About Harbour Authorities

For the most part, Harbour Authorities are incorporated, not-for-profit organizations. They have a board of directors and members, who are representative of local interest groups and harbour users. Each Harbour Authority is a unique and independent business responsible for managing, operating and maintaining one or more public fishing harbours, through a lease agreement with Small Craft Harbours.

Harbour Authorities are essential to the social and economic life of many communities in Canada that depend on local harbours. Harbour Authorities link people to nearby waters by keeping vital harbour facilities in good repair. Harbour Authorities are also key in representing the needs of its users at the community level and to various interested parties.

A Program 20 Years in the Making

The year 2008 marked the 20th Anniversary of the Harbour Authority Program. Its continued success is largely the result of volunteer participation, primarily at the board of directors' level. There are an estimated 5,000 people who generously give their time through more than 550 Harbour Authorities across Canada. The volunteer effort approximates 135,000 hours per year, which equate to nearly 70 full time people. The Harbour Authority Program could not have achieved what it has without the dedication of its volunteers.

Date modified:

À propos des administrations portuaires

Dans la plupart des cas, les administrations portuaires sont des organismes sans but lucratif constitués en sociétés. Elles se composent d'un conseil d'administration et de membres qui représentent les utilisateurs du port et les groupes d'intérêts locaux. Les administrations portuaires sont des entreprises distinctes et indépendantes, responsables de la gestion, de l'exploitation et de l'entretien d'au moins un port de pêche public en vertu d'un bail conclu avec le Programme des Ports pour petits bateaux.

Les administrations portuaires jouent un rôle essentiel dans la vie économique et sociale de nombreuses collectivités canadiennes qui dépendent des installations portuaires locales. Elles relient la population aux eaux environnantes en tenant les installations portuaires en bon état. Les administrations portuaires jouent également un rôle clé en faisant valoir les besoins des utilisateurs au sein de la collectivité et auprès des différentes parties intéressées.

Un programme en développement depuis 20 ans

L'année 2008 a marqué le 20e anniversaire du Programme des administrations portuaires. Son succès constant repose largement sur la participation des bénévoles, principalement au sein des conseils d'administration. On estime que 5 000 personnes donnent généreusement de leur temps au sein de plus de 550 administrations portuaires dans l'ensemble du Canada. Le bénévolat représente environ 135 000 heures par année, soit l'équivalent de 70 personnes à temps plein. Le Programme des administrations portuaires n'aurait pu obtenir de tels résultats sans le dévouement de ses bénévoles.