Monitoring Southern BC Coastal Waters

Map

The Strait of Georgia is a large semi-enclosed basin on the southern coast of British Columbia. The main connection to the Pacific is to the south, through Juan de Fuca Strait. Abundant freshwater discharge, mainly from the Fraser River, forces an estuarine exchange with oceanic shelf water. The resulting circulation is modulated by tides and winds. Both the coastal wind stress and the flux of freshwater are subject to strong seasonal modulations, producing a marked seasonal cycle in the water properties of the region.

Since 1999, a series of about 73 stations, extending from the mouth of Juan de Fuca Strait up to the northern end of the Strait of Georgia, are visited seasonally. Most of the data used in this study have been collected with the CCGS Vector. CTD profiles are taken at each station and water samples collected at a subset of stations.

Each year, four surveys are done during periods of (1) low winter discharge (December), (2) early freshet (April), (3) peak freshet (June), and (4) end of freshet period (September). In addition, longer term historical data sets collected in the central Strait of Georgia and in Juan de Fuca Strait are also used to help determine the observed seasonal variability of the system.

Within the Strait of Georgia, the central basin reaches large depth of over 400 m. The circulation within this deep basin is limited due to the presence of shallow sills on both ends of the Strait. However, occasionally, the deep water is renewed by deep water intrusions entering the strait from the sill areas.

Some early results from the program are described in Water properties in the Straits of Georgia and Juan de Fuca.

For more information on the sampling program, contact Diane Masson.

Data Collection

Several parameters are measured in order to characterize the water column and determine its origin and progression. Temperature and salinity are two important properties because they determine the water density. In the present study, these two oceanographic parameters are measured at each station using a Conductivity Temperature and Depth (CTD) probe. We also take water samples at stations along the main axis of the Strait from which we extract other water properties such as dissolved oxygen and nutrients.

During this study, we routinely measure:

All the instruments are installed on a metal frame, a rosette, and are lowered into the water at the same time. The pressure sensor of the CTD probe transmits its depth as it is lowered. An electronic cable links the probe to the surface. The depth sounder allows us to track the position of the system relative to the bottom using a transducer installed on the metal frame. The temperature and salinity are recorded during the descent down to the bottom. The rosette is then brought back up, either in a continuous fashion or stopping at pre-defined depths to obtain water samples by closing a bottle using a signal from the electronic cable.

The data is stored on a computer onboard the ship. Further data processing and analysis is performed in the following months at the Institute.

Fraser River

A number of rivers and small creeks discharge a large amount of freshwater into the Southern BC coastal waters. The most important source of freshwater is the Fraser River.

The Fraser River discharges into the Strait of Georgia near the city of Vancouver. The fresh water flows through 2 main arms of the river, with 87% of the flow in the south arm. The river flow varies significantly through the year, ranging from winter discharge rates as low as 300 m3s-1 to a maximum of 10000 m3s-1 during spring freshet. The picture on the right shows the murky water associated with the plume of the Fraser River. The freshwater entering the strait forms a thin fresh layer at the surface of the ocean easily identified by the brownish color caused by the heavy sediment load.

Each year, the surveys are timed in relation with the freshwater seasonal cycle, with sampling preferentially done during periods of (1) low winter discharge, (2) early freshet (April), (3) peak freshet (early summer), and (4) end of freshet period (early fall). The 19 surveys completed over the last five years are indicated by the grey lines in the plot on the left.

The river discharge reaches maximum values in early summer (June) due to snowmelt in the mountains. The freshet period lasts for about 3 months. There is also significant year to year variability to the flow as can be seen in the above figure. In years of low winter snow cover, such as 2001, the peak discharge reaches values of about 6000 m3s-1. On the other hand, during the spring freshet following a winter of important snow fall ( such as 1999), the flow can reach large peak values of up to 12000 m3s-1.

Fraser River Plume

Fraser River Plume

Fraser River Flow

Fraser River Flow

Deep Water Renewal Events

The Strait of Georgia is connected with the open ocean through narrow constrictions and shallow sills. The central Strait is relatively deep (highlighted in blue in the figure on the right), reaching water depth of more than 400 m, well below the depth of the sill at Boundary Pass. The deep water mass is then isolated from the ocean shelf waters for most of the year. However, deep water intrusions occasionally penetrate the deep basin, displacing the ambient water mass. These events are caused by the intrusion of dense water that flows over the sill at Boundary Pass, generating a gravity current that flows along the bottom, into the deep basin. The figure on the right shows the positions of four current meter moorings, AS01, AS02, AS03, and AS04, along with the long term hydrographic station of Nanoose Bay, NB. Data collected at these stations were used to study deep water renewal events.

The deep water of the Strait are renewed through discrete deep water renewal (DWR) events during which dense water flows over the sills and into the interior basin. The events can be classified into two categories which comprise the annual cycle: late winter intrusions bring cold, oxygen rich water, and late summer events bring warm, saline, low oxygen water. There are also important interannual variations in the deep water renewal seasons. The figure on the left shows how the warm deep water present in April 1999 had been displaced by colder water brought in by the cold spring intrusions.

Gravity Current

Deep water replenishment occurs episodically in the form of discrete intrusions with characteristics similar to those of bottom gravity currents. The passage of an intrusion is associated with an increase in salinity, density and velocity. In the case of temperature, the dense pulse reaches the deep layer as a relatively warm (cold) pulse in the fall (spring). Each intrusion lasts about 10 days and displays the shape characteristic of a gravity current with a sharp forward front at the head followed by a more diffuse tail.

Annual Cycle

The two deep water renewal seasons determine the annual cycle of the deep water in the Strait of Georgia. It is characterized by a saw tooth cycle for the salinity with maximum salinity values in the fall, and a step-like pattern for temperature with a low value plateau in summer and higher values in winter. The timing of the two DWR seasons (spring and late summer) is explained in terms of the overlap of the coastal upwelling season and of the Fraser River freshet. Twice through the year, in the spring and at the end of the summer, relatively high surface salinity combine with dense deep return flow to form water near the sill dense enough to sink into the deep basin. The yellow lines on the figure on the right indicate 6 DWR events measured in 1989/1990. Note the different density scale for AS01.

Interannual Variations

Year to year variability in the timing and intensity of both the upwelling season and the river freshet leads to important inter-annual variations in the deep water renewal seasons. For example, during the year following the onset of a strong El Niño, the temperature at the bottom of the strait does not show the typical spring cooling. The likely reason for this is the presence of anomalously warm water on the shelf. Following such a summer during which the water stays relatively warm, the subsequent fall DWR season raises the bottom temperature to relatively high values (as present in April 1999).

Fortnightly Tidal Forcing

Each deep water renewal event occurs following a neap tide, when the density near the bottom of the sills reach a maximum. Also, the deep intrusions occur monthly, after every other neap tide. This appears to be due to the fact that the time response of the density field within the estuary is longer that the fortnightly period. It takes two consecutive neap tides for the density at the sill to reach high enough values after the flushing of dense water by the previous event. In the figure on the right, the DWR events (indicated in yellow) are time intervals of large density recorded at AS02.

Masson, D. 2002. Deep water renewal in the Strait of Georgia. Estuarine, Coastal and Shelf Science 54:115-126.

Contours of temperature measured at a series of stations located on an along-strait section, showing warm deep water in April replaced by colder water in June 1999.

Contours of temperature measured at a series of stations located on an along-strait section, showing warm deep water in April replaced by colder water in June 1999.

The top panel (a) gives a time series of the bottom water density at AS02, AS03, and AS01, and the bottom panel (b) gives the temperature and salinity measured near the bottom at NB

The top panel (a) gives a time series of the bottom water density at AS02, AS03, and AS01, and the bottom panel (b) gives the temperature and salinity measured near the bottom at NB

Bottom temperature at the NB station. The yellow lines indicate the beginning of the main El Niño events.

Bottom temperature at the NB station. The yellow lines indicate the beginning of the main El Niño events.

Mixture intensity due to Boundary Pass Low Pass filtered tide (AS03) represented by the cubic velocity and density influx over the pass.

Mixture intensity due to Boundary Pass Low Pass filtered tide (AS03) represented by the cubic velocity and density influx over the pass.

Date modified:

Monitorage des eaux côtières du sud de la C.-B

Carte

Le détroit de Géorgie est un grand basin semi-fermé situé sur la côte sud de la Colombie-Britannique Le détroit de Juan de Fuca, au sud, est son ouverture principale sur l'océan Pacifique. Une abondante décharge d'eau douce, provenant en grande partie du fleuve Fraser, force un échange estuarien avec l'océan. La circulation résultante est modulée par les marées et le vent. La force d'entraînement du vent sur la côte et le flux d'eau douce sont assujettis à de fortes modulations saisonnières, ce qui mènent un cycle saisonnier prononcé des propriétés de l'eau de la région. Depuis 1999, 73 stations, allant de l'embouchure du détroit de Juan de Fuca jusqu'au nord du détroit de Géorgie, sont prélevées saisonnièrement. Le bateau habituellement utilisé pour effectuer les mesures de cette étude est le NGCC Vector. Des profiles CTP sont effectués à toutes les stations et des échantillons d'eau sont prélevés à certaines stations.

Tous les ans, les campagnes de mesure sont effectuées (1) lors du faible débit d'hiver (décembre), (2) au début de la crue (avril), (3) pendant la crue maximale (juin), et (4) à la fin de la crue nivale (septembre). De plus, des données historiques à long terme collectées dans le détroit de Géorgie et le détroit de Juan de Fuca sont aussi utilisées afin de déterminer la variabilité saisonnière du système.

Dans le détroit de Géorgie, le bassin central a une profondeur maximale de 400m. La circulation dans ce profond bassin est limitée par les seuils peu profonds qui se trouvent aux deux extrémités du détroit. Cependant, à l'occasion, les eaux profondes sont renouvelées par desintrusions d'eau en provenance des seuils.

Des résultats préliminaires de cette étude sont disponibles dans Évolution des propriétés physico-chimiques de l'eau de mer dans les détroits de Géorgie et de Juan de Fuca.

Pour obtenir de plus amples informations concernant le programme de prélèvement, veuillez communiquer avec Diane Masson.

Collecte des données

Plusieurs paramètres sont mesurés afin de caractériser la colonne d'eau et de déterminer son origine et sa progression. La température et la salinité sont deux propriétés importantes parce qu'elles déterminent la densité de l'eau. Dans le cadre de la présente étude, ces deux paramètres océanographiques sont mesurés à chaque station en utilisant une sonde qui mesure la conductivité, la température et la profondeur (CTP). Nous prenons également des échantillons d'eau aux stations le long de l'axe principal du détroit à partir duquel nous extrayons d'autres propriétés de l'eau telles que l'oxygène dissous et les nutriments.

Au cours de cette étude, nous mesurons régulièrement :

  • la température en ºC
  • la salinité en usp (unité de salinité pratique)
  • le volume d'oxygène dissous en ml/l
  • la quantité de matière pour les nitrates (NO3)
  • les silicates (Si)
  • les phosphates (PO4) en µmol/l.

Tous les appareils sont installés sur une même structure métallique, une rosette, et sont mis à l'eau en même temps. Le capteur de pression de la sonde CTP permet de suivre en direct la progression du système et de savoir à tout instant à quelle profondeur il se trouve ; la liaison avec la surface se fait par un câble électroporteur. Le sondeur bathymétrique permet de comparer la position du système par rapport au fond grâce au transducteur installé sur la cage métallique. La température et la salinité sont enregistrées lors de la descente. Puis la rosette est remontée : de façon continue si les mesures concernent seulement la température et la salinité, ou en s'arrêtant aux profondeurs prédéfinies pour prélever un échantillon d'eau en fermant une bouteille (l'ordre est envoyé à la rosette via le câble électroporteur).

Les données sont stockées sur un ordinateur à bord du navire. Le traitement et l'analyse des données sont effectués à l'Institut des sciences de la mer au cours des mois suivants.

Fleuve Fraser

Un certain nombre de rivières déchargent une grande quantité d'eau douce dans les eaux côtières méridionales de la C.-B.. La principale source d'eau douce est le fleuve Fraser.

Le fleuve Fraser se déverse dans le détroit de Géorgie près de la ville de Vancouver. Deux chenaux arrivent jusqu'à la mer, mais 87% du flux emprunte le bras du sud. L'écoulement du fleuve est soumis à d'importantes fluctuations saisonnières: les taux d'écoulement varient entre 300 m3s-1 en hiver et 10000 m3s-1 pendant le crue nivale du printemps. L'image à droite montre la turbidité élevée du panache du fleuve Fraser. L'eau douce entrant le détroit forme une mince couche d'eau douce à la surface de l'océan qui est facilement identifiée par la couleur brunâtre provoquée par l'augmentation de la charge de sédiments.

Tous les ans, les campagnes de mesure sont synchronisées en relation avec le cycle saisonnier de l'eau douce; les prélèvements se situent (1) lors du faible débit d'hiver (décembre), (2) au début de la crue (avril), (3) pendant la crue maximale (juin), et (4) à la fin de la crue nivale (septembre). Les 19 campagnes de mesure complétées au cours des cinq dernières années sont indiquées par les lignes grises dans le schéma à gauche.

Le débit du fleuve atteint des valeurs maximales au début de l'été (juin) dû à la fonte de neige dans les montagnes. La période de crue nivale dure environ 3 mois. Il y a également une variabilité significative interannuelle dans écoulement, comme indique la figure ci-dessus. Au cours des années de basse couverture de neige d'hiver, telles que 2001, le débit maximal atteint des valeurs d'environ 6000 m3s-1. D'autre part, pendant le crue nivale du printemps suivant un hiver qui a eu une chute de neige importante (telle que 1999), l'écoulement peut atteindre des valeurs maximales de jusqu'à 12000 m3s-1.

Panache du fleuve Fraser

Panache du fleuve Fraser

Débit du fleuve Fraser

Débit du fleuve Fraser

Événements de renouvellement de l'eau profonde

Le détroit de Géorgie est relié à l'océan par des constrictions étroites et des seuils peu profonds. La partie centrale du détroit est relativement profonde (en bleu dans le graphique à droite), atteignant une profondeur de plus de 400 m, bien en dessous du seuil de Boundary Pass. La masse d'eau profonde est alors isolée des eaux du plancher océanique pour la majeure partie de l'année. Cependant, des intrusions d'eau profonde pénètrent de temps en temps le bassin profond, déplaçant la masse d'eau ambiante. Ces événements sont provoqués par l'intrusion d'eau dense qui coule au-dessous du seuil de Boundary Pass, générant un courant de gravité qui suit la bathymétrie et pénètre le bassin profond du détroit. Le graphique à droite montre les positions de quatre courantomètres, AS01, AS02, AS03, et AS04, ainsi que la station hydrographique à long terme de la baie de Nanoose, NB. Les données rassemblées à ces stations ont été utilisées pour étudier les événements de renouvellement de l'eau profonde.

Événements de renouvellement de l'eau profonde

L'eau profonde du détroit est renouvelée par des événements de renouvellement de l'eau profonde distincts (DWR) durant lesquels l'eau dense coule au-dessus des seuils et dans le bassin intérieur. Les événements peuvent être classifiés selon les deux catégories qui comportent le cycle annuel: les intrusions de la fin d'hiver apportent de l'eau froide et riche en oxygène, et les événements de la fin d'été apportent de l'eau chaude, saline et pauvre en oxygène. Il y a également des variations interannuelles importantes entre les saisons de renouvellement de l'eau profonde. Le graphique ci-dessus montre comment l'eau profonde chaude présente en avril 1999 avait été déplacée par de l'eau plus froide apportée par les intrusions froides du printemps.

Courant de gravité

Le renouvellement de l'eau profonde se produit épisodiquement sous forme d'intrusions discrètes qui ont des caractéristiques semblables à ceux des courants de gravité de fond. Le passage d'une intrusion est associé à une augmentation de salinité, de densité et de vitesse. En ce qui concerne la température, l'impulsion dense atteint la couche profonde comme impulsion relativement chaude (froide) en automne (printemps). Chaque intrusion dure environ 10 jours et sa forme est caractéristique d'un courant de gravité avec un front distinct suivi d'une queue plus diffuse.

Le cycle annuel

Les deux saisons de renouvellement de l'eau profonde déterminent le cycle annuel de l'eau profonde dans le détroit de Géorgie. Il est caractérisé par une salinité qui varie en dents de scie avec des valeurs maximale en automne, et une température qui varie en forme de marches atteignant un plateau de valeurs basses en été et ayant des valeurs plus élevées en hiver. La synchronisation des deux saisons de DWR (printemps et fin de l'été) est expliquée en termes de chevauchement de la remontée d'eau côtière et de la crue nivale du fleuve Fraser. Deux fois par année, au printemps et à la fin de l'été, une forte salinité de surface et un écoulement de retour d'eau profonde et dense entraînent la formation d'eau dense près du seuil qui s'enfonce dans le bassin profond. Les lignes jaunes sur le graphique à droite indiquent 6 événements de DWR mesurés en 1989/1990. Notez l'échelle différente pour la densité à la station AS01.

Variations interannuelles

La variabilité interannuelle de la synchronisation et de l'intensité de la remontée d'eau et de la crue nivale du fleuve amène des variations interannuelles significatives entre les saisons de renouvellement de l'eau profonde. Par exemple, au cours de l'année suivant le début d'un El Niño de forte intensité, la température de fond du détroit ne se refroidit pas au printemps de façon caractéristique. Ceci est probablement dû à la présence de l'eau anormalement chaude sur le plancher. Après un tel été où l'eau reste plus ou moins chaude, les événements DWR de l'automne suivant remonte la température de fond à des valeurs plus ou moins élevées (ce qui est indiquée en avril 1999).

Forçage de marée bimensuelle

Chaque événement de renouvellement de l'eau profonde se produit suivant une marée de morte-eau, lorsque la densité près du fond des seuils atteint une valeur maximale. En outre, les intrusions profondes se produisent mensuellement, après deux marées de morte-eau. Ceci semble être dû au fait que la réponse de temps du champ de densité dans l'estuaire est plus longue que la période bimensuelle. Il faut deux marées consécutives de morte-eau pour que la densité au seuil atteigne des assez hautes valeurs après le rinçage de l'eau dense par l'événement précédent. Dans le graphique ci-dessus à droite, les événements de DWR (indiqués en jaune) sont des périodes de haute densité, enregistrés à AS02.

Les courbes de température mesurée à une série de stations situées sur une section le long du détroit, montrant l'eau chaude et profonde en avril remplacée par l'eau plus froide en juin 1999.

Les courbes de température mesurée à une série de stations situées sur une section le long du détroit, montrant l'eau chaude et profonde en avril remplacée par l'eau plus froide en juin 1999.

Le panneau supérieur (a) donne une série chronologique de la densité de l'eau de fond à AS02, AS03, et AS01, et le panneau inférieur (b) donne la température et la salinité mesurées près du fond à NB

Le panneau supérieur (a) donne une série chronologique de la densité de l'eau de fond à AS02, AS03, et AS01, et le panneau inférieur (b) donne la température et la salinité mesurées près du fond à NB

Température de fond à la station NB. Les lignes jaunes indiquent le commencement des événements principaux de El Niño.

Température de fond à la station NB. Les lignes jaunes indiquent le commencement des événements principaux de El Niño.

Intensité de mélange dû à la marée filtrée à passe-bas à Boundary Pass (AS03) représentée par la vitesse cubique et l'afflux de densité au-dessus du passage.

Intensité de mélange dû à la marée filtrée à passe-bas à Boundary Pass (AS03) représentée par la vitesse cubique et l'afflux de densité au-dessus du passage.

Date de modification :