Establishing an Atlantic Salmon Research Joint Venture

The Atlantic Salmon Research Joint Venture is Canada’s first collaborative forum for bringing Atlantic salmon science and conservation communities together. Made up of experts from Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Indigenous groups, provincial agencies, non-government organizations, academic institutions, and other stakeholders, the Atlantic Salmon Research Joint Venture will promote the sharing of scientific research with the goal of conserving and rebuilding the species. The Joint Venture held its inaugural meeting on September 29 and 30, 2016, in Moncton, New Brunswick.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is providing approximately $600,000 to Atlantic salmon scientific and conservation experts to enhance our collective understanding of Atlantic salmon and to ultimately support their long-term recovery on Canada’s East coast.

Link: Collaborative Atlantic Salmon Research Projects

A Prospectus for Discussion
Prepared by Science Sector Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) - May 2016

Introduction

The Atlantic salmon (Salmo salar) was dubbed the ‘King of Freshwater Fish’ by Izaak Walton in his 17th century classic, The Compleat Angler. This truly iconic fish reproduces in coastal rivers of northeastern North America, Iceland, Europe, and northwestern Russia and migrates through various portions of the North Atlantic Ocean. It holds tremendous cultural significance for many indigenous people throughout eastern Canada and has long captured the spirits and attention of recreational anglers, local communities, conservationists and governments throughout its range.

Unfortunately, despite the efforts of a broad constituency of actors committed to its conservation, Atlantic salmon population trends are unsettling. Throughout its range in Europe and North America Atlantic salmon populations have declined to historic lows. In Canada, while populations seem to have stabilized in Labrador, northern Newfoundland and parts of Quebec, there is little cause for optimism with respect to the rest of the current Canadian range with diminished populations or some, especially around the Bay of Fundy, with populations that are assessed to be at risk of extinction.

The reasons for the decline of salmon are complex and diverse in nature and likely vary from region to region. Deteriorating quality and quantity of spawning habitat, poor early life stage survival, fishing pressure, at-sea survival and changing ocean conditions are among the most commonly identified threats to salmon viability.

For decades, government and non-government conservation programs alike have sought to address these and other pressures through a wide array of activities. Laudable though these efforts have been it has become increasingly clear that their success has been less than hoped for and that much remains to be done. It is equally clear that if efforts to protect and recover salmon are to succeed, they must be based on the most up to date and relevant scientific evidence possible. While the “just do something” ethos has an important role in all fisheries and wildlife management, in a resource-constrained environment, it is critical that the energies of the conservation community are set to the greatest extent possible on a shared understanding of the root causes of the decline and upon evidence-based decisions and actions to address them.

The evidence base for salmon conservation is impressive. Over the years researchers from non-government organizations, academia, the private sector and government agencies have accumulated a vast knowledge base with respect to the species throughout its range. And yet the gaps in our knowledge remain quite wide. Broadly speaking, it is evident that we need to substantially expand the collective understanding of marine aspects of the species in areas such as migration routes; areas and causes of high mortality; ecological shifts such as increased predator abundance; and the impact of changing oceanographic conditions. Equally, it is clear that we need to know more about the fish itself, its population dynamics, its genetics and the effect of various environmental stressors, diseases or parasites upon its survival. We need to know more about the factors affecting its freshwater survival and what changes to freshwater habitat are most heavily impacting upon its survival. And we need to know which conservation activities have the highest likelihood of success and the greatest positive impact.

Addressing these needs is critical to firming up the scientific foundation for salmon conservation. In addition to the federal and provincial governments, there are many organizations whose mandate is focused on salmon and who promote, conduct and/or fund scientific activities; the Atlantic Salmon Federation and the Atlantic Salmon Conservation Foundation, which was established with a grant from the federal government, are notable players in this regard. And yet as the August 2015 report of the DFO Minister’s Advisory Committee on Atlantic Salmon noted there is no integrated salmon research and monitoring framework or cohesive plan to guide or coordinate the work of the many science players in the community. No clear venue exists for coordinating, prioritizing, and discussing research topics, for pooling ideas and project resources or for reporting out on research findings or program evaluations. Connecting Canadian research agendas and results to the international community is challenging as well. The proposal outlined below has been designed to address this situation by creating a venue and mechanism for bringing together salmon science and conservation community in a “joint venture” toward the common goal of advancing salmon conservation through the provision of knowledge.

Figure 1: Total abundance of Atlantic salmon in Eastern Canada since 1970.

A Unifying Approach

The “Joint Venture” concept was initially forged by the North American waterfowl management community over thirty years ago. Today, over twenty-two habitat Joint Ventures uniting conservation partners around common regional goals and collaborative projects have been established across the continent. Three international science Joint Ventures have been established to forge similar alliances around common wildlife science questions and issues. This concept has also been adapted for fish conservation within the United States with 18 Joint Ventures being established under the National Fish Habitat Partnership.

An Atlantic Salmon Research Joint Venture would build upon this model by bringing together organizations actively engaged in carrying out or supporting salmon research and science. In general terms, it would formalize a partnership based approach to research through a non-binding collaborative agreement. The Joint Venture would serve as a venue for the identification of the priorities of the Canadian salmon research community and for coordinating collaborative efforts to address them. The Joint Venture would be led by a Board of Directors supported a Coordinator funded by DFO. Funding for science, research and monitoring activities would be sourced from existing budgets of partners and other established funding mechanisms. Membership in the Joint Venture would be open to all agencies or organizations with resources to devote to salmon research or specific salmon conservation responsibilities and could include DFO, provincial agencies, non-governmental organizations, private companies or academic institutions.

Among the first tasks of the Joint Venture would be to agree upon its overall vision and mission. For illustrative purposes, the “vision” could be:

Atlantic salmon conservation activities are undertaken based on the best available science produced in the most effective, efficient and inclusive manner possible.

The mission could be:

To bring the salmon science community together to identify common research issues and priorities, pool resources and foster collaborative research, science and data sharing that directly contributed to effective salmon management and conservation.

The scope of the Atlantic Salmon Research Joint Venture’s work would likely encompass the development of research and monitoring priorities, plans or frameworks for addressing them, providing venues to share science knowledge, and collectively funding research which provides relevant knowledge to advance salmon conservation. The Joint Venture would not coordinate or provide advice for management actions such as harvesting strategies, habitat, enforcement and so on. It would not in any way alter the existing roles or responsibilities of government agencies or other participants in salmon conservation.

The focus of the Joint Venture would be salmon populations that have natal rivers in Canada. However, partnerships with the United States and European countries may be developed over time. The initial focus would be on the issues of population dynamics, especially causes for continued long-term declines and low survival at various life stages, and other factors affecting the long-term health and sustainability of populations.

The JV Board once established would be responsible for developing an initial work plan with immediate and medium-term goals. For illustrative purposes, the Joint Venture could task itself with:

  1. Establishing a science strategy and action plan which focusses on advancing our understanding of critical issues affecting salmon from Canada.
  2. Coordinating efforts to implement the strategy and implementation through joint science activities and pooling of financial and in-kind resources.
  3. Acting as a facilitator to share and disseminate new salmon scientific knowledge.
  4. Coordinating the dissemination of research results across the partnership and to the public in general through a mix of Joint Venture-specific communications products and the various communications systems of the individual partners.

In terms of organizational structure the Joint Venture would be designed to be very process-light and action-heavy. The Joint Venture will be guided by a Board of Directors of around 15 members likely made up of senior managers from each of the participating partners. These partners would all have a current role in salmon research and science including the federal government, provincial governments, land claim governments, First Nations, universities, and major non-government organizations working with salmon.

It is expected that in the initial startup phase the Board might meet frequently but over time it would likely not meet more than twice a year. To kick start the Joint Venture’s formation and initial work, DFO would volunteer to chair the board and provide secretariat and logistical support for its work. In other science Joint Ventures in the wildlife domain, the partners have chosen to establish smaller issue specific technical committees and it is likely that this Joint Venture Board would choose to do the same. Member organizations of the Joint Venture would be expected to participate in its activities and contribute funding towards collaborative projects.

An Invitation to Participate

This prospectus is an idea and has been developed by DFO for collective consideration. The Department will continue to work with salmon scientists and the broader salmon conservation community regardless of whether a Joint Venture of this nature is established. But it is the Department’s view that a Joint Venture of this nature would substantially enhance the effectiveness and efficiency of the salmon science community and maximize the support it provides to salmon conservation programming. The Department is also of the view that the partnership approach to research is the preferred one and there are important opportunities for spinoff benefits from the Joint Venture mechanism beyond just research as well.

For these reasons, the Department is committed to supporting the establishment of the Joint Venture and its initial operations through the provision of a coordinator and some funds for logistical support. Governments, First Nations, Agencies, organizations or companies which share the view that an approach of this nature has merit are invited to become part of the Joint Venture. The process for formalizing the establishment of the Joint Venture will necessarily be informed by the partners themselves but it is the Department’s view that it should be launched as possible in 2016 and begin its work immediately.

Date modified:

Établissement d’un plan conjoint de recherche sur le saumon de l’Atlantique

Le plan conjoint de recherche sur le saumon de l’Atlantique est le premier forum de collaboration du Canada, qui a pour objectif de rassembler les communautés de scientifiques et celles dévouées à la conservation du saumon de l’Atlantique. Constitué d’experts de Pêches et Océans Canada, de groupes autochtones, d’organismes provinciaux, d’organisations non gouvernementales, d’institutions d’études supérieures, ainsi que d’autres intervenants, le plan conjoint de recherche sur le saumon de l’Atlantique permettra de promouvoir le partage de la recherche scientifique, avec pour objectif de conserver et de rétablir l’espèce. Le forum conjoint a tenu sa réunion inaugurale les 29 et 30 septembre 2016, à Moncton, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Pêches et Océans Canada octroie approximativement 600 000 $ aux experts scientifiques et en conservation du saumon de l’Atlantique, en vue d’améliorer notre compréhension collective du saumon de l’Atlantique, et pour, finalement, appuyer leur rétablissement à long terme sur la côte Est du Canada.

Lien : Projets de recherche concertée sur le saumon de l’Atlantique

Prospectus de discussion
Préparé par : Secteur des sciences Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) - Mai 2016

Introduction

Le saumon de l’Atlantique (Salmo salar) a été couronné le « roi des poissons d’eau douce » par Izaak Walton dans son livre, un classique du XVIIe siècle, Le Parfait Pêcheur à la ligne. Ce poisson emblématique se reproduit dans les rivières côtières du nord-est de l’Amérique du Nord, de l’Islande, d’Europe et dans le nord-ouest de la Russie, et il migre à travers l’océan Atlantique Nord. Il revêt une très grande importance culturelle pour de nombreux peuples autochtones dans l’est du Canada et a longtemps fasciné les pêcheurs sportifs, les communautés locales, les passionnés de l’environnement et les gouvernements dans toute son aire de répartition.

Malheureusement, malgré les efforts d’une vaste communauté d’acteurs dévoués à sa conservation, les tendances de la population de saumons de l’Atlantique sont troublantes. Partout dans son aire de répartition en Europe et en Amérique du Nord, les populations de saumons ont connu des diminutions sans précédent historique. Au Canada, tandis que les populations semblent s’être stabilisées au Labrador, dans le nord de Terre-Neuve et dans certaines régions du Québec, il y a peu d’optimisme en ce qui concerne le reste de l’aire de répartition canadienne actuelle dont les populations ont diminué ou dans certaines régions, particulièrement autour de la baie de Fundy, dont les populations sont évaluées comme étant en voie de disparition.

Les raisons du déclin des populations de saumons sont de nature complexe et diverse, et varient probablement d’une région à l’autre. La détérioration de la qualité et de la quantité des habitats de frai, le faible taux de survie aux premiers stades biologiques, la pression de la pêche, la survie en mer et les conditions océaniques changeantes sont parmi les menaces pesant sur la viabilité du saumon les plus souvent constatées.

Pendant des décennies, des programmes de conservation menés par des organisations gouvernementales et non gouvernementales ont tenté de contrer ces menaces et d’autres pressions à l’aide d’une vaste gamme d’activités. Bien que ces efforts aient été louables, il est devenu de plus en plus évident qu’ils n’ont pas eu les résultats escomptés et qu’il reste encore beaucoup à faire. Il est également évident que pour assurer le succès des efforts visant à protéger et à rétablir le saumon de l’Atlantique, ces derniers doivent être fondés sur les preuves scientifiques les plus pertinentes et à jour. Bien que la philosophie de « tout simplement faire quelque chose » ait un rôle important à jouer dans la gestion des pêches et de la faune, dans un contexte de ressources limitées, il est essentiel que l’énergie de la communauté de conservation soit, dans la mesure du possible, fondée sur une compréhension commune des principales causes du déclin ainsi que sur des décisions et des actions motivées par des preuves.

Le corpus de données factuelles sur la conservation du saumon de l’Atlantique est très impressionnant. Au fil des ans, les chercheurs d’organisations non gouvernementales, du milieu universitaire, du secteur privé et des organismes gouvernementaux ont accumulé de vastes connaissances au sujet de l’espèce partout dans son aire de répartition. Cependant, les lacunes dans nos connaissances demeurent importantes. De façon générale, il est évident que nous devons considérablement élargir la compréhension collective des aspects océaniques de l’espèce en matière de voies migratoires, des domaines et des causes du taux élevé de mortalité, des changements écologiques tels que l’augmentation de l’abondance des prédateurs et l’effet des conditions océanographiques changeantes. De même, il est évident que nous devons en apprendre davantage sur ce poisson, la dynamique des populations, sa génétique et l’effet d’agresseurs environnementaux, de maladies ou de parasites sur sa survie. Nous avons besoin d’en savoir plus sur les facteurs qui influencent sa survie en eau douce et sur les changements de l’habitat en eau douce qui nuisent le plus à sa survie. Nous devons également savoir quelles activités de conservation ont la plus forte probabilité de réussite et la plus grande incidence positive.

Mieux comprendre ces facteurs est essentiel pour créer une solide fondation scientifique pour la conservation du saumon de l’Atlantique. En plus des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, il existe de nombreuses organisations dont le mandat est axé sur le saumon qui font la promotion, mènent ou financent des activités scientifiques; la Fédération du saumon de l’Atlantique ainsi que la Fondation pour la conservation du saumon de l’Atlantique, cette dernière établie grâce à une subvention du gouvernement fédéral, sont des acteurs importants. Pourtant, le rapport d’août 2015 du Comité consultatif ministériel sur le saumon de l’Atlantique fait remarquer qu’il n’existe pas de cadre de recherche et de surveillance sur le saumon de l’Atlantique ou de plan cohérent intégré pour orienter ou coordonner le travail des nombreux acteurs scientifiques traitant du saumon de l’Atlantique. Il n’existe aucun mécanisme clair pour la coordination, l’établissement des priorités, et la discussion de sujets de recherche, la mise en commun des idées et des ressources de projet, ou la publication des résultats de recherche ou de l’évaluation des programmes. Faire connaître les programmes de recherche canadiens et leurs résultats à la communauté internationale est également difficile. La proposition décrite ci-dessous a été conçue pour remédier à cette situation en créant un endroit et un mécanisme pour rassembler la communauté scientifique et celle de conservation du saumon autour d’un « plan conjoint » visant à favoriser la conservation du saumon grâce au partage de connaissances.

Figure 1 : Abondances totales du saumon de l’Atlantique dans l’est du Canada depuis 1970.

Une approche rassembleuse

Le concept de « plan conjoint» a été initialement élaboré par la collectivité de gestion de la protection des oiseaux aquatiques d’Amérique du Nord, il y a plus de trente ans. Aujourd’hui, plus de 22 plans conjoints rassemblant les partenaires de conservation de l’habitat autour des objectifs régionaux et des projets de collaboration communs ont été mis en place sur le continent. Trois plans conjoints scientifiques internationaux ont été établis pour tisser des alliances semblables autour des questions et des problèmes scientifiques courants de la faune. Ce concept a également été adapté pour la conservation des poissons aux États-Unis avec 18 plans conjoints établis en vertu du « National Fish Habitat Partnership ».

Un plan conjoint de recherche sur le saumon s’appuierait sur ce modèle en réunissant les organisations actives dans l’exécution ou le soutien de la recherche et de la science sur le saumon. En termes généraux, cela officialiserait une approche partenariale de recherche dans le cadre d’un accord de collaboration non obligatoire. Le plan conjoint servirait de tribune pour établir des priorités de la communauté de recherche sur le saumon et la coordination des efforts de collaboration pour les aborder. Le plan conjoint serait dirigé par un conseil d’administration soutenu par un coordonnateur financé par le MPO. Le financement des activités scientifiques, de recherche et de surveillance serait obtenu à même les budgets existants des gouvernements et par d’autres mécanismes de financement établis. L’adhésion au plan conjoint serait ouverte à tous les organismes ou toutes les organisations possédant des ressources à consacrer à la recherche sur le saumon ou aux responsabilités en matière de conservation du saumon, et pourrait comprendre, entre autres, le MPO, des gouvernements provinciaux, des organisations non gouvernementales, des entreprises privées ou des institutions d’études supérieures.

Une des premières tâches du plan conjoint serait d’établir sa vision et sa mission. À titre indicatif, la vision pourrait être :

Les activités de conservation du saumon ont lieu selon les meilleures données scientifiques disponibles obtenues de la manière la plus efficace et inclusive possible.

La mission pourrait être :

De rassembler la communauté scientifique du saumon de l’Atlantique pour identifier les enjeux et les priorités communes en matière de recherche, mettre en commun les ressources et favoriser la recherche collaborative ainsi que le partage de la science et des données ayant contribué à la gestion et à la conservation efficaces du saumon.

La portée du travail du plan conjoint de recherche sur le saumon devrait englober l’élaboration de priorités de recherche et de surveillance, de plans et de cadres pour y faire face, l’établissement de lieux de partage des connaissances scientifiques, et le financement collectif de la recherche qui fournit les connaissances pertinentes pour faire progresser la conservation du saumon. Le plan conjoint ne coordonnerait ou ne fournirait pas de conseils pour les mesures de gestion, comme les stratégies de pêche, l’habitat, l’application de la loi, etc. Elle n’altérerait d’aucune façon les rôles ou responsabilités des organismes gouvernementaux ou d’autres participants à la conservation du saumon.

Le plan conjoint mettrait l’accent sur les populations de saumon dont les rivières natales sont au Canada. Cependant, des partenariats avec les États-Unis et les pays européens pourraient être élaborés au fil du temps. L’accent devrait d’abord être mis sur les enjeux de la dynamique des populations, en particulier les causes du déclin continu à long terme et du faible taux de survie à différentes étapes du cycle de vie, ainsi que d’autres facteurs ayant une incidence sur la santé et la viabilité à long terme des populations.

Une fois établie, le plan conjoint serait responsable de l’élaboration d’un plan de travail avec des objectifs à court et à moyen terme. À titre indicatif; le plan conjoint pourrait accomplir les tâches suivantes :

  1. l’établissement d’une stratégie scientifique et d’un plan d’action mettant l’accent sur l’approfondissement de notre compréhension des enjeux essentiels touchant le saumon de l’Atlantique du Canada;
  2. la coordination des efforts pour mettre en œuvre la stratégie par des activités scientifiques communes et la mise en commun des ressources financières ou en nature;
  3. la facilitation du partage et de la diffusion de nouvelles connaissances scientifiques au sujet du saumon de l’Atlantique;
  4. la coordination de la diffusion des résultats de recherche auprès du partenariat et du grand public à l’aide d’une gamme de produits de communications propres au plan conjoint et des différents systèmes de communication des différents partenaires individuels.

En ce qui concerne la structure organisationnelle, le plan conjoint serait conçue pour être très actif, mais sans processus lourd. Le plan conjoint serait guidé par un conseil d’administration d’environ 15 membres probablement composé de membres de la haute direction de chacun des partenaires participants. Ces partenaires possèderaient tous déjà un rôle dans la recherche et la science sur le saumon, et ils devraient comprendre le gouvernement fédéral, les gouvernements provinciaux, les gouvernements de revendication territoriale, les Premières Nations, les universités et les organisations non gouvernementales principales travaillant sur le saumon. Il est prévu qu’au cours de la phase de démarrage, le conseil devra se rassembler fréquemment, mais qu’au fil du temps, il n’aura qu’à se rassembler deux fois par année. Pour déclencher la formation et le travail initial du plan conjoint, le MPO se porterait volontaire pour présider le conseil et offrir son soutien en matière de secrétariat et de logistique. Au sein d’autres plans conjoints du domaine de la faune, les partenaires ont choisi de mettre sur pied de petits comités techniques se consacrant à des enjeux spécifiques et il est fort probable que le présent plan conjoint fasse de même. Les organisations membres du plan conjoint devraient participer à ses activités et financer des projets collaboratifs.

It is expected that in the initial startup phase the Board might meet frequently but over time it would likely not meet more than twice a year. To kick start the Joint Venture’s formation and initial work, DFO would volunteer to chair the board and provide secretariat and logistical support for its work. In other science Joint Ventures in the wildlife domain, the partners have chosen to establish smaller issue specific technical committees and it is likely that this Joint Venture Board would choose to do the same. Member organizations of the Joint Venture would be expected to participate in its activities and contribute funding towards collaborative projects.

Invitation à participer

Ce prospectus a été élaboré par le MPO aux fins d’examen collectif. Le ministère continuera de travailler avec les scientifiques du saumon et l’ensemble de la communauté de conservation du saumon, peu importe si un plan conjoint de cette nature est établi ou non. Toutefois, le ministère est d’avis qu’un plan conjoint de cette nature améliorerait considérablement l’efficacité de la communauté scientifique du saumon et maximiserait le soutien qu’elle offre aux programmes de conservation du saumon. Le ministère est également d’avis que l’approche partenariale est la meilleure approche à adopter pour la recherche et que le mécanisme de plan conjoint offrirait des possibilités de retombées importantes au-delà de la simple recherche.

Pour ces raisons, le ministère s’est engagé à appuyer l’établissement du plan conjoint et ses opérations initiales par la mise en place d’un coordonnateur et de fonds pour le soutien logistique. Les gouvernements, les Premières Nations, les organismes, les organisations ou les entreprises qui partagent l’avis qu’une approche de cette nature présente un intérêt sont invités à en faire partie. Le processus de l’officialisation de l’établissement du plan conjoint sera influencé par les partenaires eux-mêmes, mais le ministère croit qu’il devrait être lancé si possible en 2016 et commencer son travail immédiatement.

Date de modification :