Archived - The Government of Canada’s Response to the Environmental Assessment Report of the Joint Review Panel on the Whites Point Quarry and Marine Terminal Project (the Project)

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

On March 24, 2003, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) received the proponent’s (Bilcon of Nova Scotia) project description, consisting of a 152-hectare basalt quarry, processing facility and marine shipping terminal at White’s Point, Digby County, Nova Scotia approximately 35 km southwest of Digby, N.S along the shores of the Bay of Fundy.

The Project consists of a 152 hectare (ha) basalt quarry, processing facility and deepwater marine shipping terminal. The proponent proposes that a total of 120 ha of the 152 ha site would be quarried. Quarrying production is expected to be 2 million tonnes of aggregate per year. The land-based quarry operations are expected to be year round with aggregate stockpiled for ship loading once per week. Drilling and blasting of basalt rock, loading, hauling, crushing, screening, washing, and stockpiling would be done on-site.

It was determined that the proposed construction of the marine terminal would require: (i) DFO authorization pursuant to subsection 35(2) of the Fisheries Act; and (ii) Transport Canada (TC) approval in accordance with paragraph 5(1) (a) of the Navigable Waters Protection Act. Prior to the issuance of any federal approvals, it was necessary to conduct an environmental assessment (EA) of the Project under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (CEAA). DFO and TC are Responsible Authorities (RAs) for the EA by virtue of their regulatory responsibilities under the Fisheries Act and Navigable Waters Protection Act related to the proposed marine terminal component of the proposal.

The proposal is also subject to an environmental assessment under the Nova Scotia Environment Act. On March 31, 2003, both levels of government agreed to a joint federal-provincial EA process.

In June 2003, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans referred the Project to the Minister of the Environment for referral to a review panel pursuant to section 21(b) of the CEAA. On November 5, 2004, Canada and Nova Scotia announced that a joint federal-provincial review panel had been established for the Whites Point Quarry and Marine Terminal Project.

The Joint Review Panel hearings were held in Digby, N.S. between June 16, 2007 and June 30, 2007. DFO and TC presented their technical advice and views to the Panel on June 20, 2007.

The Panel report was made available to the public on October 23, 2007. The Panel found that the Project would have a significant adverse effect on a valued environmental component represented by the "core values" of the affected communities. The Panel believes that "core values" are shared beliefs by individuals within groups, and constitute defining features of communities. It stated that the people of Digby Neck and Islands have developed core values that reflect their sense of place, their desire for self-reliance, and the need to respect and sustain their surrounding environment. The Panel concluded, based on an analysis of the burdens and benefits, that the burdens outweighed the benefits and that it would not be in the public interest to proceed with the Whites Point Quarry and Marine Terminal development.

The Panel recommended that the Nova Scotia Minister of Environment and Labour reject the White Point Quarry and Marine Terminal proposal and recommended to the Government of Canada (GoC) that the Project is likely to cause significant adverse environmental effects that cannot be justified in the circumstances.

The Joint Panel report contains seven (7) recommendations. The first recommendation from the Panel is directed at the provincial Minister of Environment and Labour to reject the proposal and at the Government of Canada recommending that the Project is likely to cause significant adverse environmental effects that cannot be justified in the circumstances. Of the remaining six recommendations, four were directed at Nova Scotia to improve its planning processes, consultation and quarry regulations. One was directed at the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency with respect to developing guidance on adaptive management in environmental assessment. The last recommendation was directed at TC regarding the need to revise its ballast water regulations.

The Joint Review Panel’s recommendations to the Government of Canada are addressed through this federal response, as approved by the Governor in Council, and in consultation with other federal agencies, pursuant to subsection 37(1.1) of CEAA.

In preparation of this Government of Canada Response, DFO and TC, as the RAs under CEAA, carefully considered the report submitted by the Joint Review Panel. The Government of Canada accepts the conclusion of the Joint Review Panel that the Project is likely to cause significant adverse environmental effects that cannot be justified in the circumstances.  Under subsection 37(1) of CEAA, DFO and TC shall not exercise any power or perform any duty or function conferred on it by or under any Act of Parliament that would permit the Project to be carried out in whole or in part.

Paragraph 37(1.1)(c) indicates that the RAs shall take a course of action that is in conformity with the approval of the Governor in Council. With regards to the course of action decision, following Governor in Council approval of this response, DFO and TC will not be issuing any subsection 35(2) Fisheries Act authorizations or subsection 5(1) Navigable Water Protection Act approvals associated with this Project.

The Panel directs Recommendation 1 to both Nova Scotia and Canada. In relation to this, the Government of Canada states the following:

Recommendation 1

The Panel recommends that the Minister of Environment and Labour (Nova Scotia) reject the proposal made by Bilcon of Nova Scotia to create the Whites Point Quarry and Marine Terminal and recommends to the Government of Canada that the Project is likely to cause significant adverse environmental effects that, in the opinion of the Panel, cannot be justified in the circumstances. (Section 4.1);

Response:

The Government of Canada accepts this recommendation.
The Government of Canada supports the recommendation of the Panel "that the Project is likely to cause significant adverse environmental effects that, in the opinion of the Panel, cannot be justified in the circumstances."

The Panel directs Recommendations 6 and 7 to the Government of Canada. In relation to these, the Government of Canada states the following:

Recommendation 6

The Panel recommends that the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency develop a guidance document on the application of adaptive management in environmental assessments and in environmental management following approvals. (Section 4.2);

Response:

The Government of Canada accepts this recommendation.
In collaboration with key federal authorities, the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency will develop, by December 2008, concise guidance on adaptive management, covering broad principles and practices that are relevant to the environmental assessment process and to related environmental management.

Recommendation 7

The Panel recommends that Transport Canada revise its ballast water regulations to ensure that ships transporting goods from waters with known risks take appropriate measures to significantly reduce the risk of transmission of unwanted species. (Section 4.2);

Response:

The Government of Canada accepts this recommendation.
Transport Canada recognizes the importance of applying the appropriate ballast water management measures in order to avoid and/or minimize the introduction of invasive species into waters under Canadian jurisdiction, from foreign waters.

After extensive consultations with the industry, environmental groups, stakeholders and other federals agencies, Transport Canada, in June 2006, implemented the Ballast Water Control and Management Regulations under the Canada Shipping Act. These regulations are intended as an important first step in minimizing the risk of introducing harmful aquatic species into Canadian waters. Transport Canada will continue to consult with the appropriate federal authorities and work with the industry, scientific community and environmental groups, and will consider any recommendations made with respect to improving the Ballast Water Control and Management Regulations.

Date modified:

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Archivé – Réponse du gouvernement du Canada au rapport de la Commission d’examen conjoint du Projet de carrière et de terminal maritime de Whites Point (le Projet)

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »


Le 24 mars 2003, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada (MPO) a reçu la description du projet du promoteur (Bilcon of Nova Scotia), qui comprend un complexe de 152 hectares, regroupant une carrière de basalte, une installation de transformation et un terminal maritime à Whites Point, dans le comté de Digby, en Nouvelle-Écosse, à environ 35 km au sud-ouest de la ville de Digby, le long de la baie de Fundy.

Le Projet comprend un complexe de 152 hectares (ha), qui regroupe une carrière de basalte, une installation de transformation et un terminal maritime en eaux profondes. Le promoteur propose que la carrière occupe 120 ha du total du site de 152 ha. La carrière produirait 2 millions de tonnes d’agrégats par an. Les opérations terrestres dans la carrière seraient menées à longueur d'année et on empilerait les agrégats une fois par semaine pour les charger sur les bateaux. Le forage et le dynamitage de la pierre de basalte ainsi que le chargement, le transport, le concassage, le criblage, le lavage et le stockage seraient effectués sur place.

Il a été déterminé que le projet de construction de terminal maritime exigerait : i) une autorisation du MPO conformément au paragraphe 35(2) de la Loi sur les pêches; ii) une approbation de Transports Canada (TC) conformément à l’alinéa 5(1)a) de la Loi sur la protection des eaux navigables. Avant la délivrance de toute approbation du gouvernement fédéral, il a été nécessaire de réaliser une évaluation environnementale (EE) du projet en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (LCEE). Le MPO et TC sont les autorités responsables (AR) pour l’EE en raison de leurs responsabilités en matière de réglementation aux termes de la Loi sur les pêches et de la Loi sur la protection des eaux navigables, qui s’appliquent à la composante « terminal maritime » du projet.

Le projet est aussi assujetti à une évaluation environnementale en vertu de la Nova Scotia Environment Act. Le 31 mars 2003, les deux ordres de gouvernement se sont entendus sur un processus d’EE fédéral-provincial.

En juin 2003, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans a demandé au ministre de l'Environnement de renvoyer le projet à une commission d'examen conformément à l’alinéa 21(2)b) de la LCEE. Le 5 novembre 2004, le Canada et la Nouvelle-Écosse ont annoncé l’établissement d’une commission d’examen conjoint fédéral-provincial pour le projet de carrière et de terminal maritime de Whites Point.

Les audiences de la Commission d’examen conjoint ont eu lieu à Digby, Nouvelle-Écosse, entre le 16 juin et le 30 juin 2007. Le MPO et TC ont présenté leurs avis techniques et leurs opinions devant la Commission le 20 juin 2007.

Le rapport de la Commission a été rendu public le 23 octobre 2007. La Commission a conclu que le projet aurait un effet négatif sur un élément environnemental apprécié présenté comme faisant partie des « valeurs fondamentales » des collectivités touchées. Elle entend par « valeurs fondamentales » les convictions communes des résidants qui définissent les caractéristiques propres à leur collectivité. Elle affirme que les résidants de la péninsule et des îles de Digby ont des valeurs fondamentales qui reflètent leur sentiment d’appartenance, leur désir d’autonomie et la nécessité de respecter et de préserver leur environnement. Sur la base d’une analyse des avantages et des inconvénients du projet, la Commission en est venue à la conclusion que les inconvénients l’emportaient sur les avantages, et que l’aménagement de la carrière et du terminal maritime de Whites Point irait à l’encontre de l’intérêt public.

La Commission recommande que le ministre de l’Environnement et du Travail de la Nouvelle-Écosse rejette le projet de carrière et de terminal maritime de Whites Point et souligne à l’intention du gouvernement du Canada que ce projet aura vraisemblablement des effets environnementaux négatifs importants qui ne se justifient pas dans les circonstances actuelles.

Le rapport de la Commission d’examen conjoint comprend sept (7) recommandations. La première recommandation de la Commission s’adresse au ministre provincial de l’Environnement et du Travail de la Nouvelle-Écosse et lui suggère de rejeter la proposition, et souligne à l’intention du gouvernement du Canada que ce projet aura vraisemblablement des effets négatifs importants qui ne se justifient pas dans les circonstances actuelles. Au nombre des six autres recommandations, quatre étaient destinées à la Nouvelle-Écosse et demandaient à la province d’améliorer ses processus de planification, ses mécanismes de consultation et ses règlements s’appliquant aux carrières. L’une des recommandations s’adressait à l’Agence et lui demandait d’élaborer un guide sur l’application de la gestion adaptative aux évaluations environnementales. La dernière recommandation demandait à TC de réviser ses règlements sur les eaux de ballast.

La présente réponse du gouvernement du Canada vise à répondre aux recommandations de la Commission d’examen conjoint et doit être approuvée par le gouverneur en conseil et en consultation avec les autres organismes fédéraux, conformément au paragraphe 37(1.1) de la LCEE.

En préparation à cette réponse du gouvernement du Canada, le MPO et TC, à titre d’AR en vertu de la LCEE, ont examiné attentivement le rapport soumis par la Commission d’examen conjoint. Le gouvernement du Canada est d’accord avec la conclusion de la Commission d’examen conjoint que le projet aura vraisemblablement des effets environnementaux négatifs importants qui ne se justifient pas dans les circonstances actuelles. Aux termes du paragraphe 37(1) de la LCEE, le MPO et TC ne doivent pas exercer les attributions qui leur sont conférées sous le régime d’une loi fédérale et qui pourraient permettre la mise en œuvre du projet en tout ou en partie.

Aux termes du paragraphe 37(1.1), les autorités responsables sont tenues d’y donner suite avec l’agrément du gouverneur en conseil. En ce qui a trait à la ligne d’action, suite à l’approbation de cette réponse par le gouverneur en conseil, le MPO et TC ne délivreront pas d’autorisation en vertu du paragraphe 35(2) de la Loi sur les pêches ou du paragraphe 5(1) de la Loi sur la protection des eaux navigables relativement à ce projet.

La Commission soumet la recommandation 1 à la Nouvelle-Écosse et au Canada. À cet effet, le gouvernement du Canada déclare que :

Recommandation 1

La Commission recommande que le ministre de l’Environnement et du Travail de la Nouvelle-Écosse rejette la proposition de Bilcon of Nova Scotia de créer la carrière et le terminal maritime de Whites Point et souligne à l’intention du gouvernement du Canada que ce projet aura vraisemblablement des effets négatifs importants qui, de l’avis de la Commission, ne se justifient pas dans les circonstances actuelles. (Section 4.1);

Réponse :
Le gouvernement du Canada approuve cette recommandation.

Le gouvernement du Canada appuie la recommandation de la Commission que « que ce projet aura vraisemblablement des effets négatifs importants qui, de l’avis de la Commission, ne se justifient pas dans les circonstances actuelles. »

La Commission adresse les recommandations 6 et 7 au gouvernement du Canada. À cet effet, le gouvernement du Canada déclare que :

Recommandation 6

La Commission recommande que l’Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale élabore une guide sur l’application de la gestion adaptative aux évaluations environnementales et à la gestion environnementale à la suite des approbations.(Section 4.2);

Réponse :
Le gouvernement du Canada approuve cette recommandation.

En collaboration avec les autorités fédérales principales, l’Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale élaborera, d’ici décembre 2008, un guide concis sur l’application de la gestion adaptative qui portera sur les grands principes et pratiques visant les évaluations environnementales et la gestion environnementale connexe.

Recommandation 7

La Commission recommande que Transports Canada révise ses règlements sur les eaux de ballast afin de s’assurer que les exploitants de navires de transport de marchandises en provenance d’eaux présentant des risques connus prennent des mesures adéquates pour réduire de façon significative le risque de propagation des espèces indésirables. (Section 4.2);

Réponse :
Le gouvernement du Canada approuve cette recommandation.

Transports Canada reconnaît l’importance d’appliquer des mesures de gestion pertinentes des eaux de ballast de façon à éviter et/ou à réduire l’introduction d’espèces envahissantes dans les eaux de compétence canadienne, qui proviennent des eaux étrangères.

À la suite de vastes consultations auprès de l’industrie, de groupes environnementaux, d’intervenants et d’autres organismes fédéraux, Transports Canada a adopté, en juin 2006, le Règlement sur le contrôle et la gestion de l'eau de ballast en vertu de la Loi sur la marine marchande du Canada. Il s’agit d’une première étape importante pour la réduction des risques d’introduction d’espèces aquatiques nuisibles dans les eaux canadiennes. Transports Canada poursuivra ses consultations auprès des autorités fédérales pertinentes et collaborera avec l’industrie, la communauté scientifique et les groupes environnementalistes, et considérera toute recommandation formulée et destinée à améliorer les règlements qui visent le contrôle et la gestion des eaux de ballast.