Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Report on Plans and Priorities 2013-14

Analysis of Programs by Strategic Outcome

Strategic Outcome #2 - Sustainable Aquatic Ecosystems

Description

Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s programs and policies contribute to the conservation, protection, and sustainability of Canada’s aquatic ecosystems through the management of risks that affect species, oceans, and fish habitats.

What are the Department's goals?

One of the main goals at Fisheries and Oceans Canada is to safeguard Canada’s healthy and productive aquatic ecosystems, which provide sustainable resources to Canadians.

Why do these goals matter to Canadians?

Canada has an abundant supply of natural aquatic resources contributing to the social, environmental, and economic well-being of Canadians. By sustaining productive ecosystems, Fisheries and Oceans Canada continues to support commercial, recreational, and Aboriginal fishing, thereby helping to maintain economic prosperity for current and future generations.

How does the Department achieve these goals?

Fisheries and Oceans Canada achieves these goals by setting frameworks, regulations, and policies for shared stewardship of freshwater systems, and for the management of Canada’s three oceans and the largest coastline in the world. The Department designates specific areas of the ocean as Marine Protected Areas to protect ecologically and biologically important resources. Together with support from governments, stakeholders, the international community, and Aboriginal groups, Canada has adopted an integrated approach to managing ocean space and activities.

The Department works with partners to monitor the status of aquatic species at risk to prevent further declines in their numbers and set conservation and recovery objectives based on the best available science.

In collaboration with provinces, territories, and other partners, Fisheries and Oceans Canada works to prevent aquatic invasive species from entering Canada's waterways where they can cause harm to natural ecosystems in lakes, rivers, and oceans and pose significant threats to Canadian fisheries.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada undertakes research, participates in environmental assessments, and conducts regulatory reviews for large resource projects such as mines and hydroelectric dams. The Department provides advice to help proponents comply with applicable laws and regulations that aim to prevent serious harm to commercial, recreational, and Aboriginal fisheries and respect food, social, and ceremonial fisheries requirements. A science-based, streamlined, and collaborative approach provides prompt and predictable feedback from the federal government.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada conducts research to learn how to prevent, mitigate, or adapt to a broad range of impacts on Canada’s aquatic ecosystems, such as those resulting from climate change. This research informs planning for activities such as shipping, energy development, and mining projects in Canada’s North.

The Department's fishery officers monitor and enforce compliance with federal legislation and regulations designed to protect Canada's aquatic ecosystems and the fisheries they sustain, and the Coast Guard responds to all reports of marine pollution incidents in Canadian waters. Fisheries and Oceans Canada makes every effort possible to minimize the negative effects of marine pollution incidents on Canada’s ecosystems and ensure that effective actions are taken.

The Department's actions and decisions are based not only on sound science, research, and analysis, but on a variety of Canadian interests, expressed by citizens and stakeholders from a broad range of backgrounds, to ensure long-term benefits for all Canadians.

Financial Resources ($ millions)

Total Budgetary
Expenditures
(Main Estimates)
2013-14
Planned Spending
2013-14
Planned Spending
2014-15
Planned Spending
2015-16
238.7 242.9 222.3 208.7

Human Resources (FTE)

2013-14 2014-15 2015-16
1,818 1,600 1,557

The Sustainable Aquatic Ecosystems Strategic Outcome is delivered through six programs and seven sub-programs as indicated in the Program Alignment Architecture:

Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2013-2014

Analyse des programmes par résultat stratégique

Résultat stratégique no 2 – Des écosystèmes aquatiques durables

Description

Les programmes et politiques de Pêches et Océans Canada contribuent à la conservation, à la protection, et à la durabilité des écosystèmes aquatiques du Canada grâce à la gestion des risques qui touchent les espèces, les océans, et l’habitat du poisson.

Quels sont les objectifs du Ministère?

L'un des principaux objectifs de Pêches et Océans Canada consiste à protéger les écosystèmes aquatiques sains et productifs du Canada qui fournissent des ressources durables à la population canadienne.

Pourquoi ces objectifs sont-ils importants pour les Canadiens?

Le Canada est riche en ressources naturelles aquatiques qui contribuent au bien-être social, environnemental, et économique des Canadiens. En maintenant des écosystèmes productifs, Pêches et Océans Canada continue d'appuyer les pêches commerciales, récréatives, et autochtones, ce qui contribue au maintien de la prospérité économique des générations actuelles et à venir.

Comment le Ministère compte-t-il atteindre ces objectifs?

Pêches et Océans Canada réalise ces objectifs en établissant des cadres, des règlements, et des politiques pour assurer l'intendance partagée des systèmes d'eau douche et la gestion des trois océans du Canada ainsi que du plus long littoral au monde. Le Ministère désigne des régions précises de l'océan comme zones de protection marine afin de protéger les ressources importantes sur le plan écologique et biologique. Avec l'appui des gouvernements, des intervenants, de la communauté internationale, et des groupes autochtones, le Canada a adopté une approche intégrée de la gestion de l'espace océanique et des activités liées aux océans.

Le Ministère collabore avec ses partenaires pour surveiller la situation des espèces aquatiques en péril en vue d'empêcher d'autres déclins de leurs populations et pour fixer des objectifs de conservation et de rétablissement en fonction des meilleures données scientifiques disponibles.

En collaboration avec les provinces, les territoires, et d'autres partenaires, Pêches et Océans Canada s'efforce d'empêcher les espèces aquatiques envahissantes de pénétrer les voies navigables canadiennes, où elles sont susceptibles de nuire aux écosystèmes naturels des lacs, des rivières, et des océans, en plus de constituer une menace importante pour l'industrie des pêches.

Pêches et Océans Canada entreprend des recherches, participe à des évaluations environnementales, et effectue des examens réglementaires dans le cadre de grands projets d'exploitation des ressources, comme les mines et les barrages hydroélectriques. Le Ministère offre des conseils afin d'aider les promoteurs à se conformer aux lois et aux règlements en vigueur dont l'objectif est d'éviter des dommages graves aux pêches commerciales, récréatives, et autochtones ainsi que de respecter les exigences en matière de pêches à des fins alimentaires, sociales, et rituelles. Une approche de collaboration rationalisée et axée sur la science permet d'obtenir une rétroaction opportune et prévisible du gouvernement fédéral.

Pêches et Océans Canada effectue des recherches afin de mieux comprendre les moyens de prévenir, d'atténuer, ou d'adapter une vaste gamme d'incidences sur les écosystèmes aquatiques du Canada, comme les répercussions des changements climatiques. Ces recherches permettent d'orienter la planification d'activités, comme la marine marchande, le développement énergétique, et les projets d'exploitation minière dans le Nord canadien.

Les agents des pêches surveillent et imposent la conformité aux lois et aux règlements fédéraux mis en place dans le but de protéger les écosystèmes aquatiques canadiens et les pêches qui en dépendent. La Garde côtière intervient quant à elle lorsque des incidents de pollution marine sont signalés dans les eaux canadiennes. Pêches et Océans Canada déploie tous les efforts possibles afin de réduire au minimum les répercussions négatives des incidents de pollution marine sur les écosystèmes du Canada et veille à ce que les mesures qui s'imposent soient prises.

Les mesures et les décisions du Ministère sont fondées non seulement sur des données, des recherches, et des analyses scientifiques fiables, mais également sur divers intérêts exprimés par des citoyens et des intervenants canadiens provenant d'horizons variés, dans le but de générer des avantages à long terme pour la population canadienne.

Ressources financières (en millions de dollars)

Total des dépenses
budgétaires
(Budget principal des dépenses)
2013-2014
Dépenses prévues
2013-2014
Dépenses prévues
2014-2015
Dépenses prévues
2015-2016
238,7 242,9 222,3 208,7

Ressources humaines (ETP)

2013-2014 2014-2015 2015-2016
1 818 1 600 1 557

Le résultat stratégique « Des écosystèmes aquatiques durables » s'articule autour de six programmes et de sept sous-programmes, comme le montre l'Architecture d'alignement des programmes :