2011-2012 Quarterly Financial Report for the quarter ended September 30, 2011

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and programs

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. This report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Canada's fisheries and oceans have played and continue to play an important historic, economic, and cultural role in Canada's development and growth as a nation. Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) has the lead federal role in managing Canada's fisheries and safeguarding its waters.

The Canadian Coast Guard (CCG), a Special Operating Agency within DFO, is responsible for services and programs that contribute to the safety, security, and accessibility of Canada's waterways. CCG supports other government organizations by providing a civilian fleet and a broadly distributed shore-based infrastructure.

Further details on Fisheries and Oceans Canada's authority, mandate and program activities may be found in the Report on Plans and Priorities and the Main Estimates (Part II).

1.1 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes DFO's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Department consistent with the Main Estimates for 2011-2012. DFO did not seek an increase to its spending authorities through 2011-2012 Supplementary Estimates (A). This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The Department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis of accounting.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year-to-date (YTD) results

2.1 Statement of Authorities

DFO's total authorities available for use as at the end of the second quarter of 2011-2012 were $1,881.8 million - $122.1 million, or 6.1% less than the $2,003.9 million authorized at the same point in 2010-2011.

Authority for Vote 1, Net Operating expenditures decreased by $39.8 million when compared to the same quarter of 2010-2011. This is mainly due to the net effect of a decrease of $53.5 million in the 2011-2012 Main Estimates for the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan and Small Craft Harbours projects as a result of the termination of funding related to the Economic Action Plan in 2010-2011. This decrease was offset by an increase of $13.7 million in the amount of operating budget funds carried forward to 2011-2012 ($37.6 million) compared to the amount carried forward in 2010-2011 ($23.9 million).

Authority for Vote 5, Capital expenditures decreased by a total of $88.9 million when compared to the same quarter of 2010-2011, mainly as a result of a decrease of $110.4 million related to the termination of the Economic Action Plan (EAP) funding in 2010-2011 for Canadian Coast Guard fleet-related projects, Small Craft Harbours, and the Deferred Maintenance of Federal Laboratories Initiative. Offsetting this decrease was an increase of $21.5 million provided for the carry forward of capital funds into 2011-2012.

Authority for Vote 10, Grants and Contributions decreased by $3.6 million when compared to the same quarter of 2010-2011. This is mainly due to reduced funding requirements in the Maanulth First Nations Final Agreement and for the Pacific Integrated Commercial Fisheries Initiative.

The budgetary statutory authorities increased by a total of $10.1 million when compared to the same quarter of 2010-2011 as a result of an increase in the cost of employee benefit plans, from 17% to 18% of personnel expenditures.

2.1.1 Expenditure Analysis

In the second quarter of 2011-2012, total authorities used were $492.2 million, or $57.7 million higher than the $434.5 million reported for the same period of 2010-2011.

Authorities used in Vote 1, Net Operating expenditures during the second quarter of 2011-2012 increased by $27.6 million compared to the same quarter last year, and by $18.2 million to date this year over last year. The principal reason for this is significantly higher expenditures for personnel costs, which include severance payments. Recent collective bargaining agreements have included provisions that allow employees to exercise an option to request a pay-out of accumulated severance allowances, or some portion thereof. As a result, severance payments by the Department in the second quarter of 2011-2012 were $31 million, $27 million more than in the second quarter of 2010-2011. It should be noted that these one-time costs will be reimbursed to DFO from the Treasury Board Secretariat. Factoring out the extraordinary increase in expenditures for severance payments, the year-to-date spending rate in the Operating vote at the end of the second quarter of 2011-2012, at 44.6%, is only 0.7% higher than last year.

Authorities used in Vote 5, Capital expenditures year-to-date is approximately the same for both 2010-2011 ($114.7 million) and 2011-2012 ($115.7 million), despite the wind up of funding for capital projects in 2010-2011 related to the Economic Action Plan. This is due to an increase of $18.8 million in capital spending in the second quarter of 2011-2012 as compared to the second quarter of 2010-2011. The increase in capital spending in 2011-12 results from progress payments for the acquisition of mid-shore patrol vessels and the replacement of an air cushion vehicle, the design work for offshore science vessels, and the Polar Icebreaker. Ongoing work on capital projects such as the Pangnirtung Harbour in Nunavut, Beaver Harbour in New Brunswick, and François Harbour in Newfoundland and Labrador also contributes to the increase in capital spending in 2011-2012. The rate of spending compared to total Vote 5 authorities for the second quarter of 2011-2012 is significantly higher (33.1%) compared to the same period in 2010-2011 (26.2%) due to the timing of activities.

Authorities used in Vote 10, Grants and Contributions, are significantly higher in the second quarter of 2011-2012 than for the same period in 2010-2011. The variance of $5.5 million in expenditures in the second quarter of 2011-2012 over 2010-2011, when added to the variance of $8.3 million reported in the first Quarterly Financial Report, for a year-to-date variance of $13.8 million is attributable to the rate of spending in the Contribution program to support the economic viability and long term sustainability of the Quebec and Atlantic Canada lobster fishery (Atlantic Lobster Sustainability Measures). As explained in the first quarterly report, this program has a seasonal component that influences the timing of participation by harvesters. Since this relatively new program was announced late in the fall of 2009, few proposals were submitted for consideration prior to the 2010 lobster season, resulting in low participation in the spring of 2010 and low expenditures during the lobster season. As the program gained momentum, proposals were prepared and submitted for approval to the Department in the fall and winter of 2010. A large number of agreements were approved in March and April 2011 in time for the 2011 lobster season and this is reflected in the higher expenditures to date in 2011-2012.

Authorities used for budgetary statutory also increased in the second quarter by $5.7 million and year-to-date by $8.2 million mainly due to additional expenditures of employee benefit plans.

2.2 Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The increase in budgetary expenditures in the second quarter of $57.7 million (13.3%) and year-to-date of $41.2 million (5.3%) as compared to the same periods in 2010-2011 is reflected primarily in the personnel standard object of expenditure which increased by $30 million due to severance payments and economic increases as a result of recent collective agreements.

In addition, the standard objects of expenditure that reflect capital spending, i.e. utilities, materials and supplies; acquisition of land, buildings and works; and, acquisition of machinery and equipment increased by $28.1 million in the second quarter and by $19.6 million year-to-date. While expenditures in the second quarter for repair and maintenance were at the same level, the year-to-date expenditures decreased by $14.5 million due to the termination of Economic Action Plan funding in 2010-2011 for capital projects related to the Accelerated Vessel Refit Program and Small Craft Harbours. The standard object for transfer payments reflects a year-to-date increase of $13.8 million due to the Atlantic Lobster Sustainability Measures contribution program, as explained in Section 2.1.1.

Finally, a decrease in the standard object for other subsidies and payments of $4.6 million (26.6%) is linked to a timing of the redistribution of certain expenses.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

This Departmental Quarterly Financial Report (QFR) reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates for which full supply was released on June 27, 2011.

Planned spending for the fiscal year is now $1,881.8 million. The Department is primarily funded through voted parliamentary spending authorities and statutory authorities for operating expenditures, capital expenditures, and grants and contributions. Departmental operations are impacted by any change in parliamentary appropriations.

The most significant cost to the Department is personnel expenditures for the delivery of knowledge-based scientific, conservation and maritime programs and services across the country. Expenditures related to the acquisition of machinery and equipment are the next highest cost, as the Department is one of the federal departments with the largest asset base.

Delivery of DFO's departmental programs and services may be impacted by several internal and external risks. Key corporate risks for 2011-2012 include:

The Department has developed a Corporate Risk Profile to identify and manage key risks. This risk profile and mitigation measures are reviewed regularly by the Departmental Management Board and the external Departmental Audit Committee.

Budget 2010 announced that the operating budgets of departments would be frozen at their 2010-2011 levels for the fiscal years 2011-2012 and 2012-2013. In addition, the Department is contributing to the deficit reduction measures announced in Budget 2011 which include implementing multi-year planning in the management of fisheries resources; the consolidation of marine search and rescue co-ordination services in Eastern Canada; and, the phasing out of LORAN-C navigation system.

The Department has adopted several measures to mitigate this financial risk. Business planning has been streamlined to identify key program priorities. Internal budget allocation and in-year forecasting have been improved to ensure that priorities are funded and program pressures are addressed, and a Financial Management Framework, including a multi-year, risk-based Internal Control work plan has been developed to document and test the effectiveness of existing key controls in relation to financial planning and budgeting.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

Effective August 4, 2011, Shared Services Canada (SSC) was established by Orders in Council to pool existing resources from across government to consolidate and transform Information Technology (IT) infrastructure (e.g. data centres, email and network services) for the Government of Canada. A second set of Orders in Council are anticipated that will enable the second step of this transformation, the transfer of IT resources from departments and agencies to SSC.

During the second quarter, the Assistant Deputy Minister, Human Resources and Corporate Services accepted a position with another government department and the Regional Director General, Central and Arctic region retired from the public service. Competitive processes have been initiated to fill these positions. There have been no other changes in senior personnel, as represented by the Departmental Management Board, during the second quarter.

Approval by Senior Officials

Claire Dansereau,
Deputy Minister
Roch Huppé,
Chief Financial Officer

Ottawa, Canada
November 17, 2011

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2011-2012 Fiscal year 2010-2011
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 * Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ended March 31,
2011 *
Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Net Operating Expenditures 1,266,642 342,376 591,672 1,306,412 314,731 573,491
Vote 5 - Capital Expenditures 349,605 92,999 115,718 438,454 74,167 114,698
Vote 10 - Grants and Contributions 127,653 19,194 36,317 131,203 13,679 22,506
Budget Statutory Authorities 137,919 37,667 72,180 127,830 31,958 63,950
Total Budgetary Authorities 1,881,819 492,206 815,887 2,003,899 434,535 774,645
Non-Budgetary Authorities - - - - - -
Total Authorities 1,881,819 492,206 815,887 2,003,899 434,535 774,645
* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

More information is available in the table below.

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2011-2012 Fiscal year 2010-2011
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 903,705 270,207 504,172 879,878 240,193 474,273
Transportation and communications 69,055 18,821 32,464 78,498 17,729 32,876
Information 4,431 557 857 5,821 749 1,217
Professional and special services 189,060 53,571 72,954 214,521 53,014 74,714
Rentals 21,225 4,843 6,821 29,348 5,004 7,110
Repair and maintenance 169,970 52,502 66,212 153,530 52,935 80,739
Utilities, materials and supplies 88,474 29,904 42,392 105,586 20,972 33,494
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 66,462 17,785 19,427 87,420 10,058 12,618
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 274,614 30,192 39,733 347,270 18,749 35,829
Transfer payments 127,653 19,164 36,317 131,203 13,679 22,506
Other subsidies and payments 15,185 4,019 12,649 18,739 11,239 17,219
Total gross budgetary expenditures 1,929,834 501,565 833,998 2,051,814 444,321 792,595
Less Revenues netted against expenditures:
Sales of goods and services 48,015 9,359 18,111 47,915 9,786 17,950
Total Revenues netted against expenditures: 48,015 9,359 18,111 47,915 9,786 17,950
Total net budgetary expenditures 1,881,819 492,206 815,887 2,003,899 434,535 774,645

2011-2012 Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, comme l'exige l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon le format et le contenu définis par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor dans la norme comptable 1.3. Ce rapport doit être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et il n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Les pêches et les océans du Canada jouent depuis très longtemps un rôle historique, économique et culturel de premier plan dans le développement et la croissance du Canada. Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) est l'organisme fédéral responsable de la gestion des pêches du Canada et de la protection de ses eaux.

La Garde côtière canadienne (GCC), un organisme de service spécial au sein du MPO, est responsable des services et des programmes qui contribuent à la sécurité, à la protection et à l'accessibilité des voies navigables du Canada. La GCC contribue également à la réalisation des objectifs d'autres organisations gouvernementales par la prestation d'une flotte civile et d'une vaste infrastructure côtière.

On peut trouver des renseignements supplémentaires sur les pouvoirs, le mandat et les activités de programme de Pêches et Océans Canada dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et le Budget principal des dépenses (Partie II).

1.1 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du MPO accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par le Ministère de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice 2011-2012. Le MPO n'a pas demandé que les autorisations de dépenser soient augmentées par l'entremise du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) pour l'exercice 2011-2012. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

2.1 État des autorisations

À la fin du deuxième trimestre de 2011-2012, les autorisations totales dont disposait le MPO sont passées de 2 003,9 millions de dollars à 1 881,8 millions de dollars, ce qui représente une baisse de 122,1 millions de dollars (6,1 %) comparativement au trimestre correspondant de 2010-2011.

Les autorisations au titre du crédit 1, Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement, ont diminué de 39,8 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre en 2010-2011. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à l'effet net d'une baisse de 53,5 millions de dollars au Budget principal des dépenses de 2011-2012 sous la rubrique des sites contaminés fédéraux et des projets pour les ports pour petits bateaux par suite de la fin du financement lié au Plan d'action économique en 2010-2011. Cette baisse a été compensée par une hausse de 13,7 millions de dollars du budget de fonctionnement reporté à 2011-2012 (37,6 millions de dollars) comparativement à la somme reportée en 2010-2011 (23,9 millions de dollars).

Les autorisations au titre du crédit 5, Dépenses en capital, ont diminué de 88,9 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre en 2010-2011, surtout par suite d'une réduction de 110,4 millions de dollars découlant de la fin du financement en 2010-2011 des projets liés à la flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne, aux ports pour petits bateaux et au report de l'Initiative de modernisation de laboratoires fédéraux figurant dans le Plan d'action économique. Une hausse de 21,5 millions de dollars inscrite au report en 2011-2012 de fonds en immobilisation a compensé cette diminution.

Les autorisations au titre du crédit 10, Subventions et contributions, ont diminué de 3,6 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre en 2010-2011. Cette situation découle surtout des besoins de financement moindres liés à l'Accord définitif des Premières nations Maa-nulth et à l'Initiative des pêches commerciales intégrées du Pacifique.

Les autorisations législatives budgétaires se sont accrues de 10,1 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre en 2010-2011 par suite d'une augmentation du coût des régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés, qui est passé de 17 % à 18 % des frais de personnel.

2.1.1 Analyse des dépenses

Au cours de deuxième trimestre de 2011-2012, le cumul des autorisations utilisées a augmenté de 57,7 millions de dollars par rapport au trimestre correspondant de 2010-2011 pour passer de 434,5 millions de dollars à 492,2 millions de dollars.

Au cours du second trimestre de 2011-2012, les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 1, Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement, ont augmenté de 27,6 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, et le cumul s'est accru de 18,2 millions de dollars pendant l'exercice en cours par rapport à l'an dernier. Cette hausse est principalement rattachée aux frais de personnel nettement plus élevés, notamment les indemnités de départ. Par suite de récentes négociations collectives et de nouvelles dispositions, les employés ont la possibilité d'exercer l'option de demander le remboursement d'indemnités de départ cumulées, en tout ou en partie. Par conséquent, les indemnités de départ versées par le Ministère durant le second trimestre de 2011-2012 ont totalisé 31 millions de dollars, soit 27 millions de dollars de plus que durant le second trimestre de 2010-2011. Il importe de préciser que ces coûts non récurrents seront remboursés au MPO par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Si l'on ne tient pas compte de la hausse extraordinaire découlant du versement des indemnités de départ, le rythme des dépenses cumulées à ce jour en ce qui a trait au crédit 1, Dépenses de fonctionnement, à la fin du second trimestre de 2011-2012, qui se situe à 44,6 %, n'excède celui de l'an dernier que de 0,7 %.

Le cumul à ce jour des autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 5, Dépenses en capital, est à peu près le même que pour 2010-2011 (114,7 millions de dollars) et 2011-2012 (115,7 millions de dollars), malgré la liquidation du fonds rattaché aux projets d'immobilisations en 2010-2011 en lien avec le Plan d'action économique. Cela s'explique par une augmentation de 18,8 millions de dollars des dépenses en capital durant le second trimestre de 2011-2012 par rapport au second trimestre de 2010-2011. La hausse des dépenses en capital de 2011-2012 est attribuable aux acomptes versés en vue de l'acquisition de bateaux patrouilleurs semi-hauturiers et du remplacement d'un aéroglisseur, aux travaux de conception de navires hauturiers des sciences et au brise-glace polaire. Des travaux en cours portant sur des projets d'immobilisations, tels que le Pangnirtung Harbour au Nunavut, le Beaver Harbour au Nouveau-Brunswick et le François Harbour à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, ont également contribué à la hausse des dépenses en capital en 2011-2012. Le rythme des dépenses par rapport aux autorisations totales au titre du crédit 5 pour le second trimestre de 2011-2012 est nettement supérieur (33,1 %) comparativement à la même période en 2010-2011 (26,2 %) en raison de la chronologie des activités.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 10, Subventions et contributions, ont été beaucoup plus élevées au cours du second trimestre de 2011-2012 que pour la période correspondante en 2010-2011. L'écart de 5,5 millions de dollars des dépenses entre le second trimestre de 2011-2012 et celui de 2010-2011, ajouté à l'écart de 8,3 millions de dollars déclaré au premier Rapport financier trimestriel, cumulant un écart de 13,8 millions de dollars, s'explique par la hausse des dépenses engagées dans le programme de contributions visant à soutenir la viabilité économique et la durabilité à long terme de la pêche du homard au Québec et dans le Canada atlantique (Mesures de durabilité pour l'industrie du homard de l'Atlantique). Tel qu'il en est fait mention dans le premier rapport trimestriel, ce programme comporte un volet saisonnier qui influe sur le moment de la participation des pêcheurs. Comme ce programme relativement nouveau n'a été annoncé qu'à la fin de l'automne 2009, peu de pêcheurs de homard ont présenté des propositions avant le début de la saison 2010, de sorte que seuls quelques-uns ont pu se prévaloir du programme au printemps 2010 et que les dépenses durant la saison de pêche du homard ont été modestes. À mesure que le programme prenait son envol, le Ministère a reçu davantage de demandes à l'automne et à l'hiver de 2010. De nombreuses ententes ont été approuvées en mars et en avril 2011, à temps pour la saison de pêche du homard 2011, comme en témoigne la hausse des dépenses observée en 2011-2012.

Durant le second trimestre, les autorisations législatives budgétaires utilisées ont aussi augmenté de 5,7 millions de dollars et de 8,2 millions de dollars à ce jour, principalement en raison de dépenses supplémentaires liées aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés.

2.2 Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant

La hausse des dépenses budgétaires durant le second trimestre de 57,7 millions de dollars (13,3 %) et à ce jour de 41,2 millions de dollars (5,3 %) par rapport aux périodes correspondantes en 2010-2011 est surtout reliée à l'article courant des dépenses rattachées au personnel, lequel s'est accru de 30 millions de dollars en raison des indemnités de départ et des augmentations économiques découlant de récentes négociations collectives.

De plus, les articles courants de dépenses qui englobent les dépenses en capital, c. à d. les services publics, les fournitures et approvisionnements, l'acquisition de terrains, les bâtiments et ouvrages et l'acquisition de matériel ou d'outillage, ont augmenté de 28,1 millions de dollars durant le second trimestre et de 19,6 millions de dollars à ce jour. Bien que les dépenses en services de réparation et d'entretien soient semblables durant le second trimestre, les dépenses cumulées ont diminué de 14,5 millions de dollars compte tenu de la fin du financement des projets d'immobilisations en 2010-2011 annoncée dans le Plan d'action économique en ce qui a trait au programme accéléré de remise en état des navires et des ports pour petits bateaux. L'article courant pour les paiements de transfert présente une hausse cumulative de 13,8 millions de dollars en raison du programme de contributions des Mesures de durabilité pour l'industrie du homard de l'Atlantique, comme nous l'avons expliqué au point 2.1.1.

En dernier lieu, une diminution de l'article courant des autres subventions et paiements de 4,6 millions de dollars (26,6 %) est liée au moment de la redistribution de certaines dépenses.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel (RFT) du Ministère reflète les résultats de l'exercice financier en cours, en lien avec le Budget principal des dépenses ayant fait l'objet d'une publication globale le 27 juin 2011.

Les dépenses prévues de l'exercice s'élèvent maintenant à 1 881,8 millions de dollars. Le Ministère est principalement financé grâce à des autorisations de dépenses parlementaires votées et législatives pour les dépenses de fonctionnement, les dépenses en capital et les subventions et contributions. Tout changement des crédits parlementaires se répercute sur les activités du Ministère.

Le coût le plus important qui incombe au Ministère est celui des dépenses en personnel pour la prestation de programmes et services scientifiques axés sur le savoir, ainsi que de programmes et services de conservation et de programmes maritimes partout au pays. Les dépenses liées à l'acquisition de matériel et d'outillage viennent en deuxième place, puisque le Ministère est l'un des ministères fédéraux qui gèrent un portefeuille d'actifs important.

Plusieurs risques internes et externes pourraient influer sur la prestation des programmes et services du MPO. Les principaux risques ministériels en 2011-2012 sont les suivants :

Le Ministère a dressé son profil de risque ministériel afin de cerner et de gérer les principaux risques. Le Conseil de gestion du Ministère ainsi que le Comité de vérification ministériel externe examinent périodiquement le profil de risque ainsi que les mesures d'atténuation prévues.

Le budget de 2010 annonçait que les budgets d'exploitation des ministères seraient gelés à leurs niveaux de 2010-2011 pour les exercices 2011-2012 et 2012-2013. De plus, le Ministère contribue aux mesures de réduction du déficit annoncées dans le budget de 2011, notamment la mise en œuvre d'une planification pluriannuelle de la gestion des ressources halieutiques, la consolidation des services de coordination en recherche et sauvetage maritime dans l'est du Canada et l'élimination progressive du système de navigation LORAN-C.

Le Ministère a pris plusieurs mesures pour atténuer ce risque financier. Il a simplifié la planification de ses activités dans le but de bien faire ressortir les grandes priorités des programmes. Il a amélioré l'attribution des budgets internes ainsi que ses prévisions en cours d'exercice afin de s'assurer que les priorités sont financées et que les pressions qui s'exercent sur les programmes sont prises en compte. De plus, il a mis au point un cadre de gestion financière assorti d'un plan de travail pluriannuel de contrôle interne axé sur le risque afin de documenter et de tester l'efficacité des principaux mécanismes de contrôle liés à la planification financière et à la budgétisation.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

En date du 4 août 2011, le gouvernement a établi, par décrets, Services partagés Canada (SPC) dans le but de regrouper les ressources actuellement réparties dans l'ensemble du gouvernement et de transformer l'infrastructure de la technologie de l'information (TI) [p. ex., des centres de données, des services de courriel et des services du réseau] pour le gouvernement du Canada. Une deuxième série de décrets en conseil est attendue, ceux-ci devraient permettre d'amorcer la seconde étape de la transformation, soit le transfert des ressources en TI des ministères et organismes vers Services partagés Canada.

Au cours du deuxième trimestre, le sous-ministre adjoint chargé des ressources humaines et des services intégrés a accepté un poste au sein d'un autre ministère, et le directeur général régional de la région du Centre et de l'Arctique a pris sa retraite de la fonction publique. On a mis en place des concours afin de pourvoir ces postes. Durant le deuxième trimestre, il n'y a pas eu d'autre changement chez les cadres supérieurs, représentés par le Conseil de gestion du Ministère.

Approbation par les cadres supérieurs

Claire Dansereau,
sous-ministre
Roch Huppé,
dirigeant principal des finances

Ottawa, Canada
17 novembre 2011

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2011-2012 Exercice 2010-2011
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1 266 642 342 376 591 672 1 306 412 314 731 573 491
Crédit 5 - Dépenses en capital 349 605 92 999 115 718 438 454 74 167 114 698
Crédit 10 - Subventions et contributions 127 653 19 194 36 317 131 203 13 679 22 506
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 137 919 37 667 72 180 127 830 31 958 63 950
Autorisations budgétaires totales 1 881 819 492 206 815 887 2 003 899 434 535 774 645
Autorisations non budgétaires - - - - - -
Autorisations totales 1 881 819 492 206 815 887 2 003 899 434 535 774 645
* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

De l'information supplémentaire est fournie dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2011-2012 Exercice 2010-2011
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 903 705 270 207 504 172 879 878 240 193 474 273
Transport et communications 69 055 18 821 32 464 78 498 17 729 32 876
Information 4 431 557 857 5 821 749 1 217
Services professionnels et spéciaux 189 060 53 571 72 954 214 521 53 014 74 714
Location 21 225 4 843 6 821 29 348 5 004 7 110
Services de réparation et d'entretien 169 970 52 502 66 212 153 530 52 935 80 739
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 88 474 29 904 42 392 105 586 20 972 33 494
Acquisition de terrains, bâtiments et ouvrages 66 462 17 785 19 427 87 420 10 058 12 618
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 274 614 30 192 39 733 347 270 18 749 35 829
Paiements de transfert 127 653 19 164 36 317 131 203 13 679 22 506
Autres subventions et paiements 15 185 4 019 12 649 18 739 11 239 17 219
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 1 929 834 501 565 833 998 2 051 814 444 321 792 595
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses :
Vente de biens et services 48 015 9 359 18 111 47 915 9 786 17 950
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses 48 015 9 359 18 111 47 915 9 786 17 950
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 1 881 819 492 206 815 887 2 003 899 434 535 774 645