2012-13 Quarterly Financial Report for the quarter ending December 31, 2012

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and programs

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. This report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates A, as well as Canada's Economic Action Plan 2012 (Budget 2012), and has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Canada's fisheries and oceans have played and continue to play an important historic, economic, and cultural role in Canada's development and growth as a nation. Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) has the lead federal role in managing Canada's fisheries and safeguarding its waters.

The Canadian Coast Guard (CCG), a Special Operating Agency within DFO, is responsible for services and programs that contribute to the safety, security, and accessibility of Canada's waterways. CCG supports other government organizations by providing a civilian fleet and a broadly distributed shore-based infrastructure.

Further details on Fisheries and Oceans Canada's authority, mandate and program activities may be found in the Report on Plans and Priorities and the Main Estimates (Part II).

1.1 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes DFO's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Department consistent with the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates (A) and Supplementary Estimates (B) for 2012-13. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the Parliamentary business of supply, the Main Estimates must be tabled in Parliament on or before March 1 preceding the new fiscal year. Budget 2012 was tabled in Parliament on March 29, after the tabling of the Main Estimates on February 28, 2012. As a result, the measures announced in the Budget 2012 could not be reflected in the 2012-13 Main Estimates.

In fiscal year 2012-13, frozen allotments will be established by Treasury Board authority in departmental votes to prohibit the spending of funds already identified as savings measures in Budget 2012. In future years, the changes to departmental authorities will be implemented through the Annual Reference Level Update, as approved by Treasury Board, and reflected in the subsequent Main Estimates tabled in Parliament.

The Department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis of accounting.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year-to-date (YTD) results

2.1 Statement of Authorities

DFO's total authorities available for use as at the end of the third quarter of 2012-13 were $1,905.6 million, i.e. $100.3 million, or 5.0% less than the $2,005.9 million authorized at the same point in 2011-12.

The total authorities available for Vote 1 Net Operating Expenditures decreased by $88.4 million when compared to the same quarter in 2011-12. This is mainly due to the net effect of the following factors:

The total authorities available for Vote 5, Capital Expenditures increased by a total of $28.3 million when compared to the same quarter in 2011-12. This is mainly due to the net effect of the following factors:

The total authorities available for Vote 10, Grants and Contributions decreased by $35.0 million when compared to the same quarter in 2011-12. This is mainly due to the net effect of the following factors:

The total Budgetary Statutory authorities available for 2012-13 decreased by $5.3 million when compared to the same quarter in 2011-12. This is mainly due to the net effect of the following factors:

2.1.1 Expenditure Analysis

In the third quarter of 2012-13, total net budgetary expenditures were $451.2 million compared to $460.5 million reported in the same quarter of 2011-12.

Authorities used in Vote 1, Operating expenditures, during the third quarter of 2012-13 decreased by $20.8 million compared to the same quarter in 2011-12. The decrease is mainly due to a combination of factors such as activities being transferred to Shared Services Canada in 2012-13, completion of major refit projects and curtailed spending on diesel fuel consumed by the Canadian Coast Guard fleet vessels.

Authorities used in Vote 5, Capital expenditures, during the third quarter of 2012-13 increased by $16.0 million compared to the same quarter in 2011-12. This is mainly due to significant increases in expenditures on Acquisition of Machinery and Equipment. This increase is mainly the result of the nature of Canadian Coast Guard's major capital projects, i.e. expenditures are recorded and progress payments are made based on the milestones set in the construction schedule for the major vessel construction projects. Expenditures level can fluctuate significantly from period to period as a result of the progress of the projects.

Authorities used in Vote 10, Grants and Contributions, during the third quarter of 2012-13 decreased by $3.4 million compared to the same quarter in 2011-12. Grants and Contributions funding is made up of various programs some of which have been ongoing and rather steady in the timing of their payment. The decrease is mainly the result of the Atlantic Lobster Sustainability Measure program that was at its peak funding in 2011-12.

2.2 Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The $451.2 million in net budgetary expenditures in the third quarter and year-to-date as compared to the same period in 2011-12 is reflected primarily in the net effect of the following expenditures:

Expenditures for Personnel decreased by a total of $12.3 million when compared to the same quarter in 2011-12. This decrease is mainly due a reduction in reimbursement of severance payout and maternity leave.

Expenditures for Transportation and Communications decreased by a total of $3.2 million when compared to the same quarter in 2011-12. This decrease is mainly due to $2.5 million in activities that were transferred to Shared Services Canada, a reduction of $0.6 million in travel by holding the discretionary travel at a minimum level in the third quarter of 2012-13, and to the wind-down of the Cohen Commission of Inquiry.

Expenditures for Purchase of Repairs and Maintenance decreased by a total of $4.9 million when compared to the same quarter in 2011-12. This decrease is mainly due to the following factors: completion in 2011-12 of major refit for some large vessels of the Canadian Coast Guard; wind-down of various harbour construction projects; completion of the major renovations to Les Escoumins building refit completed in 2011-12; completion of repairs related to the funding relief for extraordinary storm events in Atlantic Canada, Québec and Manitoba ended in 2011-12.

Expenditures for Utilities, Material and Supplies decreased by a total of $3.1 million when compared to the same quarter in 2011-12 largely due to the curtailed spending on diesel fuel consumed by the Canadian Coast Guard fleet vessels.

Expenditures for Acquisition of Machinery and Equipment increased by a total of $13.8 million when compared to the same quarter in 2011-12. This increase is mainly the result of the nature of Canadian Coast Guard's major capital projects, i.e. expenditures are recorded and progress payments are made based on the milestones set in the construction schedule for the major vessel construction projects. Expenditure levels can fluctuate significantly from period to period as a result of the progress of the projects. The majority of the expenditures were related to the Mid Shore Patrol Vessels and Near Shore Fisheries Research Vessels projects.

Expenditures for Transfer Payments decreased by a total of $3.4 million when compared to the same quarter in 2011-12. This decrease is mainly the result of the Atlantic Lobster Sustainibility Measure program that was at its peak funding in 2011-12.

Expenditures for Other Subsidies and Payments increased by a total of $2.3 million when compared to the same quarter in 2011-12. This increase is mainly the result of the timing of the International Fisheries Commissions Agreements payments.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

This Departmental Quarterly Financial Report (QFR) reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates for which full supply was released on June 28, 2012.

Planned net spending for the fiscal year is $1,905.6 million. The Department is primarily funded through voted parliamentary spending authorities and statutory authorities for operating expenditures, capital expenditures and grants and contributions. Departmental operations are impacted by any change in parliamentary appropriations.

The most significant cost to the Department is personnel expenditures for the delivery of knowledge-based scientific, conservation, and maritime programs and services across the country. Expenditures related to the acquisition of machinery and equipment are the next highest cost as the Department has one of the largest asset base within the federal community.

The Department currently operates in a dynamic and changing environment. Globalisation, northern development, environmental changes, technological advances, increased pressures on resources, and conflicting demands from stakeholders are among the factors impacting the Department. The current environment of fiscal constraint continues to require the Department to reassess how it conducts its business, provides services and delivers on its programs to meet client and stakeholder needs.

This new operating reality raises many challenges to which the Department must be responsive. In this changing environment, the department has identified several key corporate risks. DFO's mission critical corporate risks are, in order of severity:

  1. Financial Capacity
  2. Communications & Reputation
  3. Human Capital
  4. Physical Infrastructure
  5. Legal and Compliance

All of DFO's mission critical risks, including their response strategies and action plans, are regularly reviewed and adjusted as necessary by the Departmental Management Board and the external Departmental Audit Committee. The senior management cadre meets semi-annually to review the corporate risks, and considers management of these risks at each stage of the planning, review and reporting cycles.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

A significant change made in personnel during the third quarter was the appointment of Mr. Matthew King to the position of Deputy Minister effective January 14, 2013. Mr. King joined the department from National Defence where he was the Associate Deputy Minister.

As outlined in Budget 2011, Fisheries and Oceans Canada contributed $56.8 million as part of the 2010 round of strategic reviews in order to return to balanced budgets. For this year the reduction of funding due to Strategic Review is $18.9 million. By modernizing its fisheries management and marine infrastructure, aligning programs with the department's core mandate, and improving program delivery, the department is increasing its capacity to achieve better results for Canadians. These changes will ensure that Fisheries and Oceans Canada is better equipped to deliver services effectively and efficiently and is able to focus on emerging government priorities.

4.1 Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that will be implemented in order to refocus government and programs; make it easier for Canadians and business to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, including the Canadian Coast Guard, will achieve Budget 2012 savings of $79.3 million by fiscal year 2014-15 through efficiency measures and program reductions that align resources to its core mandate, scaling back where the need is reduced; transforming how it works internally; and, by consolidating and streamlining. Fisheries and Oceans Canada will restructure its operations, consolidate internal services and leverage technology to realize efficiencies and achieve savings.

With these changes, the Department will continue to focus on three strategic outcomes: economically prosperous maritime sectors and fisheries; sustainable aquatic ecosystems; and safe and secure waters.

In the first year of implementation, the Department will achieve savings of approximately $3.8 million. Savings will increase to $13.4 million in 2013-14 and will result in ongoing saving of $79.3 million by 2014-15.

Specifically, 2012-13 savings are achieved by:

In order to manage the Financial Capacity risk related to Budget 2012 measures, the Department is closely monitoring all measures related to Budget 2012.

Approval by Senior Officials

Matthew King, Deputy Minister
Ottawa, Canada
Roch Huppé,
Chief Financial Officer

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2012-13 Fiscal year 2011-12
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013 * Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ended March 31, 2012 * Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Net Operating Expenditures 1,283,110 320,220 865,768 1,371,540 341,059 932,732
Vote 5 - Capital Expenditures 400,801 83,518 166,176 372,477 67,545 183,263
Vote 10 - Grants and Contributions 88,988 13,775 37,906 123,973 17,172 53,489
Budgetary Statutory Authorities 132,667 33,648 100,368 137,919 34,766 106,945
Total Budgetary Authorities 1,905,567 451,161 1,170,218 2,005,910 460,542 1,276,429
Non-Budgetary Authorities - - - - - -
Total Authorities 1,905,567 451,161 1,170,218 2,005,910 460,542 1,276,429
* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

More information is available in the attached table.

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2012-13 Fiscal year 2011-12
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ended March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 930,404 243,852 716,402 967,331 256,107 760,280
Transportation and communications 60,847 15,929 41,032 74,168 19,116 51,580
Information 3,631 487 1,149 4,759 496 1,352
Professional and special services 197,602 52,031 117,562 203,059 51,504 124,458
Rentals 18,066 4,933 12,306 22,796 4,622 11,443
Repair and maintenance 170,400 37,111 80,399 182,556 42,056 108,268
Utilities, materials and supplies 78,558 21,302 62,647 95,025 24,359 66,751
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 70,051 11,837 14,535 70,919 11,894 31,321
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 323,573 41,937 82,504 293,029 28,163 67,896
Transfer payments 88,988 13,776 37,906 123,973 17,172 53,489
Other subsidies and payments 11,360 16,711 32,806 16,310 14,384 27,033
Total gross budgetary expenditures 1,953,481 459,906 1,199,248 2,053,925 469,873 1,303,871
Less Revenues netted against expenditures:
Sales of goods and services 47,915 8,744 29,032 48,015 9,331 27,442
Total Revenues netted against expenditures 47,915 8,744 29,032 48,015 9,331 27,442
Total net budgetary expenditures 1,905,567 451,162 1,170,216 2,005,910 460,542 1,276,429

Due to rounding, figures may not add to the totals shown.

2012-2013 Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre 2012

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, comme l'exige l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon le format et le contenu définis dans la norme Norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport doit être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses, le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) et le Plan d'action économique du Canada de 2012 (budget de 2012). Il n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification ou d'un examen externe.

Les pêches et les océans du Canada jouent depuis très longtemps un rôle historique, économique et culturel de premier plan dans le développement et la croissance du Canada comme nation. Pêches et Océans Canada assume le principal rôle à l'échelle du gouvernement fédéral dans la gestion des pêches et la protection des étendues d'eau du Canada.

La Garde côtière canadienne (GCC), un organisme de service spécial au sein de Pêches et Océans Canada, est responsable des services et des programmes qui contribuent directement à la sécurité, à la protection et à l'accessibilité des voies navigables du Canada. La GCC contribue également à la réalisation des objectifs d'autres organisations gouvernementales par la prestation d'une flotte civile et d'une vaste infrastructure côtière.

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur les pouvoirs, le mandat et les activités de programme de Pêches et Océans Canada sont fournis dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et le Budget principal des dépenses (Partie II).

1.1 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction au moyen d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de Pêches et Océans Canada accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par le Ministère de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses, Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B) pour l'exercice 2012-2013. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé à l'aide d'un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme d'autorisations législatives de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Dans le cadre des travaux de crédits du Parlement, le Budget principal des dépenses doit être soumis au Parlement au plus tard le 1er mars précédent l'exercice suivant. Le budget de 2012 a été soumis au Parlement le 29 mars, après la soumission du Budget principal des dépenses le 28 février 2012. Par conséquent, le Budget principal des dépenses de 2012-2013 ne peut pas refléter les mesures annoncées dans le budget de 2012.

Pendant l'exercice 2012-2013, un responsable du Conseil du Trésor établira des affectations bloquées dans les crédits ministériels afin d'interdire l'utilisation des fonds déjà établis comme mesures d'économie dans le budget de 2012. Au cours des prochaines années, les changements à apporter aux autorisations ministérielles seront mis en œuvre par l'intermédiaire de la mise à jour annuelle des niveaux de référence, tels qu'ils sont approuvés par le Conseil du Trésor, et seront reflétés dans la version subséquente du Budget principal des dépenses soumise au Parlement.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

2.1 État des autorisations

À la fin du troisième trimestre de 2012-2013, les autorisations totales dont disposait Pêches et Océans Canada sont passées à 1 905,6 millions de dollars, ce qui représente une baisse de 100,3 millions de dollars (5,0 %) comparativement aux 2 005,9 millions de dollars dont il disposait au trimestre correspondant de 2011-2012.

Les autorisations totales au titre du crédit 1, Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement, ont diminué de 88,4 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à l'effet net des facteurs suivants :

Les autorisations totales au titre du crédit 5, Dépenses en capital, ont augmenté de 28,3 millions de dollars au total comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à l'effet net des facteurs suivants :

Les autorisations totales au titre du crédit 10, Subventions et contributions, ont diminué de 35,0 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à l'effet net des facteurs suivants :

Les autorisations législatives budgétaires totales pour 2012-2013 ont diminué de 5,3 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à l'effet net des facteurs suivants :

2.1.1 Analyse des dépenses

Au cours du troisième trimestre de 2012-2013, les dépenses budgétaires totales ont été de 451,2 millions de dollars comparativement à 460,5 millions de dollars au même trimestre de 2011-2012.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 1, Dépenses de fonctionnement, au cours du troisième trimestre de 2012-2013 ont diminué de 20,8 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à une combinaison de facteurs tels que le transfert des activités à Services partagés Canada en 2012-2013, l'achèvement des grands projets de radoubs et la réduction des dépenses reliées à la consommation de carburant diesel par les navires de la Garde côtière canadienne.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 5, Dépenses en capital, au cours du troisième trimestre de 2012-2013 ont augmenté de 16,0 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent. Cela est principalement dû aux augmentations importantes des dépenses relatives à l'acquisition de machines et d'équipement. Ces augmentations résultent principalement de la nature des grands projets d'immobilisations de la Garde côtière canadienne, à savoir que les dépenses sont consignées et les paiements progressifs sont effectués selon les jalons établis dans les calendriers de construction des grands projets de construction de navires. Les dépenses peuvent fluctuer considérablement d'une période à l'autre en raison de l'état d'avancement des projets.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 10, Subventions et contributions, au cours du troisième trimestre de 2012-2013 ont diminué de 3,4 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Le financement sous forme de subventions et de contributions est composé de divers programmes, dont certains sont en cours et comprennent des paiements effectués de façon assez régulière. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable du programme de mesures de durabilité pour l'industrie du homard de l'Atlantique dont le financement était à son apogée en 2011-2012.

2.2 Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant

Les 451,2 millions de dollars de dépenses budgétaires nettes durant le troisième trimestre et à ce jour par rapport à la même période en 2011-2012 sont principalement attribuables à l'effet net de dépenses suivantes :

Les dépenses relatives au personnel ont diminué de 12,3 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à une réduction de remboursement des indemnités de départ et les congés de maternité.

Les dépenses relatives aux services de transport et de communication ont diminué de 3,2 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette baisse résulte principalement des 2,5 millions de dollars liés aux activités qui ont été transférées à Services partagés Canada, d'une baisse de 0,6 million de dollars des frais de déplacement réalisée en limitant les voyages discrétionnaires à un niveau minimal au cours du troisième trimestre de 2012-2013 et de la réduction progressive des activités de la Commission d'enquête Cohen.

Les dépenses relatives aux réparations et à l'entretien ont diminué de 4,9 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable aux facteurs suivants : fin, en 2011-2012, d'importants travaux de radoub de certains grands navires de la Garde côtière canadienne; achèvement progressif de divers projets de construction de ports; fin, en 2011-2012, des travaux de réaménagement de l'immeuble à Les Escoumins; fin, en 2011-2012, des réparations liées au fonds d'aide à la suite des tempêtes extraordinaires dans le Canada atlantique, au Québec et au Manitoba.

Les dépenses relatives aux services publics, aux fournitures et à l'approvisionnement ont diminué de 3,1 millions de dollars au total, comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à la limitation des dépenses liées au carburant diesel utilisé par les navires de la flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne.

Les dépenses relatives à l'acquisition de matériel et d'outillage ont diminué de 13,8 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette augmentation résulte principalement de la nature des grands projets d'immobilisations de la Garde côtière canadienne, à savoir les dépenses. Ces dernières sont consignées et les paiements progressifs sont effectués selon les jalons établis dans les calendriers de construction des grands projets de construction de navires. Les dépenses peuvent fluctuer considérablement d'une période à l'autre en raison de l'état d'avancement des projets. La majorité des dépenses étaient liées aux projets de patrouilleurs semi-hauturiers et de navires semi-hauturiers de recherches halieutiques.

Les dépenses relatives aux paiements de transfert ont diminué de 3,4 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette augmentation est principalement attribuable au moment où les paiements ont été effectués dans le cadre d'ententes liées à des commissions internationales des pêches.

Les dépenses relatives aux autres subventions et paiements ont augmenté de 2,3 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette augmentation nette est principalement attribuable au choix du moment des paiements effectués dans le cadre d'ententes liées à des commissions internationales des pêches.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel du Ministère reflète les résultats de l'exercice financier en cours, en lien avec le Budget principal des dépenses ayant fait l'objet d'une publication globale le 28 juin 2012.

Les dépenses prévues de l'exercice financier s'élèvent à 1 905,6 millions de dollars. Le Ministère est principalement financé par l'intermédiaire d'autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement et d'autorisations législatives pour les dépenses de fonctionnement, les dépenses en capital et les subventions et contributions. Tout changement apporté aux crédits parlementaires se répercute sur les activités du Ministère.

Le coût le plus important qui incombe au Ministère est celui des dépenses en personnel engagées pour offrir des programmes et des services scientifiques, maritimes et de conservation qui sont axés sur le savoir. Les dépenses liées à l'acquisition de matériel et d'outillage viennent en deuxième place, car le Ministère gère l'un des portefeuilles d'actifs les plus importants au sein du gouvernement fédéral.

Aujourd'hui, le Ministère fonctionne dans un environnement dynamique et évolutif. Différents facteurs ont une incidence sur le Ministère : la mondialisation, le développement du Nord, les changements environnementaux, les innovations technologiques, les pressions accrues exercées sur les ressources et les demandes conflictuelles des intervenants. En raison du contexte actuel de réductions budgétaires, le Ministère doit continuer à réévaluer sa façon de procéder, ainsi que celles d'offrir des services et d'exécuter ses programmes afin de répondre aux besoins de ses clients et des intervenants.

Cette nouvelle réalité d'exploitation soulève de nombreux défis que le Ministère doit relever. Dans cet environnement changeant, le Ministère a cerné plusieurs risques clés pour l'organisation. Par ordre de gravité, les risques préjudiciables à la mission de Pêches et Océans Canada sont les suivants :

  1. Capacité financière
  2. Communications et réputation
  3. Capital humain
  4. Infrastructure matérielle
  5. Aspect juridique et conformité

Tous ces risques du Ministère préjudiciables à la mission, notamment les stratégies d'intervention et les plans d'action, font régulièrement l'objet d'un examen et sont ajustés au besoin par le Conseil de gestion du Ministère et le Comité ministériel de vérification externe. Les membres de la haute direction se rencontrent tous les six mois afin d'examiner les risques pour l'organisation, ainsi que la gestion de ces risques à chaque étape des cycles de planification, d'examen et de production de rapports.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Un changement important en matière de personnel est intervenu au cours du troisième trimestre : M. Matthew King a été nommé au poste de sous-ministre à compter du 14 janvier 2013. M. King est arrivé au Ministère en provenance du ministère de la Défense nationale, où il occupait le poste de sous-ministre délégué.

Comme il a été indiqué dans le budget de 2011, Pêches et Océans Canada a dépensé 56,8 millions de dollars dans le cadre de la série d'examens stratégiques réalisés au cours de 2010 afin de rétablir l'équilibre budgétaire. Cette année, le montant de la réduction découlant de l'examen stratégique s'élève à 18,9 millions de dollars. Le Ministère accroît sa capacité d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats pour les Canadiens en modernisant son infrastructure maritime et son infrastructure de gestion des pêches, en harmonisant ses programmes avec son mandat de base et en améliorant l'exécution de ses programmes. Ces changements feront en sorte que Pêches et Océans Canada sera mieux outillé pour fournir ses services de manière efficace et efficiente, et sera en mesure de mettre l'accent sur les nouvelles priorités du gouvernement.

4.1 Mise en œuvre du budget de 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d'économies annoncées dans le budget de 2012 qui seront appliquées en vue de recentrer l'appareil gouvernemental et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement et de moderniser et rationaliser les services administratifs.

Pêches et Océans Canada, y compris la GCC, réalisera les économies de 79,3 millions de dollars prévues dans le budget de 2012 d'ici 2014-2015 grâce à des mesures d'efficacité et des réductions de programmes qui permettront d'harmoniser les ressources à son mandat de base en procédant à des réductions dans les secteurs où les besoins sont moins prioritaires, en transformant sa façon de faire à l'interne et en procédant à des regroupements et à des simplifications. Le Ministère restructurera ses activités, regroupera ses services internes et prendra appui sur la technologie pour réaliser des gains d'efficience et des économies.

Grâce à ces changements, le Ministère pourra continuer de concentrer ses efforts sur la réalisation des trois résultats stratégiques suivants : des secteurs maritimes et des pêches économiquement prospères, des écosystèmes aquatiques durables, et des eaux sécuritaires et sécurisées.

Durant la première année de mise en œuvre, Pêches et Océans Canada réalisera des économies de l'ordre d'environ 3,8 millions de dollars. Au cours de 2013-2014, les économies passeront à 13,4 millions de dollars, pour atteindre 79,3 millions de dollars d'ici 2014-2015.

Plus précisément, des économies seront réalisées au cours de 2012-2013 en :

Le Ministère surveille de près toutes les mesures du budget de 2012 afin de gérer le risque lié à la capacité financière connexe.

Approbation par les cadres supérieurs

Matthew King, sous-ministre
Ottawa, Canada
Roch Huppé,
dirigeant principal des finances

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice financier 2012-2013 Exercice financier 2011-2012
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice financier se terminant le 31 mars 2013* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice financier se terminé le 31 mars 2012* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1 283 110 320 220 865 768 1 371 540 341 059 932 732
Crédit 5 - Dépenses en capital 400 801 83 518 166 176 372 477 67 545 183 263
Crédit 10 - Subventions et contributions 88 988 13 775 37 906 123 973 17 172 53 489
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 132 667 33 648 100 368 137 919 34 766 106 945
Autorisations budgétaires totales 1 905 567 451 161 1 170 218 2 005 910 460 542 1 276 429
Autorisations non budgétaires - - - - - -
Autorisations totales 1 905 567 451 161 1 170 218 2 005 910 460 542 1 276 429
* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice financier et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Des renseignements supplémentaires sont fournis dans le tableau ci-joint.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice financier 2012-2013 Exercice financier 2011-2012
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice financier se terminant le 31 mars 2013 Dépenses engagées pendant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice financier se terminé le 31 mars 2012 Dépenses engagées pendant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 930 404 243 852 716 402 967 331 256 107 760 280
Transport et communications 60 847 15 929 41 032 74 168 19 116 51 580
Information 3 631 487 1 149 4 759 496 1 352
Services professionnels et spéciaux 197 602 52 031 117 562 203 059 51 504 124 458
Location 18 066 4 933 12 306 22 796 4 622 11 443
Réparation et entretien 170 400 37 111 80 399 182 556 42 056 108 268
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 78 558 21 302 62 647 95 025 24 359 66 751
Acquisition de terrains, bâtiments et ouvrages 70 051 11 837 14 535 70 919 11 894 31 321
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 323 573 41 937 82 504 293 029 28 163 67 896
Paiements de transfert 88 988 13 776 37 906 123 973 17 172 53 489
Autres subventions et paiements 11 360 16 711 32 806 16 310 14 384 27 033
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 1 953 481 459 906 1 199 248 2 053 925 469 873 1 303 871
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses :
Vente de biens et services 47 915 8 744 29 032 48 015 9 331 27 442
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses 47 915 8 744 29 032 48 015 9 331 27 442
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 1 905 567 451 162 1 170 216 2 005 910 460 542 1 276 429

Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux indiqués.