Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Central and Arctic Region

The Central and Arctic Region is the largest of Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s six regions. Comprised of Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, and Ontario, it would be the 7th largest nation in the world if it was its own country.

The region supplies freshwater to over 30 million people in Canada and the United States, and includes 55 per cent of Canada’s population; 64 per cent of Canada’s geographic area; 67 per cent of Canada’s freshwaters; and 71 per cent of Canada’s coastline.