Fisheries and Oceans Canada - Quarterly Financial Report for the Quarter Ended September 30, 2017

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. The quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates (A) as well as Budget 2016 and Budget 2017.

This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Further details on Fisheries and Oceans Canada's authority, mandate and programs may be found in the Departmental Plan and the Main Estimates (Part II).

1.1 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes Fisheries and Oceans Canada's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Department consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (A) for 2017-18. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The Department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental results reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of the Fiscal Quarter and the Fiscal Year-to-Date (YTD) results

The following section highlights the financial results and provides explanations for the fiscal quarter ended September 30, 2017 as compared to the same period last year.

Highlights of the Fiscal Quarter and the Fiscal Year-to-Date (YTD) results (thousands of dollars)

  2016-17 Authorities as at September 30, 2016 2017-18 Authorities as at September 30, 2017 Variance in Authorities Expenditures during the quarter ended September 30, 2016 Expenditures during the quarter ended September 30, 2017 Variance in Expenditures
Vote 1 – Net Operating expenditures 1,430,799 1,525,242 94,443 313,581 372,538 58,957
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures 1,055,390 944,403 (110,987) 143,155 184,339 41,184
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions 94,450 136,736 42,286 17,640 18,901 1,261
Statutory Authorities 131,248 135,742 4,494 32,513 29,894 (2,619)
Total 2,711,887 2,742,123 30,236 506,889 605,672 98,783

Statement of Voted and Statutory Authorities

Total budgetary authorities available for use increased in 2017-18 from those in 2016-17 by $30.2 million (1.1%). This is the result of an increase in Vote 1 authorities of $94.4 million, a decrease in Vote 5 authorities of $111.0 million, an increase in Vote 10 authorities of $42.3 million, and an increase in spending authority for statutory payments of $4.5 million.

The negative amounts in the table below do not represent cuts to program spending. They represent the achievement of project milestones as well as planned changes in the funding profile of initiatives. As well, some variances are due to timing of the authorities granted by Parliament.

Explanation of Changes
(2017-18 compared to 2016-17)
Change
(thousands of dollars)
Vote 1 – Net Operating expenditures
Funding to maintain mission-critical services to Canadians (e.g. fisheries management activities and maintenance of the fleet for continued safety and security of Canadian waters) 126,577
Funding for the Oceans Protection Plan to improve marine safety and protect Canadaʼs marine environment (horizontal item) 80,935
Funding to address the threat of pollutants from the Manolis L and M/V Kathryn Spirit 14,000
Funding to implement activities to achieve marine conservation targets (Budget 2016) 13,865
Other departmental requirements 7,724
Funding to invest in ocean and freshwater research in Canada 5,248
Funding to promote clean growth and address climate change (Budget 2016) 2,627
Funding for the federal infrastructure initiatives (Budget 2015 federal infrastructure initiative and Budget 2016 maintain and upgrade federal infrastructure assets) (65,670)
Funding for the strategy to address financial pressures and to maintain service integrity for the Canadian Coast Guard (37,000)
Funding for incremental fuel costs for the Canadian Coast Guard (16,000)
Funding to enhance the safety of marine transportation in the Arctic (9,810)
Operating Budget Carry Forward (9,402)
Transfer between votes (8,737)
Budget 2016 reductions in professional services, advertising and travel (5,445)
Funding related to the assessment, management and remediation of federal contaminated sites (4,469)
Sub-total Net Operating expenditures 94,443
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures
Funding to maintain mission-critical services to Canadians (e.g. fisheries management activities and maintenance of the fleet for continued safety and security of Canadian waters) 40,105
Funding for the Oceans Protection Plan to improve marine safety and protect Canadaʼs marine environment (horizontal item) 39,782
Transfer between votes 8,600
Capital Budget Carry Forward 5,918
Funding for the federal infrastructure initiatives (Budget 2015 federal infrastructure initiative and Budget 2016 maintain and upgrade federal infrastructure assets) (133,889)
Canadian Coast Guard Vessels, Lifeboats and Helicopters (58,935)
Funding to invest in ocean and freshwater research in Canada (6,500)
Funding to enhance marine emergency response capacity in British Columbia (5,805)
Other departmental requirements (263)
Sub-total Capital expenditures (110,987)
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions
Funding for the Oceans Protection Plan to improve marine safety and protect Canadaʼs marine environment (horizontal item) 24,797
Funding to support negotiations on fisheries and marine matters 15,000
Other departmental requirements 2,352
Transfer between votes 137
Sub-total Grants and Contributions 42,286
Statutory
Sub-total Statutory Authorities 4,494
Total Authorities 30,236

In the second quarter of 2017-18, total budgetary authorities available for use amounted to $2,742.1 million compared to $2,577.8 million reported in the first quarter of 2017-18, which represents an increase of $164.3 million. This is the result of the receipt of the Operating and Capital Budget Carry-Forwards.

Authorities Used Analysis

In the second quarter of 2017-18, total budgetary expenditures amounted to $605.7 million compared to $506.9 million reported in the same quarter of 2016-17, which represents an increase of $98.8 million or 19.5%.

Authorities used in Vote 1, Net Operating expenditures, increased by $59.0 million compared to the same quarter last year representing an increase of approximately 18.8% between the two years. The increase is related to $58.0 million in personnel expenditures, which is mainly the result of collective bargaining retroactive payments and higher regular pay across the Department. Vote 1 expenditures also increased as a result of a $5.7 million increase in other subsidies and payments and $5.1 million in higher transportation costs which were offset by slight decreases across several other standard objects.

Authorities used in Vote 5, Capital expenditures, increased by $41.2 million compared to the same quarter last year representing an increase of approximately 28.8% between the two years. This is due to a $69.1 million increase in spending on professional and special services which was mainly related to $64.7 million in higher spending on architectural services for Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) Offshore Fisheries Science Vessels. The increase is partially offset by a $19.9 million decrease in the acquisition of land, buildings and works and a $6.3 million decrease in repair and maintenance expenditures.

Authorities used in Vote 10, Grants and Contributions expenditures, increased by $1.3 million compared to the same quarter of last year representing an increase of approximately 7.2% between the two years. The increase is mainly due to $2.8 million increase in contribution agreements within the Aquatic Ecosystems Sector.

Statutory authorities decreased by $2.6 million compared to the same quarter last year representing a decrease of approximately 8.1%. The decrease is mainly related to the timing of contributions to employee benefit plans.

Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The increase of $98.8 million in total net budgetary expenditures in the second quarter of 2017-18 as compared to the same quarter in 2016-17 is reflected primarily in the net effect of the following standard objects of expenditures:

Personnel expenditures increased by a total of $55.6 million in the second quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. The change includes an increase of $38.1 million in retroactive payments related to the new collective agreements, a $14.8 million increase in regular pay, and a $2.9 million increase in overtime expenses.

Expenditures related to Transportation and Communications increased by a total of $5.2 million in the second quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. This is mainly due to travel costs for CCG vessel crew changes as a result of increased CCG operations related to the Oceans Protection Plan and Comprehensive Review funding.

Expenditures related to Professional and Special Services increased by a total of $62.5 million in the second quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. This is mainly due to $64.7 million in higher spending by CCG on architectural services for the Offshore Fisheries Science Vessels.

Expenditures related to Rentals decreased by a total of $1.5 million in the second quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. This decrease is a result of timing differences related to a $1.6 million payment for Oracle software licences and support costs. Last year, Information Management and Technology Services made the payment in the second quarter; however, this year the payment was made earlier in the first quarter.

Expenditures related to Repair and Maintenance decreased by a total of $7.5 million in the second quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. This is mainly due to a $2.7 million decrease in CCG Vessel Life Extension Program expenditures and a $2.2 million decrease due to the timing of payments related to the CCG vessel maintenance schedule. The decrease in expenditures is also due to a $2.1 million decrease in Quebec region related to reconstruction work on the Queen’s Wharf that took place in the second quarter of last year.

Expenditures related to the Acquisition of Land, Buildings and Works decreased by a total of $20.0 million in the second quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. This decrease is mainly due to $23.8 million in lower spending for Small Craft Harbour projects in Newfoundland, Maritimes, Gulf, and Quebec regions. The total decrease is partially offset by increased expenditures of $3.0 million by CCG on Federal Infrastructure Investment projects.

Expenditures related to Transfer Payments increased by a total of $1.3 million in the second quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. An increase of $1.8 million is due to the Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Contribution Program and an increase of $1.5 million is due to the Ice Assistance Program. The total increase is offset by an overall $1.6 million decrease in spending in the Aboriginal Fisheries Strategy Program.

Other Subsidies and Payments increased by a total of $4.4 million in the second quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. This is mainly due to a $3.1 million net increase in accounts receivable related to salary overpayments due to technical issues with the Government of Canada’s Phoenix pay system.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

Fisheries and Oceans Canada operates in a dynamic environment that is affected by a number of factors, including: increased northern development; expansion of navigable waters; environmental changes; climate change; severe weather events; demographics; technological advances; changing maritime safety and security demands; and global geopolitical and economic conditions. The Department continues to assess how it conducts its business, provides services and delivers its programs to meet client and stakeholder needs.

This environment raises many challenges for the Department that are reflected in five mission-critical corporate risks listed below:

Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s risks are monitored throughout the fiscal year through the One-Pass Reporting process. Risk indicators and action plans are developed, monitored and tracked through the One-Pass Planning and One-Pass Reporting processes, making risk management part of the regular management of a program and its resources. This enables the Department to use risk information to inform planning and make adjustments as necessary.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

The following changes in personnel were made during the second quarter:

5. Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Original signed by
_________________________
Catherine Blewett, Deputy Minister

Original signed by
_________________________
Tony Matson CPA, CMA,
Chief Financial Officer

Ottawa, Canada
November 22, 2017

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2016-17 Fiscal year 2017-18
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2018* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2017 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 – Net Operating expenditures 1,430,799 313,581 565,332 1,525,242 372,538 663,428
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures 1,055,390 143,155 187,736 944,403 184,339 281,215
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions 94,450 17,640 28,022 136,736 18,901 30,310
Statutory Authorities
Statutory - Contributions to employee benefit plans 131,164 31,820 63,640 135,658 29,931 59,861
Statutory - Minister of Fisheries and Oceans – Salary and motor car allowance 84 7 14 84 21 42
Statutory - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets - 683 864 - (59) 241
Statutory – Refunds of amounts credited to revenues in previous years - 3 7 - 1 1
Total Statutory Authorities 131,248 32,513 64,525 135,742 29,894 60,145
Total Authorities 2,711,887 506,889 845,615 2,742,123 605,672 1,035,098

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2016-17 Fiscal year 2017-18
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017* Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2018* Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2017 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 926,515 226,470 445,024 993,381 282,023 516,079
Transportation and communications 61,872 15,477 27,304 64,172 20,682 35,097
Information 3,527 414 656 3,355 518 874
Professional and special services 270,824 85,584 118,155 291,963 148,077 236,895
Rentals 15,944 6,708 9,381 20,372 5,245 9,753
Repair and maintenance 218,396 46,151 68,256 213,051 38,623 65,865
Utilities, materials and supplies 111,953 26,501 40,546 120,987 25,915 41,371
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 239,010 61,350 74,825 165,992 41,360 57,591
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 801,054 24,367 37,532 760,147 22,353 35,546
Transfer payments 94,450 17,640 28,022 136,736 18,901 30,310
Other subsidies and payments 16,257 6,379 16,980 19,882 10,742 27,053
Total gross budgetary expenditures 2,759,802 517,041 866,681 2,790,038 614,439 1,056,434
Less Revenues netted against expenditures:
Sales of goods and services 47,915 10,152 21,066 47,915 8,767 21,336
Total Revenues netted against expenditures 47,915 10,152 21,066 47,915 8,767 21,336
Total net budgetary expenditures 2,711,887 506,889 845,615 2,742,123 605,672 1,035,098

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Pêches et Océans Canada – Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2017

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport doit être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses, le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A), ainsi que le Budget de 2016 et le Budget de 2017.

Le présent rapport trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur les autorisations, le mandat et les programmes peuvent se retrouver dans le Plan ministériel et le Budget principal des dépenses (Partie II).

1.1 Méthode de la présentation

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport comprend les autorisations de dépenser de Pêches et Océans Canada accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par le Ministère de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) pour l'exercice 2017-2018. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé à l'aide d'un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut pas dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur les résultats ministériels. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenses votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La section qui suit expose les faits saillants des résultats financiers et donne une explication des écarts entre les données du trimestre ayant pris fin le 30 septembre 2017 et celles correspondant à la même date de l’année précédente.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs (en milliers de dollars)

  2016-2017 Autorisations au 30 septembre 2016 2017-2018 Autorisations au 30 septembre 2017 Écarts des autorisations Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre au 30 septembre 2016 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre au 30 septembre 2017 Écart des dépenses
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1 430 799 1 525 242 94 443 313 581 372 538 58 957
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 1 055 390 944 403 (110 987) 143 155 184 339 41 184
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions 94 450 136 736 42 286 17 640 18 901 1 261
Autorisations législatives 131 248 135 742 4 494 32 513 29 894 (2 619)
Total 2 711 887 2 742 123 30 236 506 889 605 672 98 783

État des autorisations votées et législatives

De 2016-2017 à 2017-2018, le total des autorisations budgétaires disponible a augmenté de 30,2 millions de dollars (1,1 %). Cela découle d’une augmentation des autorisations de 94,4 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 1, d’une diminution de 111,0 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 5, d’une augmentation de 42,3 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 10, et par une augmentation de 4,5 millions de dollars de l’autorisation d’effectuer des paiements législatifs.

Les montants négatifs dans le tableau ci-dessous ne représentent pas des coupures de dépenses de programme. Ils représentent des étapes essentielles de projets ainsi que les changements prévus dans le profil de financement de ces initiatives. En outre, certains écarts sont dus à la synchronisation des autorités accordées par le Parlement.

Explication des changements (2017-2018 comparativement à 2016-2017) Changement (milliers de dollars)
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement
Fonds pour le maintien des services essentiels offerts aux Canadiens (e.g. les activités de gestion des pêches, d’entretien de la flotte pour assurer la sécurité des eaux canadiennes à long terme) 126 577
Fonds pour le Plan de protection des océans visant à améliorer la sécurité maritime et à protéger l’environnement marin du Canada 80 935
Fonds pour contrer la menace des polluants du Manolis L et N/M Kathryn Spirit 14 000
Fonds pour la mise en œuvre des activités visant à atteindre les objectifs de conservation marine 13 865
Autres exigences ministérielles 7 724
Fonds pour investir dans la recherche sur les océans et les eaux douces au Canada 5 248
Fonds pour promouvoir une croissance propre et lutter contre les changements climatiques 2 627
Fonds pour les initiatives en biens d'infrastructure fédéraux (Budget 2015 initiative de l'infrastructure fédérale et Budget 2016 entretenir et mettre à niveau les biens d'infrastructure fédéraux) (65 670)
Fonds pour la stratégie visant à faire face aux pressions financières et à maintenir lʼintégrité des services de la Garde côtière canadienne (37 000)
Fonds pour les coûts supplémentaires en carburant de la Garde côtière canadienne (16 000)
Fonds pour améliorer la sécurité du transport maritime dans l'Arctique (9 810)
Report du budget de fonctionnement (9 402)
Transfert entre crédits (8 737)
Réductions annoncées dans le Budget 2016 dans les dépenses des services professionnels, la publicité et les voyages (5 445)
Fonds destinés à lʼévaluation, à la gestion et à lʼassainissement des sites contaminés fédéraux (4 469)
Total partiel - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 94 443
Crédit 5 - Dépenses en capital
Fonds pour le maintien des services essentiels offerts aux Canadiens (e.g. les activités de gestion des pêches, d’entretien de la flotte pour assurer la sécurité des eaux canadiennes à long terme) 40 105
Fonds pour le Plan de protection des océans visant à améliorer la sécurité maritime et à protéger l’environnement marin du Canada 39 782
Transfert entre crédits 8 600
Report du budget des dépenses en capital 5 918
Fonds pour les initiatives en biens d'infrastructure fédéraux (Budget 2015 initiative de l'infrastructure fédérale et Budget 2016 entretenir et mettre à niveau les biens d'infrastructure fédéraux) (133 889)
Navires, canots de sauvetage et hélicoptères pour la Garde côtière canadienne (58 935)
Fonds pour investir dans la recherche sur les océans et les eaux douces au Canada (6 500)
Fonds pour améliorer la capacité dʼintervention en cas dʼurgence maritime en Colombie-Britannique (5 805)
Autres exigences ministérielles (263)
Total partiel - Dépenses en capital (110 987)
Crédit 10 - Subventions et contributions
Fonds pour le Plan de protection des océans visant à améliorer la sécurité maritime et à protéger l’environnement marin du Canada 24 797
Fonds pour soutenir les négociations sur les pêches et le secteur maritime 15 000
Autres exigences ministérielles 2 352
Transfert entre crédits 137
Total partiel - Subventions et contributions 42 286
Législatif
Total partiel - Autorisations législatives 4 494
Autorisation Totales 30 236

Au deuxième trimestre de 2017-2018, les autorisations budgétaires totales pouvant être utilisées se chiffraient à 2 742,1 millions de dollars, contre 2 577,8 millions de dollars pour le premier trimestre de 2016-2017, soit une hausse de 164,3 millions de dollars. Il s'agit du résultat des sommes reportées du budget de fonctionnement et du budget d'immobilisations.

Analyse des autorisations utilisées

Au deuxième trimestre de 2017-2018, les dépenses budgétaires totales se chiffraient à 605,7 millions de dollars, comparativement à 506,9 millions de dollars pour le même trimestre en 2016-2017, soit une augmentation de 98,8 millions de dollars, ou 19,5 %.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 1, Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement, ont augmenté de 59,0 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse d'environ 18,8 % d'un exercice à l'autre. La hausse est liée aux dépenses de personnel de 58,0 millions de dollars qui résultent principalement des paiements rétroactifs versés en vertu d'une convention collective et des salaires réguliers plus élevés dans tout le Ministère. Les dépenses du crédit 1 ont aussi augmenté en raison de la hausse de 5,7 millions de dollars des dépenses pour les autres subventions et paiements et des coûts de transport accrus de 5,1 millions de dollars, neutralisés par de légères baisses pour plusieurs autres articles courants.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 5, Dépenses en capital, ont augmenté de 41,2 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse d'environ 28,8 % d'un exercice à l'autre. Ce résultat est attribuable à une hausse de 69,1 millions de dollars des dépenses en services professionnels et spéciaux, qui s'explique essentiellement par une augmentation de 64,7 millions de dollars des dépenses pour des services d'architecture pour les navires hauturiers de sciences halieutiques de la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC). L'augmentation est partiellement compensée par une diminution de 19,9 millions de dollars des dépenses liées à l'acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d'ouvrages et une diminution de 6,3 millions de dollars des dépenses de réparation et d'entretien.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 10, Subventions et contributions, ont augmenté de 1,3 million de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse d'environ 7,2 % d'un exercice à l'autre. La hausse est principalement attribuable à l'augmentation de 2,8 millions de dollars au titre des accords de contribution dans le Secteur des écosystèmes aquatiques.

Les autorisations législatives ont baissé de 2,6 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, soit une baisse d'environ 8,1 %. Le recul est essentiellement attribuable au moment choisi pour le versement des contributions au régime d'avantages sociaux des employés.

État des dépenses budgétaires ministérielles par article courant

L'augmentation de 98,8 millions de dollars des dépenses budgétaires nettes totales durant le deuxième trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre de 2016-2017, est principalement attribuable à l'effet net des articles courants de dépense suivants :

Les dépenses de personnel ont augmenté globalement de 55,6 millions de dollars au deuxième trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre en 2016-2017. Cela comprend une augmentation de 38,1 millions de dollars des paiements rétroactifs versés en vertu des nouvelles conventions collectives, une augmentation de 14,8 millions de dollars des salaires réguliers et une augmentation de 2,9 millions de dollars des dépenses en heures supplémentaires.

Les dépenses relatives aux services de transport et de communications ont augmenté de 5,2 millions de dollars au total au deuxième trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre de 2016-2017. La hausse tient surtout aux frais de transport reliés aux changements d'équipage des navires de la GCC, qui résultent des opérations accrues de la GCC en raison du financement associé au Plan de protection des océans et à l'Examen approfondi.

Les dépenses relatives aux services professionnels et spéciaux ont augmenté de 62,5 millions de dollars au total au deuxième trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre de 2016-2017. Cela s'explique principalement par une augmentation de 64,7 millions de dollars des dépenses engendrées par la GCC pour des services d'architecture pour les navires hauturiers de sciences halieutiques.

Les dépenses associées aux locations ont baissé en tout de 1,5 million de dollars au deuxième trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre de 2016-2017. La diminution résulte d'une différence dans le choix du moment pour un paiement de 1,6 million de dollars pour l'achat de licences de logiciel Oracle et des coûts de soutien. L'année dernière, Gestion de l'information et services de la technologie a effectué le paiement au deuxième trimestre, et cette année, il a été fait plus tôt au premier trimestre.

Les dépenses relatives aux services de réparation et d'entretien ont baissé de 7,5 millions de dollars au total au deuxième trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre en 2016-2017. Cette baisse est essentiellement attribuable à la diminution de 2,7 millions de dollars des dépenses du Programme de prolongement de vie des navires de la GCC et à une diminution de 2,2 millions de dollars attribuable au choix du moment des paiements associés au calendrier d'entretien des navires de la GCC. Le recul des dépenses est aussi dû à la baisse de 2,1 millions de dollars observée dans la région du Québec et liée à la reconstruction du quai de la Reine qui a eu lieu au deuxième trimestre de l'année dernière.

Les dépenses pour l'acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d'ouvrages ont baissé de 20,0 millions de dollars au total au deuxième trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre en 2016-2017. Ce constat est principalement attribuable à une baisse des dépenses de 23,8 millions de dollars au titre des projets des Ports pour petits bateaux dans les régions de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, des Maritimes, du Golfe et du Québec. La baisse totale est compensée en partie par la hausse de 3,0 millions de dollars des dépenses de la GCC reliées aux projets relevant de l'Initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales.

Les dépenses relatives aux paiements de transfert ont augmenté de 1,3 million de dollars au total au deuxième trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre de 2016-2017. Une augmentation de 1,8 million de dollars est attribuable au Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives, et une augmentation de 1,5 million de dollars est attribuable au Programme temporaire liée aux conditions des glaces. L'augmentation totale est neutralisée par une diminution globale de 1,6 million de dollars des dépenses au titre du Programme sur la Stratégie relative aux pêches autochtones.

Les dépenses pour les autres subventions et paiements ont augmenté de 4,4 millions de dollars au total au deuxième trimestre de 2017-2018 par rapport au même trimestre de 2016-2017. Cette hausse est principalement attribuable à une augmentation nette de 3,1 millions de dollars des comptes débiteurs liés aux salaires payés en trop, en raison de problèmes techniques du système de paye Phénix du gouvernement du Canada.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Pêches et Océans Canada mène ses activités dans un environnement dynamique sur lequel influent divers facteurs, comme le développement accru dans le Nord, l’expansion des voies navigables, les changements environnementaux, le changement climatique, les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes, la démographie, les progrès technologiques, l’évolution des exigences de sécurité et de sûreté maritime, de même que la situation économique et géopolitique mondiale. Le Ministère continue d’évaluer la façon dont il exerce ses activités, offre ses services et exécute ses programmes afin de répondre aux besoins des clients et des intervenants.

Ce contexte soulève de nombreux défis pour le Ministère, qui se manifestent dans cinq risques ministériels essentiels à sa mission, qui sont indiqués ci-dessous :

Le processus mono-étape d’établissement de rapports permet de surveiller les risques du MPO tout au long de l’exercice financier. Les indicateurs de risque et les plans d'action sont élaborés, surveillés et suivis dans le cadre des processus mono-étape de planification et d’établissement de rapports, de sorte que la gestion des risques s’intègre à la gestion régulière d'un programme et de ses ressources. Cela permet au Ministère de se servir des renseignements sur les risques pour orienter la planification et s’ajuster, au besoin.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Les changements au personnel suivants ont été apportés au cours du deuxième trimestre :

5. Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Original signé par
_________________________
Catherine Blewett, sous-ministre

Original signé par
_________________________
Tony Matson CPA, CMA,
Dirigeant principal des finances

Ottawa, Canada
22 novembre 2017

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2016-2017 Exercice 2017-2018
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1 430 799 313 581 565 332 1 525 242 372 538 663 428
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 1 055 390 143 155 187 736 944 403 184 339 281 215
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions 94 450 17 640 28 022 136 736 18 901 30 310
Autorisations législatives
Dépenses législatives – Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 131 164 31 820 63 640 135 658 29 931 59 861
Dépenses législatives – Ministre des Pêches et des Océans – Traitement et allocation pour automobile 84 7 14 84 21 42
Dépenses législatives – Dépense des produits de la vente de biens excédentaires de l’État - 683 864 - (59) 241
Dépenses législatives – Remboursements de montants portés aux revenus d’exercices antérieurs - 3 7 - 1 1
Autorisations législatives totales 131 248 32 513 64 525 135 742 29 894 60 145
Autorisations totales 2 711 887 506 889 845 615 2 742 123 605 672 1 035 098

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice financier et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2016-2017 Exercice 2017-2018
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 926 515 226 470 445 024 993 381 282 023 516 079
Transport et communications 61 872 15 477 27 304 64 172 20 682 35 097
Information 3 527 414 656 3 355 518 874
Services professionnels et spéciaux 270 824 85 584 118 155 291 963 148 077 236 895
Location 15 944 6 708 9 381 20 372 5 245 9 753
Services de réparation et d'entretien 218 396 46 151 68 256 213 051 38 623 65 865
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 111 953 26 501 40 546 120 987 25 915 41 371
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 239 010 61 350 74 825 165 992 41 360 57 591
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 801 054 24 367 37 532 760 147 22 353 35 546
Paiements de transfert 94 450 17 640 28 022 136 736 18 901 30 310
Autres subventions et paiements 16 257 6 379 16 980 19 882 10 742 27 053
Total des dépenses budgétaires brutes 2 759 802 517 041 866 681 2 790 038 614 439 1 056 434
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses :
Ventes de biens et services 47 915 10 152 21 066 47 915 8 767 21 336
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses 47 915 10 152 21 066 47 915 8 767 21 336
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 2 711 887 506 889 845 615 2 742 123 605 672 1 035 098

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice financier et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.