Fisheries and Oceans Canada - Quarterly Financial Report for the Quarter Ended June 30, 2016

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. The quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates (A) as well as Budget 2015 and Budget 2016.

This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Further details on Fisheries and Oceans Canada's authority, mandate and programs may be found in the Report on Plans and Priorities and the Main Estimates (Part II).

1.1 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes Fisheries and Oceans Canada's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Department consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (A) for 2016-17. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The Department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on a cash basis.

2. Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year-to-Date

The following section highlights the financial results and provides explanations for the fiscal quarter ended June 30, 2016 as compared to the same period last year.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year to Date (thousands of dollars)

  2015-16 Authorities as at June 30, 2015 2016-17 Authorities as at June 30, 2016 Variance in Authorities Year-to-date expenditures as at June 30, 2015 Year-to-date expenditures as at June 30, 2016 Variance in Expenditures
Vote 1 – Net Operating expenditures 1,228,042 1,369,803 141,761 239,810 251,751 11,941
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures 648,535 948,598 300,063 83,948 44,581 (39,367)
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions 93,237 94,450 1,213 8,876 10,382 1,506
Statutory Authorities 122,754 131,248 8,494 30,741 32,012 1,271
Total 2,092,568 2,544,099 451,531 363,375 338,726 (24,649)

Statement of Voted and Statutory Authorities

Total budgetary authorities available for use increased in 2016-17 from those in 2015-16 by $451.5 million (21.6%). This is the result of an increase in Vote 1 authorities of $141.8 million, an increase in Vote 5 authorities of $300.1 million, an increase in Vote 10 authorities of $1.2 million, and an increase in spending authority for statutory payments of $8.5 million.

The negative amounts in the table below do not represent cuts to program spending. They represent the achievement of milestone projects as well as planned changes in the funding profile of initiatives. As well, some variances are due to timing of the authorities granted by Parliament.

Explanation of Changes (thousands of dollars) Total Change
Vote 1 – Net Operating expenditures
Federal Infrastructure Investments (Budget 2016) 41,010
Strategy to address financial pressures and to maintain service integrity for the Canadian Coast Guard 37,000
Investing in ocean and freshwater research in Canada 22,866
Fuel costs for the Canadian Coast Guard 16,000
Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan (FCSAP) 6,175
Funding to address the threat of pollutants from the Manolis L 6,000
Support regulatory reviews for major natural resource projects 5,991
Federal Infrastructure Initiative (Budget 2015) 5,226
Transfer between votes 3,044
Other departmental requirements (1,551)
Sub-total Net Operating expenditures 141,761
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures
Federal Infrastructure Investments (Budget 2016) 118,370
Purchase, construction and life extension of vessels (ships and helicopters) 105,871
Federal Infrastructure Initiative (Budget 2015) 95,266
Investing in ocean and freshwater research in Canada 12,600
Funding to enhance marine emergency response capacity in British Columbia 7,974
Transfer between votes 1,260
Small Craft Harbours Program for repair and maintenance (22,200)
Enhancement of the safety of marine transportation in the Arctic (World Class Tanker Safety System) (7,429)
Reinvestment of revenues from the sale or transfer of real property (6,500)
Other departmental requirements (5,149)
Sub-total Capital expenditures 300,063
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions
Investing in ocean and freshwater research in Canada 4,470
Establish a certification and market access program for seal products 1,417
Other departmental requirements 903
Transfer between votes (4,304)
Implementation of the Tla'amin First Nation Final Agreement (1,273)
Sub-total Grants and Contributions 1,213
Statutory
Sub-total Statutory Authorities 8,494
Total Authorities 451,531

Authorities Used Analysis

In the first quarter of 2016-17, total budgetary expenditures amounted to $338.7 million compared to $363.4 million reported in the same quarter of 2015-16, which represents a decrease of $24.6 million or 6.8%.

Authorities used in Vote 1, Net Operating expenditures, increased by $11.9 million compared to the same quarter last year representing an increase of approximately 5.0% between the two years. The increase is mainly due to higher spending on professional services by the legal sector which is a result of the Department of Justice’s new billing process that requires pre-payment for legal counsel and litigation expenses. The total increase is also as a result of higher repair and maintenance expenditures for Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) vessels caused by timing differences in the vessel maintenance schedule.

Authorities used in Vote 5, Capital expenditures, decreased by $39.4 million compared to the same quarter last year representing a decrease of approximately 46.9% between the two years. This is mainly due to a $43.8 million decrease in spending on professional services related to CCG Offshore Fisheries Science Vessels shipbuilding contract payments that were made in the first quarter of 2015-16. The total decrease is offset slightly by an increase in Federal Infrastructure Initiative expenditures.

Authorities used in Vote 10, Grants and Contributions expenditures, increased by $1.5 million compared to the same quarter last year representing an increase of approximately 17.0% between the two years. The increase is mainly as a result of the new Ocean and Freshwater Science Contribution Program in the Ecosystems and Oceans Science sector. In addition, the total increase is also related to the timing differences due to the Aboriginal Fisheries Strategy (AFS) and Aboriginal Aquatic Resource and Oceans Management (AAROM) programs as the programs have actively been negotiating agreements earlier in the year.

Statutory authorities increased by $1.3 million compared to the same quarter last year representing an increase of approximately 4.1%, and indicating no significant variance between the two years.

Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The decrease of $24.6 million in total net budgetary expenditures in the first quarter of 2016-17 as compared to the same quarter in 2015-16 is reflected primarily in the net effect of the following standard objects of expenditures:

Personnel expenditures increased slightly by a total of $1.2 million in the first quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. An increase of $2.3 million is related to higher part-time, seasonal, casual and student pay which is offset by lower spending on severance pay, termination benefits and holiday pay in lieu of leave.

Expenditures related to Transportation and Communications increased by a total of $1.5 million in the first quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. This is mainly due to higher travel costs related to Federal Infrastructure Initiative construction projects.

Expenditures related to Professional and Special Services decreased by a total of $34.3 million in the first quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. This is mainly due to a reduction in shipbuilding contracts and engineering services expenditures for the construction of new CCG Offshore Fisheries Science Vessels.

Expenditures related to Rentals increased by a total of $0.6 million in the first quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. This is mainly related to the timing of crown housing cost payments to Public Services and Procurement Canada and leased space in the Maritimes for CCG cadets.

Expenditures related to Repair and Maintenance increased by a total of $1.5 million in the first quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. This is mainly as a result of timing differences in CCG’s vessel maintenance schedule.

Expenditures related to the Acquisition of Land, Buildings and Works increased by a total of $5.9 million in the first quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. This increase is mainly due to the Federal Infrastructure Initiative, which has resulted in an increased number of Small Craft Harbour improvement projects being underway in the Newfoundland, Maritimes, and Pacific regions.

Expenditures related to the Acquisition of Machinery and Equipment decreased by a total of $4.1 million in the first quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. This decrease is mainly due to acceptance of CCG light-lift helicopters that occurred in the first quarter of 2015-16 and a decrease in spending related to CCG’s Marine Communications and Traffic Services communication systems modernization project.

Expenditures related to Transfer Payments increased by a total of $1.5 million in the first quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. An increase of $0.9 million is due to the new Ocean and Freshwater Science Contribution Program. The total increase is also related to higher volume of Aboriginal Fisheries Strategy (AFS) and Aboriginal Aquatic Resource and Oceans Management (AAROM) agreements.

Other Subsidies and Payments increased by a total of $3.9 million in the first quarter of 2016-17 when compared to the same quarter of 2015-16. This is mainly due to a $3.0 million installment payment that was made to the Great Lakes Fisheries Commission in the first quarter of 2016-17. The increase is a result of a timing difference as this payment is normally made during the second quarter of the fiscal year.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

Fisheries and Oceans Canada operates in a dynamic environment. Fish stock fluctuation, northern development and the expansion of navigable waters, environmental changes and severe weather events, changes in the Canadian workforce, technological advances, changing maritime safety and security demands, and globalization of fisheries markets are among the factors impacting the Department. The Department continues to assess how it conducts its business, provides services and delivers its programs to meet client and stakeholder needs.

This environment raises many challenges for the Department that are reflected in six mission-critical corporate risks listed below:

Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s senior management reviews the mission critical risk response strategies and action plans regularly, completes a full review of the corporate risks annually and considers management of these risks at each stage of the planning, review and reporting cycles. In addition, the external Departmental Audit Committee reviews the Corporate Risk Profile, and provides advice for continual improvement.

There are financial considerations associated with a number of the risks; however, this is most prominently reflected in the Program Delivery Risk, an internal mission critical corporate risk that is defined as follows: As a result of factors such as increasing operational costs, reliance on third parties, increasing stakeholder expectations, and an internal environment of transformation, there is a risk that the Department may not be able to align resources to future program delivery needs.

A risk prioritization session was held jointly with the Directors General Management Committee and the Directors General Policy Committee in October 2015 and the Program Delivery Risk was identified as the sixth highest risk in severity for the Department for 2016-17. The Deputy’s Management Committee validated the prioritization of risks in November 2015 and decided to mitigate the Program Delivery Risk through the implementation of action plans. Each action plan has a lead at the Assistant Deputy Minister level and is monitored throughout the year.

The 2016-17 finance-related risk action plans for the Program Delivery Risk are as follows:

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

The following change in personnel was made during the first quarter:

5. Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Original signed by
_________________________
Catherine Blewett, Deputy Minister

Original signed by
_________________________
Tony Matson CPA, CMA,
Chief Financial Officer

Ottawa, Canada
August 25, 2016

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2015-16 Fiscal year 2016-17
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ended March 31, 2017* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Net Operating expenditures 1,228,042 239,810 239,810 1,369,803 251,751 251,751
Vote 5 - Capital expenditures 648,535 83,948 83,948 948,598 44,581 44,581
Vote 10 - Grants and Contributions 93,237 8,876 8,876 94,450 10,382 10,382
Statutory Authorities
Statutory - Contributions to employee benefit plans 122,672 30,668 30,668 131,164 31,820 31,820
Statutory - Minister of Fisheries and Oceans - Salary and motor car allowance 82 21 21 84 7 7
Statutory - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets - 52 52 - 181 181
Statutory - Refunds of amounts credited to revenues in previous years - - - - 4 4
Total Statutory Authorities 122,754 30,741 30,741 131,248 32,012 32,012
Total Authorities 2,092,568 363,375 363,375 2,544,099 338,726 338,726

* Includes Only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2015-16 Fiscal year 2016-17
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ended March 31, 2017* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 860,457 217,344 217,344 890,669 218,554 218,554
Transportation and communications 54,274 10,335 10,335 59,351 11,827 11,827
Information 2,362 252 252 3,434 242 242
Professional and special services 185,096 66,886 66,886 261,133 32,571 32,571
Rentals 12,296 2,025 2,025 15,288 2,674 2,674
Repair and maintenance 203,256 20,614 20,614 210,749 22,105 22,105
Utilities, materials and supplies 78,603 14,758 14,758 107,411 14,045 14,045
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 220,668 7,560 7,560 221,714 13,475 13,475
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 416,754 17,218 17,218 711,558 13,165 13,165
Transfer payments 93,237 8,876 8,876 94,450 10,382 10,382
Other subsidies and payments 13,480 6,741 6,741 16,257 10,601 10,601
Total gross budgetary expenditures 2,140,483 372,609 372,609 2,592,014 349,641 349,641
Less Revenues netted against expenditures:
Sales of goods and services 47,915 9,234 9,234 47,915 10,915 10,915
Total Revenues netted against expenditures: 47,915 9,234 9,234 47,915 10,915 10,915
Total net budgetary expenditures 2,092,568 363,375 363,375 2,544,099 338,726 338,726

* Includes Only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end

Pêches et Océans Canada – Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon le format et le contenu définis dans la norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport doit être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses, le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A), ainsi que le Budget de 2015 et le Budget de 2016.

Le présent rapport trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur les autorisations, le mandat et les programmes peuvent se retrouver dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités et le Budget principal des dépenses (Partie II).

1.1 Méthode de la présentation

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport comprend les autorisations de dépenser de Pêches et Océans Canada accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par le Ministère de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) pour l'exercice 2016-2017. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé à l'aide d'un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut pas dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Cependant, les autorisations de dépenses affectées par le Parlement sont toujours comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité de trésorerie.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La section qui suit expose les faits saillants des résultats financiers et donne une explication des écarts entre les données du trimestre ayant pris fin le 30 juin 2016 et celles correspondant à la même date de l’année précédente.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs (en milliers de dollars)

  2015-2016 Autorisations au 30 juin 2015 2016-2017 Autorisations au 30 juin 2016 Écarts des autorisations Cumul des dépenses au 30 juin 2015 Cumul des dépenses au 30 juin 2016 Écart des dépenses
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1 228 042 1 369 803 141 761 239 810 251 751 11 941
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 648 535 948 598 300 063 83 948 44 581 (39 367)
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions 93 237 94 450 1 213 8 876 10 382 1 506
Autorisations législatives 122 754 131 248 8 494 30 741 32 012 1 271
Total 2 092 568 2 544 099 451 531 363 375 338 726 (24 649)

État des autorisations votées et législatives

De 2015-2016 à 2016-2017, le total des autorisations budgétaires disponible a augmenté de 451,5 millions de dollars (21,6%). Cela découle d’une augmentation des autorisations de 141,8 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 1, d’une augmentation de $300,1 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 5, d’une augmentation de 1,2 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 10, et par une augmentation de 8,5 millions de dollars de l’autorisation d’effectuer des paiements législatifs.

Les montants négatifs dans le tableau ci-dessous ne représentent pas des coupures de dépenses de programme. Ils représentent des étapes essentielles de projets ainsi que les changements prévus dans le profil de financement de ces initiatives. En outre, certains écarts sont dus à la synchronisation des autorités accordées par le Parlement.

Explication des changements (en milliers de dollars) Changement
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement
Investissements dans les infrastructures fédérales (budget de 2016) 41 010
Stratégie pour alléger les pressions financières et maintenir l’intégrité des services de la Garde côtière canadienne 37 000
Investissement dans la recherche sur les océans et les eaux douces au Canada 22 866
Dépenses en carburant de la Garde côtière canadienne 16 000
Plan d’action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF) 6 175
Financement pour répondre à la menace de pollution posée par le Manolis L 6 000
Soutien aux examens réglementaires des grands projets d'exploitation de ressources naturelles 5 991
Initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales (budget de 2015) 5 226
Transfert entre crédits 3 044
Autres exigences ministérielles (1 551)
Total partiel - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 141 761
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital
Investissements dans les infrastructures fédérales (budget de 2016) 118 370
Achat, construction et prolongement de vie (navires et hélicoptères) 105 871
Initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales (budget de 2015) 95 266
Investissement dans la recherche sur les océans et les eaux douces au Canada 12 600
Financement pour améliorer la capacité d’intervention d’urgence en mer en Colombie-Britannique 7 974
Transfert entre crédits 1 260
Programme des ports pour petits bateaux, pour des travaux de réparation et d'entretien (22 200)
Amélioration de la sécurité de la navigation dans l'Arctique (système de sécurité de classe mondiale pour les navires-citernes) (7 429)
Réinvestissement des recettes provenant de la vente ou du transfert de biens immobiliers (6 500)
Autres exigences ministérielles (5 149)
Total partiel - Dépenses en capital 300 063
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions
Investissement dans la recherche sur les océans et les eaux douces au Canada 4 470
Établissement d’un programme de certification et d’accès aux marchés des produits du phoque 1 417
Autres exigences ministérielles 903
Transfert entre crédits (4 304)
Mise en œuvre de l'accord définitif avec la Première Nation Tla'amin (1 273)
Total partiel - Subventions et contributions 1 213
Législatif
Total partiel - Autorisations législatives 8 494
Autorisations totales 451 531

Analyse des autorisations utilisées

Au premier trimestre de 2016-2017, les dépenses budgétaires totales se chiffraient à 338,7 millions de dollars par rapport à 363,4 millions de dollars pour le même trimestre en 2015-2016, ce qui représente une diminution de 24,6 millions de dollars ou 6,8%.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 1, Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement, ont augmenté de 11,9 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse d'environ 5,0 % d'un exercice à l'autre. L'augmentation est essentiellement attribuable aux dépenses plus élevées au titre des services professionnels fournis par le secteur juridique, en raison du nouveau processus de facturation du ministère de la Justice qui exige le paiement anticipé des dépenses associées au conseiller juridique et aux litiges. L'augmentation globale découle aussi des dépenses de réparation et d'entretien accrues des navires de la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC), qui s'explique par les différences de calendrier pour ce qui est de l'entretien des navires.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 5, Dépenses en capital, ont diminué de 39,4 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente une baisse d'environ 46,9 % d'un exercice à l'autre. Ce constat est essentiellement attribuable à une baisse de 43,8 millions de dollars des dépenses liées aux services professionnels dans le cadre des paiements relatifs au contrat de construction des navires hauturiers de sciences halieutiques effectués au premier trimestre de 2015-2016. La baisse totale est légèrement réduite par une hausse des dépenses liées à l'Initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 10, Subventions et contributions, ont augmenté de 1,5 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse d'environ 17,0 % d'un exercice à l'autre. L'augmentation est essentiellement attribuable au nouveau Programme de contribution à la recherche scientifique sur les océans et les eaux douces du Secteur des sciences des écosystèmes et des océans. L'augmentation totale est aussi liée aux différences de calendrier attribuables à la Stratégie relative aux pêches autochtones (SRAPA) et aux programmes autochtones de gestion des ressources aquatiques et océaniques (PAGRAO), pour lesquels des accords ont été négociés plus tôt dans l'année.

Les autorisations législatives ont augmenté de 1,3 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente une augmentation d'environ 4,1 %, soit un faible écart entre les deux exercices.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant

La baisse de 24,6 millions de dollars des dépenses budgétaires nettes totales observée au premier trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre de 2015-2016, est principalement attribuable à l'effet net des articles courants de dépense suivants :

Les dépenses de personnel ont connu une légère hausse de 1,2 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2016-2017 par rapport au même trimestre de 2015-2016. Une augmentation de 2,3 millions de dollars se rapporte à la paye majorée des travailleurs à temps partiel, employés saisonniers, employés occasionnels et étudiants, et elle est compensée par des dépenses moins élevées au titre des indemnités de départ, des indemnités de cessation d'emploi et de la rémunération des jours fériés en remplacement des congés.

Les dépenses relatives aux services de transport et de communications ont augmenté de 1,5 million de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre de 2015-2016. Cette hausse est essentiellement attribuable aux coûts de déplacement plus élevés associés aux projets de construction menés dans le cadre de l'Initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales.

Les dépenses relatives aux services professionnels et spéciaux ont diminué de 34,3 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre de 2015-2016. Cette diminution est essentiellement attribuable à une réduction des dépenses associées aux contrats de construction navale et aux services d'ingénierie pour la construction des nouveaux navires hauturiers de sciences halieutiques de la GCC.

Les dépenses associées aux locations ont augmenté de 0,6 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre de 2015-2016. Cette hausse tient essentiellement au calendrier des paiements des coûts des logements appartenant à l'État à Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada et aux locaux loués dans les Maritimes pour les cadets de la GCC.

Les dépenses relatives aux services de réparation et d'entretien ont augmenté de 1,5 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre de 2015-2016. Ce constat tient principalement aux différences de calendrier pour ce qui est de l'entretien des navires de la GCC.

Les dépenses pour l'acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d'ouvrages ont augmenté de 5,9 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre en 2015-2016. Cette hausse est principalement due à l'Initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales, qui donne lieu à un accroissement du nombre de projets d'amélioration des ports pour petits bateaux dans les régions de Terre-Neuve, des Maritimes et du Pacifique.

Les dépenses pour l'acquisition de machines et d'équipement ont baissé de 4,1 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre de 2015-2016. Cette baisse est essentiellement attribuable à l'acceptation des hélicoptères de transport léger de la GCC au premier trimestre de 2015-2016 et à une diminution des dépenses relatives au projet d'amélioration des systèmes de communication des Services de communication et de trafic maritimes.

Les dépenses relatives aux paiements de transfert ont augmenté de 1,5 million de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2016-2017, comparativement au même trimestre de 2015-2016. Une hausse de 0,9 millions de dollars est attribuable au nouveau Programme de contribution à la recherche scientifique sur les océans et les eaux douces. L'augmentation totale est également liée au volume accru d'ententes conclues dans le cadre de la Stratégie relative aux pêches autochtones (SRAPA) et du Programme autochtone de gestion des ressources aquatiques et océaniques (PAGRAO).

Les dépenses pour les autres subventions et paiements ont augmenté de 3,9 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2016-2017 par rapport au même trimestre de 2015-2016. Ce constat est essentiellement attribuable au versement de 3,0 millions de dollars à la Commission des pêcheries des Grands Lacs effectué au premier trimestre de 2016-2017. L'augmentation découle d'un changement de l'échéance, car ce paiement est habituellement fait au deuxième trimestre de l'exercice.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Pêches et Océans Canada exerce ses activités dans un contexte dynamique. Les facteurs qui ont des répercussions sur les activités du Ministère comprennent les fluctuations des stocks de poissons, le développement du Nord et l’expansion des eaux navigables, les changements environnementaux et les phénomènes météorologiques violents, les changements observés au sein de la population active du Canada, les percées technologiques, l’évolution des exigences en matière de sécurité et de sûreté maritimes, ainsi que la mondialisation des marchés des produits de la pêche. Le Ministère continue d’évaluer la façon dont elle exerce ses activités, offre ses services et exécute ses programmes afin de répondre aux besoins des clients et des intervenants.

Le contexte changeant soulève de nombreux défis pour le Ministère, qui se manifestent dans six risques ministériels préjudiciables à sa mission, qui sont indiqués ci-dessous :

La haute direction de Pêches et Océans Canada passe en revue périodiquement les stratégies d'intervention et les plans d'action face aux risques préjudiciables à la mission, mène un examen complet des risques ministériels une fois par an et se penche sur la gestion de ces risques à chaque étape des cycles de planification, d'examen et de production de rapports. De plus, le Comité ministériel de vérification externe examine le profil de risque du Ministère et fournit des conseils sur l'amélioration continue.

Certains risques donnent lieu à des considérations financières. Toutefois, c'est plus particulièrement le cas pour le risque lié à l'exécution des programmes, un risque ministériel préjudiciable à la mission dans le contexte interne, défini ainsi : En raison de facteurs comme l’augmentation des coûts opérationnels, le recours à des tiers, les attentes croissantes des intervenants et l’environnement interne en évolution, le Ministère risque de ne pas être en mesure d’harmoniser les ressources avec les futurs besoins liés à l’exécution des programmes.

Une séance de classement des risques par priorité réunissant le Comité de gestion des directeurs généraux et le Comité des politiques des directeurs généraux a été tenue en octobre 2015, et le risque lié à l’exécution des programmes a été jugé sixième en importance pour le Ministère en 2016-2017. Le Comité de gestion du sous-ministre a validé le classement de risques par priorité en novembre 2015 et a décidé d'atténuer le risque lié à l'exécution des programmes par la mise en œuvre de plans d'action. Chacun des plans d'action est dirigé par un sous-ministre adjoint et fait l'objet d'un suivi tout au long de l'année.

Pour 2016-2017, les plans d'action axés sur l'aspect financier du risque lié à l'exécution des programmes sont les suivants :

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Les changements au personnel suivants ont été apportés au cours du premier trimestre :

5. Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Original signé par
_________________________
Catherine Blewett, sous-ministre

Original signé par
_________________________
Tony Matson CPA, CMA,
Dirigeant principal des finances

Ottawa, Canada
25 août 2016

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2015-2016 Exercice 2016-2017
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1 228 042 239 810 239 810 1 369 803 251 751 251 751
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 648 535 83 948 83 948 948 598 44 581 44 581
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions 93 237 8 876 8 876 94 450 10 382 10 382
Autorisations législatives
Dépenses législatives – Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 122 672 30 668 30 668 131 164 31 820 31 820
Dépenses législatives – Ministre des Pêches et des Océans – Traitement et allocation pour automobile 82 21 21 84 7 7
Dépenses législatives – Dépense des produits de la vente de biens excédentaires de l’État - 52 52 - 181 181
Dépenses législatives – Remboursements de montants portés aux revenus d’exercices antérieurs - - - - 4 4
Autorisations législatives totales 122 754 30 741 30 741 131 248 32 012 32 012
Autorisations totales 2 092 568 363 375 363 375 2 544 099 338 726 338 726

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice financier et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2015-2016 Exercice 2016-2017
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 860 457 217 344 217 344 890 669 218 554 218 554
Transport et communications 54 274 10 335 10 335 59 351 11 827 11 827
Information 2 362 252 252 3 434 242 242
Services professionnels et spéciaux 185 096 66 886 66 886 261 133 32 571 32 571
Location 12 296 2 025 2 025 15 288 2 674 2 674
Services de réparation et d'entretien 203 256 20 614 20 614 210 749 22 105 22 105
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 78 603 14 758 14 758 107 411 14 045 14 045
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 220 668 7 560 7 560 221 714 13 475 13 475
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 416 754 17 218 17 218 711 558 13 165 13 165
Paiements de transfert 93 237 8 876 8 876 94 450 10 382 10 382
Autres subventions et paiements 13 480 6 741 6 741 16 257 10 601 10 601
Total des dépenses budgétaires brutes 2 140 483 372 609 372 609 2 592 014 349 641 349 641
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses:
Ventes de biens et services 47 915 9 234 9 234 47 915 10 915 10 915
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses 47 915 9 234 9 234 47 915 10 915 10 915
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 2 092 568 363 375 363 375 2 544 099 338 726 338 726

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice financier et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre