Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Archived Fisheries Development Act Annual Report 2000-2001

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


 

To Her Excellency
The Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson, C.C., C.M.M., C.D.
Governor General of Canada
Rideau Hall
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0A1

May it please your Excellency:

       In accordance with Section 10 of the Fisheries Development Act, I have the honour herewith, for the information of Your Excellency and the Parliament of Canada, to present the Annual Report on the administration of the Act for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2001.

Yours sincerely,

The Honourable Herb Dhaliwal, P.C., M.P.


 

The Honourable Herb Dhaliwal, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Fisheries and Oceans
Room 121, East Block
House of Commons
Ottawa, Ontario
KlA 0A6

Dear Mr. Dhaliwal: 

       I have the honour to submit herewith the Annual Report of Operations under the Fisheries Development Act for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2001, pursuant to section 10 of the said Act.

Yours sincerely,

Wayne G. Wouters

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Introduction

Programs:

Canadian Fisheries Adjustment and Restructuring (CFAR)

Office of the Commissioner for Aquaculture Development

Fisheries Access Program

INTRODUCTION

Under the provisions of the Fisheries Development Act administered by Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO),

  1. the Minister may undertake projects for:
    • the more efficient exploitation of fishery resources and for the exploration for, and development of, new fishery resources and new fisheries;
    • the introduction and demonstration to fishermen of new types of fishing vessels and fishing equipment and new fishing techniques; and,
    • the development of new fishery products for the improvement of the handling, processing and distribution of fishery products.
  2. The Minister may enter into an agreement with any province providing for the undertaking jointly with the government of the province or any agency thereof of any project that the Minister is authorized to undertake under 1, above.
  3. The Minister may, with the approval of the Governor in Council, enter into an agreement with any province providing for the payment to the province of contributions in respect of the cost of any project that is undertaken by the government of the province or any agency thereof and that the Minister is authorized to undertake under 1, above.
  4. The Minister may enter into an agreement with any person for the joint undertaking of any project that the Minister is authorized to undertake under 1, above, or for the payment to any person of contributions in respect of the cost of any such project undertaken by that person.
  5. For the purpose of assisting in the formulation and assessment of fisheries development projects, the Minister may undertake economic studies alone or jointly with the government of any province or agency thereof or with any university, educational institution or person, and may coordinate any such studies with similar studies undertaken in Canada.

In the fiscal year 2000-2001, the federal expenditure under the Act was valued at $130.2 million.

PROGRAMS

  1. Canadian Fisheries Adjustment and Restructuring (CFAR): The Canadian Fisheries Adjustment and Restructuring Program (CFAR) is a set of conservation, adjustment and restructuring measures undertaken on both the Atlantic and Pacific coasts to put harvesting capacity in balance with resource availability and ensure the long-term sustainability of the fishing sector.

    The Department's 2000-2001 budget for CFAR was $104.7 million, including $32.6M for Pacific initiatives and $72.1 for Atlantic initiatives. The majority of these resources, $84.2 million, were for contribution programs related to fisheries adjustment and restructuring.

    In the Atlantic regions, expenditures in 2000-2001 amounted to $26.8 million, with $25.5 million used to retire groundfish licences and $1.3 million for administration. The unused portion, $45.3 million, has been reprofiled to 2001-02 fiscal year to address the completion of the Atlantic Groundfish Licence Retirement Program.

    In the Pacific Region, expenditures amounted to $27.0 million with $5.6 million reprofiled to 2001-02 fiscal year. Resources were used for the Pacific Licence Retirement Program ($0.5M), Pacific Salmon Resource Rebuilding Program ($18.3M), selective fishing ($5.5), fisheries development ($1.7M) and ocean-based tourism ($1.0M).
     
  2. Office of the Commissioner for Aquaculture Development: The 1998 Federal Budget set aside $2M in funding, in each of the next four years, for the Office of the Commissioner for Aquaculture Development. Appointed by the Governor-in-Council, the Commissioner functions as a champion for the aquaculture industry. The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans announced the appointment of Yves Bastien, of Gaspé, Quebec, to the newly created position of Commissioner for Aquaculture Development on December 17, 1998.

    Expenditures of $2.3 million were made in 2000-2001, as the Commissioner provided support to various aquaculture organizations, consulted with stakeholders, and undertook scientific studies. Accomplishments for 2000-2001 included a review of the legal framework governing aquaculture in Canada, with 36 recommendations presented to Minister Dhaliwal. In addition, through its solid working relationship with DFO, the office contributed to planning and developing the Program for Sustainable Aquaculture announced in August 2000.
     
  3. Fisheries Access Program: The Fisheries Access Program is designed to provide fisheries access for Aboriginal groups in order to provide them with the opportunity to pursue a moderate livelihood. The Department's 2000-2001 budget of $104.7 million for the Fisheries Access Program included $75 million under Phase I, and $29.7 million under the Long Term Response. Expenditures of $74.1 million in 2000-2001 were used to provide opportunities to increase earned income by Aboriginal groups without compromising viability within the existing commercial fishery. Retiring commercial licences including vessels and gear, constructing vessels and gear and purchasing or retiring fishing effort achieved this. An unused portion of $9.2 million has been reprofiled to 2001-02 fiscal year as part of the commitment to the Long Term Response of the Fisheries Access Program.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Archivé – Rapport annuel - Loi sur le développement de la pêche - 2000-2001

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »


Son Excellence
La très Honorable Adrienne Clarkson, C.C., C.M.M., C.D.
Gouverneure générale du Canada
Rideau Hall
1, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0A1

Madame la Gouverneure générale,

Conformément aux dispositions de l'article 10 de la Loi sur le développement de la pêche, j'ai l'honneur de présenter à son Excellence et au Parlement du Canada le rapport annuel sur l'application de cette Loi pendant l'exercice financier terminé le 31 mars 2001.

Respectueusement soumis,

L'honorable Herb Dhaliwal, C.P., député


 

L'honorable Herb Dhaliwal, C.P., député
Ministre des Pêches et des Océans
Pièce 121, Edifice de l'Est
Chambre des communes
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0A6

Monsieur le Ministre,

J'ai l'honneur de présenter le rapport annuel des travaux effectués en vertu de la Loi sur le développement de la pêche pendant l'exercice financier terminé le 31 mars 2001, conformément à l'article 10 de ladite Loi.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, l'expression de ma plus haute considération.

Wayne G. Wouters


TABLE DES MATIÈRES

Introduction

Programmes:

Programme d'adaptation et de restructuration des pêches canadiennes

Bureau du commissaire du développement de l'aquaculture

Programme d'accès aux pêches

INTRODUCTION

 En vertu de la Loi sur le développement de la pêche administrée par le ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada (MPO),

  1. le Ministre peut mettre sur pied des projets pour :

    la rationalisation de l'exploitation des ressources halieutiques et la recherche et la mise en valeur de nouvelles pêches;

    la présentation et la démonstration aux pêcheurs de nouveaux bateaux, agrès ou techniques de pêche;

    la mise en valeur de nouveaux produits de la pêche et l'amélioration des procédés de manutention, de transformation et de distribution des produits de la pêche.
     
  2. Le Ministre peut conclure avec toute province une entente prévoyant la mise sur pied, conjointement avec le gouvernement de la province ou l'un de ses organismes, de tout projet mentionné en 1.
  3. Le Ministre peut, avec l'approbation du gouverneur en conseil, conclure avec toute province une entente prévoyant le versement à cette dernière de contributions aux frais de tout programme mentionné au point 1 et mis sur pied par le gouvernement de la province ou l'un de ses organismes.
  4. Le Ministre peut conclure avec toute personne une entente prévoyant la mise sur pied conjointe de tout projet mentionné au point 1 ou prévoyant le versement de contributions relatives au coût d'un tel projet mis sur pied par cette personne.
  5. Afin d'aider à formuler et à évaluer les projets de développement de la pêche, le Ministre peut entreprendre des études économiques, seul ou conjointement avec le gouvernement d'une province ou l'un de ses organismes, une université, un établissement d'enseignement ou un particulier. Il peut coordonner ces études avec des travaux analogues poursuivis au Canada.

Au cours de l'exercice financier 2000-2001, les dépenses engagées par le gouvernement fédéral en vertu de la Loi ont été évaluées à 130,2 millions de dollars.

PROGRAMMES DE CONTRIBUTIONS

  1. Adaptation et restructuration des pêches canadiennes (ARPC) : Programme d'adaptation et de restructuration des pêches canadiennes (PARPC) : Le Programme d'adaptation et de restructuration des pêches canadiennes est un ensemble de mesures de conservation, d'ajustement et de restructuration entreprises à la fois sur les côtes de l'Atlantique et du Pacifique, pour instaurer un équilibre entre la capacité de récolte et la disponibilité des ressources et pour assurer la viabilité à long terme du secteur de la pêche.

    Le budget 2000-2001 du Ministère incluait un montant de 104,7 M$ pour différentes initiatives dans le Pacifique (32,6 M$) et pour les programmes de retrait de permis de pêche du poisson de fond et de retraite anticipée des pêcheurs dans l'Atlantique (72,1 M$). La plus grande partie de ces fonds, soit 84,2 M$, devaient servir à des programmes de contribution liés à l'adaptation et à la restructuration des pêches.

    En 2000-2001, dans la région de l'Atlantique, les dépenses se sont élevées à 26,8 M$; 25,5 M$ ont été consacrés au retrait de permis de pêche du poisson de fond et 1,3 M$ à l'administration. Les 45,3 M$ non utilisés ont été reportés à l'exercice 2001-2002 et serviront à compléter le Programme de retrait de permis de pêche du poisson de fond de l'Atlantique.

    Dans la région du Pacifique, les dépenses ont totalisé 27,0 M$; 5,6 M$ ont été reportés à l'exercice 2001-2002. Les fonds ont été dépensés comme suit : programme de retrait de permis de pêche du Pacifique(0,5 M$), programme de rétablissement du saumon du Pacifique (18,3 M$), pêche sélective (5,5 M$ ), développement des pêches (1,7 M$) et tourisme fondé sur les océans (1,0 M$).
     
  2.  Bureau du commissaire au développement de l'aquaculture : Dans le budget fédéral de 1998, 2 M$ ont été mis de côté pour chacune des quatre années à venir pour le Bureau du commissaire au développement de l'aquaculture (BCDA). Nommé par le gouverneur en conseil, le commissaire joue le rôle de champion pour l'industrie aquacole. Le ministre des Pêches et des Océans a annoncé la nomination de M. Yves Bastien, de Gaspé (Québec), au nouveau poste de commissaire au développement de l'aquaculture le 17 décembre 1998.

    Les dépenses du BCDA se sont élevées à 2,3 M$ en 2000-2001; les fonds ont permis d'aider différentes organisations de l'industrie aquacole, de consulter les intervenants et d'amorcer diverses études scientifiques. Un examen des lois et des règlements qui régissent l'aquaculture au Canada a été complété; au total, 36 recommandations ont été présentées au ministre Dhaliwal. De plus, à la faveur des liens étroits qu'elle entretient avec le MPO, l'équipe de M. Bastien a participé à la planification et à l'élaboration du programme fédéral d'aquaculture durable qui a été annoncé en août 2000.
     
  3.  Programme d'accès aux pêches : Le Programme d'accès aux pêches est conçu pour procurer aux groupes autochtones un accès aux pêches et leur fournir ainsi la possibilité d'en retirer un revenu modéré. Les 104,7 M$ prévus au budget 2000-2001 du Ministère pour le Programme d'accès aux pêches devaient être dépensés comme suit : 75 M$ pour la Phase I et 29,7 M$ pour la Réponse à long terme. En 2000-2001, 74,1 M$ ont été utilisés pour offrir aux groupes autochtones un accès accru à la pêche sans compromettre l'avenir de la ressource. Le Programme a permis de retirer des permis de pêche commerciale (avec bateaux et engins), de construire des bateaux et des engins et d'acheter ou de retirer des quotas. Des fonds totalisant 9,2 M$ ont été reportés à l'exercice 2001-2002 pour la Réponse à long terme du Programme d'accès aux pêches.