Fisheries and Oceans Canada - Quarterly Financial Report for the Quarter Ended June 30, 2017

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. The quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates (A) as well as Budget 2016 and Budget 2017.

This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Further details on Fisheries and Oceans Canada's authority, mandate and programs may be found in the Departmental Plan and the Main Estimates (Part II).

1.1 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes Fisheries and Oceans Canada's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Department consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (A) for 2017-18. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The Department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of the Fiscal Quarter and the Fiscal Year-to-Date (YTD) results

The following section highlights the financial results and provides explanations for the fiscal quarter ended June 30, 2017 as compared to the same period last year.

Highlights of the Fiscal Quarter and the Fiscal Year-to-Date (YTD) results (thousands of dollars)

  2016-17 Authorities as at June 30, 2016 2017-18 Authorities as at June 30, 2017 Variance in Authorities Year-to-date expenditures as at June 30, 2016 Year-to-date expenditures as at June 30, 2017 Variance in Expenditures
Vote 1 – Net Operating expenditures 1,369,803 1,473,648 103,845 251,751 290,891 39,140
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures 948,598 831,693 (116,905) 44,581 96,876 52,295
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions 94,450 135,236 40,786 10,382 11,409 1,027
Statutory Authorities 131,248 135,742 4,494 32,012 30,250 (1,762)
Total 2,544,099 2,576,319 32,220 338,726 429,426 90,700

Statement of Voted and Statutory Authorities

Total budgetary authorities available for use increased in 2017-18 from those in 2016-17 by $32.2 million (1.3%). This is the result of an increase in Vote 1 authorities of $103.8 million, a decrease in Vote 5 authorities of $116.9 million, an increase in Vote 10 authorities of $40.8 million, and an increase in spending authority for statutory payments of $4.5 million.

The negative amounts in the table below do not represent cuts to program spending. They represent the achievement of milestone projects as well as planned changes in the funding profile of initiatives. As well, some variances are due to timing of the authorities granted by Parliament.

Explanation of Changes
(2017-18 compared to 2016-17)
Change
(thousands of dollars)
Vote 1 – Net Operating expenditures
Mission-critical services to Canadians 126,577
Oceans Protection Plan 80,935
Funding to address the threat of pollutants 14,000
Marine Conservation Targets 13,865
Other Departmental Requirements 7,724
Ocean and freshwater research in Canada 5,248
Climate Change 2,627
Federal Infrastructure Initiatives (65,670)
Strategy to address financial pressures and to maintain service integrity for the Canadian Coast Guard (37,000)
Funding for incremental fuel costs for the Canadian Coast Guard (16,000)
Funding to enhance the safety of marine transportation in the Arctic (World Class Tanker Safety System) (9,810)
Transfer between votes (8,737)
Budget 2016 reductions in professional services, advertising and travel (5,445)
Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan (4,469)
Sub-total Net Operating expenditures 103,845
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures
Mission-critical services to Canadians 40,105
Oceans Protection Plan 39,782
Transfer between votes 8,600
Federal Infrastructure Initiatives (133,889)
Canadian Coast Guard Vessels, Lifeboats and Helicopters (58,935)
Ocean and Freshwater Research in Canada (6,500)
Funding to enhance marine emergency response capacity in British Columbia (5,805)
Other Departmental Requirements (263)
Sub-total Capital expenditures (116,905)
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions
Oceans Protection Plan 24,797
Funding to support increased Aboriginal participation 15,000
Other Departmental Requirements 852
Transfer between votes 137
Sub-total Grants and Contributions 40,786
Statutory
Sub-total Statutory Authorities 4,494
Total Authorities 32,220

Authorities Used Analysis

In the first quarter of 2017-18, total budgetary expenditures amounted to $429.4 million compared to $338.7 million reported in the same quarter of 2016-17, which represents an increase of $90.7 million or 26.8%.

Authorities used in Vote 1, Net Operating expenditures, increased by $39.1 million compared to the same quarter last year representing an increase of approximately 15.6% between the two years. The increase is mainly related to personnel expenditures, which was driven by higher regular pay and overtime across the Department. Personnel expenditures also increased because of $5.5 million in retroactive pay as several bargaining units have ratified new collective agreements. Finally, Vote 1 expenditures also increased as a result of $7.0 million in repair and maintenance expenses incurred by the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) as part of the vessel maintenance schedule.

Authorities used in Vote 5, Capital expenditures, increased by $52.3 million compared to the same quarter last year representing a significant increase of approximately 117.3% between the two years. This is mainly related to a $53.3 million increase in spending on professional and special services mostly for CCG’s Offshore Fisheries Science Vessels.

Authorities used in Vote 10, Grants and Contributions expenditures, increased by $1.0 million compared to the same quarter last year representing an increase of approximately 9.9% between the two years. The increase is mainly due to more agreements for Ecosystems and Fisheries Management Sector’s Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Program being signed earlier in 2017-18.

Statutory authorities decreased by $1.8 million compared to the same quarter last year representing a decrease of approximately 5.5% indicating no significant variance between the two years.

Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The increase of $90.7 million in total net budgetary expenditures in the first quarter of 2017-18 as compared to the same quarter in 2016-17 is reflected primarily in the net effect of the following standard objects of expenditures:

Personnel expenditures increased by a total of $15.5 million in the first quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. The change includes an increase of $8.6 million in regular pay, $5.5 million in retroactive pay, and $1.6 million in overtime expenses.

Expenditures related to Transportation and Communications increased by a total of $2.6 million in the first quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. This is mainly due to higher travel costs related to CCG crew changes, the CCGS Hudson Vessel Life Extension, and Federal Infrastructure Initiative projects.

Expenditures related to Professional and Special Services increased by a total of $56.2 million in the first quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. This is mainly due to $49.7 million in higher spending by CCG on architectural services for various projects including Offshore Fisheries Science Vessels. In addition, the increase is also related to a $2.8 million increase for construction engineering consultants for the Offshore Oceanographic Science Vessel project.

Expenditures related to Rentals increased by a total of $1.8 million in the first quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. This is mainly related to $1.6 million in Oracle software licences and support incurred by the Information Management and Technical Services Directorate.

Expenditures related to Repair and Maintenance increased by a total of $5.1 million in the first quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. This is mainly due to a $7.0 million increase by CCG as a result of the timing of payments related to the vessel maintenance schedule. The increase is partially offset by a $2.8 million decrease in Vessel Life Extension Program expenditures.

Expenditures related to Utilities, Materials, and Supplies increased by a total of $1.4 million in the first quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. The increase is primarily related to $0.9 million in higher spending by the CCG on diesel fuel.

Expenditures related to the Acquisition of Land, Buildings and Works increased by a total of $2.8 million in the first quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. This increase is mainly due to $3.2 million in higher spending on small craft harbours as well as Real Property and Environmental Management projects in the Quebec region. The increase is also related to new capitalization guidelines, which transferred expenditures previously recorded under the Repair and Maintenance category into the Acquisition of Land, Buildings, and Works category. The total increase is partially offset by a decrease of $2.5 million in the Maritimes region on Federal Infrastructure Initiative projects.

Expenditures related to Transfer Payments increased by a total of $1.0 million in the first quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. An increase of $1.1 million is due to the Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Contribution Program and an increase of $0.9 million is due to the Aboriginal Fisheries Strategy Contribution Program. The total increase is partially offset by an overall $0.8 million decrease in spending in Ecosystems and Ocean Science’s Freshwater Science Contribution Program.

Other Subsidies and Payments increased by a total of $5.7 million in the first quarter of 2017-18 when compared to the same quarter of 2016-17. This is mainly due to a $5.1 million net increase in accounts receivable related to salary overpayments due to technical issues with the Government of Canada’s new Phoenix pay system.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

Fisheries and Oceans Canada operates in a dynamic environment that is affected by a number of factors, including: increased northern development; expansion of navigable waters; environmental changes; climate change; severe weather events; demographics; technological advances; changing maritime safety and security demands; and global geopolitical and economic conditions. The Department continues to assess how it conducts its business, provides services and delivers its programs to meet client and stakeholder needs.

This environment raises many challenges for the Department that are reflected in five mission-critical corporate risks listed below:

Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s risks are monitored throughout the fiscal year through the One-Pass Reporting process. Risk indicators and action plans are developed, monitored and tracked through the One-Pass Planning and One-Pass Reporting processes, making risk management part of the regular management of a program and its resources. This enables the Department to use risk information to inform planning and make adjustments as necessary.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

The following changes in personnel were made during the first quarter:

5. Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Original signed by
_________________________
Kevin Stringer, Acting Deputy Minister

Original signed by
_________________________
Tony Matson CPA, CMA,
Chief Financial Officer

Ottawa, Canada
August 16, 2017

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2016-17 Fiscal year 2017-18
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ended March 31, 2018* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2017 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Net Operating expenditures 1,369,803 251,751 251,751 1,473,648 290,891 290,891
Vote 5 - Capital expenditures 948,598 44,581 44,581 831,693 96,876 96,876
Vote 10 - Grants and Contributions 94,450 10,382 10,382 135,236 11,409 11,409
Statutory Authorities
Statutory - Contributions to employee benefit plans 131,164 31,820 31,820 135,658 29,930 29,930
Statutory - Minister of Fisheries and Oceans - Salary and motor car allowance 84 7 7 84 21 21
Statutory - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets - 181 181 - 299 299
Statutory - Refunds of amounts credited to revenues in previous years - 4 4 - - -
Total Statutory Authorities 131,248 32,012 32,012 135,742 30,250 30,250
Total Authorities 2,544,099 338,726 338,726 2,576,319 429,426 429,426

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2016-17 Fiscal year 2017-18
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ended March 31, 2018* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2017 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 890,669 218,554 218,554 977,980 234,055 234,055
Transportation and communications 59,351 11,827 11,827 60,832 14,415 14,415
Information 3,434 242 242 3,236 355 355
Professional and special services 261,133 32,571 32,571 277,829 88,819 88,819
Rentals 15,288 2,674 2,674 19,423 4,509 4,509
Repair and maintenance 210,749 22,105 22,105 201,658 27,242 27,242
Utilities, materials and supplies 107,411 14,045 14,045 114,728 15,457 15,457
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 221,714 13,475 13,475 145,864 16,230 16,230
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 711,558 13,165 13,165 667,566 13,193 13,193
Transfer payments 94,450 10,382 10,382 135,236 11,409 11,409
Other subsidies and payments 16,257 10,601 10,601 19,882 16,311 16,311
Total gross budgetary expenditures 2,592,014 349,641 349,641 2,624,234 441,995 441,995
Less Revenues netted against expenditures:
Sales of goods and services 47,915 10,915 10,915 47,915 12,569 12,569
Total Revenues netted against expenditures 47,915 10,915 10,915 47,915 12,569 12,569
Total net budgetary expenditures 2,544,099 338,726 338,726 2,576,319 429,426 429,426

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end

Pêches et Océans Canada – Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport doit être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses, le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A), ainsi que le Budget de 2016 et le Budget de 2017.

Le présent rapport trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur les autorisations, le mandat et les programmes peuvent se retrouver dans le Plan ministériel et le Budget principal des dépenses (Partie II).

1.1 Méthode de la présentation

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport comprend les autorisations de dépenser de Pêches et Océans Canada accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par le Ministère de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) pour l'exercice 2017-2018. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé à l'aide d'un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut pas dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenses votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La section qui suit expose les faits saillants des résultats financiers et donne une explication des écarts entre les données du trimestre ayant pris fin le 30 juin 2017 et celles correspondant à la même date de l’année précédente.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs (en milliers de dollars)

  2016-2017 Autorisations au 30 juin 2016 2017-2018 Autorisations au 30 juin 2017 Écarts des autorisations Cumul des dépenses au 30 juin 2016 Cumul des dépenses au 30 juin 2017 Écart des dépenses
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1 369 803 1 473 648 103 845 251 751 290 891 39 140
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 948 598 831 693 (116 905) 44 581 96 876 52 295
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions 94 450 135 236 40 786 10 382 11 409 1 027
Autorisations législatives 131 248 135 742 4 494 32 012 30 250 (1 762)
Total 2 544 099 2 576 319 32 220 338 726 429 426 90 700

État des autorisations votées et législatives

De 2016-2017 à 2017-2018, le total des autorisations budgétaires disponible a augmenté de 32,2 millions de dollars (1,3 %). Cela découle d’une augmentation des autorisations de 103,8 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 1, d’une diminution de 116,9 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 5, d’une augmentation de 40,8 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 10, et par une augmentation de 4,5 millions de dollars de l’autorisation d’effectuer des paiements législatifs.

Les montants négatifs dans le tableau ci-dessous ne représentent pas des coupures de dépenses de programme. Ils représentent des étapes essentielles de projets ainsi que les changements prévus dans le profil de financement de ces initiatives. En outre, certains écarts sont dus à la synchronisation des autorités accordées par le Parlement.

Explication des changements
(2017-2018 comparativement à 2016-2017)
Changement
(milliers de dollars)
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement
Services essentiels offerts au Canadiens 126 577
Plan de protection des océans 80 935
Financement pour répondre à la menace de pollution 14 000
Objectifs de conservation marine 13 865
Autres exigences ministérielles 7 724
Recherche sur les océans et les eaux douces au Canada 5 248
Changement climatique 2 627
Initiatives visant les infrastructures fédérales (65 670)
Stratégie pour alléger les pressions financières et maintenir l’intégrité des services de la Garde côtière canadienne (37 000)
Dépenses en carburant de la Garde côtière canadienne (16 000)
Amélioration de la sécurité de la navigation dans l'Arctique (système de sécurité de classe mondiale pour les navires-citernes) (9 810)
Transfert entre crédits (8 737)
Réduction du Budget de 2016 dans des services professionnels, des publicités et des déplacements (5 445)
Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (4 469)
Total partiel - Dépenses en capital 103 845
Crédit 5 - Dépenses en capital
Services essentiels offerts au Canadiens 40 105
Plan de protection des océans 39 782
Transfert entre crédits 8 600
Initiatives visant les infrastructures fédérales (133 889)
Navires, canots de sauvetage et hélicoptères pour la Garde côtière canadienne (58 935)
Recherche sur les océans et les eaux douces au Canada (6 500)
Financement pour améliorer la capacité d’intervention d’urgence en mer en Colombie-Britannique (5 805)
Autres exigences ministérielles (263)
Total partiel - Dépenses en capital (116 905)
Crédit 10 - Subventions et contributions
Plan de protection des océans 24 797
Fonds à l'appui d'une participation accrue des Autochtones 15 000
Autres exigences ministérielles 852
Transfert entre crédits 137
Total partiel - Subventions et contributions 40 786
Législatif
Total partiel - Autorisations législatives 4 494
Autorisation Totales 32 220

Analyse des autorisations utilisées

Au premier trimestre de 2017-2018, les dépenses budgétaires totales se chiffraient à 429,4 millions de dollars par rapport à 338,7 millions de dollars pour le même trimestre en 2016-2017, ce qui représente une augmentation de 90,7 millions de dollars ou 26,8 %.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 1, Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement, ont augmenté de 39,1 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse d'environ 15,6 % d'un exercice à l'autre. La hausse, surtout liée aux dépenses de personnel, s'explique par des salaires réguliers plus élevés et plus d'heures supplémentaires dans tout le Ministère. Des paiements de salaire rétroactifs d’une valeur de 5,5 millions de dollars, versés en vertu de la signature de nouvelles conventions collectives par plusieurs unités de négociation, ont aussi fait augmenter les dépenses de personnel. Finalement, les dépenses du crédit 1 ont aussi augmenté du fait de dépenses de réparation et d’entretien d’une valeur de 7,0 millions de dollars engagées par la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC), dans le cadre du calendrier d’entretien des navires.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 5, Dépenses en capital, ont augmenté de 52,3 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse d'environ 117,3 % d'un exercice à l'autre. Cela s'explique principalement par une augmentation de 53,3 millions de dollars des dépenses en services professionnels et spéciaux, surtout pour les navires hauturiers de sciences halieutiques de la GCC.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 10, Subventions et contributions, ont augmenté de 1,0 million de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse d'environ 9,9 % d'un exercice à l'autre. La hausse est essentiellement attribuable au choix du moment, un plus grand nombre d’ententes ont été conclues plus tôt en 2017-2018 dans le secteur Gestion des écosystèmes et des pêches pour le Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives.

Les autorisations législatives ont augmenté de 1,8 million de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent. Il s’agit d’une augmentation d'environ 5,5 %, soit aucun écart important entre les deux exercices.

État des dépenses budgétaires ministérielles par article courant

L'augmentation de 90,7 millions de dollars des dépenses budgétaires nettes totales durant le premier trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre de 2016-2017, est principalement attribuable à l'effet net des articles courants de dépense suivants :

Les dépenses de personnel ont augmenté de 15,5 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre en 2016-2017. Ce changement comprend une augmentation de 8,6 millions de dollars en salaire régulier, de 5,5 millions de dollars en salaire rétroactif et de 1,6 million de dollars en heures supplémentaires.

Les dépenses relatives aux services de transport et de communications ont augmenté de 2,6 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre de 2016-2017. Ceci s’explique surtout par des coûts de déplacement plus élevés liés aux changements d’équipage de la GCC, les travaux de prolongement de vie des navires effectués sur le NGCC Hudson et les projets relevant de l’Initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales.

Les dépenses relatives aux services professionnels et spéciaux ont augmenté de 56,2 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre de 2016-2017. Cela s’explique principalement par une augmentation de 49,7 millions de dollars des dépenses engendrées par la GCC pour des services d’architecture sur divers projets, notamment les navires hauturiers de sciences halieutiques. De plus, l’augmentation est aussi attribuable à une hausse de 2,8 millions de dollars pour les experts-conseils en ingénierie de construction pour le projet de navire hauturier de science océanographique.

Les dépenses associées aux locations ont augmenté de 1,8 million de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre de 2016-2017. Ceci est principalement dû aux dépenses de 1,6 million de dollars engagées par la Direction générale de la gestion de l’information et des services de la technologie pour l’achat de licences de logiciel Oracle et de soutien technique.

Les dépenses relatives aux services de réparation et d'entretien ont augmenté de 5,1 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre en 2016-2017. Ceci est principalement dû à une augmentation de 7,0 millions de dollars des dépenses de la GCC en raison des moments des paiements reliées au calendrier d’entretien des navires. La hausse a été compensée en partie par une réduction de 2,8 millions de dollars des dépenses dans le cadre du programme de prolongement de vie des navires.

Les dépenses relatives aux services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements ont augmenté de 1,4 million de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre en 2016-2017. La hausse est surtout attribuable à une augmentation de 0,9 million de dollars des dépenses en carburant diesel par la GCC.

Les dépenses pour l'acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d'ouvrages ont augmenté de 2,8 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre en 2016-2017. Cette augmentation est principalement due à une augmentation de 3,2 millions de dollars des dépenses pour les ports pour petits bateaux, de même que les projets de Biens immobiliers et gestion environnementale dans la Région du Québec. Elle découle également des nouvelles lignes de conduite en matière de capitalisation, lesquelles font en sorte que les dépenses précédemment inscrites à la catégorie des services de réparation et d'entretien sont transférées à la catégorie de l'acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d'ouvrages. L’augmentation totale est compensée en partie par la réduction de 2,5 millions de dollars des dépenses reliées aux projets relevant de l’Initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales dans les Maritimes.

Les dépenses relatives aux paiements de transfert ont augmenté de 1,0 million de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2017-2018, comparativement au même trimestre de 2016-2017. Une augmentation de 1,1 million de dollars est attribuable au Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives, et une augmentation de 0,9 million de dollars est attribuable au Programme de contribution de la Stratégie relative aux pêches autochtones. L'augmentation totale est compensée en partie par une diminution globale de 0,8 million de dollars des dépenses du Programme de contribution à la recherche scientifique de Sciences des écosystèmes et des océans.

Les dépenses pour les autres subventions et paiements ont augmenté de 5,7 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2017-2018 par rapport au même trimestre de 2016-2017. Cette hausse est principalement attribuable à une augmentation nette de 5,1 millions de dollars des comptes débiteurs liés aux salaires payés en trop, due à des problèmes techniques avec le nouveau système de paye Phénix du gouvernement du Canada.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Pêches et Océans Canada mène ses activités dans un environnement dynamique sur lequel influent divers facteurs, comme le développement accru dans le Nord, l’expansion des voies navigables, les changements environnementaux, le changement climatique, les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes, la démographie, les progrès technologiques, l’évolution des exigences de sécurité et de sûreté maritime, de même que la situation économique et géopolitique mondiale. Le Ministère continue d’évaluer la façon dont il exerce ses activités, offre ses services et exécute ses programmes afin de répondre aux besoins des clients et des intervenants.

Ce contexte soulève de nombreux défis pour le Ministère, qui se manifestent dans cinq risques ministériels essentiels à sa mission, qui sont indiqués ci-dessous :

Le processus mono-étape d’établissement de rapports permet de surveiller les risques du MPO tout au long de l’exercice financier. Les indicateurs de risque et les plans d'action sont élaborés, surveillés et suivis dans le cadre des processus mono-étape de planification et d’établissement de rapports, de sorte que la gestion des risques s’intègre à la gestion régulière d'un programme et de ses ressources. Cela permet au Ministère de se servir des renseignements sur les risques pour orienter la planification et s’ajuster, au besoin.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Les changements au personnel suivants ont été apportés au cours du premier trimestre :

5. Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Original signé par
_________________________
Kevin Stringer, sous-ministre par intérim

Original signé par
_________________________
Tony Matson CPA, CMA,
Dirigeant principal des finances

Ottawa, Canada
16 août 2017

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2016-2017 Exercice 2017-2018
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1 369 803 251 751 251 751 1 473 648 290 891 290 891
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 948 598 44 581 44 581 831 693 96 876 96 876
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions 94 450 10 382 10 382 135 236 11 409 11 409
Autorisations législatives
Dépenses législatives – Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 131 164 31 820 31 820 135 658 29 930 29 930
Dépenses législatives – Ministre des Pêches et des Océans – Traitement et allocation pour automobile 84 7 7 84 21 21
Dépenses législatives – Dépense des produits de la vente de biens excédentaires de l’État - 181 181 - 299 299
Dépenses législatives – Remboursements de montants portés aux revenus d’exercices antérieurs - 4 4 - - -
Autorisations législatives totales 131 248 32 012 32 012 135 742 30 250 30 250
Autorisations totales 2 544 099 338 726 338 726 2 576 319 429 426 429 426

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice financier et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2016-2017 Exercice 2017-2018
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017* Total dépensé durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018 * Total dépensé durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 890 669 218 554 218 554 977 980 234 055 234 055
Transport et communications 59 351 11 827 11 827 60 832 14 415 14 415
Information 3 434 242 242 3 236 355 355
Services professionnels et spéciaux 261 133 32 571 32 571 277 829 88 819 88 819
Location 15 288 2 674 2 674 19 423 4 509 4 509
Services de réparation et d'entretien 210 749 22 105 22 105 201 658 27 242 27 242
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 107 411 14 045 14 045 114 728 15 457 15 457
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 221 714 13 475 13 475 145 864 16 230 16 230
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 711 558 13 165 13 165 667 566 13 193 13 193
Paiements de transfert 94 450 10 382 10 382 135 236 11 409 11 409
Autres subventions et paiements 16 257 10 601 10 601 19 882 16 311 16 311
Total des dépenses budgétaires brutes 2 592 014 349 641 349 641 2 624 234 441 995 441 995
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses:
Ventes de biens et services 47 915 10 915 10 915 47 915 12 569 12 569
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses 47 915 10 915 10 915 47 915 12 569 12 569
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 2 544 099 338 726 338 726 2 576 319 429 426 429 426

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice financier et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre