Introduction to the procedural steps for implementing the Fishery Monitoring Policy

On this page

Introduction

This document introduces the six-step process for consistent national application of the Fishery Monitoring Policy. Consistency will require that all six steps including the assessment tools be applied to all federally managed fisheries in Canada, over time, on a priority basis. Note that this document does not describe technical details of the assessment tools or their application, and is not intended as final guidance for implementing the policy. DFO will develop further guidance to elaborate on the requirements under the individual steps.

Prioritize fisheries for assessment (Step 1)

DFO Regions will lead the prioritization of fisheries in which the policy will be applied to first, based on criteria such as conservation or compliance concerns, among other considerations. The selection of priority fisheries will be done in collaboration with Indigenous groups and stakeholdersFootnote 1. Each DFO Region will develop a work plan with actions and timelines to apply the policy to the selected fisheries. All fisheries will eventually be examined according to priorities.

Assess the monitoring program (Step 2)

In general, the assessment step will involve: selecting the assessment units, gathering information including Indigenous knowledge on the fishery and its monitoring program, applying the assessment tools, and performing a gap analysis. DFO will undertake the assessment of monitoring programs, which includes the risk screening, assessment of data quality, and the determination of monitoring program dependability, in collaboration with Indigenous groups and stakeholdersFootnote 1.

Risk Screening and Quality and Dependability Assessment

Risk will be examined using the Risk Screening Tool. This tool can consider conservation risk at the fishery level and at the stockFootnote 2 /population level by examining a number of conservation risk factors such as risk to the stock that is the target of the fishery. It also can examine compliance factors in a fishery. Risk scores are generated based on the likelihood of occurrence of a set of established consequences.

Data quality will be examined using the Quality Assessment Tool. This tool quantifies sources of bias and variability associated with a catch estimate derived from a monitoring program. These results can be used to determine whether a monitoring program is adequate to support the achievement of fishery objectives. Where risk is assessed at the stockFootnote 2 /population level, and data quality is assessed in monitoring programs for all fisheries significantly impacting the stockFootnote 2 /population, dependability of the monitoring programs can be determined.

Gap Analysis

Assessors will use the findings of the risk screening and quality and dependability assessment to determine if changes or improvements are needed to the current monitoring objectives, the data requirements, and /or the overall monitoring program. The results will either confirm the adequacy of the monitoring program, or they will help identify areas where improvements are needed to meet the monitoring objectives.

Set monitoring objectives (Step 3)

The results of the gap analysis will be used to adjust or develop conservation and compliance monitoring objectives to address any identified gaps and to meet the fishery goals. Monitoring objectives will guide the selection of monitoring methods, tools, frequency and coverage levels, which are needed to address the risks and achieve the desired level of quality and dependability determined in Step 2. Monitoring objectives must align with the objectives of the Fishery Monitoring Policy. The development of fishery monitoring objectives must also consider factors that affect the complexity of the fishery, such as international agreements requiring specific data, treaty requirements, or complex management regimes such as in-season individual quota transferability.

Fishery managers will develop the objectives in collaboration with Indigenous groups and stakeholdersFootnote 1. The monitoring objectives should be communicated and implemented through the Integrated Fisheries Management Plan (IFMP) process or through other fishery planning processes.

Specify monitoring requirements (Step 4)

Fishery managers will work with Indigenous groups and stakeholdersFootnote 1 to determine the combination of data collection methods, tools, and coverage levels to meet the minimum data requirements to achieve the monitoring objectives. Requirements must be specified for conservation objectives and compliance objectives. The determination of requirements must also consider cost, practicality, and the complexity of the fishery. Other factors to consider include the capacity and resource constraints of subsistence fisheries in remote areas. The monitoring requirements to achieve individual objectives may differ. For example, compliance objectives may require that the coverage level and distribution by area for at-sea monitoring be different than needed to achieve conservation objectives.

If the current monitoring program is deemed adequate following assessment, no changes would be expected. If a gap exists, then DFO will work with the participants to identify corrective actions to improve the monitoring program.

When establishing monitoring requirements, it is also important to consider whether appropriate information management systems are in place to support the new requirements.

Operationalize the monitoring program (Step 5)

Recommendations from the assessment including requirements identified through Step 4 should be documented and implemented through appropriate fishery planning processes, and communicated to fish harvesters. Adjusting or strengthening a monitoring program in an assessed fishery will require close coordination with fish harvesters.

If the proposed monitoring program is not deemed affordable or operationally feasible for fish harvesters or DFO, all alternatives must be explored in order to achieve the monitoring objectives.

Regional work plans identified in Step 1 will outline concrete actions and associated timelines to address the gaps in a timely manner. Some gaps may take longer to address than others, for example, due to technical constraints or resource availability.

Review the fishery monitoring program against the monitoring objectives and report (Step 6)

As noted in Section 10 of the Policy, as part of the IFMP post-season review process, DFO will evaluate the monitoring programs against the monitoring objectives. Where there is evidence that monitoring objectives are not being achieved in a fishery, a plan will be established in collaboration with the fishery participants to take corrective action.

In addition, over the longer term, DFO will track and evaluate progress to achieve the policy objectives and report on the progress.

Introduction aux étapes de la procédure de mise en œuvre de la Politique de surveillance des pêches

Sur cette page

Introduction

Ce document présente les six étapes du processus qui garantissent l’application nationale cohérente de la Politique de surveillance des pêches. Dans ce souci de cohérence, les six étapes, y compris les outils d’évaluation, devront être appliquées à toutes les pêches gérées par le gouvernement fédéral au Canada, au fil du temps et selon les priorités. Veuillez noter que le présent document ne décrit pas les détails techniques des outils d’évaluation ou de leur application et qu’il ne se veut pas un guide final pour la mise en œuvre de la politique. Le MPO élaborera d’autres directives pour préciser les exigences relatives aux différentes étapes.

Établir l’ordre de priorité des pêches aux fins d’évaluation (Étape 1)

Les régions du MPO établiront l’ordre de priorité des pêches auxquelles la politique s’appliquera en premier, en fonction de critères comme les préoccupations en matière de conservation ou de conformité, entre autres considérations. La sélection des pêches prioritaires se fera en collaboration avec les groupes autochtones et les intervenantsFootnote 1. Chaque région du MPO élaborera un plan de travail assorti de mesures et d’échéanciers pour appliquer la politique aux pêches choisies. Toutes les pêches seront ultimement examinées en fonction des priorités.

Évaluer le programme de surveillance (Étape 2)

En général, l’étape d’évaluation comprendra: la sélection des unités d’évaluation, la collecte d’information, y compris le savoir autochtone sur la pêche et son programme de surveillance, l’application des outils d’évaluation et la réalisation d’une analyse des lacunes. Le MPO entreprendra l’évaluation des programmes de surveillance, qui comprend l’examen des risques, l’évaluation de la qualité des données et la détermination de la fiabilité du programme de surveillance, en collaboration avec les groupes autochtones et les intervenantsFootnote 1.

Examen des risques et évaluation de la qualité et de la fiabilité

Les risques seront examinés à l’aide de l’outil d’évaluation des risques. Cet outil peut tenir compte du risque pour la conservation au niveau de la pêche et au niveau du stockFootnote 2 ou de la population, en examinant un certain nombre de facteurs de risque pour la conservation tels que le risque pour le stock visé par la pêche. Il peut également examiner les facteurs de conformité dans une pêche. Les cotes de risque sont obtenues en fonction de la probabilité qu’un ensemble de conséquences établies se produisent.

La qualité des données sera examinée à l’aide de l’outil d’évaluation de la qualité. Cet outil quantifie les sources de biais et de variabilité associées à une estimation des prises dérivée d’un programme de surveillance. Ces résultats peuvent servir à déterminer si un programme de surveillance est adéquat pour appuyer l’atteinte des objectifs de la pêche. Lorsque le risque est évalué au niveau du stockFootnote 2 ou de la population et que la qualité des données est évaluée dans le cadre des programmes de surveillance pour toutes les pêches ayant une incidence importante sur le stockFootnote 2 ou la population, il est possible de déterminer la fiabilité des programmes de surveillance.

Analyse des lacunes

Les évaluateurs utiliseront les résultats de l’examen des risques et de l’évaluation de la qualité et de la fiabilité pour déterminer s’il convient de modifier ou d’améliorer les objectifs de surveillance actuels, les exigences en matière de données ou le programme de surveillance global. Les résultats confirmeront la pertinence du programme de surveillance ou aideront à déterminer les secteurs où des améliorations sont nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs de surveillance.

Définir les objectifs de surveillance (Étape 3)

Les résultats de l’analyse des lacunes serviront à ajuster ou à élaborer des objectifs de surveillance de la conservation et de la conformité afin de combler les lacunes relevées et d’atteindre les objectifs de la pêche. Les objectifs de surveillance guideront le choix des méthodes, des outils, de la fréquence et des niveaux de couverture de surveillance qui sont nécessaires pour faire face aux risques et atteindre le niveau de qualité et de fiabilité souhaité, déterminé à l’étape 2. Les objectifs de la surveillance doivent correspondre aux objectifs de la Politique de surveillance des pêches. L’élaboration des objectifs de surveillance de la pêche doit également tenir compte des facteurs qui influent sur la complexité de la pêche, comme les accords internationaux exigeant des données précises, les exigences des traités ou les régimes de gestion complexes comme la transférabilité des quotas individuels en cours de saison.

Les gestionnaires des pêches élaboreront les objectifs en collaboration avec les groupes autochtones et les intervenantsFootnote 1. Les objectifs de surveillance devront être communiqués et mis en œuvre dans le cadre du processus du Plan de gestion intégrée des pêches (PGIP) ou d’autres processus de planification des pêches.

Préciser les exigences en matière de surveillance (Étape 4)

Les gestionnaires des pêches travailleront avec les groupes autochtones et les intervenantsFootnote 1 pour déterminer la combinaison de méthodes de collecte de données, d’outils et de niveaux de couverture qui permettra de répondre aux exigences minimales en matière de données pour atteindre les objectifs de surveillance. Les exigences doivent être définies pour les objectifs de conservation et les objectifs de conformité. La détermination des exigences doit également tenir compte du coût, du caractère pratique et de la complexité de la pêche. Parmi les autres facteurs à prendre en compte figurent les contraintes de capacité et de ressources des pêcheries de subsistance dans les zones reculées. Les exigences en matière de surveillance peuvent être différentes pour atteindre les divers objectifs. Par exemple, les objectifs de conformité peuvent exiger que le niveau de couverture et la répartition par zone pour la surveillance en mer soient différents de ceux qui sont nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs de conservation.

Si le programme de surveillance actuel est jugé adéquat à la suite de l’évaluation, aucun changement n’est prévu. Si une lacune a été relevée, le MPO travaillera avec les participants en vue de déterminer les mesures correctives à prendre afin d’améliorer le programme de surveillance.

Au moment d’établir les exigences en matière de surveillance, il est également important de déterminer si des systèmes de gestion de l’information appropriés sont en place pour appuyer les nouvelles exigences.

Mettre en œuvre le programme de surveillance (Étape 5)

Les recommandations découlant de l’évaluation, y compris les exigences définies à l’étape 4, devraient être documentées et mises en œuvre au moyen de processus appropriés de planification de la pêche, et communiquées aux pêcheurs. L’ajustement ou le renforcement d’un programme de surveillance dans une pêche évaluée nécessitera une coordination étroite avec les pêcheurs.

Si le programme de surveillance proposé n’est pas jugé abordable ou faisable sur le plan opérationnel pour les pêcheurs ou le MPO, il convient d’examiner toutes les solutions de rechange permettant d’atteindre les objectifs de surveillance.

Les plans de travail régionaux définis à l’étape 1 donneront un aperçu des mesures concrètes et des échéanciers connexes pour combler les lacunes rapidement. Toutefois, certaines lacunes peuvent prendre plus de temps que d’autres, par exemple en raison de contraintes techniques ou de la disponibilité des ressources.

Examiner le programme de surveillance des pêches par rapport aux objectifs et en faire rapport (Étape 6)

Comme il est indiqué à la section 10 de la Politique, dans le cadre du processus d’examen d’après-saison du PGIP, le MPO évaluera les programmes de surveillance en fonction des objectifs de surveillance. Lorsqu’il y a des preuves que les objectifs de surveillance ne sont pas atteints, un plan sera établi en collaboration avec les participants de la pêche pour prendre des mesures correctives.

De plus, à plus long terme, le MPO suivra et évaluera les progrès réalisés en vue d’atteindre les objectifs de la politique et en fera rapport.