Atlantic Ocean Research Alliance

The Atlantic Ocean Research Alliance was created in 2013 when Canada, the United States and the European Union signed the Galway Statement on Atlantic Ocean Cooperation at the Marine Institute in Galway, Ireland. Its goal is “to better understand our shared Atlantic Ocean and promote the sustainable management of its resources”. By pooling our intellectual capital, resources, and by working together on research and monitoring programs, we can make long-lasting advances in understanding the ocean we share. The information collected by our scientists will contribute to the sustainable management of Atlantic Ocean resources, a more comprehensive suite of maps of the seabed floor and an increased understanding of this complex ecosystem.

Canadian Galway Working Group

Canadian Galway Working Group

Canada’s ocean science and technology community, which includes academic institutions, the provinces and territories, the private sector, and the Government of Canada, are active partners in research projects and initiatives in support of the Atlantic Ocean Research Alliance and the implementation of Canada’s commitment under the Galway Statement. The Canadian Galway Marine Working Group has defined Canadian Ocean Science Priorities which will help us better understand ocean health, map the sea-floor and predict trends.

Research themes

Research themes

The following priority areas of cooperation were identified in the Galway Statement and adopted by the Atlantic Ocean Research Alliance:

  • Ocean Literacy
  • Seabed and Benthic Habitat Mapping
  • Shared Access to Research Marine Infrastructures
  • Knowledge Sharing Platform
  • Ecosystem Approach to Ocean Health and Stressors
  • Ocean Observation
  • Marine Biotechnology
  • Aquaculture

For more information, please visit the Atlantic Ocean Research Alliance’s website

Research consortium & projects

Research consortium & projects

Canada is participating in the following research consortiums and projects in support of the Galway Statement:

  • Atlas Project - deep-sea Atlantic Ocean ecosystems
  • SponGES Project - deep-sea sponges of the North Atlantic Ocean
  • AtlantOS – atlantic ocean observations
  • INMARE – industrial applications of marine enzymes
  • PrimeFish - economic sustainability of fisheries and aquaculture sectors
  • ResponSEAble – encouraging interest in the Atlantic Ocean
  • Sea Change - ocean literacy and action towards healthy oceans and seas
  • AquaSpace – sustainable growth of aquaculture
  • DiscardLess – addressing discards in fisheries
  • ClimeFish – examining climate change
Seabed mapping expeditions

Seabed mapping expeditions

Fifth Expedition – July 2016

Fifth Expedition – July 2016

Canadian Coast Guard Ship Louis S. St-Laurent, departed Halifax on July 22, 2016 on its way to Tromsø, Norway. This is the fifth mission under the Canada-EU-US Atlantic Ocean Research Alliance. The team is conducting surveys of the North Atlantic Ocean to build on the work undertaken in July 2015. The collected seabed data will contribute to the General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans (GEBCO).

Students and early career scientists representing Canada and the United States sailing on board on board CCGS Louis S. St-Laurent are writing daily web logs to chronical the mission. Follow along here to read about updates and reflections on their experiences, the science, technology, and other elements of the expedition as we continue to celebrate our shared Atlantic resource. Follow the expedition on Twitter with #GalwayStatement

Participation:

Fisheries and Oceans Canada's Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS), the University of New Hampshire’s Center for Coastal and Ocean Mapping Joint Hydrographic Center Fisheries and Marine Institute of Memorial University of Newfoundland

For more information:

Fourth Expedition – May 2016

Fourth Expedition – May 2016

A fourth seabed mapping survey took place under the Atlantic Ocean Research Alliance on board the RV Celtic Explorer, from May 11 and 21, 2016. The expedition was led by a team of 12 Canadian and international scientists, who mapped a transect of the Atlantic seafloor between St. John's, Newfoundland, and Galway, Ireland.

This expedition built on the results of the first expedition under the Galway Statement in June 2015.

Participation:

The Marine Institute and Geological Survey of Ireland (INFOMAR), they were joined by early stage researchers from National University of Ireland (Galway, Ireland); Memorial University (Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada); and College of Charleston (United States) as part of the AtSeaMap initiative.

For more information:

Third Expedition – February 2016

Third Expedition – February 2016

On board the French Research Institute for Exploitation of the Sea’s (IFREMER) multi-purpose research vessel, O/V L'Atalante, a seabed mapping transect took place from Pointe à Pitre, Guadaloupe to Ponta Delgada, São Miguel.

Participation:

Maritime Way Scientific Ltd (Ottawa, Canada) and IFREMER (France)

For more information:

Second Expedition – July 2015

Second Expedition – July 2015

The second expedition under the Galway Statement aimed to explore the seabed between Halifax, Nova Scotia and Tromsø, Norway aboard Canadian Coast Guard Ship Louis S. St-Laurent. The team used deep-water multibeam echo sounder technology to create high resolution images of the seabed and gather information on the physical characteristics of the seafloor, such as depth, hardness, and sediment cover, while also acquiring valuable oceanographic data.

The team of scientists discovered several volcano-like features near the mid-Atlantic Ridge - the largest of which was mapped at 1,250 m in diameter at its base and 280 m high. The data collected will help further our understanding of marine habitats, conservation and navigation.

Participation:

Fisheries and Oceans Canada's Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS), the United States' National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), the Marine Institute and Geological Survey of Ireland (INFOMAR), and the Fisheries and Marine Institute of Memorial University of Newfoundland.

For more information:

First Expedition – June 2015

First Expedition – June 2015

The first expedition under the Galway Statement was on board the Irish research vessel, RV Celtic Explorer. The vessel undertook a mapping expedition between St. John’s, Newfoundland, Canada and Galway, Ireland in June 2015. The international team gathered information on the physical characteristics of the seafloor, such as water depth, hardness, roughness, and the presence of geohazards. Among other features, the international team uncovered 235km2 of iceberg scarred seabed, ancient glacial moraine features, and buried sediment channels on the Newfoundland and Labrador shelf.

Participation included: Fisheries and Marine Institute of Memorial University of Newfoundland, Marine Institute and Geological Survey of Ireland (INFOMAR), the Fisheries and Marine Institute of Memorial University of Newfoundland, the United States’ National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), and the Portuguese Institute for Sea and Atmosphere (IPMA)

For more information:

Date modified:

Alliance de recherche de l'océan Atlantique

L'Alliance de recherche de l'océan Atlantique a été constituée en 2013 lorsque le Canada, les États-Unis et l'Union européenne ont signé la déclaration de Galway sur la coopération dans l'océan Atlantique au Marine Institute de Galway, en Irlande. Ses objectifs sont les suivants : mieux comprendre l'océan Atlantique et promouvoir la gestion durable de ses ressources. Par la mise en commun de notre capital intellectuel et de nos ressources, et en collaborant à la prestation de programmes de recherche et de surveillance, nous pouvons faire des progrès à long terme dans le but de comprendre l'océan que nous partageons. Les renseignements recueillis par nos scientifiques doivent contribuer à la gestion durable des ressources de l'océan Atlantique, au regroupement d'un ensemble plus complet de cartes du fond marin et à une compréhension plus approfondie de cet écosystème complexe.

Groupe de travail canadien sur la déclaration de Galway

Groupe de travail canadien sur la déclaration de Galway

Le milieu des sciences et des technologies océaniques du Canada regroupe des partenaires, incluant des établissements d'enseignement, les provinces et territoires, le secteur privé et le gouvernement du Canada, qui collaborent activement à des projets et initiatives visant à appuyer l'Alliance Canada-É.-U.-UE de recherche sur l'océan Atlantique et à mettre en œuvre les engagements qu'a pris le Canada dans le cadre de la déclaration de Galway. Le Groupe de travail canadien sur la recherche maritime en vertu de la déclaration de Galway a défini les priorités canadiennes en matière de sciences des océans qui nous aideront à mieux comprendre la santé des océans, à cartographier le fond marin et à prédire les tendances.

Themes de recherche

Themes de recherche

Les domaines de coopération prioritaires qui suivent ont été recensés dans la déclaration de Galway et adoptés dans le cadre de l'Alliance Canada-É.-U.-UE de recherche sur l'océan Atlantique :

  • Compréhension océanique
  • Cartographie du fond marin et de l'habitat benthique
  • Accès partagé aux infrastructures maritimes de recherche
  • Plateforme de partage des connaissances
  • Approche écosystémique à la santé et aux agents de stress des océans
  • Observation des océans
  • Biotechnologie marine
  • Aquaculture

Pour plus d’information, visiter le site de l'Alliance de recherche de l'Océan Atlantique (anglais seulement).

Consortiums et projets de recherche

Consortiums et projets de recherche

Le Canada prend part aux consortiums et projets de recherche suivants à l'appui de la déclaration de Galway :

  • ATLAS (anglais seulement) – Écosystèmes dans les eaux profondes de l'océan Atlantique
  • SponGES (anglais seulement) – Éponges dans les eaux profondes du nord de l'océan Atlantique
  • AtlantOS (anglais seulement) – Observation de l'océan Atlantique
  • INMARE (anglais seulement) – Applications industrielles pour les enzymes d'origine marine
  • PrimeFish (anglais seulement) – Durabilité économique des secteurs des pêches et de l'aquaculture
  • ResponSEAble (anglais seulement) – Promotion de l'intérêt pour l'océan Atlantique
  • Sea Change (anglais seulement) – Compréhension océanique et mesures pour assurer la santé des océans et des mers
  • AquaSpace (anglais seulement) – Croissance durable de l'aquaculture
  • DiscardLess (anglais seulement) – Règlement du problème des prises rejetées
  • ClimeFish (anglais seulement) – Prise en compte du changement climatique
Expéditions de cartographie du fond marin

Expéditions de cartographie du fond marin

Cinquième expédition – juillet 2016

Cinquième expédition – juillet 2016

Le NGCC Louis S. Saint-Laurent a quitté Halifax le 22 juillet pour se rendre à Tromsø, en Norvège. Il s'agit de la cinquième mission entreprise dans le cadre de l'Alliance Canada-É.-U.-UE de recherche sur l'océan Atlantique. L'équipe effectue des levés dans le nord de l'océan Atlantique afin de poursuivre les travaux réalisés en juillet 2015. Les données sur le fond marin qui seront recueillies contribueront à la carte bathymétrique générale des océans (GEBCO).

Les étudiants et les scientifiques en début de carrière, du Canada et des États-Unis, qui voyagent à bord du NGCC Louis S. St-Laurent rédigent des blogues quotidiens en guise de chronique de la mission. Suivez ici (en anglais seulement) les mises à jour de leurs récits et de leurs pensées concernant leurs diverses expériences, les découvertes scientifiques, les technologies utilisées et les autres éléments de l’expédition, au fur et à mesure que nous continuons à célébrer les ressources de l’Atlantique que nous partageons. Suivez l’expédition en utilisant #DeclarationGalway sur Twitter.

Participation :

Service hydrographique du Canada de Pêches et Océans Canada, Center for Coastal and Ocean Mapping Joint Hydrographic Center de l'Université du New Hampshire, et le Fisheries and Marine Institute de l'Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Quatrième expédition – mai 2016

Quatrième expédition – mai 2016

Un quatrième relevé cartographique du fond marin a été effectué dans le cadre de l'Alliance Canada-É.-U.-UE de recherche sur l'océan Atlantique, à bord du NR Celtic Explorer, du 11 au 21 mai 2016. Cette expédition était menée par une équipe formée de douze scientifiques du Canada et d'autres pays, qui ont cartographié un transect du fond marin de l'Atlantique entre St. John's, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et Galway, en Irlande.

Elle se fondait sur les résultats obtenus lors de la première expédition réalisée sous la déclaration de Galway, qui a eu lieu en juin 2015.

Participation :

Le Marine Institute and Geological Survey of Ireland (INFOMAR) ont été accompagné par des chercheurs en début de carrière de la National University of Ireland (Galway, en Irlande), de l'Université Memorial (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, au Canada), et du Collège Charleston (États-Unis), dans le cadre de l'initiative AtSeaMap.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Troisième expédition – février 2016

Troisième expédition – février 2016

À bord du navire polyvalent de recherche de l’Institut français de recherche pour l'exploitation de la mer (IFREMER), le N/O L'Atalante, des scientifiques ont réalisé une opération de cartographie entre Pointe-à-Pitre, en Guadeloupe, et Ponta Delgada, à São Miguel.

Participation :

Maritime Way Scientific Ltd (Ottawa, Canada) et IFREMER (France)

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Deuxième expédition – juillet 2015

Deuxième expédition – juillet 2015

La deuxième expédition entreprise dans le cadre de la déclaration de Galway visait à explorer le fond marin entre Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et Tromsø, en Norvège, à bord d'un navire de la Garde côtière canadienne, le NGCC Louis S. St-Laurent. L'équipe s'est servie d'un sonar multifaisceaux en eaux profondes pour produire des images à haute résolution du fond marin et recueillir des données sur ses caractéristiques physiques, telles que la profondeur, la dureté, la rugosité et la présence de couches de sédiments, tout en obtenant de précieuses données océanographiques.

Les scientifiques ont découvert de nombreuses caractéristiques d'apparence volcanique près de la dorsale médio-atlantique; celle ayant la plus grande taille faisait 1 250 m de diamètre à la base et atteignait une hauteur de 280 m. Les données recueillies serviront à approfondir notre compréhension des habitats et de la conservation des fonds marins et de la navigation.

Participation :

Le Service hydrographique du Canada de Pêches et Océans Canada, la National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) des États-Unis, le Marine Institute and Geological Survey of Ireland (INFOMAR), et le Fisheries and Marine Institute de l'Université Memorial de Terre Neuve.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Première expédition – juin 2015

Première expédition – juin 2015

Le NR Celtic Explorer, un navire de recherche irlandais, a entrepris la première expédition réalisée dans le cadre de la déclaration de Galway. En juin 2015, ce navire a effectué une opération de cartographie entre St. John's, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, et Galway, en Irlande. L'équipe internationale qui se trouvait à bord a recueilli des données sur les caractéristiques physiques du fond marin, telles que la profondeur de l'eau, la dureté et la rugosité du fond marin, ainsi que la présence de géorisques. Elle a découvert, entre autres, une superficie de 235 km2 marquée par des icebergs, d'anciennes caractéristiques de moraine glaciaire et des chenaux de sédiments enfouis, sur le plateau de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Participation :

Le Fisheries and Marine Institute de l'Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve, le Marine Institute and Geological Survey of Ireland (INFOMAR), le National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) des États-Unis, et l'institut pour la mer et l'atmosphère du Portugal (IPMA).

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Date de modification :