Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Report on Plans and Priorities 2016-17

Future-Oriented Statement of Operations for Fisheries and Oceans Canada

For the year ending March 31


(in thousands of dollars)
  Forecast
results
2015-16
Planned
results
2016-17
Expenses
Economically Prosperous Maritime Sectors and Fisheries 512,915 480,901
Sustainable Aquatic Ecosystems 277,607 273,665
Safe and Secure Waters 761,994 750,240
Internal Services 339,488 286,475
Total expenses 1,892,004 1,791,281
 
Revenues
Sales of goods and services 86,713 86,743
Other revenues 4,366 4,215
Revenues earned on behalf of Government (41,105) (43,043)
Total revenues 49,974 47,915
 
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 1,842,030 1,743,366

The accompanying notes form an integral part of the future-oriented statement of operations.

 

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations

1. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and the plans of Fisheries and Oceans Canada as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

The information in the forecast results for fiscal year 2015-2016 is based on actual results as at November 30, 2015, and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2016-2017 fiscal year.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

  • The activities of Fisheries and Oceans Canada will remain substantially the same as in the previous year.

  • Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.

  • Allowances for doubtful accounts are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.

These assumptions were adopted as at November 30, 2015.

 

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2015-2016 and for 2016-2017, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this future-oriented statement of operations, Fisheries and Oceans Canada has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include the following:

  • The timing and amount of acquisitions and disposals of property, plant and equipment may affect gains/losses and amortization expense.

  • Implementation of new collective agreements.

  • Economic conditions may affect both the amount of revenue earned and the collectability of loan receivables.

  • Further changes to the operating budget through additional new initiatives or technical adjustments later in the year.

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

 

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared using the Government’s accounting policies that came into effect for the 2015-2016 fiscal year, which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

a) Expenses

Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for Fisheries and Oceans Canada operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered, including services provided without charge for accommodation, employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and worker's compensation which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave, as well as severance benefits, are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their terms of employment.

Transfer payments are recorded as expenses when the recipient has met the eligibility criteria or fulfilled the terms of a contractual transfer agreement or, in the case of transactions that do not form part of an existing program, when the Government announces a decision to make a non-recurring transfer, provided the enabling legislation or authorization for payment receives parliamentary approval prior to the completion of the financial statement. Transfer payments that become repayable as a result of conditions specified in the contribution agreement that have come into being are recorded as a reduction to transfer payment expense and as a receivable.

Expenses also include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable, provision for valuation on loans, investments and advances and inventory obsolescence or liabilities, including contingent liabilities and environmental liabilities to the extent the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets, which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

b) Revenues

Revenues from regulatory fees are recognized in the accounts based on the services provided in the year.

Funds received from external parties for specified purposes are recorded upon receipt as deferred revenue. These revenues are recognized in the period in which the related expenses are incurred.

Funds that have been received are recorded as deferred revenue, provided Fisheries and Oceans Canada has an obligation to other parties for the provision of goods, services or the use of assets in the future.

Other revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event that gave rise to the revenue takes place.

Revenues that are non-respendable are not available to discharge Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s liabilities. While the deputy head is expected to maintain accounting control, he has no authority regarding the disposition of non- respendable revenues. As a result, non-respendable revenues are considered to be earned on behalf of the Government of Canada and are therefore presented in reduction of the entity’s gross revenues.

 

4. Parliamentary Authorities

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the department do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles because authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the future-oriented statement of operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, Fisheries and Oceans Canada has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities


(in thousands of dollars)
  Forecast Results
2015-16
Planned Results
2016-17
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 1,842,030 1,743,366
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Amortization of tangible capital assets (189,026) (197,547)
Net loss on disposal of tangible capital assets including adjustments (2,352) (4,827)
Services provided without charge by other government departments (112,321) (112,903)
Decrease (increase) in vacation pay and compensatory leave 1,805 (512)
Decrease in employee future benefits not charged to authorities 2,218 322
(Decrease) increase in inventory (1,213) 899
Bad debt expense (903) (882)
Refunds of previous years expenditures 3,294 3,437
(Decrease) increase in earmarked supplementary fines (32) 42
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities (298,530) (311,971)
 
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Acquisitions of tangible capital assets 843,757 809,655
  843,757 809,655
 
Requested authorities 2,387,257 2,241,050

b) Authorities requested


(in thousands of dollars)
  Forecast Results
2015-16
Planned Results
2016-17
Authorities requested:
Vote 1 – Operating expenditures 1,323,906 1,238,520
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures 843,757 809,655
Vote 10 – Grants and contributions 96,922 65,511
Statutory amounts 122,672 127,364
Requested authorities 2,387,257 2,241,050

Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2016-2017

État des résultats prospectif pour Pêches et Océans Canada

Pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars


(en milliers de dollars)
  Résultats projetés
2015-2016
Résultats prévus
2016-2017
Charges
Des secteurs maritimes et des pêches économiquement prospères 512 915 480 901
Des écosystèmes aquatiques durables 277 607 273 665
Des eaux sécuritaires et sécurisées 761 994 750 240
Services internes 339 488 286 475
Total des charges 1 892 004 1 791 281
 
Revenus
Vente de biens et de services 86 713 86 743
Autres revenus 4 366 4 215
Revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement (41 105) (43 043)
Total des revenus 49 974 47 915
 
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 1 842 030 1 743 366

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de l'état des résultats prospectif.

 

Notes complémentaires à l'état des résultats prospectif

1. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

L'état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans de Pêches et Océans Canada qui sont décrits dans le rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats projetés de l’exercice 2015-2016 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 30 novembre 2015 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l’exercice. Des prévisions ont été réalisées pour les résultats prévus de l’exercice 2016-2017.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes:

  • Les activités de Pêches et Océans Canada resteront, pour l'essentiel, les mêmes que celles de l’exercice précédent.

  • Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont fondés sur l’expérience acquise. L’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.

  • Les provisions pour créances douteuses sont estimées à la lumière de l’expérience acquise. L’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.

Ces hypothèses ont été adoptées en date du 30 novembre 2015.

 

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l’exercice 2015-2016 et pour 2016-2017, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et l'écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation du présent état des résultats prospectif, Pêches et Océans Canada a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l'égard d'événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Elles sont évaluées de façon continue et sont fondées sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l'état des résultats prospectif et l'état des résultats historique sont entre autres :

  • Le moment et le montant des acquisitions et des aliénations d’immobilisations qui peuvent influer sur les gains ou les pertes et les charges d’amortissement.

  • La mise en oeuvre de nouvelles conventions collectives.

  • La conjoncture économique qui peut avoir une incidence à la fois sur le montant des revenus perçues et sur la possibilité de recouvrer les créances de prêts.

  • Les modifications supplémentaires au budget de fonctionnement en raison de nouvelles initiatives ou de rajustements techniques mis en oeuvre plus tard au cours de l’exercice.

Une fois que le rapport sur les plans et les priorités est présenté, Pêches et Océans Canada ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

 

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L’état des résultats prospectif a été préparé en conformité avec les conventions comptables du gouvernement qui sont entrées en vigueur pour l’exercice financier 2015-2016, lesquelles s’appuient sur les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l’utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

a) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement de Pêches et Océans Canada sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d’accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d’emploi sont accumulées et comptabilisées au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit aux termes de leurs conditions d’emploi.

Les paiements de transfert sont comptabilisés à titre de charges lorsque le bénéficiaire a satisfait aux critères d’admissibilité ou qu’il a rempli les conditions de l’accord de transfert ou, dans le cas d’opérations qui ne font pas partie d’un programme existant, dès que le gouvernement annonce une décision d’effectuer un transfert ponctuel, dans la mesure où la loi habilitante ou l’autorisation de paiement est approuvée par le Parlement avant l’achèvement de l’état financier. Les paiements de transfert qui deviennent remboursables lors de l’entrée en vigueur de conditions spécifiées dans l’accord de contribution sont comptabilisés en réduction des charges de paiement de transfert et comme montant à recevoir.

Les charges incluent des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur d’actifs. Cela comprend des provisions pour créances douteuses sur les comptes débiteurs, des provisions pour évaluation de prêts, de placements et d’avances ainsi que la désuétude des stocks ou les passifs, dont les passifs éventuels et les passifs environnementaux, dans la mesure où l’événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable peut être établie.

Les charges incluent également l’amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d’acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l’amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l’actif.

b) Revenus

Les revenus provenant de droits réglementaires sont constatés dans les comptes en fonction des services fournis au cours de l’exercice.

Les fonds reçus de tiers de l'extérieur à des fins précises sont comptabilisés à leur réception en tant que revenus reportés. Ils sont constatés dans l'exercice au cours duquel les charges connexes sont engagées.

Les fonds qui ont été reçus sont comptabilisés en tant que revenus reportés, dans la mesure où Pêches et Océans Canada a une obligation envers d'autres parties de fournir des biens, des services, ou des actifs qui seront utilisés à une date ultérieure.

Les autres revenus sont comptabilisés dans l’exercice pendant lequel les opérations ou les événements qui ont généré les revenus surviennent.

Les revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés ne peuvent servir à acquitter les passifs de Pêches et Océans Canada. Bien qu’on s’attende à ce que l'administrateur général maintienne le contrôle comptable, il n’a pas l'autorité pour disposer des revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés. Par conséquent, les revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés sont considérés comme étant gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada et sont donc présentés en réduction du montant brut des revenus de l’entité.

 

4. Autorisations parlementaires

Pêches et Océans Canada est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties au ministère ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats prospectif d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires approuvées au cours d’un exercice précédent, de l’exercice en cours ou d’exercices futurs. Par conséquent, le coût de fonctionnement net de Pêches et Océans Canada pour l'exercice diffère suivant qu’il est calculé selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées


(en milliers de dollars)
  Résultats projetés de
2015-2016
Résultats prévus de
2016-2017
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 1 842 030 1 743 366
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (189 026) (197 547)
Perte nette découlant de l'aliénation d’immobilisations corporelles (2 352) (4 827)
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères gouvernementaux (112 321) (112 903)
Diminution (augmentation) des indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires 1 805 (512)
Diminution des avantages sociaux futurs non imputés aux autorisations 2 218 322
Diminution (augmentation) des stocks (1 213) (899)
Créances douteuses (903) (882)
Remboursement de charges des exercices antérieurs 3 294 3 437
(Diminution) augmentation des comptes affectés des amendes supplémentaires pour infractions (32) 42
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations (298 530) (311 971)
 
Rajustement pour les postes sans incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisition d’immobilisations corporelles 843 757 809 655
  843 757 809 655
 
Autorisations demandées 2 387 257 2 241 050

b) Autorisations demandées


(en milliers de dollars)
  Résultats
projetés de
2015-2016
Résultats
prévus de
2016-2017
Autorisations demandées :
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de fonctionnement 1 323 906 1 238 520
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 843 757 809 655
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions 96 922 65 511
Montants des postes législatifs 122 672 127 364
Autorisations demandées 2 387 257 2 241 050