Fisheries and Oceans Canada - Quarterly Financial Report for the Quarter Ended September 30, 2016

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. The quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates (A) as well as Budget 2015 and Budget 2016.

This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Further details on Fisheries and Oceans Canada's authority, mandate and programs may be found in the Report on Plans and Priorities and the Main Estimates (Part II).

1.1 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes Fisheries and Oceans Canada's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Department consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (A) for 2016-17. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The Department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on a cash basis.

2. Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year-to-Date

The following section highlights the financial results and provides explanations for the fiscal quarter ended September 30, 2016 as compared to the same period last year.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year to Date (thousands of dollars)

  2015-16 Authorities as at September 30, 2015 2016-17 Authorities as at September 30, 2016 Variance in Authorities Expenditures during the quarter ended September 30, 2015 Expenditures during the quarter ended September 30, 2016 Variance in Expenditures
Vote 1 – Net Operating expenditures 1,274,291 1,430,799 156,508 301,745 313,581 11,836
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures 714,252 1,055,390 341,138 130,391 143,155 12,764
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions 93,237 94,450 1,213 20,803 17,640 (3,163)
Statutory Authorities 122,754 131,248 8,494 30,726 32,513 1,787
Total 2,204,534 2,711,887 507,353 483,665 506,889 23,224

Statement of Voted and Statutory Authorities

Total budgetary authorities available for use increased in 2016-17 from those in 2015-16 by $507.4 million (23.0%). This is the result of an increase in Vote 1 authorities of $156.5 million, an increase in Vote 5 authorities of $341.1 million, an increase in Vote 10 authorities of $1.2 million, and an increase in spending authority for statutory payments of $8.5 million.

The negative amounts in the table below do not represent cuts to program spending. They represent the achievement of milestone projects as well as planned changes in the funding profile of initiatives. As well, some variances are due to timing of the authorities granted by Parliament.

Explanation of Changes (thousands of dollars) Change
Vote 1 – Net Operating expenditures
Federal Infrastructure Investments (Budget 2016) 41,010
Strategy to address financial pressures and to maintain service integrity for the Canadian Coast Guard 37,000
Investing in ocean and freshwater research in Canada 22,866
Fuel costs for the Canadian Coast Guard 16,000
Operating Budget Carry Forward 14,748
Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan (FCSAP) 6,175
Funding to address the threat of pollutants from the Manolis L 6,000
Support regulatory reviews for major natural resource projects 5,991
Federal Infrastructure Initiative (Budget 2015) 5,226
Transfer between votes 3,044
Other departmental requirements (1,551)
Sub-total Net Operating expenditures 156,509
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures
Federal Infrastructure Investments (Budget 2016) 118,370
Purchase, construction and life extension of vessels (ships and helicopters) 105,871
Federal Infrastructure Initiative (Budget 2015) 95,266
Capital Budget Carry Forward 41,074
Investing in ocean and freshwater research in Canada 12,600
Funding to enhance marine emergency response capacity in British Columbia 7,974
Transfer between votes 1,260
Small Craft Harbours Program for repair and maintenance (22,200)
Enhancement of the safety of marine transportation in the Arctic (World Class Tanker Safety System) (7,429)
Reinvestment of revenues from the sale or transfer of real property (6,500)
Other departmental requirements (5,149)
Sub-total Capital expenditures 341,137
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions
Investing in ocean and freshwater research in Canada 4,470
Establish a certification and market access program for seal products 1,417
Other departmental requirements 903
Transfer between votes (4,304)
Implementation of the Tla'amin First Nation Final Agreement (1,273)
Sub-total Grants and Contributions 1,213
Statutory
Sub-total Statutory Authorities 8,494
Total Authorities 507,353

In the second quarter of 2016-17, total budgetary authorities available for use amounted to $2,711.9 million compared to $2,544.1 million reported in the first quarter of 2016-17, which represents an increase of $167.8 million. This is the result of the receipt of the Operating and Capital Budget Carry-Forward.

Authorities Used Analysis

In the second quarter of 2016-17, total budgetary expenditures amounted to $506.9 million compared to $483.7 million reported in the same quarter of 2015-16, which represents an increase of $23.2 million or 4.8%.

Authorities used in Vote 1, Net Operating expenditures, increased by $11.8 million compared to the same quarter last year representing an increase of approximately 3.9% between the two years. The increase is mainly due to higher spending on professional services by the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) for environmental response operations related to the Manolis L shipwreck in Notre Dame Bay, Newfoundland and the Kathryn Spirit abandoned cargo ship in Lac Saint-Louis near Montreal.

Authorities used in Vote 5, Capital expenditures, increased by $12.8 million compared to the same quarter last year representing an increase of approximately 9.8% between the two years. This is mainly due to a $37.5 million increase in spending on the acquisition of land, buildings, and works related to the Federal Infrastructure Initiative and Small Craft Harbour projects. The total increase is offset by a $25.4 million decrease in the acquisition of machinery and equipment due to the timing of CCG helicopter deliveries.

Authorities used in Vote 10, Grants and Contributions expenditures, decreased by $3.2 million compared to the same quarter last year representing a decrease of approximately 15.2% between the two years. The decrease is mainly due to timing as contribution funding in the Ecosystems and Fisheries Management Sector for the Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Program was received earlier in 2015-16.

Statutory authorities increased by $1.8 million compared to the same quarter last year representing an increase of approximately 5.8% indicating no significant variance between the two years.

Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The increase of $23.2 million in total net budgetary expenditures in the second quarter of 2016-17 as compared to the same quarter in 2015-16 is reflected primarily in the net effect of the following standard objects of expenditures:

Expenditures related to Professional and Special Services increased by a total of $12.7 million in the second quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. This is mainly due to higher spending by CCG on environmental response and technical assessments required to address the threat of pollution from the Manolis L and Kathryn Spirit vessels. In addition, professional services expenditures have also increased due to higher construction engineering consultant costs related to the Federal Infrastructure Initiative.

Expenditures related to Rentals increased by a total of $2.7 million in the second quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. This is mainly related to the timing of software license purchases and renewals by the Information Management and Technology Services branch.

Expenditures related to Repair and Maintenance decreased by a total of $8.2 million in the second quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. This is mainly due to $7.7 million in decreased spending by CCG due to the completion of several Vessel Life Extension projects.

Expenditures related to the Acquisition of Land, Buildings and Works increased by a total of $37.5 million in the second quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. This increase is mainly due to the Federal Infrastructure Initiative, which has resulted in an increased number of Small Craft Harbour improvement projects underway in the Newfoundland, Maritimes, Gulf, Quebec, and Pacific regions.

Expenditures related to the Acquisition of Machinery and Equipment decreased by a total of $19.0 million in the second quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. This decrease is mainly due to $25.4 million in lower spending related to CCG light-lift helicopter deliveries that occurred in the second quarter of 2015-16 and is partially offset by a $3.9 million increase in Federal Infrastructure Initiative spending on search and rescue (SAR) lifeboats, Small Craft Acquisition Program (SCAP) and aids to navigation replacements.

Expenditures related to Transfer Payments decreased by a total of $3.2 million in the second quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. A decrease of $5.0 million is due to the Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Contribution Program. The total decrease is offset by an overall $1.8 million increase in spending across all other grants and contribution programs.

Other Subsidies and Payments decreased by a total of $3.1 million in the second quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. This is mainly due to a $2.1 million installment payment that was made to Great Lakes Fisheries Commission in the second quarter of 2015-16. The decrease is a result of a timing difference as this payment was made earlier this year during the first quarter of 2016-17. The decrease is also as a result of a $1.2 million decrease in claims against the Crown.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

Fisheries and Oceans Canada operates in a dynamic environment. Fish stock fluctuation, northern development and the expansion of navigable waters, environmental changes and severe weather events, changes in the Canadian workforce, technological advances, changing maritime safety and security demands, and globalization of fisheries markets are among the factors impacting the Department. The Department continues to assess how it conducts its business, provides services and delivers its programs to meet client and stakeholder needs.

This environment raises many challenges for the Department that are reflected in six mission-critical corporate risks listed below:

Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s senior management reviews the mission critical risk response strategies and action plans regularly, completes a full review of the corporate risks annually and considers management of these risks at each stage of the planning, review and reporting cycles. In addition, the external Departmental Audit Committee reviews the Corporate Risk Profile, and provides advice for continual improvement.

There are financial considerations associated with a number of the risks; however, this is most prominently reflected in the Program Delivery Risk, an internal mission critical corporate risk that is defined as follows: As a result of factors such as increasing operational costs, reliance on third parties, increasing stakeholder expectations, and an internal environment of transformation, there is a risk that the Department may not be able to align resources to future program delivery needs.

A risk prioritization session was held jointly with the Directors General Management Committee and the Directors General Policy Committee in October 2015 and the Program Delivery Risk was identified as the sixth highest risk in severity for the Department for 2016-17. The Deputy’s Management Committee validated the prioritization of risks in November 2015 and decided to mitigate the Program Delivery Risk through the implementation of action plans. Each action plan has a lead at the Assistant Deputy Minister level and is monitored throughout the year.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

The following change in personnel was made during the second quarter:

5. Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Original signed by
_________________________
Kevin Stringer, A/Deputy Minister

Original signed by
_________________________
Farhat Khan, A/Chief Financial Officer

Ottawa, Canada
November 14, 2016

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2015-16 Fiscal year 2016-17
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Net Operating expenditures 1,274,291 301,745 541,555 1,430,799 313,581 565,332
Vote 5 - Capital expenditures 714,252 130,391 214,339 1,055,390 143,155 187,736
Vote 10 - Grants and Contributions 93,237 20,803 29,679 94,450 17,640 28,022
Statutory Authorities
Statutory - Contributions to employee benefit plans 122,672 30,668 61,336 131,164 31,820 63,640
Statutory - Minister of Fisheries and Oceans - Salary and motor car allowance 82 21 41 84 7 14
Statutory - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets - 37 89 - 683 864
Statutory - Refunds of amounts credited to revenues in previous years - - - - 3 7
Total Statutory Authorities 122,754 30,726 61,466 131,248 32,513 64,525
Total Authorities 2,204,534 483,665 847,039 2,711,887 506,889 845,615

* Includes Only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2015-16 Fiscal year 2016-17
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016* Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017* Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 860,457 226,570 443,914 926,515 226,470 445,024
Transportation and communications 59,216 14,506 24,841 61,872 15,477 27,304
Information 2,577 346 598 3,527 414 656
Professional and special services 201,627 72,875 139,762 270,824 85,584 118,155
Rentals 13,419 3,962 5,986 15,944 6,708 9,381
Repair and maintenance 218,287 54,314 74,928 218,396 46,151 68,256
Utilities, materials and supplies 85,777 25,195 39,952 111,953 26,501 40,546
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 232,824 23,864 31,425 239,010 61,350 74,825
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 470,316 43,361 60,579 801,054 24,367 37,532
Transfer payments 93,237 20,803 29,679 94,450 17,640 28,022
Other subsidies and payments 14,712 9,487 16,227 16,257 6,379 16,980
Total gross budgetary expenditures 2,252,449 495,283 867,891 2,759,802 517,041 866,681
Less Revenues netted against expenditures:
Sales of goods and services 47,915 11,618 20,852 47,915 10,152 21,066
Total Revenues netted against expenditures: 47,915 11,618 20,852 47,915 10,152 21,066
Total net budgetary expenditures 2,204,534 483,665 847,039 2,711,887 506,889 845,615

* Includes Only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end

Pêches et Océans Canada – Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2016

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon le format et le contenu définis dans la norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport doit être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses, le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A), ainsi que le Budget de 2015 et le Budget de 2016.

Le présent rapport trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur les autorisations, le mandat et les programmes de Pêches et Océans Canada peuvent se retrouver dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités et le Budget principal des dépenses (Partie II).

1.1 Méthode de la présentation

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport comprend les autorisations de dépenser de Pêches et Océans Canada accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par le Ministère de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) pour l'exercice 2016-2017. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé à l'aide d'un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut pas dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Cependant, les autorisations de dépenses affectées par le Parlement sont toujours comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité de trésorerie.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La section qui suit expose les faits saillants des résultats financiers et donne une explication des écarts entre les données du trimestre ayant pris fin le 30 septembre 2016 et celles correspondant à la même date de l’année précédente.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs (en milliers de dollars)

  15-16 Autorisations au 30 septembre 2015 16-17 Autorisations au 30 septembre 2016 Écarts des autorisations Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre au 30 septembre 2015 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre au 30 septembre 2016 Écart des dépenses
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1 274 291 1 430 799 156 508 301 745 313 581 11 836
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 714 252 1 055 390 341 138 130 391 143 155 12 764
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions 93 237 94 450 1 213 20 803 17 640 (3 163)
Autorisations législatives 122 754 131 248 8 494 30 726 32 513 1 787
Total 2 204 534 2 711 887 507 353 483 665 506 889 23 224

État des autorisations votées et législatives

De 2015-2016 à 2016-2017, le total des autorisations budgétaires disponible a augmenté de 507,4 millions de dollars (23,0 %). Cela découle d’une augmentation des autorisations de 156,5 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 1, d’une augmentation de 341,1 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 5, d’une augmentation de 1,2 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 10, et par une augmentation de 8,5 millions de dollars de l’autorisation d’effectuer des paiements législatifs.

Les montants négatifs dans le tableau ci-dessous ne représentent pas des coupures de dépenses de programme. Ils représentent des étapes essentielles de projets ainsi que les changements prévus dans le profil de financement de ces initiatives. En outre, certains écarts sont dus à la synchronisation des autorités accordées par le Parlement.

Explication des changements (en milliers de dollars) Changement
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement
Investissements dans les infrastructures fédérales (budget de 2016) 41 010
Stratégie pour alléger les pressions financières et maintenir l’intégrité des services de la Garde côtière canadienne 37 000
Investissement dans la recherche sur les océans et les eaux douces au Canada 22 866
Dépenses en carburant de la Garde côtière canadienne 16 000
Report du budget de fonctionnement 14 748
Plan d’action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF) 6 175
Financement pour répondre à la menace de pollution posée par le Manolis L 6 000
Soutien aux examens réglementaires des grands projets d'exploitation de ressources naturelles 5 991
Initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales (budget de 2015) 5 226
Transfert entre crédits 3 044
Autres exigences ministérielles (1 551)
Total partiel - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 156 509
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital
Investissements dans les infrastructures fédérales (budget de 2016) 118 370
Achat, construction et prolongement de vie (navires et hélicoptères) 105 871
Initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales (budget de 2015) 95 266
Report du budget des dépenses en capital 41 074
Investissement dans la recherche sur les océans et les eaux douces au Canada 12 600
Financement pour améliorer la capacité d’intervention d’urgence en mer en Colombie-Britannique 7 974
Transfert entre crédits 1 260
Programme des ports pour petits bateaux, pour des travaux de réparation et d'entretien (22 200)
Amélioration de la sécurité de la navigation dans l'Arctique (système de sécurité de classe mondiale pour les navires-citernes) (7 429)
Réinvestissement des recettes provenant de la vente ou du transfert de biens immobiliers (6 500)
Autres exigences ministérielles (5 149)
Total partiel - Dépenses en capital 341 137
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions
Investissement dans la recherche sur les océans et les eaux douces au Canada 4 470
Établissement d’un programme de certification et d’accès aux marchés des produits du phoque 1 417
Autres exigences ministérielles 903
Transfert entre crédits (4 304)
Mise en œuvre de l'accord définitif avec la Première Nation Tla'amin (1 273)
Total partiel - Subventions et contributions 1 213
Législatif
Total partiel - Autorisations législatives 8 494
Autorisations totales 507 353

Au deuxième trimestre de 2016-2017, les autorisations budgétaires totales pouvant être utilisées se chiffraient à 2 711,9 millions de dollars, contre 2 544,1 millions de dollars pour le premier trimestre de 2016-2017, soit une hausse de 167,8 millions de dollars. Il s'agit du résultat des sommes reportées du budget de fonctionnement et du budget d'immobilisations.

Analyse des autorisations utilisées

Au deuxième trimestre de 2016-2017, les dépenses budgétaires totales se chiffraient à 506,9 millions de dollars, comparativement à 483,7 millions de dollars pour le même trimestre de 2015-2016, ce qui représente une augmentation de 23,2 millions de dollars ou 4,8 %.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 1, Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement, ont augmenté de 11,8 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse d'environ 3,9 % d'un exercice à l'autre. Cette hausse est essentiellement attribuable à l'augmentation des dépenses consacrées à des services professionnels par la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC) pour des opérations d'intervention environnementale liées à l'épave du Manolis L dans la baie Notre Dame, à Terre-Neuve, et au cargo Kathryn Spirit abandonné dans le lac Saint-Louis, près de Montréal.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 5, Dépenses en capital, ont augmenté de 12,8 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse d'environ 9,8 % d'un exercice à l'autre. Cette hausse de 37,5 millions de dollars est essentiellement attribuable à une augmentation des dépenses pour l'acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d'ouvrages liée à l'Initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales et aux projets de Ports pour petits bateaux. L'augmentation totale est compensée par une diminution de 25,4 millions de dollars au chapitre de l'acquisition d'outillage et d'équipement, en raison des dates de livraison des hélicoptères de la GCC.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 10, Subventions et contributions, ont diminué de 3,2 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente une baisse d'environ 15,2 % d'un exercice à l'autre. La baisse est essentiellement attribuable au choix du moment, car le financement sous forme de contributions dans le secteur Gestion des écosystèmes et des pêches pour le Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives a été reçu plus tôt en 2015-2016.

Les autorisations législatives ont augmenté de 1,8 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse d'environ 5,8 %, soit aucun écart important entre les deux exercices.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant

La hausse de 23,2 millions de dollars des dépenses budgétaires nettes totales observée au deuxième trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre de 2015-2016, est principalement attribuable à l'effet net des articles courants de dépense suivants :

Les dépenses relatives aux services professionnels et spéciaux ont augmenté de 12,7 millions de dollars au total au deuxième trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre de 2015-2016. Cette augmentation est essentiellement attribuable à l'augmentation des dépenses de la GCC au titre des interventions environnementales et des évaluations techniques nécessaires pour contrer la menace de pollution des navires Manolis L et Kathryn Spirit. Les dépenses liées aux services professionnels ont également augmenté en raison de la hausse des coûts des services d'un expert-conseil en génie de construction en rapport avec l'Initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales.

Les dépenses associées aux locations ont augmenté de 2,7 millions de dollars au total au deuxième trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre de 2015-2016. Cette hausse est principalement liée au choix du moment des achats de licences d'utilisation de logiciels et des renouvellements par la Direction générale de la gestion de l'information et des services de la technologie.

Les dépenses relatives aux services de réparation et d'entretien ont baissé de 8,2 millions de dollars au total au deuxième trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre de 2015-2016. Cette diminution est essentiellement attribuable à une baisse de 7,7 millions de dollars des dépenses de la GCC en raison de l'achèvement de plusieurs projets pour le prolongement de vie des navires.

Les dépenses pour l'acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d'ouvrages ont augmenté de 37,5 millions de dollars au total au deuxième trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre en 2015-2016. Cette hausse est essentiellement attribuable à l'Initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales, qui a donné lieu à un accroissement du nombre de projets d'amélioration des ports pour petits bateaux dans les régions de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, des Maritimes, du Golfe, du Québec et du Pacifique.

Les dépenses pour l'acquisition de machines et d'équipement ont baissé de 19,0 millions de dollars au total au deuxième trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre de 2015-2016. Cette baisse est essentiellement attribuable à la diminution de 25,4 millions de dollars des dépenses liées aux livraisons des hélicoptères de transport léger de la GCC au deuxième trimestre de 2015-2016, qui est partiellement neutralisée par une augmentation de 3,9 millions de dollars des dépenses liées à l'Initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales pour des bateaux de recherche et sauvetage (SAR), le Programme d'acquisition de petits bateaux (PAPB) et le remplacement des aides à la navigation.

Les dépenses relatives aux paiements de transfert ont diminué de 3,2 millions de dollars au total au deuxième trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre de 2015-2016. Une diminution de 5,0 millions de dollars est attribuable au Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives. La diminution totale est neutralisée par une augmentation globale de 1,8 millions de dollars des dépenses au titre de tous les autres programmes de subventions et de contributions.

Les autres subventions et paiements ont diminué de 3,1 millions de dollars au total au deuxième trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre de 2015-2016. Ce constat est essentiellement attribuable au versement de 2,1 millions de dollars à la Commission des pêcheries des Grands Lacs effectué au deuxième trimestre de 2015-2016. La diminution résulte d'une différence dans le choix du moment, car ce paiement a été effectué plus tôt cette année au cours du premier trimestre de 2016-2017. La diminution résulte également d'une baisse de 1,2 millions de dollars des réclamations contre l'État.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Pêches et Océans Canada exerce ses activités dans un contexte dynamique. Les facteurs qui ont des répercussions sur les activités du Ministère comprennent les fluctuations des stocks de poissons, le développement du Nord et l’expansion des eaux navigables, les changements environnementaux et les phénomènes météorologiques violents, les changements observés au sein de la population active du Canada, les percées technologiques, l’évolution des exigences en matière de sécurité et de sûreté maritimes, ainsi que la mondialisation des marchés des produits de la pêche. Le Ministère continue d’évaluer la façon dont elle exerce ses activités, offre ses services et exécute ses programmes afin de répondre aux besoins des clients et des intervenants.

Le contexte changeant soulève de nombreux défis pour le Ministère, qui se manifestent dans six risques ministériels préjudiciables à sa mission, qui sont indiqués ci-dessous :

La haute direction de Pêches et Océans Canada passe en revue périodiquement les stratégies d'intervention et les plans d'action face aux risques préjudiciables à la mission, mène un examen complet des risques ministériels une fois par an et se penche sur la gestion de ces risques à chaque étape des cycles de planification, d'examen et de production de rapports. De plus, le Comité ministériel de vérification externe examine le profil de risque du Ministère et fournit des conseils sur l'amélioration continue.

Certains risques donnent lieu à des considérations financières. Toutefois, c'est plus particulièrement le cas pour le risque lié à l'exécution des programmes, un risque ministériel préjudiciable à la mission dans le contexte interne, défini ainsi : En raison de facteurs comme l’augmentation des coûts opérationnels, le recours à des tiers, les attentes croissantes des intervenants et l’environnement interne en évolution, le Ministère risque de ne pas être en mesure d’harmoniser les ressources avec les futurs besoins liés à l’exécution des programmes.

Une séance de classement des risques par priorité réunissant le Comité de gestion des directeurs généraux et le Comité des politiques des directeurs généraux a été tenue en octobre 2015, et le risque lié à l’exécution des programmes a été jugé sixième en importance pour le Ministère en 2016-2017. Le Comité de gestion du sous-ministre a validé le classement de risques par priorité en novembre 2015 et a décidé d'atténuer le risque lié à l'exécution des programmes par la mise en œuvre de plans d'action. Chacun des plans d'action est dirigé par un sous-ministre adjoint et fait l'objet d'un suivi tout au long de l'année.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Le changement suivant a été apporté au personnel au cours du deuxième trimestre :

5. Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Original signé par
_________________________
Kevin Stringer, sous-ministre par intérim

Original signé par
_________________________
Farhat Khan, Dirigeant principal des finances par intérim

Ottawa, Canada
14 novembre 2016

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2015-2016 Exercice 2016-2017
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1 274 291 301 745 541 555 1 430 799 313 581 565 332
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 714 252 130 391 214 339 1 055 390 143 155 187 736
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions 93 237 20 803 29 679 94 450 17 640 28 022
Autorisations législatives
Dépenses législatives – Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 122 672 30 668 61 336 131 164 31 820 63 640
Dépenses législatives – Ministre des Pêches et des Océans – Traitement et allocation pour automobile 82 21 41 84 7 14
Dépenses législatives – Dépense des produits de la vente de biens excédentaires de l’État - 37 89 - 683 864
Dépenses législatives – Remboursements de montants portés aux revenus d’exercices antérieurs - - - - 3 7
Autorisations législatives totales 122 754 30 726 61 466 131 248 32 513 64 525
Autorisations totales 2 204 534 483 665 847 039 2 711 887 506 889 845 615

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice financier et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2015-2016 Exercice 2016-2017
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 860 457 226 570 443 914 926 515 226 470 445 024
Transport et communications 59 216 14 506 24 841 61 872 15 477 27 304
Information 2 577 346 598 3 527 414 656
Services professionnels et spéciaux 201 627 72 875 139 762 270 824 85 584 118 155
Location 13 419 3 962 5 986 15 944 6 708 9 381
Services de réparation et d'entretien 218 287 54 314 74 928 218 396 46 151 68 256
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 85 777 25 195 39 952 111 953 26 501 40 546
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 232 824 23 864 31 425 239 010 61 350 74 825
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 470 316 43 361 60 579 801 054 24 367 37 532
Paiements de transfert 93 237 20 803 29 679 94 450 17 640 28 022
Autres subventions et paiements 14 712 9 487 16 227 16 257 6 379 16 980
Total des dépenses budgétaires brutes 2 252 449 495 283 867 891 2 759 802 517 041 866 681
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses:
Ventes de biens et services 47 915 11 618 20 852 47 915 10 152 21 066
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses 47 915 11 618 20 852 47 915 10 152 21 066
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 2 204 534 483 665 847 039 2 711 887 506 889 845 615

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice financier et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre