Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Archived Fisheries Development Act Annual Report 2001-2002

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


TABLE OF CONTENTS

Introduction

Programs:

Canadian Fisheries Adjustment and Restructuring (CFAR)

Office of the Commissioner for Aquaculture Development

Fisheries Access Program

INTRODUCTION

Under the provisions of the Fisheries Development Act administered by Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO),

1.  the Minister may undertake projects for:
  • the more efficient exploitation of fishery resources and for the exploration for, and development of, new fishery resources and new fisheries;
  • the introduction and demonstration to fishers of new types of fishing vessels and fishing equipment and new fishing techniques; and,
  • the development of new fishery products for the improvement of the handling, processing and distribution of fishery products.

2.  The Minister may enter into an agreement with any province providing for the undertaking jointly with the government of the province or any agency thereof of any project that the Minister is authorized to undertake under point 1.

3.  The Minister may, with the approval of the Governor in Council, enter into an agreement with any province providing payment to the province of contributions in respect of the cost of any project that is undertaken by the government of the province or any agency thereof and that the Minister is authorized to undertake under point 1.

4.The Minister may enter into an agreement with any person for the joint undertaking of any project that the Minister is authorized to undertake under point 1, or for the payment to any person of contributions in respect of the cost of any such project undertaken by that person.

5.  For the purpose of assisting in the formulation and assessment of fisheries development projects, the Minister may undertake economic studies alone or jointly with the government of any province or agency thereof or with any university, educational institution or person, and may coordinate any such studies with similar studies undertaken in Canada.

In the fiscal year 2001-2002, the federal expenditure under the Act was valued at $124.5 million.

PROGRAMS

1) Canadian Fisheries Adjustment and Restructuring (CFAR): The Canadian Fisheries Adjustment and Restructuring Program (CFAR) was a set of conservation, adjustment and restructuring measures announced in June, 1998 to put harvesting capacity in balance with resource availability and ensure the long-term sustainability of the fishing sector on both the Atlantic and Pacific coasts.

In the Atlantic, expenditures focused on bringing to conclusion the Atlantic Groundfish Licence Retirement Program (AGLRP). In 2001-2002, expenditures amounted to $23 million, with $22.5 million used to retire groundfish licences in Newfoundland and $0.5 million for administration. The AGLRP had concluded in other provinces in the previous year.

In the Pacific region, where many key program elements, including the Pacific Salmon Commercial Licence Retirement Program had concluded in previous years, expenditures in 2001-2002 amounted to $12.4M. Resources were used for the Pacific Salmon Resource Rebuilding Program ($9.8M), selective fishing ($2.2M) and fisheries diversification ($0.4M).

2) Office of the Commissioner for Aquaculture Development: The Office of the Commissioner for Aquaculture Development was established in December 1998 with an initial mandate until March 31, 2002. Appointed by the Governor-in-Council, the Commissioner functions as an advisor to the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans on aquaculture matters.

Expenditures of $2.3 million were made in 2001-2002, as the Commissioner provided support to various aquaculture organisations, consulted with stakeholders, and undertook scientific studies. Accomplishments for 2001-2002 include securing support of the Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers (CCFAM) for the implementation of a federal-provincial-territorial harmonization process regarding aquaculture policy, legislation and regulations. The Commissioner also led a Canadian delegation to Aqua Nor 2001 in Trondheim, Norway, where he hosted a very successful Canadian-Norwegian business reception to encourage greater collaboration between industry representatives from both countries in areas of mutual interest.

In November 2001, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans announced the mandate extension of the Office of the Commissioner until March 31, 2004.

3) Fisheries Access Program: The Fisheries Access Program is designed to provide fisheries access for Mi'kmaq and Maliseet First Nations in Quebec, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia in order to provide them with the opportunity to pursue a moderate livelihood. The Department's 2001-2002 budget of $112.4 million for the Fisheries Access Program included $12.4 million under Phase I of the government's response to the Supreme Court's decision on Marshall, and $100.0 million under the Long Term Marshall Response. Expenditures of $86.8 million in 2001-2002 were used to provide opportunities to increase earned income by the beneficiary First Nations without compromising viability within the existing commercial fishery. The program includes retiring commercial licences, vessels and gear, constructing new vessels and gear and providing training and other skill development activities. An unused portion of $25.7 million has been re-profiled to 2002-03 fiscal year as part of the commitment to the Long Term Marshall Response of the Fisheries Access Program.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Archivé – Rapport annuel - Loi sur le développement de la pêche - 2001-2002

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »


TABLE DES MATIÈRES

Introduction

Programmes:

Programme d'adaptation et de restructuration des pêches canadiennes

Bureau du commissaire du développement de l'aquaculture

Programme d'accès aux pêches

INTRODUCTION

En vertu de la Loi sur le développement de la pêche administrée par Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) :

1. le Ministre peut mettre sur pied des projets pour :

  • la rationalisation de l'exploitation des ressources halieutiques et la recherche et la mise en valeur de nouvelles pêches;
  • la présentation et la démonstration aux pêcheurs de nouveaux bateaux, agrès ou techniques de pêche;
  • la mise en valeur de nouveaux produits de la pêche et l'amélioration des procédés de manutention, de transformation et de distribution des produits de la pêche.

2. Le Ministre peut conclure avec toute province une entente prévoyant la mise sur pied, conjointement avec le gouvernement de la province ou l'un de ses organismes, de tout projet mentionné en 1.

3. Le Ministre peut, avec l'approbation du gouverneur en conseil, conclure avec toute province une entente prévoyant le versement à cette dernière de contributions aux frais de tout programme mentionné au point 1 et mis sur pied par le gouvernement de la province ou l'un de ses organismes.

4. Le Ministre peut conclure avec toute personne une entente prévoyant la mise sur pied conjointe de tout projet mentionné au point 1 ou prévoyant le versement de contributions relatives au coût d'un tel projet mis sur pied par cette personne.

5. Afin d'aider à formuler et à évaluer les projets de développement de la pêche, le Ministre peut entreprendre des études économiques, seul ou conjointement avec le gouvernement d'une province ou l'un de ses organismes, une université, un établissement d'enseignement ou un particulier. Il peut coordonner ces études avec des travaux analogues poursuivis au Canada.

Au cours de l'exercice financier 2001-2002, les dépenses engagées par le gouvernement fédéral en vertu de la Loi ont été évaluées à 124,5 M$.

PROGRAMMES DE CONTRIBUTIONS

1.  Le Programme d'adaptation et de restructuration des pêches canadiennes (PARPC) : Le Programme d'adaptation et de restructuration des pêches canadiennes consiste en un ensemble de mesures de conservation, d'adaptation et de restructuration d'entreprises à la fois sur les côtes de l'Atlantique et celles du Pacifique pour instaurer un équilibre entre la capacité de récolte et la disponibilité des ressources et assurer la viabilité à long terme du secteur de la pêche.

Le budget du Ministère en 2001-2002 pour le PARPC s'élevait à 65,6 M$, dont 20,9 M$ étaient destinés aux initiatives de la région du Pacifique et 44,7 M$ à celles de la région de l'Atlantique. La majeure partie de ces ressources, soit 48,7 M$, était destinée aux programmes de contributions relatifs à l'adaptation et à la restructuration des pêches.

Dans la région de l'Atlantique, les dépenses s'élevaient à 23 M$ en 2001-2002. De ce montant, 22,5 M$ ont été consacrés au retrait de permis de pêche du poisson de fond, et les 500 k$ restants ont servi à l'administration. Le Programme de retrait des permis de pêche du poisson de fond de l'Atlantique s'est terminé en 2001-2002.

Dans la région du Pacifique, les dépenses se sont élevées à 11,8 M$. Ces ressources ont été consacrées au Programme de rétablissement du saumon du Pacifique (9,8 M$), à la pêche sélective (1,6 M$) et au développement des pêches (400 k$).

2.  Bureau du commissaire au développement de l'aquaculture : Dans le budget fédéral de 1998, 2 M$ ont été mis de côté pour chacune des quatre années à venir pour le Bureau du commissaire au développement de l'aquaculture (BCDA). Nommé par le gouverneur en conseil, le commissaire joue le rôle de champion pour l'industrie aquacole. Le ministre des Pêches et des Océans a annoncé la nomination de M. Yves Bastien, de Gaspé (Québec), au nouveau poste de commissaire au développement de l'aquaculture le 17 décembre 1998.

Des dépenses de 2,3 M$ ont été faites en 2001-2002 en raison du soutien que le commissaire a accordé à divers organismes oeuvrant dans le domaine de l'aquaculture, après avoir consulté les intervenants, et des études scientifiques qu'il a entrepris. En 2001-2002, on a notamment consolidé le soutien accordé au Conseil canadien des ministres des Pêches et de l'Aquaculture (CCMPA) en vue de mettre en place un processus d'harmonisation des politiques, règlements et lois sur l'aquaculture aux échelles fédérale, provinciale et territoriale. Le commissaire a également été à la tête d'une délégation qui s'est rendue à Aqua Nor 2001 à Trondheim, en Norvège, où il a organisé une réception d'affaires qui a été une réussite avec des représentants du Canada et de la Norvège. Cette réception visait à favoriser la collaboration entre les représentants de l'industrie des deux pays dans des domaines d'intérêt commun.

En novembre 2001, le Ministre de Pêches et Océans a annoncé que le mandat du Bureau du commissaire était prolongé jusqu'au 31 mars 2004.

3.  Programme d'accès aux pêches : Le Programme d'accès aux pêches est conçu pour procurer aux groupes autochtones un accès aux pêches et leur donner ainsi la possibilité d'en retirer un revenu modéré. Le budget du Ministère de 112,4 M$ consacré à ce programme en 2001-2002 a été réparti de la façon suivante : 12,4 M$ pour la phase I et 100 M$ pour le déploiement à long terme du programme. Les dépenses de 86,8 M$ faites en 2001-2002 ont servi à augmenter le revenu des groupes autochtones sans compromettre la viabilité de la pêche commercial actuelle. Le reste du budget a servi au retrait des permis de pêche commerciale, de bateaux et d'engins, à la construction de bateaux et d'engins et à l'achat de permis ou au retrait de l'effort de pêche. Le montant inutilisé de 25,7 M$ a été reporté à l'exercice financier 2002-2003 en tant que partie de l'engagement envers le déploiement à long terme du Programme d'accès aux pêches.