Centre for Offshore Oil, Gas and Energy Research (COOGER)

The Canadian Coast Guard research vessel CCGS Hudson approaches the Hibernia oil rig offshore of Newfoundland.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada established the Centre for Offshore Oil, Gas and Energy Research (COOGER) at the Bedford Institute of Oceanography in 2002.   Since its inception, COOGER scientists have played a world-leading role in improving scientific knowledge and co-ordinating and implementing collaborative research efforts devoted to:

  • Strengthening scientific knowledge about the fate and behaviour of petroleum introduced to the marine and coastal environment, and
  • Understanding and improving mitigation measures used to reduce and counter the impacts of oil spills on coastal ecosystems.

Under the leadership of Transport Canada, the Government of Canada is implementing measures to achieve a world-class tanker safety system in Canada. Building on recommendations from the Tanker Safety Expert Panel and other studies, Canada’s World Class Tanker Safety System program builds on scientific studies that will support Canada’s effective response planning. 

COOGER scientists are working collaboratively with researchers from across Canada to learn how oil products behave if spilled into a marine environment in order to ensure effective oil spill responses. For example, preliminary scientific research concluded that diluted bitumen can behave differently than other oils under certain environmental conditions; results are published in the report, “Properties, Composition and Marine Spill Behaviour, Fate and Transport of Two Diluted Bitumen Products from the Canadian Oil Sands.”

A Canada-wide network is currently undertaking scientific research and development on:

  • The pre-treatment of heavy oil products at the source;
  • The behaviour of different formulations of heavy oil products when spilled in marine environments; and,
  • Other potential alternative response measures.

COOGER fosters collaboration at the national and international level and aims to learn from the experiences of other countries to optimize the progress of Canadian research programs. COOGER scientists were invited by the United States Government to provide expertise to their lead agency, the U.S. Coast Guard, and to learn from the oil spill response efforts involving the Deepwater Horizon oil well blow-out in the Gulf of Mexico. COOGER contributed to a plain language report by the American Society for Microbiology published just after that event, “Oil Spills and Microbes”, which addresses frequently asked questions about the role of bacteria and fungi in cleaning up oil spills.

This video provides an overview of COOGER’s research into the fate of oil spilled into various marine environments.  It features former executive director Ken Lee, who is currently leading the Australian Wealth from Oceans National Research Flagship.

Centre de recherche sur le pétrole, le gaz et autres sources d'énergie extracôtières (CRPGEE)

En 2002, Pêches et Océans Canada a mis en place le Centre de recherche sur le pétrole, le gaz et autres sources d'énergie extracôtières (CRPGEE) à l'Institut océanographique de Bedford. Depuis, les scientifiques du CRPGEE jouent un rôle de premier ordre à l'échelle internationale en matière d'approfondissement des connaissances scientifiques ainsi que de coordination et de mise en œuvre des efforts de recherche collaborative visant à :

Sous la direction de Transports Canada, le gouvernement du Canada met en œuvre des mesures permettant la création d'un système de sécurité de classe mondiale pour les navires‑citernes au Canada. S'appuyant sur les recommandations du Comité d'experts sur la sécurité des navires‑citernes et d'autres études, le programme canadien du système de sécurité de classe mondiale pour les navires-citernes est fondé sur des études scientifiques qui permettront une planification efficace des interventions nationales. 

Les scientifiques du CRPGEE collaborent avec des chercheurs des quatre coins du Canada pour déterminer le comportement des produits pétroliers en cas de déversement dans un milieu marin, de façon à assurer des interventions efficaces en cas de déversement d'hydrocarbures. Par exemple, des recherches scientifiques préliminaires ont conclu que le bitume dilué peut agir différemment des autres produits pétroliers dans certaines conditions environnementales; les résultats sont publiés dans le rapport intitulé « Propriétés, composition, comportement des déversements en milieu marin, devenir et transport de deux produits de bitume dilués issus des sables bitumineux canadiens ».

Un réseau pancanadien entreprend actuellement un projet de recherche et de développement sur :

Le CRPGEE appuie la collaboration à l'échelle nationale et internationale et tente de tirer des leçons des expériences des autres pays afin d'optimiser la progression des programmes de recherche canadiens. Les scientifiques du CRPGEE ont été invités par le gouvernement américain à faire part de leur expertise à l'organisme responsable national, la Garde côtière américaine, et à tirer des leçons des efforts d'intervention déployés à la suite de l'explosion du puits de pétrole de la plateforme Deepwater Horizon dans le golfe du Mexique. À la suite de ce déversement, le CRPGEE a contribué à la préparation d'un rapport rédigé en langage clair par l'American Society for Microbiology, intitulé « Microbes et déversements de pétrole », qui répond aux questions fréquemment posées sur le rôle des bactéries et des champignons dans le nettoyage des déversements de pétrole.

Cette vidéo donne un aperçu de la recherche du CRPGEE concernant le devenir du pétrole déversé dans divers milieux marins. La vidéo présente l'ancien directeur exécutif Ken Lee, qui dirige désormais le projet australien « Wealth from Oceans National Research Flagship ».