Government of Canada Response to the Report of the Standing Senate Committee on Fisheries and Oceans: Report on the Implementation of the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act

Recommendation 1:

The Committee recommends that, given their economic, heritage, cultural and historical value, the Government of Canada adopt as a general national policy goal the preservation of a reasonable proportion of Canada’s lighthouses for future generations of Canadians.

Response:

The Government supports this recommendation. By enacting the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act on May 29, 2008, the Government of Canada has recognized that measures must be taken to ensure the preservation of heritage lighthouses. The purpose of the Act is to conserve and protect federally owned heritage lighthouses by: providing for the selection and designation of heritage lighthouses; preventing the unauthorized alteration and disposition of heritage lighthouses; requiring that heritage lighthouses be reasonably maintained; and facilitating sales or transfers of heritage lighthouses in order to ensure the lighthouses’ public purpose. 

Recommendation 2:

The Committee recommends that all lighthouses passed on to community groups be maintained in a good state of repair and in a condition that will allow economical ongoing maintenance.  All environmental issues should be addressed prior to the transfer of any such lighthouses.

Response:

The Government supports this recommendation.  For those lighthouses that will be transferred to community groups, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will continue to maintain operational lighthouse properties to a standard that permits safe access to operationally required equipment by departmental staff until the responsibility for future maintenance and repair is assumed by community groups.  The Department currently maintains an annual budget of approximately $1,000,000 to improve the condition of surplus properties prior to divestiture.  Community groups assuming ownership of surplus lighthouse properties would be eligible to apply for funding which could reduce the costs associated with their future maintenance of the property.  The Department has recently established a Grants and Contributions Program aimed at facilitating the transfer of surplus lighthouse properties.  Such funding requests would be considered on a case-by-case basis and are subject to the availability of funding.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada will ensure that environmental liabilities associated with surplus lighthouse properties are assessed and addressed to the appropriate federal use standard as a condition of transfer.  All relevant environmental reports will be disclosed to potential ownership groups in order to better inform their decision making process.

Recommendation 3:

The Committee recommends that the Government of Canada provide the Heritage Canada Foundation (HCF) with seed funding to help launch a comprehensive campaign dedicated to raising funds for the restoration and preservation of Canada’s remaining historic lighthouses.

Response:

The Government does not support this recommendation.  Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) would provide information on lighthouse properties to support a fund-raising campaign by the Heritage Canada Foundation to restore and maintain historic lighthouses.  There was no source of funding attached to the Act during its passage through Parliament and, as such, the Government of Canada is not in a position to make a financial contribution to such a campaign.

Recommendation 4:

The Committee recommends the establishment of an independent Lighthouse Advisory Panel comprising representatives of key lighthouse organizations, Parks Canada, and knowledgeable people from the provinces where there are lighthouses:

a) to identify, consistent with the objectives of the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act (HLPA), from among the federally owned lighthouses, a “heritage pool” of lights that will most likely generate interest for restoration and preservation; and

b) to prioritize and evaluate the lighthouses in the heritage pool in order to determine, from among the qualified recipients, those groups who should receive funding from the monies generated by the HCF fund-raising campaign.

Response:

The Government does not support this recommendation.

With respect to the first component of the recommendation (a), the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act is structured in a manner that allows for Canadians to decide which federally owned lighthouses should be considered for heritage protection under the Act.  The establishment of an independent advisory panel to identify which lighthouses are most worthy of heritage protection would not be consistent with this approach.

The Minister of the Environment, as the Minister responsible for Parks Canada, has already appointed two advisory groups related to the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act: the Historic Sites and Monument Board of Canada and a consultative group of lighthouse advocates.  It is unclear to whom this proposed independent Lighthouse Advisory Panel would report or what would be its relationship to the Government of Canada.

Expert advice related to the potential designation of heritage lighthouses, following the submission of public petitions, is obtained from both the Historic Sites and Monument Board of Canada and the lighthouse consultative group created to assist this Board.

With respect to the second component of the recommendation (b), the Heritage Canada Foundation would have the authority to direct funds that are generated through its fund-raising efforts to facilitate the preservation of those lighthouses that it deems most qualified, in consultation with an advisory panel of its own creation, if desired.

Recommendation 5:

The Committee recommends that, for lighthouses for which no petitions have been submitted before the May 29, 2012 deadline, but which have been identified for the “heritage pool” and for which there is reasonable potential for interest from communities, groups, or other interested parties, DFO remove such lights from its surplus list.

Response:

The Government does not support this recommendation.  In accordance with the provisions of the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will continue to maintain and make public its list of surplus lighthouses until May 29, 2012.  Although it is no longer required to publish such a list after that date, the surplus designation for a property is related to operational program needs and as such, lighthouses on the current surplus list that remain within the Department’s portfolio after May 29, 2012 will continue to be designated as surplus.  After May 29, 2012, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will continue to consider alternate ownership proposals from community-based interests who are interested in preserving their local lighthouses.  For those surplus lighthouses where no interest is expressed at the community level, alternate strategies could be considered such as open market sales or replacement with simple structures.  When transferring ownership of surplus lighthouse properties, the conveyance will include all associated lands and infrastructure where possible.

Recommendation 6:

The Committee recommends that all surplus lightstations that leave the federal inventory, either through the HLPA process or through the process governing the disposal of surplus real property, be afforded protection by a heritage easement or covenant in the sale agreement.

Response:

The Government supports this recommendation.  Under the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act, the Minister of the Environment, as the Minister responsible for the Parks Canada Agency is required to establish criteria for maintenance of heritage lighthouses that are in keeping with national and international standards for the conservation of heritage properties.  For heritage lighthouses that are transferred to outside interests through the divestiture provisions of the Act, ongoing protection could be afforded in different ways including the registration of a heritage easement against the title of a property or the creation of contractual obligations by virtue of clauses in the sale agreement.  The appropriate mechanism for each property would be assessed on a site-by-site basis.

For surplus lighthouses over 40 years of age being transferred through the regular disposal process, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will ensure completion of a heritage assessment through the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office.  If the lighthouse is designated as a federal heritage building through this process, a Heritage Character Statement will be developed.  A clause will be inserted into the sale agreement which references the heritage character of the lighthouse.  Recipient groups will be asked to respect the heritage defining elements of the lighthouse in their future maintenance of the property and will be encouraged to make an application for designation under a municipal or provincial heritage protection program in the jurisdiction where the lighthouse is located.

Recommendation 7:

The Committee recommends that DFO carefully assess the security implications of transferring surplus lightstations.  Any lightstation that fails to meet public safety concerns set out in the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat’s Guide to the Management of Real Property should be immediately removed from the Department’s list of surplus lighthouses.

Response:

The Government partially supports this recommendation.  As part of the pre-disposal due diligence process, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will assess surplus lighthouse properties for concerns related to public safety or security.  In the event that public safety or security concerns exist, it may be possible to alter or modify the structures in a manner which addresses these concerns before the sale of the property is permitted to proceed.

Recommendation 8:

The Committee recommends that DFO and Parks Canada make available on their respective websites a list of all “non-surplus” lighthouses, including DFO’s 51 staffed lightstations, given that the public may petition such lights for heritage designation under the HLPA.

Response:

The Government supports this recommendation.  The Canadian Coast Guard currently administers approximately 4000 “non-surplus” aids to navigation that are compliant with the definition of “lighthouse” under the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act.  Most non-surplus “lighthouses” are modern, simple structures that are of limited interest from the standpoint of heritage preservation.  Although the publication of such a list may not have the intended effect of facilitating the Act’s public petitioning process, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will publish a list of all of the department’s non-surplus “lighthouses” on the departmental website.

Parks Canada will make available on its website a list of all lighthouses for which it is responsible.  None of these lighthouses are surplus to requirements.

Recommendation 9:

The Committee recommends that Parks Canada and DFO work together in the creation of a document that sets out and identifies for the public:

a) innovative ideas regarding the re-use of lighthouses, including references to successful examples in Canada and elsewhere, and any information that already exists on the subject;

b) financial support that may be available to community lighthouse groups at the federal and provincial level; and

c) key contacts.

Response:

The Government supports this recommendation.

With respect to the first component of the recommendation (a), Fisheries and Oceans Canada has commissioned an independent study which examines potential alternate uses for surplus lighthouse properties.  The study places additional emphasis on the conditions under which an alternate use that permits public access to the site is most likely to be successful.  The study has been published on the departmental website in order to inform potential ownership groups that are developing alternate use proposals.

With respect to the second component of the recommendation (b), Fisheries and Oceans Canada currently maintains an annual budget of approximately $1,000,000 to improve the condition of surplus properties prior to divestiture.  The Department has recently established a Grants and Contributions Program aimed at facilitating the transfer of surplus lighthouse properties.  Such funding requests would be considered on a case-by-case basis and are subject to the availability of funding.

Community lighthouse groups will be encouraged to seek additional funding opportunities from other federal, provincial and municipal sources in addition to private heritage foundations.  Given that these opportunities will vary widely depending on the jurisdiction in which a lighthouses is located, no comprehensive document will be created for this purpose.

With respect to the third component of the recommendation (c), Fisheries and Oceans Canada has published contact information on the departmental website for program representatives in each of the Department’s six regions in addition to a national representative in Ottawa.

Parks Canada is managing its obligations under the Act on a national basis.  Contact information for the Manager, Heritage Lighthouse Program is featured on the Parks Canada website.

Recommendation 10:

The Committee recommends that Parks Canada and DFO work together in the creation of a guidebook on the care and maintenance of lighthouse buildings and equipment, and on archiving and the preservation of historical artifacts, to assist prospective new owners before they acquire a lighthouse.

Response:

The Government supports this recommendation. In accordance with the provisions of the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act, the Minister of the Environment, as the Minister responsible for the Parks Canada Agency, has formally adopted the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada as the official maintenance criteria for lighthouses and related buildings that are designated under the Act.  A copy of the document is readily available on the Parks Canada website.

Réponse du gouvernement du Canada au rapport du Comité sénatorial permanent des Pêches et des Océans au Rapport sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux

Recommandation 1 :

Le comité recommande que, compte tenu de la valeur économique, patrimoniale, culturelle et historique des phares du Canada, le gouvernement du Canada adopte une politique nationale visant à préserver un nombre raisonnable de ces phares pour les prochaines générations.

Réponse :

Le gouvernement appuie cette recommandation.  En promulguant la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux le 29 mai 2008, le gouvernement du Canada a reconnu que des mesures devaient être prises pour préserver les phares patrimoniaux.  Cette loi a pour objet d'assurer la conservation et la protection des phares patrimoniaux du fédéral, c'est-à-dire: en prévoyant une méthode de sélection et de désignation des phares; en empêchant leur modification ou leur aliénation non autorisée; en exigeant leur entretien dans une mesure raisonnable et en facilitant leur vente ou leur transfert pour qu'ils soient utilisés à des fins publiques. 

Recommandation 2 :

Le comité recommande que tous les phares confiés à des groupes communautaires soient maintenus en bon état et soient entretenus de façon économique.  Il faudra régler toutes les questions environnementales  avant le transfert d'un phare.

Réponse :

Le gouvernement appuie cette recommandation.  Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans continuera d'assurer le maintien en fonction des phares confiés à des groupes communautaires à un niveau qui permettra au personnel du Ministère d'accéder en toute sécurité aux installations jusqu'à ce que la responsabilité de l'entretien et des réparations futures soit assumée par les groupes communautaires.  Le Ministère prévoit une enveloppe annuelle d'environ 1 million de dollars pour améliorer l'état des biens excédentaires avant dessaisissement.  Les groupes communautaires qui deviendront propriétaires des phares excédentaires pourraient recevoir des subventions de manière à réduire les coûts liés à l'entretien futur de la propriété.  Le Ministère a récemment mis en place un programme de subventions et de contributions visant à faciliter le transfert des phares excédentaires.  Les demandes de financement connexes sont étudiées au cas par cas et leur acceptation dépend des fonds disponibles.

Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans doit veiller à ce que les responsabilités environnementales liées aux phares excédentaires soient évaluées et prises en compte selon les normes d'utilisation fédérales applicables avant de procéder au transfert.  Les rapports environnementaux qui présentent un intérêt seront fournis aux groupes de propriétaires éventuels afin qu'ils soient mieux en mesure de prendre une décision.

Recommandation 3 :

Le comité recommande que le gouvernement du Canada verse à la Fondation Héritage Canada (FHC) des fonds de démarrage afin de l'aider à lancer une campagne de financement pour la restauration et la préservation des phares historiques du Canada.

Réponse :

Le gouvernement n'appuie pas cette recommandation.  Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) est prêt à fournir des renseignements sur les phares pour soutenir une campagne de financement mise en place par la Fondation Héritage Canada afin de restaurer et d'entretenir les phares historiques.  Aucune source de financement n'ayant été prévue lors du passage de cette loi devant le Parlement, le gouvernement du Canada n'est pas en mesure de contribuer financièrement à cette campagne.

Recommandation 4 :

Le Comité recommande la formation d'un comité consultatif indépendant composé de représentants des principaux organismes qui s'occupent des phares, de Parcs Canada et de spécialistes de toutes les provinces possédant des phares pour :

a) constituer, conformément aux objectifs de la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux (LPPP), parmi les phares appartenant au gouvernement fédéral, un « bassin patrimonial » des phares les plus susceptibles d'être restaurés et préservés;

b) évaluer et hiérarchiser les phares patrimoniaux afin de déterminer lesquels recevraient des fonds recueillis dans le cadre de la campagne de financement de la FHC.

Réponse :

Le gouvernement n'appuie pas cette recommandation.

En ce qui a trait au premier élément de la recommandation (a), la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux est structurée de telle sorte que ce sont les Canadiens qui décident quels phares appartenant au gouvernement fédéral doivent être examinés en vue de leur protection à titre de bien patrimonial aux termes de la Loi.  L'établissement d'un comité consultatif indépendant ayant pour mission de déterminer les phares qui méritent le plus d'être protégés à titre de biens patrimoniaux ne cadrerait pas avec cette idée.

Le ministre responsable de Parcs Canada a déjà nommé deux groupes consultatifs associés à la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux : la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada et un groupe consultatif composé de défenseurs des phares.  Il n'est pas précisé de qui relèverait ce comité consultatif indépendant, ni quelle serait sa relation avec le gouvernement du Canada.

Des conseils spécialisés reliés à la désignation éventuelle de phares patrimoniaux, à la suite de la présentation de pétitions publiques, sont offerts par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada et par le groupe consultatif sur les phares, mis sur pied pour aider cette Commission.

En ce qui concerne le deuxième élément de la recommandation (b), la Fondation Héritage Canada aurait le pouvoir d'allouer des fonds provenant de ses activités de financement à la préservation des phares qui, selon elle, remplissent le mieux les conditions requises, après consultation d'un comité consultatif qu'elle aurait elle-même mis sur pied au besoin.

Recommandation 5 :

Le Comité recommande que le MPO retire de sa liste de phares excédentaires les phares pour lesquels aucune pétition n'aura été présentée d'ici au 29 mai 2012, mais qui font partie du « bassin patrimonial » et qui pourraient raisonnablement intéresser des communautés, des groupes ou toute autre partie.

Réponse :

Le gouvernement n'appuie pas cette recommandation.  Conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux, Pêches et Océans Canada continuera de tenir à jour et diffuser au public sa liste des phares excédentaires jusqu'au 29 mai 2012.  Même s'il n'est plus nécessaire de publier une telle liste, la désignation d'excédentaire se rapporte aux besoins des programmes opérationnels et ainsi, les phares excédentaires qui figurent dans la liste actuelle et se trouvent toujours dans le portefeuille du Ministère après le 29 mai 2012 seront toujours désignés excédentaires.  Après le 29 mai 2012, Pêches et Océans Canada continuera d'examiner les propositions de rachat émanant de groupes communautaires qui voudraient préserver leurs phares locaux.  Concernant les phares excédentaires pour lesquels aucun intérêt n'est exprimé par les communautés, d'autres stratégies pourraient être envisagées, comme une vente sur le marché libre ou le remplacement par des structures simples.  Au moment de transférer la propriété de phares excédentaires, le transfert doit comprendre toutes les terres et les infrastructures connexes dans la mesure du possible.

Recommandation 6 :

Le Comité recommande que tous les phares excédentaires qui sont retirés du registre fédéral, par le truchement de la LPPP ou de tout autre processus régissant l'aliénation des biens immobiliers excédentaires, soient protégés par une entente de servitude ou une clause restrictive dans le contrat de vente.

Réponse :

Le gouvernement appuie cette recommandation.  Aux termes de la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux, le Ministre de l’Environnement, en tant que Ministre responsable de l’Agence Parcs Canada, doit définir des critères pour le maintien en place des phares patrimoniaux qui respectent les normes nationales et internationales en matière de conservation des biens patrimoniaux.  Pour ce qui est des phares patrimoniaux transférés à des intérêts extérieurs au moyen des dispositions de cession de la Loi, il serait possible d'en assurer la protection permanente de différentes manières, notamment par l'enregistrement d'une entente de servitude sur le titre de propriété ou par la création d'obligations contractuelles en application de clauses du contrat de vente.  Le mécanisme approprié pour chaque phare serait évalué en fonction du site.

Pour les phares excédentaires de plus de 40 ans transférés en suivant le processus d'élimination habituel, Pêches et Océans Canada effectuera une évaluation patrimoniale par l'intermédiaire du Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine.  Si cette démarche aboutit à la désignation du phare comme bâtiment patrimonial fédéral, un énoncé de valeur patrimoniale sera rédigé.  Une clause indiquant le caractère patrimonial du phare sera insérée dans le contrat de vente.  Les groupes bénéficiaires devront entretenir le phare en respectant ses caractéristiques patrimoniales et seront encouragés à demander à ce que le phare soit intégré à un programme provincial ou municipal de protection patrimoniale dans le territoire où il est situé.

Recommandation 7 :

Le Comité recommande que le MPO évalue attentivement les répercussions, sur le plan de la sécurité, du transfert des phares excédentaires.  Un phare qui ne répond pas aux critères de sécurité publique établis dans la Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor devrait immédiatement être retiré de la liste des phares excédentaires du ministère.

Réponse :

Le gouvernement appuie partiellement cette recommandation.  Dans le cadre du processus de diligence raisonnable préalable à l'élimination, Pêches et océans Canada évaluera les phares excédentaires afin de s'assurer qu'ils ne posent pas de risque pour la sûreté ou la sécurité publique.  Si jamais un phare présente un danger pour la sûreté ou la sécurité publique, le Ministère pourrait en modifier ou en altérer la structure, de manière à ce que tout risque soit écarté, avant d'autoriser la mise en vente du bien.

Recommandation 8 :

Le Comité recommande que le MPO et Parcs Canada affichent dans leur site Web respectif une liste des phares « non excédentaires », car ces phares, y compris les 51 stations gardées du MPO, peuvent faire l'objet d'une pétition demandant leur désignation à titre de bien patrimonial, aux termes de la LPPP.

Réponse :

Le gouvernement appuie cette recommandation.  La Garde côtière canadienne gère actuellement quelque 4000 aides à la navigation « non excédentaires » qui correspondent à la définition du terme « phare » donnée dans la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux.  La plupart des « phares » non excédentaires sont des structures simples et modernes qui ont un intérêt limité du point de vue de la préservation patrimoniale.  Même si la publication d'une telle liste risque de ne pas avoir l'effet voulu, soit de faciliter le processus de présentation d'une pétition publique en vertu de la Loi, Pêches et Océans Canada publiera sa liste de tous les « phares » non excédentaires sur son site Web.

Parcs Canada rendra disponible sur son site Web une liste de tous les phares dont il est responsable.  Aucun de ces phares n'est excédentaire aux besoins indiqués.

Recommandation 9 :

Le Comité recommande que Parcs Canada et le MPO collaborent à la rédaction d'un document destiné au public et qui :

a) présente des idées novatrices de réutilisation des phares, illustrées à l'aide d'exemples au Canada et à l'étranger, et fournit toute l'information disponible sur le sujet;

b) explique l'aide financière offerte aux groupes communautaires de préservation des phares à l'échelle fédérale et provinciale;

c) donne les coordonnées des principales personnes-ressources.

Réponse :

Le gouvernement appuie cette recommandation.

En ce qui concerne le premier élément de la recommandation (a), Pêches et Océans Canada a commandé une étude indépendante examinant les autres utilisations possibles des phares excédentaires.  Cette étude s'attachera avant tout à déterminer les conditions où une autre utilisation permettant un accès public a le plus de chances de réussir.  Elle sera publiée sur le site Web du Ministère afin d'informer les éventuels acheteurs qui élaborent des propositions visant d'autres utilisations.

En ce qui a trait au deuxième élément de la recommandation (b), Pêches et Océans Canada dispose actuellement d'un budget annuel d'environ 1 000 000 $ pour améliorer l'état des biens excédentaires avant leur cession.  Le Ministère a récemment mis en place un programme de subventions et de contributions visant à faciliter le transfert des phares excédentaires.  Les demandes de financement connexes sont étudiées au cas par cas et leur acceptation dépend des fonds disponibles.

Les groupes communautaires de préservation des phares seront encouragés à demander des subventions complémentaires à d'autres entités fédérales, provinciales et municipales, en plus des fondations privées de protection du patrimoine.  Étant donné que ces possibilités de financement peuvent varier beaucoup selon le territoire sur lequel se trouve le phare, aucun document exhaustif ne sera produit à ce sujet.

Pour ce qui est du troisième élément de la recommandation (c), Pêches et Océans Canada a publié sur son site Web les coordonnées du représentant du programme dans chacune des six régions du Ministère, en plus de celles du représentant national basé à Ottawa.

Parcs Canada gère ses obligations en vertu de la Loi partout au pays.  Les coordonnées du gestionnaire du Programme des phares patrimoniaux sont disponibles sur le site Web de Parcs Canada.

Recommandation 10 :

Le Comité recommande que Parcs Canada et le MPO collaborent à la création d'un guide sur l'entretien des stations de phare et de leur équipement ainsi que sur l'archivage et la préservation des artéfacts historiques, afin d'aider les nouveaux propriétaires éventuels avant qu'ils ne fassent l'acquisition d'un phare.

Réponse :

Le gouvernement appuie cette recommandation.  Conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux, le Ministre de l’Environnement, en tant que Ministre responsable de l’Agence Parcs Canada, a officiellement adopté les Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada comme critères officiels d'entretien des phares et des bâtiments connexes désignés en vertu de la Loi.  Il est possible de consulter une copie de ce document sur le site Web de Parcs Canada.