2012-13 Quarterly Financial Report for the quarter ended June 30, 2012

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and programs

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. This report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates A, as well as Canada's Economic Action Plan 2012 (Budget 2012), and has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Canada's fisheries and oceans have played and continue to play an important historic, economic, and cultural role in Canada's development and growth as a nation. Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) has the lead federal role in managing Canada's fisheries and safeguarding its waters.

The Canadian Coast Guard (CCG), a Special Operating Agency within DFO, is responsible for services and programs that contribute to the safety, security, and accessibility of Canada's waterways. CCG supports other government organizations by providing a civilian fleet and a broadly distributed shore-based infrastructure.

Further details on Fisheries and Oceans Canada's authority, mandate and program activities may be found in the Report on Plans and Priorities and the Main Estimates (Part II).

1.1 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes DFO's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Department consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (A) for 2012-13. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the Parliamentary business of supply, the Main Estimates must be tabled in Parliament on or before March 1 preceding the new fiscal year. Budget 2012 was tabled in Parliament on March 29, after the tabling of the Main Estimates on February 28, 2012. As a result the measures announced in the Budget 2012 could not be reflected in the 2012-13 Main Estimates.

In fiscal year 2012-13, frozen allotments will be established by Treasury Board authority in departmental votes to prohibit the spending of funds already identified as savings measures in Budget 2012. In future years, the changes to departmental authorities will be implemented through the Annual Reference Level Update, as approved by Treasury Board, and reflected in the subsequent Main Estimates tabled in Parliament.

The Department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis of accounting.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year-to-date (YTD) results

2.1 Statement of Authorities

DFO's total authorities available for use as at the end of the first quarter of 2012-13 were $1,671.8 million, i.e. $150.9 million, or 8.3% less than the $1,822.7 million authorized at the same point in 2011-12.

The total authorities available for Vote 1 Net Operating Expenditures decreased by $65.5 million when compared to the same quarter of 2011-12. This is mainly due to the net effect of the following factors:

The total authorities available for Vote 5, Capital Expenditures decreased by a total of $14.5 million when compared to the same quarter of 2011-12. This is mainly due to the net effect of the following factors:

The total authorities available for Vote 10, Grants and Contributions decreased by $65.9 million when compared to the same quarter of 2011-12. This is mainly due to the net effect of the following factors:

The total Budgetary Statutory authorities available for 2012-13 decreased by $5.1 million when compared to the same quarter of 2011-12. This is mainly due to the net effect of the following factors:

2.1.1 Expenditure Analysis

In the first quarter of 2012-13, total budgetary expenditures were $320.8 million compared to $323.7 million reported in the same period of 2011-12.

Authorities used in Vote 1, Operating expenditures, during the first quarter of 2012-13 decreased by $1.4 million compared to the same quarter last year, indicating no significant variance between the two years.

Authorities used in Vote 5, Capital expenditures, during the first quarter of 2012-13 increased by $4.5 million compared to the same quarter last year. This is mainly due to the net effect of increased expenditures for milestone payments ($8.3 million) for two major capital projects for Canadian Coast Guard's Marine Communications and Traffic Services (MCTS) program and a payment of $1.2 million made in 2011-12 only to Public Works and Government Services Canada for the Pangnirtung project in Nunavut.

Authorities used in Vote 10, Grants and Contributions, are lower in the first quarter of 2012-13 than for the same period in 2011-12. Grants and Contributions funding is made up of various programs some of which have been ongoing and rather steady in the timing of their payments. The decrease of $4.6 million is the result of the Atlantic Lobster Sustainability Measures program peaking in 2011-12, the third year of the five year program. The Atlantic Lobster Sustainability Measures program issued fewer payments in the first Quarter of 2012-13 since most of the buyback licence programs took place in previous years. Payments for the remaining Atlantic Lobster Sustainability Measures programs are significantly less costly.

2.2 Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The decrease by $2.8 million in budgetary expenditures in the first quarter and year-to-date as compared to the same period in 2011-12 is reflected primarily in the net effect of the following standard object of expenditure:

Expenditures on Transportation and Communication decreased by a total of $3.5 million when compared to the same quarter of 2011-12. This is mainly due to the Canadian Coast Guard reducing its expenditures by $1 million by holding the discretionary travel at the minimum level in the first quarter of 2012-13 and a reduction of $1.1 million of telephonic expenditure as a result of these activities being transferred to Shared Services Canada.

Expenditures on Professional and Special Services decreased by a total of $1.6 million when compared to the same quarter of 2011-12. This is mainly due to reduced Public Works and Government Services Canada Management fees related to Edmonton, Iqaluit, and Sault Ste Marie office renovations.

Expenditures on Acquisition of Land, Buildings and Works decreased by a total of $1.4 million when compared to the same quarter of 2011-12. This is mainly due to a payment of $1.2 million made in 2011-12 to Public Works and Government Services Canada for the Pangnirtung project in Nunavut.

Expenditures on Acquisition of Machinery and Equipment increased by a total of $7.2 million when compared to the same quarter of 2011-12. This is mainly due to the $8.3 million increase in expenditures for two major capital projects - the construction of nine Mid-shore Patrol Vessels (MSPV) and the construction of the Communications Control System (CCS) used by the Canadian Coast Guard's Marine Communications and Traffic Services (MCTS) program.

Expenditures on Transfer Payments decreased by a total of $4.6 million when compared to the same quarter of 2011-12. This is mainly due to the net effect of timing of payments in the programs: Atlantic Lobster Sustainability Measures (ALSM) reduced by $7.2 million, Aquaculture Innovation and Market Access Program (AIMAP) increased by $1.3 million and Aboriginal Fisheries Strategy (AFS) increased by $2.0 million.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

This Departmental Quarterly Financial Report (QFR) reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates for which full supply was released on June 28, 2012.

Planned spending for the fiscal year is now $1,671.8 million. The Department is primarily funded through voted parliamentary spending authorities and statutory authorities for operating expenditures, capital expenditures and grants and contributions. Departmental operations are impacted by any change in parliamentary appropriations.

The most significant cost to the Department is the personnel expenditures for the delivery of knowledge-based scientific, conservation, and maritime programs and services across the country. Expenditures related to the acquisition of machinery and equipment are the next highest cost as the Department has one of the largest asset base within the federal community.

The Department operates in a dynamic and changing environment today. Globalisation, northern development, environmental changes, technological advances, increased pressures on resources, conflicting demands from stakeholders and the environment of fiscal restraint are among the factors impacting the Department. Changes in Canada's north also have implications for the Department. The current environment of fiscal constraint has required the Department to reassess how it conducts its business, provides services and delivers on its programs to meet client and stakeholder needs.

This new operating reality raises many challenges to which the Department must be responsive. In this changing environment, the department has identified several key internal and external corporate risks. DFO's mission critical corporate risks are, in order of severity:

  1. Financial Capacity Risk
  2. Communications & Reputation Risk
  3. Human Capital Risk
  4. Physical Infrastructure Risk
  5. Legal and Compliance Risk

The Financial Capacity risk, which has been deemed as having the greatest severity to the Department, has several key action plans designed to manage it to an acceptable level. These are:

All these mission critical risks, including their response strategies and action plans, are regularly reviewed and adjusted as necessary by the Departmental Management Board and the external Departmental Audit Committee. The senior management cadre meets semi-annually to review the corporate risks, and considers management of these risks at each stage of the planning, review and reporting cycles.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

A significant change made in personnel over the last year was the appointment of Ms. Diane Orange to the position of Assistant Deputy Minister, Human Resources and Corporate Services, National Capital Region effective March 19, 2012.

As outlined in Budget 2011, Fisheries and Oceans Canada contributed $56.8 million as part of the 2010 round of strategic reviews in order to return to balanced budgets. For this year the reduction of funding due to Strategic Review is $18.9 million. By modernizing its fisheries management and marine infrastructure, aligning programs with the department's core mandate, and improving program delivery, the department is increasing its capacity to achieve better results for Canadians. These changes will ensure that Fisheries and Oceans Canada is better equipped to deliver services effectively and efficiently and is able to focus on emerging government priorities.

4.1 Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that will be implemented in order to refocus government and programs; make it easier for Canadians and business to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, including the Canadian Coast Guard, will achieve Budget 2012 savings of $79.3 million by fiscal year 2014-15 through efficiency measures and program reductions that align resources to its core mandate, scaling back where the need is reduced; transforming how it works internally; and, by consolidating and streamlining. Fisheries and Oceans Canada will restructure its operations, consolidate internal services and leverage technology to realize efficiencies and achieve savings.

With these changes, the Department will continue to focus on three strategic outcomes: economically prosperous maritime sectors and fisheries; sustainable aquatic ecosystems; and safe and secure waters.

In the first year of implementation, the Department will achieve savings of approximately $3.8 million. Savings will increase to $13.4 million in 2013-14 and will result in ongoing saving of $79.3 million by 2014-15.

Specifically, 2012-13 savings are achieved by:

There is a variance of $5.8 million in the Department's authorities between fiscal years 2011-12 and 2012-13 related to the following Budget 2012 initiatives:

The balance of 2012-13 Budget 2012 savings will be reflected later in the fiscal year.

Expenditures in the first quarter of 2012-13 are only slightly less than the same period from last fiscal year.

Originals approved by

Claire Dansereau, Deputy Minister
Ottawa, Canada
Roch Huppé,
Chief Financial Officer

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2012-13 Fiscal year 2011-12
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013 * Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ended March 31, 2012 * Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Net Operating Expenditures 1,163,570 247,937 247,937 1,229,050 249,296 249,296
Vote 5 - Capital Expenditures 313,589 27,180 27,180 328,062 22,719 22,719
Vote 10 - Grants and Contributions 61,786 12,508 12,508 127,653 17,153 17,153
Budget Statutory Authorities 132,834 33,220 33,220 137,920 34,513 34,513
Total Budgetary Authorities 1,671,779 320,845 320,845 1,822,685 323,681 323,681
Non-Budgetary Authorities - - - - - -
Total Authorities 1,671,779 320,845 320,845 1,822,685 323,681 323,681
* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

More information is available in the table below.

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2012-13 Fiscal year 2011-12
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 889,880 233,573 233,573 903,708 233,964 233,964
Transportation and communications 54,608 10,128 10,128 64,397 13,643 13,643
Information 3,224 317 317 4,132 299 299
Professional and special services 158,346 17,820 17,820 176,309 19,384 19,384
Rentals 14,338 1,805 1,805 19,793 1,978 1,978
Repair and maintenance 150,742 15,020 15,020 158,507 13,710 13,710
Utilities, materials and supplies 69,209 12,968 12,968 82,507 12,487 12,487
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 59,261 200 200 62,264 1,642 1,642
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 248,843 16,703 16,703 257,269 9,540 9,540
Transfer payments 61,953 12,508 12,508 127,653 17,153 17,153
Other subsidies and payments 9,289 9,788 9,788 14,161 8,632 8,632
Total gross budgetary expenditures 1,719,693 330,830 330,830 1,870,700 332,432 332,432
Less Revenues netted against expenditures:
Sales of goods and services 47,915 9,985 9,985 48,015 8,751 8,751
Total Revenues netted against expenditures: 47,915 9,985 9,985 48,015 8,751 8,751
Total net budgetary expenditures 1,671,779 320,845 320,845 1,822,685 323,681 323,681

Due to rounding, figures may not add to the totals shown.

2012-2013 Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, comme l'exige l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et conformément à la norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Il doit être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses, le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses A, de même qu'avec le Plan d'action économique 2012 du Canada (Budget 2012). Ce rapport n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Les pêches et les océans du Canada jouent depuis très longtemps un rôle historique, économique et culturel de premier plan dans le développement et la croissance du Canada. Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) est l'organisme fédéral responsable de la gestion des pêches du Canada et de la protection de ses eaux.

La Garde côtière canadienne (GCC), un organisme du service spécial au sein du MPO, est responsable des services et des programmes qui contribuent à la sécurité, à la protection et à l'accessibilité des voies navigables du Canada. La GCC contribue également à la réalisation des objectifs d'autres organisations gouvernementales par la prestation d'une flotte civile et d'une vaste infrastructure côtière.

On peut trouver des renseignements supplémentaires sur les autorisations, le mandat et les activités de programme de Pêches et Océans Canada dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités et le Budget principal des dépenses (Partie II).

1.1 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du MPO accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par le Ministère de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) pour l'exercice 2012-2013. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Dans le cadre des travaux des subsides du Parlement, le Budget principal des dépenses doit être déposé au Parlement le ou avant le 1er mars précédant le début du nouvel exercice. Le Budget 2012 a été déposé au Parlement le 29 mars, après le dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses le 28 février 2012. Par conséquent, les mesures annoncées dans le Budget 2012 ne figurent pas dans le Budget principal des dépenses 2012-2013.

Pour l'exercice 2012-2013, des affectations bloquées dans les crédits ministériels seront établies par le Conseil du Trésor en vue d'empêcher que les fonds déjà réservés pour des mesures d'économies dans le Budget 2012 ne soient dépensés. Au cours des exercices suivants, les modifications aux autorisations ministériels seront mises en œuvre par l'intermédiaire de la Mise à jour annuelle des niveaux de référence, approuvée par le Conseil du Trésor, et figureront dans les Budgets principaux des dépenses ultérieurs déposés au Parlement.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

2.1 État des autorisations

À la fin du premier trimestre de 2012-2013, les autorisations totales dont disposait Pêches et Océans Canada sont passées à 1 671,8 millions de dollars, ce qui représente une baisse de 150,9 millions de dollars (8,3 %) comparativement aux 1 822,7 millions de dollars dont il disposait au trimestre correspondant de 2011-2012.

Les autorisations totales au titre du crédit 1, Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement, ont diminué de 65,5 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à l'effet net des facteurs suivants :

Les autorisations totales au titre du crédit 5, Dépenses en capital, ont diminué de 14,5 millions de dollars au total comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à l'effet net des facteurs suivants :

Les autorisations totales au titre du crédit 10, Subventions et contributions, ont diminué de 65,9 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à l'effet net des facteurs suivants :

Les autorisations législatives budgétaires totales pour 2012-2013 ont diminué de 5,1 millions de dollars comparativement au trimestre correspondant de 2011-2012. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à l'effet net des facteurs suivants :

2.1.1 Analyse des dépenses

Au cours du premier trimestre de 2012-2013, les dépenses budgétaires totales étaient de 320,8 millions de dollars comparativement à 323,7 millions de dollars pendant le trimestre correspondant de 2011-2012.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 1, Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement, au cours du premier trimestre de 2012-2013 ont diminué de 1,4 million de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente un faible écart entre les deux exercices.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 5, Dépenses en capital, au cours du premier trimestre de 2012-2013 ont augmenté de 4,5 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent. Cette hausse est principalement attribuable à l'effet net de l'augmentation des dépenses en vue de régler les paiements d'étape (8,3 millions de dollars) relativement à deux grands projets d'immobilisations du programme des Services de communication et de trafic maritimes de la Garde côtière canadienne, ainsi que le paiement de 1,2 million de dollars fait uniquement à Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada au cours de 2011-2012 pour le projet de port à Pangnirtung, au Nunavut.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 10, Subventions et contributions, ont été moins élevées au cours du premier trimestre de 2012-2013 comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Le financement sous forme de subventions et de contributions est composé de divers programmes, dont certains sont en cours et comprennent des paiements effectués de façon assez régulière. La diminution de 4,6 millions de dollars est attribuable à l'intensification des activités liées au Programme de mesures de durabilité pour l'industrie du homard de l'Atlantique au cours de 2011-2012, période qui correspond à la troisième année de ce programme quinquennal. Un nombre moins élevé de paiements ont été effectués dans le cadre de ce programme au cours du premier trimestre de 2012-2013 étant donné que la majorité des programmes de rachat des permis ont été réalisés pendant les exercices précédents. Par conséquent, les paiements qui doivent être faits d'ici la fin du Programme de mesures de durabilité pour l'industrie du homard de l'Atlantique sont beaucoup moins élevés.

2.2 Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant

La réduction de 2,8 millions de dollars des dépenses budgétaires durant le premier trimestre et à ce jour par rapport au même trimestre de 2011-2012 est principalement attribuable à l'effet net des articles courants de dépense suivants :

Les dépenses au chapitre des services de transport et de communication ont diminué de 3,5 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à la réduction de 1 million de dollars des dépenses de la Garde côtière canadienne, qui a réduit au minimum les frais liés aux voyages discrétionnaires au cours du premier trimestre de 2012-2013, et à la réduction de 1,1 million de dollars des dépenses liées aux services de téléphone, qui ont été transférés à Services partagés Canada.

Les dépenses au chapitre des services professionnels et des services spéciaux ont diminué de 1,6 million de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à la réduction des frais de gestion de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada associés aux travaux de rénovation effectués dans les bureaux d'Edmonton, d'Iqaluit et de Sault Ste. Marie.

Les dépenses relatives à l'acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d'ouvrages ont diminué de 1,4 million de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable au paiement de 1,2 million de dollars fait au cours de 2011-2012 à Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada pour le projet de port à Pangnirtung, au Nunavut.

Les dépenses relatives à l'acquisition de matériel et d'outillage ont augmenté de 7,2 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette hausse est principalement attribuable à l'augmentation de 8,3 millions de dollars des dépenses liées à deux grands projets d'immobilisations, soit la construction de neuf patrouilleurs semi-hauturiers et la fabrication du système de contrôle de communication utilisé par le programme des Services de communication et de trafic maritimes de la Garde côtière canadienne.

Les dépenses liées aux paiements de transfert ont diminué de 4,6 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de 2011-2012. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à l'effet net du moment des paiements effectués dans le cadre des programmes suivants : le Programme de mesures de durabilité pour l'industrie du homard de l'Atlantique (diminution de 7,2 millions de dollars), le Programme d'innovation en aquaculture et d'accès au marché (augmentation de 1,3 million de dollars), et la Stratégie relative aux pêches autochtones (augmentation de 2,0 millions de dollars).

3. Risques et incertitudes

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel du Ministère décrit les résultats de l'exercice financier en cours, en lien avec le Budget principal des dépenses ayant fait l'objet d'une publication globale le 28 juin 2012.

Les dépenses prévues de l'exercice financier s'élèvent maintenant à 1 671,8 millions de dollars. Le Ministère est principalement financé grâce à des autorisations de dépenses parlementaires votées et des autorisations législatives pour les dépenses de fonctionnement, les dépenses en capital et les subventions et contributions. Tout changement des crédits parlementaires se répercute sur les activités du Ministère.

Le coût le plus important qui incombe au Ministère est celui des dépenses en personnel pour la prestation de programmes et services scientifiques axés sur le savoir, ainsi que de programmes et services de conservation et de programmes maritimes d'un bout à l'autre du pays. Les dépenses liées à l'acquisition de matériel et d'outillage viennent en deuxième place, car le Ministère gère l'un des portefeuilles d'actifs les plus importants au sein du gouvernement fédéral.

Aujourd'hui, le Ministère fonctionne dans un environnement dynamique et évolutif. Différents facteurs ont une incidence sur le Ministère : la mondialisation, le développement du Nord, les changements environnementaux, les innovations technologiques, les pressions accrues exercées sur les ressources, les demandes conflictuelles des intervenants et les réductions budgétaires. Les changements qui se produisent dans le Nord du Canada ont également des répercussions sur le Ministère. En raison du contexte actuel de réductions budgétaires, le Ministère a été obligé de réévaluer sa façon de procéder, ainsi que celles d'offrir des services et d'exécuter ses programmes afin de répondre aux besoins des clients et des intervenants.

Cette nouvelle réalité d'exploitation soulève de nombreux défis que le Ministère doit relever. Dans cet environnement changeant, le Ministère a cerné plusieurs risques internes et externes pour l'organisation. Par ordre de gravité, les risques préjudiciables à la mission de Pêches et Océans Canada sont les suivants :

  1. Risque lié à la capacité financière
  2. Risque lié aux communications et à la réputation
  3. Risque lié au capital humain
  4. Risque lié à l'infrastructure matérielle
  5. Risque juridique et risque lié à la conformité

Plusieurs plans d'action clés ont été conçus en vue de gérer et de ramener à un niveau acceptable le risque lié à la capacité financière, déterminé comme étant le plus grave pour le Ministère. Voici ces plans :

Tous ces risques préjudiciables à la mission, notamment les stratégies d'intervention et les plans d'action, font régulièrement l'objet d'un examen et sont ajustés au besoin par le Conseil de gestion du Ministère et le Comité ministériel de vérification externe. Les membres de la haute direction se rencontrent tous les six mois afin d'examiner les risques pour l'organisation, ainsi que la gestion de ces risques à chaque étape des cycles de planification, d'examen et de production de rapports.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

L'un des changements les plus importants au sein du personnel au cours de la dernière année est la nomination, le 19 mars 2012, de Mme Diane Orange au poste de sous-ministre adjointe des Ressources humaines et des Services intégrés de la région de la capitale nationale.

Comme il a été indiqué dans le budget de 2011, Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) a versé 56,8 millions de dollars dans le cadre de la série d'examens stratégiques de 2010 ayant pour but de rétablir l'équilibre budgétaire. Cette année, le montant de la réduction découlant de l'examen stratégique s'élève à 18,9 millions de dollars. Le MPO, en modernisant sa méthode de gestion des pêches et ses infrastructures maritimes, en harmonisant ses programmes avec son mandat de base et en améliorant l'exécution de ses programmes, augmente sa capacité d'atteindre de meilleurs résultats pour les Canadiens. Ces changements feront en sorte qu'il sera mieux outillé pour offrir ses services de façon efficace et efficiente et pour mettre l'accent sur les nouvelles priorités du gouvernement.

4.1 Mise en œuvre du budget de 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d'économies annoncées dans le budget de 2012 et qui seront appliquées en vue de recentrer l'appareil gouvernemental et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement et de moderniser et rationaliser les services administratifs.

Le MPO, y compris la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC), réalisera les économies de 79,3 millions de dollars prévues dans le budget de 2012 d'ici l'exercice 2014-2015 grâce à des mesures d'efficacité et des réductions de programmes qui permettront d'harmoniser les ressources à son mandat de base en procédant à des réductions dans les secteurs où les besoins sont moins prioritaires, en transformant sa façon de faire à l'interne et en procédant à des regroupements et à des simplifications. Le MPO restructurera donc ses opérations, regroupera ses services internes, mettra en valeur la technologie pour améliorer l'efficacité et réaliser des économies.

Grâce à ces changements, le MPO pourra poursuivre l'atteinte de ces trois résultats stratégiques : des secteurs maritimes et des pêches économiquement prospères, des écosystèmes aquatiques durables et des eaux sûres et sécurisées.

Durant la première année de mise en œuvre, le MPO réalisera des économies de l'ordre d'environ 3,8 millions de dollars. Durant l'exercice 2013-2014, les économies augmenteront à 13,4 millions de dollars, pour atteindre 79,3 millions de dollars d'ici l'exercice 2014-2015.

Plus précisément, les économies durant l'exercice 2012-2013 viseront:

Il y a un écart de 5,8 millions de dollars au sein des pouvoirs du MPO entre l'exercice 2011-2012 et l'exercice 2012-2013 concernant cette initiative liée au budget de 2012:

Le reste des économies prévues dans le budget de 2012 seront constatées plus tard au cours de l'exercice.

Les dépenses effectuées durant le premier trimestre de l'exercice 2012-2013 sont légèrement inférieures à celles effectuées durant la même période de l'exercice précédent.

La copy orignal approuvé par

Claire Dansereau, sous-ministre
Ottawa, Canada
Roch Huppé,
dirigeant principal des finances

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2012-2013 Exercice 2011-2012
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1,163,570 247,937 247,937 1,229,050 249,296 249,296
Crédit 5 - Dépenses en capital 313,589 27,180 27,180 328,062 22,719 22,719
Crédit 10 - Subventions et contributions 61,786 12,508 12,508 127,653 17,153 17,153
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 132,834 33,220 33,220 137,920 34,513 34,513
Autorisations budgétaires totales 1,671,779 320,845 320,845 1,822,685 323,681 323,681
Autorisations non budgétaires - - - - - -
Autorisations totales 1,671,779 320,845 320,845 1,822,685 323,681 323,681
* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

De l'information supplémentaire est fournie dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2012-2013 Exercice 2011-2012
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 889,880 233,573 233,573 903,708 233,964 233,964
Transport et communications 54,608 10,128 10,128 64,397 13,643 13,643
Information 3,224 317 317 4,132 299 299
Services professionnels et spéciaux 158,346 17,820 17,820 176,309 19,384 19,384
Location 14,338 1,805 1,805 19,793 1,978 1,978
Services de réparation et d'entretien 150,742 15,020 15,020 158,507 13,710 13,710
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 69,209 12,968 12,968 82,507 12,487 12,487
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 59,261 200 200 62,264 1,642 1,642
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 248,843 16,703 16,703 257,269 9,540 9,540
Paiements de transfert 61,953 12,508 12,508 127,653 17,153 17,153
Autres subventions et paiements 9,289 9,788 9,788 14,161 8,632 8,632
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 1,719,693 330,830 330,830 1,870,700 332,432 332,432
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses :
Ventes de biens et services 47,915 9,985 9,985 48,015 8,751 8,751
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses 47,915 9,985 9,985 48,015 8,751 8,751
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 1,671,779 320,845 320,845 1,822,685 323,681 323,681

En raison de l'arrondissement, les chiffres peuvent ne pas correspondre aux totaux indiqués.