Canadian Beaufort Sea - Marine Ecosystem Assessment 2019

Canadian Beaufort Sea - Marine Ecosystem Assessment 2019

Map: Canadian Beaufort Sea - Marine Ecosystem Assessment. Sampling sites of the 2019 Marine Environmental Assessment of the Canadian Beaufort Sea. © Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO).

About the mission

A team of DFO scientists, university partners and community members will take sail aboard the research ship F/V Frosti in Canada’s Arctic for a comprehensive marine ecosystem assessment, August 1 to September 11, 2019. The goal of the Canadian Beaufort Sea-Marine Ecosystem Assessment (CBS-MEA) is to understand changes occurring in the Beaufort Sea ecosystem. The scientists study the ecosystem on many levels, from small bacteria to Bowhead whales using a variety of sampling tools. Many disciplines of Arctic science are integrated with expert partners from the University of Manitoba, Université Laval, Memorial University, and McGill University to gain a comprehensive understanding of relationships between species and their habitats.

In 2019, CBS-MEA is also integrated with multiple other research and community-based missions occurring in the Beaufort Sea. The cooperation between missions generates needed ecosystem-based information for the management of highly mobile species such as beluga and bowhead whales.

CBS-MEA is designed in consultation with Inuvialuit co-management partners, including the Inuvialuit Game Council, with representatives from the communities in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region. Community members play a key role as part of the science team aboard F/V Frosti.

The health and resilience of the Beaufort Sea ecosystem is a priority for Inuit in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region. CBS-MEA address priorities shared by the communities, providing new knowledge required to understand how species will be influenced by marine stressors such as Arctic shipping, oil and gas development, and ocean acidification.

Research tools and techniques

CBS-MEA is unique from other Arctic ecosystem research programs in that it includes a specialized vessel, tools, and techniques to assess the role and populations of Arctic marine fishes in the offshore marine ecosystem, particularly important fish species like Arctic cod, Greenland Halibut and Capelin.

The research ship F/V Frosti is designed specifically for scientific sampling of fish, towing fishing nets, as well as supporting habitats and food-web components, all crucial elements for the CBS-MEA.

Fact: since 2012, CBS-MEA has verified 16 new marine fish species (12 pending expert taxonomic identification) that were previously not known to exist in the Canadian Beaufort Sea.

At each station, a water sampler (Rosette) equipped with multiple oceanographic instruments is used to sample physical, chemical and biological properties from the top to the bottom of the water column. Next, using a combination of bongo nets and a vertical multi-depth plankton sampler, zooplankton is sampled to determine which species (and how many) occupy the water column habitat. Seafloor sediments are then sampled using a box-corer to characterize bottom habitats and to examine the types of animals that live under the surface of the seafloor. Finally, a 3m beam trawl and larger Atlantic Western IIA bottom tending otter trawl are deployed to sample the fish and invertebrate communities that live on the seafloor. A hull-mounted hydroacoustic system is used while sailing to assess distributions and amounts of fish and plankton species in the water.

The team

Principal Investigators

  • Andrew Majewski - Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Dr. Andrea Niemi - Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Dr. Jim Reist - Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Dr. Robert Young - Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Dr. Ashley Stasko - Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Dr. Christine Michel - Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Dr. Bill Williams - Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Dr. Philippe Archambault - Université Laval
  • Dr. Maxime Geoffroy - Memorial University

Chief Scientists

  • Andrew Majewski - Leg 1 (August 1 - 22)
  • Jane Eert - Leg 2 (August 23 - September 11)

Science Staff

  • Caitlin Allison - AAE Tech Services
  • Alexis Burt - Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Valérie Cypihot - Université Laval
  • Mike Dempsey - Fisheres and Oceans Canada
  • Ashley Ehrman - Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Rachel Hussherr - Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Christie Morrison - Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Krystal Woodard - Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Inuvialuit Participants

  • Corrine Dillon - (Aklavik)
  • Samuel Lennie - (Inuvik)

Shore Support

  • Mark Ouellette - Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Oksana Schimnowski - Fisheries and Oceans Canada
The F / V Frosti. © Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO).

The F/V Frosti. © Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO).

Photo gallery

Previous Expeditions

Date modified:

Mer de Beaufort canadienne : Évaluation des écosystèmes marins 2019

Mer de Beaufort canadienne : Évaluation des écosystèmes marins 2019

Carte : Partie canadienne de la mer de Beaufort - Évaluation des écosystèmes marins. Sites d’échantillonnage de l’évaluation environnementale marine de 2019 dans la mer de Beaufort au Canada. © Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO).

À propos de la mission

Une équipe de scientifiques du MPO, de partenaires universitaires et de membres de la communauté naviguera à bord du navire de recherche F/V Frosti dans l’Arctique canadien pour effectuer une évaluation globale de l’écosystème marin, du 1er août au 11 septembre 2019. L’objectif de cette évaluation des écosystèmes marins de la mer de Beaufort au Canada (ÉÉM-MBC) est de comprendre les changements intervenant dans l’écosystème marin de la mer de Beaufort.

Les scientifiques étudient l’écosystème à plusieurs niveaux, des petites bactéries aux baleines boréales, à l’aide de divers outils d’échantillonnage. Bien des disciplines des sciences de l’Arctique sont intégrées avec des partenaires spécialisés de l’Université du Manitoba, de l’Université Laval, de l’Université Memorial et de l’Université McGill en vue de parvenir à une compréhension globale des relations entre les espèces et leurs habitats.

En 2019, l’ÉÉM-MBC sera également intégrée à de multiples autres missions de recherche et missions communautaires dans la mer de Beaufort. La coopération entre les missions génère l’information écosystémique nécessaire à la gestion d’espèces très mobiles comme le béluga et la baleine boréale.

L’ÉÉM-MBC est conçue de concert avec les partenaires de cogestion inuvialuits, notamment le Conseil inuvialuit de gestion du gibier, et des représentants des collectivités de la région désignée des Inuvialuit. Les membres de la collectivité jouent un rôle clé au sein de l’équipe scientifique à bord du F/V Frosti.

La santé et la résilience de l’écosystème de la mer de Beaufort sont une priorité pour les Inuits de la région désignée des Inuvialuit. L’ÉÉM-MBC répond aux priorités communes des collectivités, en fournissant les nouvelles connaissances nécessaires pour comprendre comment les espèces seront influencées par les facteurs de stress marins tels que la navigation dans l’Arctique, l’exploitation pétrolière et gazière et l’acidification des océans.

Outils et techniques de recherche

L’ÉÉM-MBC est unique parmi les programmes de recherche sur les écosystèmes de l’Arctique dans le sens où elle fait appel à un navire, des outils et des techniques spécialisés pour évaluer le rôle et les populations de poissons marins dans l’écosystème marin extracôtier de l’Arctique, en particulier des espèces de poissons importantes comme la morue arctique, le flétan du Groenland et le capelan.

Le navire de recherche F/V Frosti est conçu spécialement pour l’échantillonnage scientifique du poisson et des habitats et réseaux trophiques connexes et pour le remorquage de filets de pêche, qui sont tous des éléments essentiels pour l’évaluation des écosystèmes marins dans la partie canadienne de la mer de Beaufort.

Fait : Depuis 2012, l’ÉÉM-MBC a confirmé la présence de 16 nouvelles espèces de poissons marins (12 sont en cours d’identification taxonomique par des experts) dont on ignorait auparavant la présence dans la partie canadienne de la mer de Beaufort.

À chaque station, un échantillonneur d’eau (Rosette) équipé de multiples instruments océanographiques est utilisé pour échantillonner les propriétés physiques, chimiques et biologiques sur toute la hauteur de la colonne d’eau. Ensuite, à l’aide d’une combinaison de filets horizontaux de type Bongo et d’un échantillonneur vertical de plancton à profondeurs multiples, on échantillonne le zooplancton afin de déterminer les espèces (et le nombre d’espèces) qui occupent les habitats de la colonne d’eau. On prélève aussi des échantillons de sédiments du fond marin à l’aide d’un carottier à boîte pour caractériser les habitats du fond et examiner les types d’animaux qui vivent sous la surface du plancher océanique. Enfin, on déploie un chalut à perche de 3 m et le chalut à panneaux de fond plus grand Atlantic Western IIA pour échantillonner les communautés de poissons et d’invertébrés qui vivent sur le fond marin. Un système hydroacoustique monté sur la coque est utilisé durant la navigation pour évaluer les répartitions des espèces de poissons et de plancton et leurs quantités dans l’eau.

L’équipe

Chercheurs principaux

  • Andrew Majewski, Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Andrea Niemi, Ph.D - Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Jim Reist, Ph.D - Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Robert Young, Ph.D - Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Ashley Stasko, Ph.D - Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Christine Michel, Ph.D - Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Bill Williams, Ph.D - Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Philippe Archambault, Ph.D - Université Laval
  • Maxime Geoffroy, Ph.D - Memorial University

Scientifiques en chef

  • Andrew Majewski - volet 1 (du 1er au 22 août)
  • Jane Eert - volet 2 (23 août au 11 septembre)

Personnel scientifique

  • Caitlin Allison - AAE Tech Services
  • Alexis Burt - Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Glenn Cooper - Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Valérie Cypihot - Université Laval
  • Rachel Hussherr - Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Christie Morrison - Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Krystal Woodward - Pêches et Océans Canada

Participants inuvialuits

  • Corrine Dillon - (Aklavik)
  • Samuel Lennie - (Inuvik)

Soutien sur le rivage

  • Mark Ouellette - Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Oksana Schimnowski - Pêches et Océans Canada

Le F/V Frosti. © Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO).

Galerie de photos

Expéditions précédentes

Date de modification :