National Centre for Arctic Aquatic Research Excellence (NCAARE)

The Canadian Arctic

Canada's Arctic coastline is in excess of 162,000 km - representing twice as much coastline as the Atlantic and Pacific coasts combined. Canada has responsibility for close to one fourth of the world's Arctic.

The land mass of the Yukon, Nunavut and Northwest Territories comprises 39% of the land surface area of Canada. Great Bear and Great Slave Lake, two of the ten largest lakes in the world, are the largest lakes totally within Canadian territory.

The Arctic is an integral component of the Earth system. It is connected to biogeochemical cycles, ecosystems, sea level, climate and human activities. Through these connections, the Earth's high latitudes respond to, amplify and drive changes elsewhere. At a time when humans have an increasing impact on the planet and when the human condition is increasingly affected by global changes, the Arctic is especially important and relevant.

Some 120,000 people, both indigenous and more recent immigrants, now live in the Canadian Arctic. All of the Arctic communities border the ocean, a major inland water body, or a river, showing the importance of the water and its resources to the life of the Northern residents. The well-being of the people is closely linked to their environment and they in turn shape the environment in which they live.

NCAARE was developed in response to a need for increased co-ordination of scientific information relating to Arctic marine and freshwater environments and to support expanding Arctic legislation and commitments to Northerners and Canadians.

NCAARE and the Arctic Research Division of Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) are based at the Freshwater Institute in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

NCAARE plays an active role in:

  • Establishing DFO Arctic Priorities.
  • Delivery of the national Arctic program.
  • Reporting on the National Arctic Science Program.
  • Planning for federal government Arctic research funding.

NCAARE supports the improved interaction of research and operational needs in DFO by developing plans integrated with the broad DFO research agenda and National Northern Agendas. NCAARE co-ordinates in areas related to vessel and infrastructure resources, leveraging national and international partnerships and marine/freshwater research priority planning through recommendations from OGDs, universities and Northern Advisory groups.

NCAARE is a central planning and financial accountability mechanism that facilitates regional coordination to improve the delivery of the Arctic Science program to address Departmental priorities in the North.

Over the next five years, the following issues will remain a high priority for NCAARE to address in the North:

  • Emerging fisheries.
  • Diamond exploration and extraction.
  • Oil and gas development.
  • Climate change.
  • Sea-ice cover change.
  • Local sustainable food fisheries.
  • Local quality of food fisheries.
  • Coastal management.
  • Tourism.
  • Freshwater use.
  • Addressing key baseline research gaps and the adoption of an ecosystem approach.

The broad mandate of NCAARE as a Centre of Expertise of Arctic Aquatic Research has brought great benefits to the department and to Arctic Science, through greater coordination and by enhancing partnerships with other relevant Government departments and national and international agencies.

NCAARE is committed to the development of coordinated research programs in areas of Arctic aquatic environmental and oceanographic ecosystem research related to national northern science priorities and the DFO mandate.

Contacts

For information about research collaboration with NCAARE, please contact:

Robert Fudge

Director of NCAARE
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
501 University Crescent
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Canada, R3T 2N6

Telephone: (204) 983-5217

Centre national d'excellence pour la recherche aquatique dans l'Arctique (CNERAA)

L'Arctique canadien

Les côtes de l'Arctique canadien s'étendent sur plus de 162 000 km – ce qui est le double de ce que représentent les côtes de l'Atlantique et du Pacifique ensemble. Le Canada a la responsabilité de près du quart de l'Arctique mondial.

La masse terrestre du Yukon, du Nunavut et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest représente 39 % de la superficie du Canada. Le Grand lac de l'Ours et le Grand Lac des Esclaves, deux des dix lacs les plus grands au monde, sont les plus grands lacs entièrement sur le territoire canadien.

L'Arctique fait partie intégrante du système terrestre. Les cycles biogéochimiques, les écosystèmes, le niveau de la mer, le climat et les activités humaines : tous ont des liens avec l'Arctique. Sous l'effet de ces liens, les hautes latitudes de la Terre réagissent à des changements, les amplifient et les causent ailleurs. Dans le contexte actuel, où les humaines ont de plus en plus d'impact sur la planète et l'influence des changements mondiaux sur la condition humaine se fait sentir de plus en plus, l'Arctique est particulièrement important et pertinent.

Quelque 120 000 personnes, des Autochtones et des immigrants plus récents, habitent l'Arctique canadien actuellement. Toutes les collectivités de l'Arctique sont en bordure de l'océan, d'un plan d'eau intérieur, ou d'une rivière, ce qui témoigne de l'importance de l'eau, et de ses ressources, à la vie quotidienne des résidents du Nord. Leur bien-être est étroitement lié à l'environnement dans lequel ils vivent et qu'ils façonnent à leur tour.

Le CNERAA a été établi pour répondre au besoin d'une coordination accrue de l'information scientifique portant sur les environnements marins et dulcicoles dans l'Arctique, et pour soutenir l'adoption de plus de lois en matière de l'Arctique ainsi que les engagements envers les Canadiens et les habitants du Nord.

Le CNERAA et la Division de la recherche sur l'Arctique de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) sont situés à l'Institut des eaux douces à Winnipeg au Manitoba.

Le CNERAA joue un rôle actif dans les éléments suivants :

  • L'établissement des priorités du MPO en matière de l'Arctique;
  • La prestation du programme national de l'Arctique;
  • L'établissement de rapports sur le programme national des sciences de l'Arctique;
  • La planification du financement de la recherche sur l'Arctique du gouvernement fédéral.

Le CNERAA soutient l'interaction améliorée au MPO quant à la recherche et aux besoins opérationnels, en élaborant des plans intégrés au vaste programme de recherche du MPO et aux programmes fédéraux du Nord. Le CNERAA fait de la coordination dans les secteurs liés aux ressources des navires et de l'infrastructure, optimisant les partenariats nationaux et internationaux et la planification des priorités de recherche marine/dulcicole, par le biais des recommandations des autres ministères, des universités et des groupes consultatifs du Nord.

Le CNERAA est un mécanisme de planification centrale et de responsabilisation financière qui facilite la coordination régionale pour améliorer la prestation du programme des sciences de l'Arctique, afin d'aborder les priorités ministérielles dans le Nord.

Au cours des cinq prochaines années, le CNERAA aura à traiter les questions prioritaires suivantes dans le Nord :

  • Les pêches émergentes;
  • L'exploration et l'extraction de diamants;
  • L'exploitation des réserves de pétrole et de gaz;
  • Le changement climatique;
  • Les changements de la couverture de glace de mer;
  • Des pêches de subsistance locales durables;
  • Des pêches de subsistance locales de qualité;
  • La gestion côtière;
  • Le tourisme;
  • La consommation d'eau douce;

Le traitement des principales lacunes dans la recherche de base et l'adoption d'une approche écosystémique.

Le vaste mandat du CNERAA en tant que centre d'expertise en matière de recherche aquatique dans l'Arctique a apporté d'excellents avantages au ministère et aux sciences de l'Arctique, grâce à une plus grande coordination et à l'amélioration des partenariats avec d'autres ministères et organismes nationaux et internationaux pertinents.

Le CNERAA s'engage à l'élaboration de programmes de recherche coordonnés, dans des domaines de la recherche sur les écosystèmes aquatiques, environnementaux et océanographiques de l'Arctique liés aux priorités nationales en ce qui concerne les sciences sur le Nord et au mandat du MPO.

Contacts

Pour renseignements sur les recherches en collaboration avec le CNERAA, veuillez communiquer avec:

Robert Fudge

Directeur, CNERAA
Pêches et Océans Canada
501, University Crescent
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Canada R3T 2N6

Téléphone: (204) 983-5217

Date de modification :