une alliance stratégique et évolutive de personnes et d’organisations. Ses membres partagent l’objectif commun de rendre accessibles sur le Web des données biogéographiques marines de partout dans le monde. Tout le monde peut contribuer à l’OBIS, y compris :

Afin de devenir un fournisseur de données pour le volet régional de l’OBIS au Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le gestionnaire du volet régional à l’adresse OBISCanada@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Libre accès

Dans ce contexte, un accès ouvert exige l’utilisation d’une base de données qui :

Il y a plusieurs façons d’accéder aux données de l’OBIS :

L’outil de cartographie vous permet de visualiser et d’inspecter les sous-ensembles de données de l’OBIS. Les développeurs peuvent accéder aux données par l’intermédiaire de l’API ou de la suite R. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’accès aux données, consultez le manuel de l’OBIS. Visitez notre portail sur le site Web de l’OBIS pour accéder aux ensembles de données d’OBIS Canada.

L’OBIS utilise Integrated Publishing Toolkit (IPT), un logiciel libre fourni par le Système mondial d’information sur la biodiversité, pour publier et diffuser les ensembles de données sur la biodiversité. Les fournisseurs de données doivent accéder à une instance du logiciel pour gérer les ensembles de données ajoutés au système. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’ajout de données, consultez la section Contribute Data du manuel de l’OBIS. Rendez-vous sur la page de l’IPT d’OBIS Canada pour consulter les ensembles de données consignés.

Ressources

Des renseignements sur l’autoapprentissage et les ateliers de formation offerts sont fournis sur la page Web de la formation sur l’OBIS. Vous y trouverez également des renseignements sur l’accès et la contribution à la base de données.

L’OBIS utilise les normes internationales suivantes pour la gestion des données sur la biodiversité :

Structure organisationnelle

La structure de l’OBIS comprend un secrétariat ainsi que de nombreux volets régionaux et thématiques. Ces organisations s’engagent à appuyer l’OBIS à l’aide de leurs propres ressources dans un secteur ou une région géographique ou nationale donnés. Leurs travaux comprennent la publication de données en ligne et l’établissement d’une communauté de fournisseurs de données et d’utilisateurs finaux.

Certains volets régionaux fournissent les services suivants :

Le comité de gestion de l’OBIS regroupe les gestionnaires de chaque volet régional.

Date de modification :