Terms of Reference (TOR)

Timothy R. Parsons Medal for Excellence in Multidisciplinary Ocean Science

1.0 Purpose

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) has established an award for excellence in Canadian ocean sciences. The award is named in honour of Dr. Timothy R. Parsons, in recognition of his distinguished career as a Fisheries Research Board researcher, university professor and broadly read author.

2.0 Background

Throughout his career Dr. Parsons has devoted himself to obtaining a holistic understanding of ecology. He has always been a proponent of ensuring close links between fisheries science and oceanography, and has repeatedly pointed out how the ever-changing environment of the oceans impacts fisheries. His lifetime work has been to establish a new ecosystem approach for the management of fisheries based on the measurement of oceanographic information and the dynamic relationships between fish and their physical, chemical and biological environment.

Dr. Parsons was the founding editor of the journal "Fisheries Oceanography" and has made major contributions to the development of Biological Oceanography. Dr. Parsons has also worked to encourage a holistic approach to the evaluation of human impacts on the environment using his experience in biological oceanography. He is personally responsible for many of the standard analytical methods used in his field.

Dr. Parsons was the recipient of the 17th Japan Prize for Marine Biology, awarded by the Emperor of Japan and received the Order of Canada in 2005. His memoirs, published in 2004, are entitled "The Sea's Enthrall".

3.0 Criteria

The Timothy R. Parsons Medal is:

  • awarded for distinguished accomplishments in multidisciplinary facets of ocean sciences while working for Canadian Institutions or for the benefit of Canadian science
  • awarded for excellence during the lifetime of the recipient or for a recent outstanding achievement, both being equally eligible
  • no posthumous nominations are considered

Candidates will be evaluated on their qualifications in at least several of the following five categories:

  • Significant contributions to multidisciplinary facets of ocean sciences
  • Contribution of significant ideas
  • Impact on Canadian Marine Science (see note)
  • Leadership through teaching/mentoring
  • Program, disciplinary and interdisciplinary activities (to include "outreach" activities)

Note: Impact on Canadian Marine Science. This category needs to make an assessment of the candidate's impact on Canadian marine Science as follows:

  • Recognition of scientific accomplishment; and
  • Impact and/or influence of scientific work.

The category shall be described through (i) Peer reviewed publications, (ii) Technical reports; and (iii) Advice to managers.

4.0 Nominations

Nominations for the Timothy R. Parsons Medal may be made by any Canadian.

The Nomination package shall include:

  • A well supported candidate's curriculum vitae/resume
  • A comprehensive record of publications, awards, and grant awards. It is also important that the nomination identify teaching and faculty positions held and the number of graduate students being supervised
  • A concise, comprehensive statement indicating the merits and contribution made by the nominee to multidisciplinary ocean science. (The statement shall be supported by references to significant contributions, ideas, publications, teaching activities and program leadership)
  • A summary of the accomplishments of the individual and a statement indicating how these accomplishments were connected with the progress of multidisciplinary ocean science
  • Letters of support
  • All nominations shall be received no later than March 31. 2017.

Note: The selection of a candidate as award recipient shall be based upon the information presented in the nomination package.

Nominations shall be sent to:

Timothy R. Parsons Medal Committee
Strategic Planning and Outreach
12E235A-200 Kent Street
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0E6

Fax: (613) 990-0313
Email: sciencebulletin@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Nominations which did not result in an award will be considered in subsequent years with the nominator's consent, unless disqualified. The nominator is encouraged to update the nomination package.

Candidates disqualified for not meeting the criteria will not be considered in subsequent years, unless:

  • the nominator presents information to overturn the disqualification
  • the circumstances disqualifying the candidate have changed, enabling the candidate to meet the criteria

5.0 Parsons Medal Adjudication Committee (Parsons Committee)

5.1 Composition of the Parsons Committee
  • The Committee shall have a balanced membership to remove any undue bias as a result of committee membership having knowledge of a candidate or the knowledge of the discipline
  • The DFO Assistant Deputy Minister (ADM) Oceans and Science will chair the committee. The committee will also include a Secretariat for administration and logistics matters. The immediate past Parsons Medal recipient will serve on the committee. If the immediate past recipient is unavailable, a former Parsons Medalist will be invited to serve
  • The remaining three term positions will be appointed by the ADM Oceans and Science. Ideally, these positions should be comprised of:
    • a DFO representative;
    • a representative of another governmental department or agency (OGD); and
    • a representative of a non-governmental organization (NGO) such as a university or the private sector.
  • Members of the Committee should not be involved with the nomination of any candidate (new or returning) during their membership on the Committee and for at least 1 year after leaving the Committee
  • A sample Committee Membership could be as follows:
    • DFO ADM Oceans and Science
    • Past Parson's Medal Recipient
    • DFO Rep
    • OGD representative (i.e. NRCan)
    • NGO representative (i.e. University of Victoria)
    • Secretariat
5.2 The Desirable Qualifications and Objectives for the Three Term Positions
  • a scientist presently or previously employed conducting research in Canada or for Canada
  • renowned expertise, experience, and leadership in fisheries or ocean sciences, or allied fields; preferably with interdisciplinary expertise
  • capable of evaluating the candidates against the five categories of qualification
  • an effort will be made to balance committee expertise to include the following disciplines: physical, chemical, and geological oceanography and geophysics, marine and freshwater biology, biological oceanography, fisheries management and ecosystems science. If a balance is not possible in the same year, then an attempt will be made over succeeding years by alternating fields of expertise as new members rotate onto the committee
5.3 Rotation of the Three Term Positions
  • The members in these three positions will serve staggered terms of three years, if possible, to ensure and maximize continuity on the committee. The aim is to have each year's committee comprised of one of these three members serving for a first year, one for a second year and one for a third year on the committee
5.4 Annual Parsons Committee Meeting
  • The committee will aim to meet during the first week of April each year, at DFO headquarters, in Ottawa
  • Conflict of interest guidelines will be discussed at the start of the adjudication committee meeting. Committee members will be asked to self-declare if they have a conflict of interest in judging any candidate
  • Travel is provided for members of the Parsons Committee members to attend the adjudication committee meeting, as per Treasury Board guidelines
  • In the event of an inability on the part of the committee to decide among candidates, the ADM will make the final decision as to whether to present the award that year and, if so, to whom it will go (there will be one winner only)

6.0 Announcement of the Medalist and Presentation of the Parsons Medal

  • The announcement of the Parsons Medalist is made at the Parsons/Patterson Luncheon. The ADM Oceans and Science (Chair of the Parsons Committee) or a designated representative will award the medal and a commemorative plaque to the recipient
  • The luncheon is scheduled during the annual congress of the Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society (CMOS), which is routinely held during the last week of May or the first week of June each year
  • Travel to the meeting (airfare, hotel, and per diems, as per Treasury Board guidelines), and a ticket for the Parsons/Patterson luncheon are provided to the medalist. A luncheon ticket may also be provided to a partner accompanying the medalist
Date modified:

Mandat

Médaille Timothy R. Parsons soulignant l'excellence dans un domaine multidisciplinaire lié à l'océanographie

1.0 Objet

Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) du Canada a créé un prix d'excellence en océanographie canadienne. Le prix est nommé en l'honneur du Dr Timothy R. Parsons, en reconnaissance de sa brillante carrière de chercheur à l'Office des recherches sur les pêcheries, de professeur d'université et d'auteur reconnu à l'échelle mondiale.

2.0 Contexte

Pendant toute sa carrière, le Dr Parsons a constamment cherché à comprendre l'écologie dans une perspective globale. Il a toujours mis en valeur les liens étroits qu'il y a entre les sciences halieutiques et l'océanographie, et n'a cessé de faire ressortir les effets que la constante évolution de l'environnement des océans avait sur les pêches. Il s'est employé toute sa vie à mettre au point une nouvelle approche écosystémique pour la gestion des pêches qui est fondée sur la mesure de l'information océanographique et sur l'évaluation des relations dynamiques entre les poissons et leur environnement physique, chimique et biologique.

Le Dr Parsons est également le fondateur de la revue Fisheries Oceanography. Il a largement contribué au développement de l'océanographie biologique et s'est toujours attaché à favoriser l'adoption d'une approche globale pour l'évaluation des impacts des activités humaines sur l'environnement, en s'inspirant de son expérience en océanographie biologique. Il est d'ailleurs l'auteur d'un grand nombre de méthodes d'analyse normalisées couramment utilisées dans son domaine.

Le Dr Parsons a reçu le 17e Prix japonais en biologie marine, remis par l'empereur du Japon, et il est devenu compagnon de l'Ordre du Canada en 2005. Ses mémoires, publiés en 2004, s'intitulent : « The Sea's Enthrall ».

3.0 Critères

La médaille Timothy R. Parsons :

  • est décernée pour reconnaître une contribution remarquable dans un domaine multidisciplinaire lié aux sciences océaniques et dans le cadre d'un travail au sein d'une institution canadienne ou au profit de la science canadienne;
  • est décernée pour souligner l'ensemble de la carrière ou une réalisation exceptionnelle récente, les deux étant également admissibles.
  • Aucune mise en candidature posthume n'est acceptée.

Les candidatures seront évaluées en fonction de plusieurs des cinq éléments suivants :

  • contribution importante dans un domaine multidisciplinaire lié à l'océanographie;
  • contribution d'idées d'envergure;
  • contribution déterminante en sciences de la mer au Canada (voir la note);
  • leadership exercé par l'enseignement ou le mentorat;
  • activités associées à un programme ou à un domaine, ou activités interdisciplinaires (y compris les activités de promotion/sensibilisation).

Note : Pour la « Contribution déterminante en sciences de la mer au Canada », il faut évaluer l'influence du (de la) candidat(e) sur les sciences de la mer au Canada selon ce qui suit :

  • reconnaissance de ses réalisations scientifiques;
  • incidence ou influence de ses travaux scientifiques.

La catégorie sera décrite par (i) des publications revues par un comité de lecture, (ii) des rapports techniques; (iii) les avis aux gestionnaires.

4.0 Mises en candidature

Tout Canadien peut proposer des candidatures pour la médaille Timothy R. Parsons.

Le dossier de candidature doit contenir les éléments suivants :

  • un curriculum vitae bien étayé;
  • une liste complète des publications ainsi que des subventions et prix reçus. Il est également important d'y indiquer les postes d'enseignant ou de professeur de faculté occupés par le(la) candidat(e) et le nombre d'étudiants de troisième cycle sous sa supervision;
  • un énoncé concis mais global des mérites et de la contribution du (de la) candidat(e) dans un domaine multidisciplinaire lié à l'océanographie (L'énoncé doit s'appuyer sur les contributions, les idées et les publications importantes du (de la) candidat(e) et sur ses activités d'enseignement et sur le leadership qu'il (elle) a exercé dans un programme);
  • un résumé des réalisations du (de la) candidat(e) et un énoncé sur la façon dont ces réalisations ont contribué à l'avancement du domaine multidisciplinaire en océanographie;
  • des lettres d'appui.
  • Chaque année, toutes les candidatures doivent être soumises le 31 mars 2017.

Note : Le choix du lauréat sera fondé sur l'information fournie dans la trousse de mise en candidature.

Les candidatures doivent être envoyées à l'adresse suivante :

Comité de sélection des lauréat(e)s de la médaille Timothy R. Parsons
Planification et promotion stratégiques
200, rue Kent, poste 12E235A
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0E6

Télécopieur: 613-990-0313
Courriel: sciencebulletin@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Sauf en cas de disqualification, les candidatures infructueuses seront examinées à nouveau les années subséquentes avec l'accord des personnes qui les ont proposées. Nous encourageons d'ailleurs ces personnes à mettre à jour leur dossier de candidature l'année suivante.

Le dossier de candidature des personnes disqualifiées pour non-respect des critères ne sera pas examiné les années subséquentes, à l'exception des cas suivants :

  • l'auteur de la mise en candidature présente de l'information qui justifie un renversement de la disqualification;
  • les circonstances ayant conduit à la disqualification du (de la) candidat(e) ont changé au point que les critères sont désormais remplis.

5.0 Comité de sélection des lauréat(e)s de la médaille Timothy R. Parsons (Comité Parsons)

5.1 Composition du Comité Parsons
  • Le Comité doit avoir une composition équilibrée qui éliminera toute partialité susceptible de découler du fait qu'un membre du Comité connaît le (la) candidat(e) ou est issu de la même discipline.
  • Le sous-ministre adjoint (SMA), Secteur des Océans et des sciences du MPO présidera le Comité. Ce dernier comprendra un service de secrétariat, qui s'occupera de ses besoins administratifs et logistiques.
  • Le (la) dernier(ère) lauréat(e) de la médaille siégera au Comité. S'il lui est impossible de le faire, un(e) autre médaillé(e) Parsons sera invité(e) à y siéger.
  • Les trois autres postes de membres seront comblés par le SMA, Secteur des Océans et des sciences. Idéalement, ces postes temporaires seront confiés à :
    • un représentant du MPO;
    • un représentant d'un autre ministère ou organisme gouvernemental;
    • un représentant d'une organisation non gouvernementale (ONG) telle qu'une institution universitaire ou privée.
  • Les membres du Comité ne doivent participer d'aucune façon à la mise en candidature (nouvelle ou non) de candidat(e)s pendant tout le temps qu'ils siègent au Comité et au moins un (1) an après l'avoir quitté.
  • Voici quelle pourrait être la composition type du Comité :
    • SMA, Secteur des Océans et des sciences - MPO
    • dernier lauréat de la médaille Timothy R.Parsons
    • représentant du MPOp
    • représentant d'un autre ministère ou organisme gouvernemental (p. ex. Ressources naturelles Canada)
    • représentant d'un organisme non gouvernemental (p. ex. Université de Victoria)
    • membre assurant les services de secrétariat
5.2 Qualités recherchées et objectifs pour les trois postes temporaires
  • être un(e) chercheur(se) menant ou ayant mené des recherches au Canada ou pour le compte du Canada;
  • posséder une expertise, de l'expérience et un leadership reconnus en sciences halieutiques, en océanographie ou dans un domaine connexe, de préférence dans un domaine interdisciplinaire;
  • être capable d'évaluer les candidat(e)s dans les cinq catégories précitées.
  • Par souci d'équilibre des expertises au sein du Comité, il faudra privilégier la représentation des disciplines suivantes : océanographie physique, chimique et géologique, géophysique, biologie marine et biologie des eaux douces, océanographie biologique, gestion des pêches et science des écosystèmes. Si un équilibre ne peut être atteint une année donnée, nous essaierons d'en assurer un au cours des années suivantes en alternant les domaines de compétence à mesure que de nouveaux membres se joindront au Comité.
5.3 Rotation dans les trois postes temporaires
  • Dans la mesure du possible, les membres occupant ces trois postes se verront confier des mandats de trois ans qui seront échelonnés pour assurer une continuité optimale au sein du Comité. L'objectif visé est que, chaque année, l'un de ces trois postes soit occupé par une recrue et que les deux autres le soient respectivement par une personne qui en est à sa deuxième année de participation et une autre dont c'est la troisième année.
5.4 Réunion annuelle du Comité Parsons
  • Tous les ans, le Comité cherchera à se réunir la première semaine d'avril à l'administration centrale du MPO, à Ottawa.
  • Au début des réunions, le Comité traitera des lignes directrices sur les conflits d'intérêt. Les membres devront alors déclarer s'ils se trouvent en situation de conflit d'intérêt dans l'évaluation de l'une ou l'autre des candidatures.
  • Les membres qui participent à la réunion du Comité Parsons ont droit au remboursement de leurs dépenses de déplacement, conformément à la Directive du Conseil du Trésor sur les voyages.
  • Dans le cas où il ne serait pas possible pour le comité d'en arriver à une décision parmi les candidat(e)s, le SMA tranchera à savoir s'il y aura un(e) lauréat(e) pour cette année là, et si oui, à qui le prix sera décerné (il y aura un(e) seul(e) et unique lauréat(e)).

6.0 Annonce du (de la) lauréat(e) et présentation de la médaille Timothy R. Parsons

  • L'annonce du (de la) lauréat(e) de la médaille Timothy R. Parsons est faite à l'occasion du déjeuner dit Parsons/Patterson. Le SMA, Secteur des Océans et des sciences (qui préside le Comité Parsons) ou un représentant désigné décernera alors la médaille et une plaque commémorative au (à la) lauréat(e).
  • Le déjeuner a lieu dans le cadre du Congrès annuel de la Société canadienne de météorologie et d'océanographie (SCMO), qui se tient chaque année la dernière semaine de mai ou la première de juin.
  • Les lauréats auront droit au remboursement des dépenses qu'ils auront engagées pour assister à la réunion (billets d'avion, hôtel et indemnités quotidiennes selon la Directive du Conseil du Trésor sur les voyages) ainsi qu'à un laissez-passer pour le déjeuner de remise de la médaille. Un laissez-passer peut aussi être offert à la personne accompagnant le (la) lauréat(e).
Date de modification :