Science at-sea missions

Mission title and description Vessel Region Start date (YYYY/MM/DD) End date (YYYY/MM/DD)
North Atlantic right whale and oil spill impact mission
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will be carrying out its North Atlantic right whale and Oil Spill Impact Mission. The work is focused on collecting details of the ecology and physiology of North Atlantic right whales, factors affecting the distribution of their prey (mainly copepods, a small crustacean), and the potential impact to habitats through ship-based oil spills.
Coriolis II Various 2019/08/06 2019/09/03
Canadian Beaufort Sea - Marine Ecosystem Assessment 2019
This summer will be the sixth year, since 2012, that a team of DFO scientists will take sail aboard the research ship F/V Frosti in Canada’s Arctic for a comprehensive marine ecosystem assessment. The goal of the Canadian Beaufort Sea- Marine Ecosystem Assessment (CBS-MEA) research mission is to understand changes occurring in the Beaufort Sea ecosystem.
F/V Frosti Central and Arctic 2019/08/01 2019/09/11
Pacific seamounts expedition 2019
A team of Fisheries and Oceans Canada scientists and their partners Ocean Networks Canada and the Nuu-chah-nulth Nations, will embark on a two-week expedition to uncover the mysteries of Canada’s largest underwater volcano, known as Explorer seamount, at the center of a potential Offshore Pacific Marine Protected Area.
CCGS John P. Tully Pacific 2019/07/16 2019/07/28
Biodiversity Survey on the British Columbia Central Coast
This collaborative survey aboard the CCGS Vector will assess deep water and intertidal habitats and species from the Central Coast of British Columbia to Saanich Inlet. Findings will support marine conservation initiatives and contribute to long-term monitoring.
CCGS Vector Pacific 2019/05/08 2019/05/29
Joint Ocean Ice Studies
Established in 2003, JOIS is an international collaboration between Canada, the United States and Japan that monitors oceanographic conditions in the Arctic via an annual month-long, scientific expedition aboard the icebreaker CCGS Louis S. St-Laurent.
CCGS Louis S. St-Laurent Central and Arctic 2018/09/07 2018/10/04
Canadian Beaufort Sea - Marine Ecosystem Assessment 2018
This summer will be the fifth year, since 2012, that a team of DFO scientists will take sail aboard the research ship F/V Frosti in Canada’s Arctic for a comprehensive marine ecosystem assessment.The goal of the Canadian Beaufort Sea- Marine Ecosystem Assessment (CBS-MEA) research mission is to understand changes occurring in the Beaufort Sea ecosystem
F/V Frosti Central and Arctic 2018/08/01 2018/09/12
Pacific Region International Survey of Marine Megafauna (PRISMM)
Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) is undertaking a large-scale survey in the Northeast Pacific Ocean to survey marine mammals. The survey, led by the Cetacean Research Program, will provide information on abundance of marine mammals.
CCGS John P. Tully Pacific 2018/07/03 2018/09/06
Northeast Pacific Seamounts Expedition 2018
Fisheries and Oceans Canada, the Haida Nation, Oceana Canada, and Ocean Networks Canada will embark on an expedition to explore seamounts near the islands of Haida Gwaii in the northeast Pacific Ocean off the coast of British Columbia.
E/V Nautilus Pacific 2018/07/05 2018/07/21
Expedition in Canada’s High Arctic
Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), in collaboration with international experts, academia, and other government departments, is leading a research mission to study the multiyear ice ecosystem in Canada’s High Arctic. This mission will provide the first ecological assessment of the northern Canadian Archipelago, the only region where multiyear ice still resides in the Arctic Ocean. This knowledge is essential to understand the structure, function and role of the sea-ice associated ecosystem in the Arctic Ocean.
  Central and Arctic 2018/04/25 2018/06/08
Expedition in the Central Coast of British Columbia
Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) and Oceana Canada are leading a six way partnership to explore the Central Coast of British Columbia. In partnership with the Heiltsuk and Kitasoo/Xai’Xais First Nations, the Central Coast Indigenous Resource Alliance (CCIRA), and Ocean Networks Canada, we will explore and conduct research in Kynoch Inlet, Seaforth Channel and Fitz Hugh Sound, areas with a high conservation value and that vulnerable fish populations depend on.
CCGS Vector Pacific 2018/03/07 2018/03/14
Diversity and ecology of the ocean floor
This history-making research expedition was in collaboration with three separate research organizations: Oceana Canada, the Canadian Healthy Ocean Network (CHONe), and SponGES. The goal of the mission is to discover more about deep-sea ecosystems and ecology in the Atlantic Ocean, which will contribute to a greater understanding of these habitats and help to better protect unique marine environments that are essential to the health of our oceans.
CCGS Martha L. Black Various 2017/08/23 2017/09/21
Canadian Beaufort Sea: Marine Ecosystem Assessment 2017
This long term study will help us to better understand changes in ice cover and location, temperature, and shifting ocean currents, and how these changes can affect Arctic marine life and productivity.
F/V Frosti Central and Arctic 2017/08/01 2017/09/11
Chatham Sound Glass Sponge Reefs
A science team explores reefs that have remained largely unexplored since their discovery in 2012 by an industry survey team and are believed to be one of the oldest sponge reefs known to date.
CCGS Vector Pacific 2017/08/16 2017/08/23
Exploring Deep Ocean Seamounts
A team of scientist from Fisheries and Oceans Canada will be conducting an exploratory mission to survey and collect the first-ever underwater footage of the Union and Dellwood seamounts.
CCGS J.P. Tully Pacific 2017/07/18 2017/08/01
Exploration of Hecate Strait and Queen Charlotte Sound Glass Sponge Reefs
The goal of their mission is to gain a better understanding of the water filtration process and the feeding habits of these unique sponges thought to have gone extinct 40 million years ago.
CCGS J.P. Tully Pacific 2017/05/10 2017/05/22
Date modified:

Missions scientifiques en mer

Titre et description de la mission Navire Région Date de début (YYYY/MM/DD) Date de fin (YYYY/MM/DD)
Mission sur la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord et les répercussions des déversements de pétrole
Pêches et Océans Canada effectuera sa mission sur la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord et les répercussions des déversements de pétrole. Les travaux seront axés sur la collecte de détails sur l’écologie et la physiologie des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord, les facteurs influant sur la répartition de leurs proies (essentiellement de petits crustacés appelés copépodes) et les effets potentiels des déversements de pétrole provenant de navires sur les habitats.
Coriolis II Divers 2019/08/06 2019/09/03
Mer de Beaufort canadienne : Évaluation des écosystèmes marins 2019
Cet été sera la sixième année, depuis 2012, que le navire de recherche F/V Frosti emmènera une équipe de scientifiques du MPO dans l’Arctique canadien pour procéder à une évaluation complète de l’écosystème marin. L’objectif de cette mission de recherche et d’évaluation est de comprendre les changements intervenant dans l’écosystème marin de la partie canadienne de la mer de Beaufort.
F/V Frosti Centre et Arctique 2019/08/01 2019/09/11
Expédition des monts sous-marins 2019
Une équipe de scientifiques de Pêches et Océans Canada et leurs partenaires, Ocean Networks Canada et les Nations Nuu-chah-nulth, entreprendront une expédition de deux semaines pour découvrir les mystères du plus grand volcan sous-marin du Canada, appelé Explorer. Celui-ci se situe au centre d'une potentielle zone de protection marine au large du Pacifique.
NGCC John P. Tully Pacifique 2019/07/16 2019/07/28
Mission scientifique sur la biodiversité de la côte centrale de la Colombie-Britannique
Ce relevé conjoint à bord du NGCC Vector permettra d'évaluer les habitats et les espèces d'eaux profondes et intertidales de la côte centrale de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu'à Saanich Inlet. Les résultats appuieront les initiatives de conservation marine et contribueront à la surveillance à long terme.
NGCC Vector Pacifique 2019/05/08 2019/05/29
Études conjointes de la glace de mer
Lancé en 2003, le projet JOIS est une initiative de collaboration internationale entre le Canada, les États-Unis et le Japon, qui a pour but de surveiller les conditions océanographiques dans l’Arctique, grâce aux travaux d’une expédition scientifique annuelle, se déroulant pendant un mois à bord du brise-glace NGCC Louis S. St-Laurent.
NGCC Louis S. St-Laurent Centre et Arctique 2018/09/07 2018/10/04
Mer de Beaufort canadienne: Évaluation des écosystèmes marins 2018
Cet été sera la cinquième année, depuis 2012, que le navire de recherche F/V Frosti emmènera une équipe de scientifiques du MPO dans l’Arctique canadien pour procéder à une évaluation complète de l’écosystème marin. L’objectif de cette mission de recherche et d’évaluation est de comprendre les changements intervenant dans l’écosystème marin de la partie canadienne de la mer de Beaufort.
F/V Frosti Centre et Arctique 2018/08/01 2018/09/12
Relevés internationaux de la mégafaune marine dans la région du Pacifique
Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) effectue un relevé à grande échelle des mammifères marins dans le nord-est de l’océan Pacifique. Dirigé par le Programme de recherche sur les cétacés, ce relevé fournira des renseignements sur l’abondance des mammifères marins.
NGCC John P. Tully Pacifique 2018/07/03 2018/09/06
Expédition des monts sous-marins du Pacifique Nord-Est 2018
Pêches et Océans Canada, la Nation Haida, Oceana Canada et Ocean Networks Canada participeront à une expédition qui explorera les monts sous-marins à proximité des îles Haida Gwaii au nord-est de l’océan Pacifique, au large de la Colombie-Britannique.
E/V Nautilus Pacifique 2018/07/05 2018/07/21
Expédition dans l’Extrême-Arctique canadien
Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), en collaboration avec des experts internationaux, le milieu universitaire et d’autres ministères du gouvernement, dirige une mission de recherche pour étudier l'écosystème de la glace de plusieurs années dans l’Extrême-Arctique canadien. Cette mission fournira la première évaluation écologique du Nord de l'archipel arctique canadien, la seule région où l’on trouve toujours de la glace de plusieurs années dans l'océan Arctique. Cette connaissance est fondamentale pour comprendre la structure, la fonction et le rôle de l'écosystème associé à la banquise dans l'océan Arctique.
  Centre et Arctique 2018/04/25 2018/06/08
Expédition sur la côte centrale de la Colombie-Britannique
Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) et Oceana Canada sont à la tête d’un partenariat à six voies qui explorera la côte centrale de la Colombie-Britannique. En collaboration avec les Premières Nations Heiltsuk et Kitasoo/Xai’Xais, la Central Coast Indigenous Resource Alliance (CCIRA) et Ocean Networks Canada, l’expédition effectuera des recherches dans les secteurs de l’inlet Kynoch, du passage Seaforth et du détroit de Fitz Hugh Sud; des secteurs très précieux sur le plan de la conservation et constituant une ressource importante pour les populations de sébastes.
NGCC Vector Pacifique 2018/03/07 2018/03/14
Diversité et écologie du fond marin
Cette expédition de recherche historique a été divisée en trois étapes, en collaboration avec trois organismes de recherche distincts : Oceana Canada, Réseau des océans canadiens en santé (CHONe), et SponGES. L'objectif de ces missions est d'en apprendre plus sur les écosystèmes et l'écologie des grands fonds dans l'océan Atlantique, ce qui contribuera à une meilleure compréhension de ces habitats et aidera à mieux protéger les milieux marins uniques qui sont essentiels à la santé de nos océans.
NGCC Martha L. Black Divers 2017/08/23 2017/09/21
Mer de Beaufort canadienne: Évaluation des écosystèmes marins 2017
Cette étude à long terme nous aidera à mieux comprendre comment les changements dans la couverture de glace, l'emplacement des banquises, la température, ainsi que les changements dans les courants océaniques, influencent la vie marine et la productivité dans l’Arctique.
F/V Frosti Centre et Arctique 2017/08/01 2017/09/11
Récifs d’éponges siliceuses dans le passage Chatham
Une équipe scientifique explore des récifs qui sont restés largement inexplorés depuis leur découverte en 2012 par une équipe de l’industrie responsable de relevés. On croit qu’il pourrait s’agir de l’un des plus anciens récifs d’éponges connus à ce jour.
NGCC Vector Pacifique 2017/08/16 2017/08/23
Exploration de monts sous-marins
Une équipe de scientifiques de Pêches et Océans Canada effectuera une mission exploratoire pour étudier et recueillir les toutes premières images sous-marines des monts sous-marins Union et Dellwood.
NGCC J.P. Tully Pacifique 2017/07/18 2017/08/01
Exploration des récifs d’éponges siliceuses du détroit d’Hécate et du bassin de la Reine-Charlotte
Une mission vise à mieux comprendre le processus de filtration d’eau et les habitudes alimentaires de ces éponges uniques, que l’on croyait avoir disparu il y a 40 millions d’années.
NGCC J.P. Tully Pacifique 2017/05/10 2017/05/22
Date de modification :