Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Report on Plans and Priorities 2013-14

Analysis of Programs by Strategic Outcome

Strategic Outcome #1 - Economically Prosperous Maritime Sectors and Fisheries

Description

Through its policies, programs, and services, and while supporting the sustainable and effective use of Canada’s water resources, Fisheries and Oceans Canada contributes to the capacity of Canada’s maritime sectors and fisheries to derive economic benefits and further enhance their competitiveness.

What are the Department's goals?

The Department's goals are to increase the economic benefits associated with Canada’s maritime sectors, fisheries, and aquaculture and to enhance the competitiveness of these sectors in existing areas, as well as in emerging areas such as Canada’s North.

Why do these goals matter to Canadians?

Marine-related industries including fisheries and aquaculture contribute significantly to the Canadian economy. In 2008, the most recent year for which data is available, these industries contributed $39 billion to Canada’s gross domestic product and employed over 329,000 people.

Fisheries and seafood sectors — commercial harvesting, seafood processing, and aquaculture industries — remain economic mainstays in various regional economies. Total commercial sea fisheries and freshwater landings reached $1.6 billion in 2010 while aquaculture production was valued at $927 million. Gross revenues of the seafood product processing sector were $3.7 billion. In 2010, Canada ranked 7th among seafood exporting countries in terms of total export value, with exports to more than 130 countries worldwide.

Effective and safe maritime transportation is central to the efficient movement of goods in Canada. One in five jobs in Canada depends on trade, much of which moves within Canada, leaves the country, or arrives via shipping through waterways. These contributions are particularly significant in the Pacific and Atlantic regions, where they account for an important share of provincial gross domestic product and employment. Fisheries and Oceans Canada's work on delineating the extended continental shelf under the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea will also secure opportunities to access marine resources and derive economic benefits from them.

There is considerable economic potential in the North. Arctic oil and gas is estimated to be approximately 20% of remaining global reserves. While the potential of emerging fisheries in the Arctic is not yet determined, current commercial fisheries in Canada’s North are dominated by shrimp and turbot, while over 300 fish stocks and 50 marine mammal stocks are harvested for various purposes including cultural reasons for Canada’s Northern Aboriginal communities.

How does the Department achieve these goals?

In collaboration with governments, industry, and stakeholders, Fisheries and Oceans Canada promotes economic opportunity by facilitating trade, establishing stable regulatory frameworks, putting in place infrastructure such as small craft harbours and navigational tools, and communicating with Canadians and the marketplace. The Department also works to make sure that these economic opportunities are open to Canada’s Aboriginal peoples.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada facilitates maritime transport (and, as a result, trade) through the provision of essential services (e.g., icebreaking, aids to navigation, and waterways management) and information to mariners using Canadian waters. The Department also works bilaterally and multilaterally to manage fisheries and aquaculture sustainably and to secure access to domestic and international markets for Canada’s fisheries and aquaculture industry. This involves, for example, reducing trade and non-tariff barriers and establishing fair and transparent rules in the international marketplace, including influencing international and market-driven standards and certification programs.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada supports the development of Canada’s commercial and recreational fisheries and aquaculture. It also develops regulatory frameworks for the management of Canada’s fisheries and aquaculture industry based on strong evidence derived from both scientific and economic research. The Department develops and delivers policies, programs, and plans (e.g., Integrated Fisheries Management Plans, Conservation and Harvesting Plans, Fisheries Rebuilding Plans, Recovery Strategies and Action Plans, and the Salmonid Enhancement Program) to support economic opportunity and predictability and ensure that resources are managed sustainably for long-term economic growth.

When developing policies, regulations, and programs, the Department strives to ensure that the aquaculture sector is regulated in a cost-effective, predictable, and coordinated fashion with other federal and provincial regulating agencies, and, in areas where the Department leads, it develops and implements management plans. Fisheries and Oceans Canada provides leadership, shared with the provinces and industry, for the development and implementation of aquaculture plans in Canada to support removing constraints to a growing sustainable aquaculture industry. The Department conducts scientific research and assessments, and provides advice to management to support the sustainable development of these resources and ensure that decisions are based on the best available knowledge, and that the impact of future events such as climate change, is integrated into our planning. The Department also communicates proactively with Canadians and the marketplace to ensure that relevant, factual, and timely information is available.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada operates and maintains a network of small craft harbours that provides important infrastructure for the commercial fishers and aquaculture industries and that supports the broader interests of coastal communities.

Through the Canadian Hydrographic Service, the Department supports Canada’s efforts to delineate our extended jurisdiction over the continental shelf under the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea. This extended jurisdiction will enhance Canadian access to offshore resources. The Canadian Hydrographic Service provides marine geodetic1 expertise to support the delineation of Canada's offshore boundaries as well as its defence and surveillance requirements.

Finally, within the context of existing and potential Aboriginal rights, the Department facilitates the participation of First Nations in economic opportunities associated with the fisheries and aquaculture industries, through enhanced access, negotiations, and capacity building, respecting the food, social, and ceremonial fisheries requirements.

Financial Resources ($ millions)

Total Budgetary
Expenditures
(Main Estimates)
2013-14
Planned Spending
2013-14
Planned Spending
2014-15
Planned Spending
2015-16
421.6 421.7 407.2 407.3

Human Resources (FTE)

2013-14 2014-15 2015-16
2,022 1,989 1,989

The Economically Prosperous Maritime Sectors and Fisheries Strategic Outcome is delivered through eleven programs and thirteen sub-programs as indicated in the Program Alignment Architecture:


Footnotes

1 The term 'geodetic' means of or relating to the measurement and representation of the Earth.

Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2013-2014

Analyse des programmes par résultat stratégique

Résultat stratégique no 1 – Des secteurs maritimes et des pêches économiquement prospères

Description

Grâce à ses politiques, ses programmes, et ses services, et tout en favorisant l’utilisation durable et efficace des ressources hydriques du Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada contribue à accroître la capacité des secteurs maritimes et des pêches au Canada de tirer des avantages économiques et d’améliorer encore davantage leur compétitivité.

Quels sont les objectifs du Ministère?

Le Ministère a pour objectif d'augmenter les avantages économiques associés aux secteurs maritimes, aux pêches, et à l'aquaculture du Canada, ainsi que d'améliorer la compétitivité de ces secteurs, dans les régions actuelles comme dans les régions émergentes telles que le Nord du Canada.

Pourquoi ces objectifs sont-ils importants pour les Canadiens?

Les industries maritimes, notamment les pêches et l'aquaculture, contribuent de façon importante à l'économie du Canada. Ces industries ont contribué à raison de 39 milliards de dollars au produit intérieur brut du Canada en 2008 (année des données les plus récentes) et ont fourni des emplois à plus de 329 000 personnes.

Les secteurs de la pêche et des produits de la mer, par exemple la pêche commerciale, la transformation des fruits de mer, et l'aquaculture, restent les piliers économiques de diverses économies régionales. Le total des débarquements des pêches commerciales maritimes et d'eau douce ont atteint 1,6 milliard de dollars en 2010, et la production de l'aquaculture a été évaluée à 927 millions de dollars. Les revenus bruts du secteur de la transformation de produits de la mer ont été de 3,7 milliards de dollars. En 2010, le Canada s'est classé au 7e rang des pays exportateurs de fruits de mer en termes de valeur totale des exportations, exportant vers plus de 130 pays à travers le monde.

Un transport maritime efficace et sécuritaire est essentiel au déplacement rapide des marchandises au Canada. Au Canada, un emploi sur cinq dépend du transport des marchandises, qui s'effectue en grande partie par voie maritime à l'intérieur du territoire canadien, à destination de pays étrangers ou en provenance de l'extérieur. Ces contributions sont particulièrement significatives dans les régions du Pacifique et de l'Atlantique, où elles jouent un rôle important en ce qui concerne le produit intérieur brut provincial et l'emploi. Les efforts de Pêches et Océans Canada en vue de définir le plateau continental étendu dans le cadre de la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer permettront également de profiter des possibilités d'accès aux ressources maritimes et de tirer profit des avantages économiques qui en découlent.

Le Nord représente un potentiel économique considérable. On estime que les réserves de gaz et de pétrole en Arctique représentent 20 % des réserves mondiales disponibles. Bien qu'il n'ait pas encore été déterminé s'il était possible d'instaurer de nouvelles pêches dans l'Arctique, la pêche commerciale ayant actuellement cours dans le Nord canadien est dominée par la crevette et le turbot. Par ailleurs, plus de 300 stocks de poissons et 50 stocks de mammifères marins sont capturés à diverses fins, y compris pour des raisons culturelles par les collectivités autochtones du Nord canadien.

Comment le Ministère compte-t-il atteindre ces objectifs?

De concert avec les gouvernements, l'industrie, et les intervenants, Pêches et Océans Canada favorise les possibilités économiques en facilitant le commerce, en établissant des cadres réglementaires stables, en mettant en place l'infrastructure nécessaire (ports pour petits bateaux, outils de navigation), et en communiquant avec la population canadienne et le marché. Le Ministère cherche également à partager ces possibilités économiques avec les peuples autochtones du Canada.

Pêches et Océans Canada facilite le transport maritime — et par conséquent le commerce — en fournissant des services, comme le déglaçage, les aides à la navigation, et la gestion des voies navigables, et des renseignements essentiels aux navigateurs qui sillonnent les eaux canadiennes. Le Ministère travaille également à des partenariats bilatéraux et multilatéraux visant à gérer les pêches et l'aquaculture de façon durable et à assurer l'accès des industries des pêches et de l'aquaculture canadiennes aux marchés nationaux et internationaux. Cela comprend, par exemple, la lutte contre les obstacles au commerce et les obstacles non tarifaires, et l'établissement de règles justes et transparentes sur les marchés internationaux, notamment en exerçant une influence sur les normes et les programmes de certification internationaux qui sont axés sur les marchés.

Pêches et Océans Canada appuie le développement de la pêche commerciale, de la pêche récréative, et de l’aquaculture au Canada. Le Ministère établit des cadres réglementaires pour la gestion des industries des pêches et de l'aquaculture canadiennes qui sont fondés sur des recherches économiques et scientifiques probantes. Le Ministère élabore et met en œuvre des politiques, des programmes, et des plans (p. ex., Plans de gestion intégrée des pêches, Plans de pêche axés sur la conservation, Plans de rétablissement des pêches, Programmes et Mesures de rétablissement, et le Programme de mise en valeur des salmonidés) afin d'appuyer le développement économique et la prévisibilité et de garantir la gestion durable des ressources pour assurer une croissance économique à long terme.

En élaborant ses politiques, ses règlements, et ses programmes, le Ministère veille à ce que le secteur de l'aquaculture soit réglementé de manière efficiente, prévisible, et coordonnée avec les autres organismes de réglementation fédéraux et provinciaux. De plus, en ce qui concerne les domaines qu'il dirige, il établit et met en œuvre des plans de gestion. En collaboration avec les provinces et l'industrie, Pêches et Océans Canada fournit un leadership pour l'élaboration de plans d'aquaculture et leur mise en œuvre au Canada afin d'appuyer l'élimination des obstacles au développement d'une industrie aquacole durable. Il mène des recherches scientifiques, réalise des évaluations et prodigue des conseils aux gestionnaires dans le but d'appuyer le développement durable de toutes ces ressources, de garantir des décisions fondées sur les meilleures connaissances disponibles et d'assurer la prise en compte d'événements futurs, comme le changement climatique, dans la planification. Le Ministère communique aussi de façon proactive avec la population canadienne et le marché pour s'assurer de disposer en tout temps de renseignements pertinents, factuels, et opportuns.

Pêches et Océans Canada exploite et entretient un réseau de ports pour petits bateaux qui offre une importante infrastructure aux industries de la pêche commerciale et de l’aquaculture tout en appuyant les intérêts généraux des communautés côtières.

Par l'intermédiaire du Service hydrographique du Canada, le Ministère appuie les efforts du Canada visant à définir les limites de notre souveraineté étendue sur le plateau continental dans le cadre de la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer. L'extension de la zone de compétence du pays améliorera l'accès des Canadiens aux ressources hauturières. Le Service hydrographique du Canada fournit l'expertise en matière de géodésie marine1 qui appuie la délimitation des frontières du Canada en haute mer ainsi que certaines exigences nationales relatives à la défense et la surveillance.

Enfin, dans le contexte des droits ancestraux existants et potentiels le Ministère facilite la participation des Premières nations à l’exploitation des possibilités économiques qui découlent des industries des pêches et de l’aquaculture, et ce, en favorisant l'accès, en menant des négociations, en renforçant la capacité, et en respectant les exigences des pêches à des fins alimentaires, sociales, et rituelles.

Ressources financières (en millions de dollars)

Total des dépenses
budgétaires
(Budget principal des dépenses)
2013-2014
Dépenses prévues
2013-2014
Dépenses prévues
2014-2015
Dépenses prévues
2015-2016
421,6 421,7 407,2 407,3

Ressources humaines (ETP)

2013-2014 2014-2015 2015-2016
2 022 1 989 1 989

Le résultat stratégique « Des secteurs maritimes et des pêches économiquement prospères » s'articule autour de onze programmes et de treize sous-programmes, comme le montre l'Architecture d'alignement des programmes :


Notes en bas de page

1 Le terme « géodésie » se rapporte à la mesure et à la représentation de la Terre.