Glossary for fisheries sustainability survey

Biomass

Biomass, or the index of biomass, is the total weight of a given species of fish in one area at a specific time. This can be for a full population or a defined portion of it. The time periods are usually the time of the survey or measurement.

Biomass maximum sustainable yield is the biomass level for a species where harvest of this species is maximized. This is influenced by the health of the fish population and other environmental factors.

Bycatch

Bycatch is the unintentional catch of a species when meaning to catch another. In many fisheries, it’s not possible to directly fish for one species without also capturing others, including:

Cautious zone

A stock is considered to be in the cautious zone if the biomass, or the index of biomass, is higher than the limit reference point but lower than the upper stock reference point.

This means it’s greater than 40% of biomass maximum sustainable yield but lower than 80% of the yield.

Critical zone

A stock is considered to be in the critical zone if the mature biomass, or its index, is less than the limit reference point. This means it’s less than or equal to 40% of biomass maximum sustainable yield, which is where serious harm is likely occurring to the stock.

Conservation harvesting plan

Conservation harvesting plans are fishing plans that identify harvesting methods aimed at minimizing the harvest of small fish and bycatch of groundfish. Plans typically include measures to control and monitor:

Fish stock

Fish stock is a population of individuals of a species found in a particular area. The term is used as a unit for fisheries management, such as the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization area 4R herring.

Fishing gear

Fishing gear is a tool used to capture fish, such as a gill or seine net.

Forage species

A forage species is one that is below the top of an aquatic food chain. It’s an important source of food for at least some other aquatic species, and it experiences high mortality from these predators.

Harvest decision rule

A harvest decision rule is also called a harvest control rule. This is a set of defined management actions for each precautionary approach stock status zone that:

Healthy zone

A stock is considered to be in the healthy zone if its biomass, or the index of the biomass, is higher than its upper stock reference point. This means it would be higher than 80% of biomass maximum sustainable yield.

Limit reference point

The limit reference point is the boundary between the cautious and critical zones. Serious harm is occurring to the stock in the level below this point.

At this stock status level, there may be impacts to the ecosystem and associated species. There may also be long-term loss of fishing opportunities.

Precautionary approach

The precautionary approach is the way fisheries management exercises caution when scientific information is uncertain, unreliable or inadequate. It involves taking action to prevent serious harm even when we don’t have adequate scientific information to prove the need for such action.

Sustainability

Sustainability means a species can survive and meet the needs of their present population without weakening the chances of future generations to meet their own needs. Sustainability reflects the capacity to thrive over the long term.

Uncertain stock status

The uncertain status means we don’t have enough information to assign the stock to a precautionary approach zone. This doesn’t mean there’s no information about a stock, just that we haven’t identified reference points, or that some other data isn’t available.

Upper stock reference point

The upper stock reference point is the boundary between the healthy and cautious zones. When a fish stock level falls below this point, we must reduce the harvesting removal rate to avoid serious harm to the stock.

Glossaire pour l’Étude sur la durabilité des pêches

Biomasse

La biomasse, ou l’indice de la biomasse, est le poids total d’une espèce de poisson donnée dans une zone à un moment précis. Elle peut porter sur l’ensemble de la population ou une partie définie de celle-ci. Les périodes sont généralement le moment du relevé ou de la mesure.

Le rendement maximal soutenu de la biomasse est le niveau de biomasse d’une espèce auquel la récolte de cette espèce est maximisée. Il est influencé par la santé de la population de poissons et d’autres facteurs environnementaux.

Prises accessoires

Espèce capturée par accident lors d’une pêche qui ciblait une autre espèce. Dans bien des pêches, il est impossible de pêcher directement une espèce sans en capturer d’autres, comme des :

Zone de prudence

On considère qu’un stock se situe dans la zone de prudence si la biomasse, ou son indice, est plus élevée que le point de référence limite, mais inférieure au point de référence supérieur du stock.

En d’autres termes, elle est supérieure à 40 % du rendement maximal soutenu de la biomasse, mais inférieure à 80 % du rendement.

Zone critique

On considère que le stock se situe dans la zone critique si la biomasse mature, ou son indice, est inférieure au point de référence limite. En d’autres termes, elle est inférieure ou égale à 40 % du rendement maximal soutenu de la biomasse, qui est le point où il est probable que des dommages graves sont causés au stock.

Plan de pêche axé sur la conservation

Les plans de pêche axés sur la conservation sont des plans de pêche qui déterminent les méthodes de capture visant à réduire au minimum les prises accessoires de petits poissons et les prises accessoires de poissons de fond. Ces plans comprennent habituellement des mesures de contrôle et de surveillance :

Stock de poissons

Un stock de poissons est une population d’individus d’une même espèce présente dans une zone donnée. Ce terme est utilisé comme unité pour la gestion des pêches, comme le hareng de la zone 4R de l’Organisation des pêches de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest.

Engin de pêche

L’outil qui est utilisé pour capturer les poissons, comme un filet maillant ou une senne.

Espèces fourragères

Une espèce fourragère est une espèce qui se trouve sous le sommet d’une chaîne alimentaire aquatique. Elle constitue une importante source de nourriture pour certaines autres espèces aquatiques et connaît une forte mortalité par prédation.

Règle de décision en matière de prises

Une règle de décision en matière de prises est aussi nommée règle de contrôle des prises. C’est un ensemble de mesures de gestion définies pour chaque zone d’état du stock dans l’approche de précaution qui :

Zone saine

Un stock est considéré comme étant dans la zone saine si sa biomasse, ou l’indice de sa biomasse, est plus élevée que le point de référence supérieur du stock. En d’autres termes, elle serait supérieure à 80 % du rendement maximal soutenu de la biomasse.

Point de référence limite

Le point de référence limite est la limite entre la zone de prudence et la zone critique. En-dessous de ce point, le stock subit des dommages graves.

À ce niveau de l’état du stock, il peut également y avoir des répercussions sur l’écosystème et sur les espèces associées. Des possibilités de pêche risquent aussi d’être perdues à long terme.

Approche de précaution

L’approche de précaution est la manière dont la gestion des pêches fait preuve de prudence lorsque les données scientifiques sont incertaines, peu fiables ou inadéquates. Elle nécessite de prendre des mesures en vue d’éviter de causer des dommages graves lorsque nous ne disposons pas de données scientifiques adéquates pour prouver que cette mesure est justifiée.

Durabilité

La durabilité signifie qu’une espèce peut survivre et satisfaire aux besoins de sa population actuelle sans compromettre la possibilité pour les générations futures de répondre à leurs propres besoins. La durabilité reflète la capacité de prospérer à long terme.

État incertain du stock

Un état incertain signifie que nous ne disposons pas de suffisamment de renseignements sur le stock pour lui attribuer une des zones de l’approche de précaution. Cela ne veut pas dire qu’il n’existe pas de données sur le stock. Par contre, nous n’avons pas défini les points de référence ou que d’autres données ne sont pas disponibles.

Point de référence supérieur du stock

Le point de référence supérieur du stock indique la limite entre la zone saine et la zone de prudence. Lorsque le niveau d’un stock de poissons tombe en-dessous de ce point, nous devons réduire le taux d’exploitation afin d’éviter que le stock subisse des dommages graves.